Customer Reviews for

The End of the Beginning: Being the Adventures of a Small Snail (and an Even Smaller Ant)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Adorable

    This was a adorable book , i love it and it made me smile i would recomend this to anyone who needs a laaughbor giggle

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Provokes thought and laughter

    I checked this book out from the library for my 5 year-old niece. We haven't even finished it and I already ordered a copy for her permanent library. She and I have giggled our way through this book, and I enjoy the philosophical bent to the book. I'm ordering extras for several of my girlfriends who enjoy writing that is both funny and thoughtful.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    The end of the beginning of my review

    A comedy that someone of any age could enjoy. An inspiring book that brings delight to the reader. Adorable and hilarious characters with bright and spirited dispositions always craving a good adventure!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Embark, Embrace This Impeccable Book

    'The End of the Beginning' is an outstanding book about two characters, named Avon 'the snail' and Edward 'the ant',who meet each other at Avon's house. Avon always wanted an adventure, so Edward offered to go with Avon on the adventure. And so the adventure began and soon they were off to discover more about themselves and meet new people along the way. You will enjoy this book if you are a reader who likes to read clever use of language and think deeply about life and possibilty. Enjoy!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought this book inspired me to go on great adventures

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    GREAT BOOK

    I loved this book, HOWEVER I do believe it might be a 'confusing' read for the younger reader. Each chapter provides so much insight about life, it really requires a desire to read into the stories and apply the lessons to everyday life. As someone who loves the wisdom of Buddha this book was inspiring and uplifting. I plan to use it as graduation presents for the right someones....

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    I love this book!!!!

    I bought this book for my third grader to read. The cover was so cute and I have always enjoyed Avi's work. This story blew me away! My daughter is now in 5th grade and graduating from Elem. school. All the refrences to endings being beginnings were super. And she loves thinking of elem. school as the end of the beginning of her education. Also, the characters seem so childlike in their views of the world, but they are actually quite profound if you give it greater thought. This book is filled with symbols and metaphors. On top of that, the characters are very likeable and the illustrations are perfect for the text...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    i think this book was amazing, u should totally read it! it is o

    i think this book was amazing, u should totally read it! it is one of my fav books and i read it like twenty times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!

    This is one of my favorite books ever! I absolutely love it! I have read it about a millon times! I reccomend it for EVERYONE!!!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    Awesome

    I loved this book. It inspired me and some of my closest friends to go out and set out for an adventure. This book has so many similaraties to what my friends and I were thinking about finding or what might be ahead. On my friends and our adventure we had spotted a lot of things that had happened with our adventure. If you are the kind of person who sits at home and bored my friends and I would definately recommend this book because it will persue and inspire you like how it persued me and friends. You could go on this adventure with some good friends like i did or by yourself althoughit is not as fun as by yourself like it is not fun to play a board game by yourself. I read this book in about 4 hours and it was the best that i would never want to put it down. I give this book an A+.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    The End Of The Begining Opinion

    This book was listed on my summer reading list and i loved it! This book was sooo cute, humerus, funny, and upside down, this is coming from a 10 year old. I definetly rate it 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A quote from the book that was worth reading: ..."the most

    A quote from the book that was worth reading: ..."the most important thing in the world is having adventures." Adventures are a great way to explore your world and use your imagination based upon the thinking of the snail and the ant in this tale. *Very comical. *Delightful.* Whimsical. *Fun for leisure time reading for youth ages eight to ten. *Good for adults just to laugh at the "silliness" of this tale. *Enjoyable entertainment. * Good for stress reduction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Ok

    This book isa great book fora yoing kid in maybe 2nd to 4th grade. I read it in 6th grade, it was a little boring. But I think it would be good for a younger kid.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Super cute and funny.

    This is a book for all ages. I love this unique story. Full of odd charecters, and odd reasoning. The ant is hilarious, and he makes absolutely no sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    One of my favorite books of all time.

    I love this book. I first heard it as a third grader and now, as a seventh grader, it is still one of my favorite books of all time. Although it's a quick read, Avi included humorous and adorable characters who, while somewhat childish, have great insight on the world. Overall, this is an adorable and memorable book full of life lessons and perfect for older elementary school age kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    I thought at first i was going to enjoy it...

    I started reading this book, with my expectations very high. I thought, like every other Avi story, it would be a great piece. This book is without a plot, intresting characters, good morals, and intresting points. This book has no point and is a simple, horrible waste of time.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Stupid book.

    I usually love Avi's books but if you're looking to waste 30 minutes of your day I suggest watching paint dry instead of this book. It is repetitive and boring with no plot and 2-page chapters. I would buy it to torture someone.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2