Customer Reviews for

The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite

Average Rating 3.5
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Awareness breaks the addiction

Like others, I believe this book is well-written and an easy read. However, for me the value lies in the awareness of how I've been led into overeating. That awareness now allows (helps) me break the addiction to sugar, fats and salt. Some of the edible substances (it's...
Like others, I believe this book is well-written and an easy read. However, for me the value lies in the awareness of how I've been led into overeating. That awareness now allows (helps) me break the addiction to sugar, fats and salt. Some of the edible substances (it's difficult to call them food anymore, since they provide "pleasure" rather than proper nourishment) I've been addicted to: chocolate bars, ice cream, potato and corn chips.

It seems so much easier to keep the mindset that I just do not need such things anymore.

posted by 1350599 on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

This book is pointless. There is no innovative research here. It's just one man, railing on the evils sugar, fat and salt. Not really groundbreaking stuff.

posted by 392645 on August 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awareness breaks the addiction

    Like others, I believe this book is well-written and an easy read. However, for me the value lies in the awareness of how I've been led into overeating. That awareness now allows (helps) me break the addiction to sugar, fats and salt. Some of the edible substances (it's difficult to call them food anymore, since they provide "pleasure" rather than proper nourishment) I've been addicted to: chocolate bars, ice cream, potato and corn chips.

    It seems so much easier to keep the mindset that I just do not need such things anymore.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Food Rehab for Hypereating

    After working in an obesity treatment center for over a decade, I came to understand that the paradigm the medical community utilized to help people lose weight was greatly flawed. Any other treatment protocol with a 95% failure rate would have been halted immediately. For many that came through the clinic, food and beverage had become an addiction and overeating beyond their power to control. This book benefits everyone that has struggled with weight, whether 10 pounds or 200 pounds. The book is well researched and easy to read. And it will give you answers and understanding that has not been discussed in the scientific community or the weight loss industry before. Thank you for researching and writing this great book.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Good book, very informative

    I enjoyed reading this book. I found the information to be both interesting and informative. I had thought for years that certain foods were nearly as addictive as drugs or alcohol, and this book explains that they are, and how the food manufacturers do this. I am not an avid reader but I could not put this book down. Anyone who wants to lose weight would benefit greatly from reading this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stop the insantiy!

    Seriously, this book will open your eyes to what is really going on. It's hard to lose weight and be fit and healthy when there is so much confusion. It's not necessarily a diet book, per se, it's more like just an understanding of what's going on.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Very informative information on Obesity & Compulsive Overeating.

    This book is most helpful to people who struggle with "Compulsive Overeating" as it clears up many myths about why will power may not be as big of an issue with resolving the problem. It clearly explains how and why many people become what to me is a compulsive overeater, the author calls "conditioned hypereaters" and it gives hope for recovery from this condition. How we may in fact be "Powerless" over some foods, but certainly are not helpless, and without hope. As Dr. Kessler so clearly explains not only what has happened to us, but how we can overcome this problem, he states "we still have the ability to make choices about whether we allow this triumvirate to dominate our behavior." With his help and advice I think there is hope in taking a different route.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    Provides the answers to our eating epidemic!

    This is an awesome book, and provides the answers needed to understand the rapant overeating that is going on in our society today. If anyone is wondering why they cannot resist eating salt, fat and sugar, they will find out by reading this book. This book really helped me to eat healthier, and to understand and resist my food cravings.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    Excellent explanation on how America eats.

    Insightful revelations on how and why we eat the way we do. As a society we have drifted into fast, processed foods that are engineered to make us consume more.
    Dr. Kessler dissects the food, the industry, and our motivations to eat. While not a diet book, by explaining why we eat the way we do, how food is produced or engineered you quickly gain an understanding of overeating.
    Since reading this and by incorporating other changes in the food I eat, I have lost 20 pounds in just over 4 months. This book has helped me get off the diet roller-coaster and on to life-style changes that are healthier for me.
    While not for everyone, if you are serious about learning why we eat the way we do or just learn about how processed and restaurant foods are "engineered" to make us crave them, then this is a worthwhile read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating, and a life change helper

    Reading this was a revelation for me. It both confirmed some suspicions and helped me learn other information. I love good food, but this book helped me understand that what I've formerly seen as "flavor" (in the highly processed food foisted on us by a very smart food industry, usually made up of salt, fat and sugar) is a deceptive concept.

