Customer Reviews for

The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite

Average Rating 3.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Awareness breaks the addiction

Like others, I believe this book is well-written and an easy read. However, for me the value lies in the awareness of how I've been led into overeating. That awareness now allows (helps) me break the addiction to sugar, fats and salt. Some of the edible substances (it's...
Like others, I believe this book is well-written and an easy read. However, for me the value lies in the awareness of how I've been led into overeating. That awareness now allows (helps) me break the addiction to sugar, fats and salt. Some of the edible substances (it's difficult to call them food anymore, since they provide "pleasure" rather than proper nourishment) I've been addicted to: chocolate bars, ice cream, potato and corn chips.

It seems so much easier to keep the mindset that I just do not need such things anymore.

posted by 1350599 on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

This book is pointless. There is no innovative research here. It's just one man, railing on the evils sugar, fat and salt. Not really groundbreaking stuff.

posted by 392645 on August 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Useful and highly recommended

    Dr. Kessler explains comprehensively what I knew to be true about my compulsive eating. It is an addiction. This problem has to be dealt with as instensively as an addiction to cocaine or alcohol. A lightbulb finally went off after reading this book. My approach to eating is beginning to change. I am on my way to having a healthier relationship with food.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Comprehensive But A Bit Long At Times

    Three things make this book better than the average dieting/nutrition book - the author's diligent research, the author's credibility, and the author's presentation of the information. I will not delve into the details here - you are more than capable of figuring that out - just be rest assured that the research is top-notch, the author has the background in the field to support this book, and finally the humor (at least in the audiobook) makes for a fun experience. The only downside is that book seems a bit long and repetitious at times, but despite this is worth a read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth a Read - People Who Are Overeaters Don't Have Anything To Lose By Reading This

    I am a fitness and nutrition professional, and I recommend this book to my clients!

    This book is a resource, first and foremost. This (nor any book) is the end-all-be-all for dieting or overeating. Dr. Kessler makes some very good points that can be incorporated into a sincere effort to change eating habits. If you are looking for this book (and only this book) to change your life---why not change your way of thinking, and look at this book as a major step on your way to a healthy life. That will release some of the "do or die" pressure on making this book the end-al-be-all for you.

    I also recommend to ALL of my clients (and family): "Build Your Mind, Your Body Will Follow". It is a quick and very powerful read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    End your over eating

    This a great book to read for anyone who is struggling with overeating. The book does a great job of explaining why we overeat on both the physiological and the psychological levels. The book also gives strategies which help with controlling your appetite. After reading the book, By understanding why I overate, I was able to control y craving much more effectively. As the book states, overeating is a life long struggle. With the knowledge about overeating, many people can help themselves control their indulgences.
    The only flaw in this book is that some of the explanations are not very detailed. This was probably done from an editorial point of view of making the book easier to read. However, there were some studies which are discussed which are hard to believe without more information.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Amazing

    Once I got past the initial scientific background in the first couple chapters, I had trouble putting the book down and eventually, went back to the beginning to re-read the reasearch portion at the start of the book. Very relevant and enlightening. I am a healthy eater compared to most yet some of the items I thought to be healthy are not at food establishments such as Chili's. How can you destroy a chicken breast! I will never be the same or think the same after reading this book. Thank you Dr Kessler

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Very informative book however a slow read

    Very informative book with many facts and explanations. I did find that the book was a slow read since there are many medical and scientific terms used that may not be easily understand by someone not familiar with medical or scientific terminology. I did find myself rereading some of the text to better understand what is being stated or explained.

    The positive of the book is it has given me a personal insight into the patterns of overeating and what the food industry is doing to contribute to the obesity rate of this country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A well informative book!

    I thought this book was fascinating! As a dietician technician student, I am aware of the so called "tricks" that food companies put in our foods to make them more palatable. This book was well written with interesting facts as well as studies. I hope that consumers who read this book will realize that overly processed foods are truly "junk" and will turn to whole and natural foods instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Makes you think

    Personally, I love bad food but know it isn't good for me. Reading this book has made me not want to eat out ever again, but that's hard to actually do. It also makes me want to grow my own food and never buy store bought again because of the food manufacturers. Informative read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2