    Descriptions of its effect on us, incredible cravings for those food products, also hit home as fact. Many of us are overweight as a result, but like anything we want to change its up to us to first recognize the drivers, and use that to drive our own commitment to ourselves and change our eating habits. This book may do that for you as it has for me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Useful and highly recommended

    Dr. Kessler explains comprehensively what I knew to be true about my compulsive eating. It is an addiction. This problem has to be dealt with as instensively as an addiction to cocaine or alcohol. A lightbulb finally went off after reading this book. My approach to eating is beginning to change. I am on my way to having a healthier relationship with food.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Comprehensive But A Bit Long At Times

    Three things make this book better than the average dieting/nutrition book - the author's diligent research, the author's credibility, and the author's presentation of the information. I will not delve into the details here - you are more than capable of figuring that out - just be rest assured that the research is top-notch, the author has the background in the field to support this book, and finally the humor (at least in the audiobook) makes for a fun experience. The only downside is that book seems a bit long and repetitious at times, but despite this is worth a read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    Oh! Thats why.

    Dr. David Kessler has been a hero of mine since "60 Minutes" did a story on him back in the 90's when he was head of the "Food & Drug Administration." I enjoyed the information he gathered on the food industry, information that I probably wouldn't be handed on a sunny day. I loaned the book to my neighbor and her daughter and husband are mildly upset with me for changing their diets. "Where's the icecream!"

    DM

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    Don't waste your money

    This book is pointless. There is no innovative research here. It's just one man, railing on the evils sugar, fat and salt. Not really groundbreaking stuff.

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth a Read - People Who Are Overeaters Don't Have Anything To Lose By Reading This

    I am a fitness and nutrition professional, and I recommend this book to my clients!

    This book is a resource, first and foremost. This (nor any book) is the end-all-be-all for dieting or overeating. Dr. Kessler makes some very good points that can be incorporated into a sincere effort to change eating habits. If you are looking for this book (and only this book) to change your life---why not change your way of thinking, and look at this book as a major step on your way to a healthy life. That will release some of the "do or die" pressure on making this book the end-al-be-all for you.

    I also recommend to ALL of my clients (and family): "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow". It is a quick and very powerful read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Unique book about food and why we find it so hard to resist it

    Highly recommended

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    Excellent expose of the food industry

    Excellent expose of the food industry and how they manipulate the food we eat. I'm sorry Dr. Kessler is not still the head of the FDA. There would not have been the Fen/Phen and Vioxx deaths. He is a true man of science and cannot be bought.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    No wonder we have an obesity problem

    Offers a good explanation of how the food industry addicts us to unhealthy food, but is not very helpful with specific ways to escape the cycle of bad food.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    End your over eating

    This a great book to read for anyone who is struggling with overeating. The book does a great job of explaining why we overeat on both the physiological and the psychological levels. The book also gives strategies which help with controlling your appetite. After reading the book, By understanding why I overate, I was able to control y craving much more effectively. As the book states, overeating is a life long struggle. With the knowledge about overeating, many people can help themselves control their indulgences.
    The only flaw in this book is that some of the explanations are not very detailed. This was probably done from an editorial point of view of making the book easier to read. However, there were some studies which are discussed which are hard to believe without more information.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A valuable book for everyone - not just those suffering from emotional eating problems.

    Easy to read, full of information, thoughtful and thought-provoking.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Disturbed by the descriptions of animal testing

    Some of it was quite cruel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Amazing

    Once I got past the initial scientific background in the first couple chapters, I had trouble putting the book down and eventually, went back to the beginning to re-read the reasearch portion at the start of the book. Very relevant and enlightening. I am a healthy eater compared to most yet some of the items I thought to be healthy are not at food establishments such as Chili's. How can you destroy a chicken breast! I will never be the same or think the same after reading this book. Thank you Dr Kessler

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9