Customer Reviews for

End of the Spear

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Except a corn of wheat die...

    I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It is a cross-cultural experience that will awaken you to evaluation of priorities and values in your own life and culture and a better understanding of mankind, and of the God that created us. We live in a world that is made up of separate little worlds, even ages, but over it all is a Meta-narrative, a Big Story which is true for all the little stories. The title of the book should interpreted in this way: 'End of the killing mentality in the Waodani culture.' As I started reading the book, I felt I was entering into a chaotic hodge podge, not knowing where I was in the story, let alone having any clue where it was going next. I don't know if this was intended, but it is, I am sure, exactly how Steve and Ginny felt during the time in which the story begins. As Steve and his family discern and submit to God's leading, things become more clear, God shows and makes all things beautiful. And, by the way, leave your standards of beautiful at home, they are no good here. As a matter of fact, you'll probably put them away for good. I am sure you are familier with Jesus' teaching that a seed cannot bear fruit except it die. That is what Steve's father, Nate Saint, and his four companions did when they visited the 'Aucas'. Rachel Saint, Steve's Aunt, eventually died among them too. But the case should be made that they all died long before their physical death. We begin with the funeral and burial of Rachel among the tribe and the next day the tribes askes Steve, according to their culture, to take her place in their society. This starts the part of God's story which is Steve's story. The story of his dying so that his life may bear fruit. This is a story of how life changing it is to follow God's carvings. The Waodani people show such love, it is very convicting to us in our individualized society. Their desire to learn the things of God is also convicting and motivating, even down to the smallest of them. Rachel Saint's self-description: 'I Love the Lord Jesus with all my heart, and I trusted Him completly. And I guess I just learned to persevere in whatever He gave me to do.'

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Terrible editing. But good story

    I cant even begin to tell you all of the spelling mistakes along with random words and no spaces.


    But great story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a Great Story!

    I wasn't alive when this true story happened, but my aunt told me how she remembered it. These brave missionaries are an inspiration to all. They gave their lives freely so the Auca Indians could find theirs with God. The way the Holy Spirit worked through the Auca is remarkable. Steve Saint's relationship with the people responsible for his father's death is inspirational. Okay, I know I used the word inspire too much but I really don¿t know what other word could be used. And I carry a pocket thesaurus!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    Humbles your heart and renews your faith!

    Excellent read for anyone who really wants to see what faith in action and forgiveness looks like. It really makes you question yourself, your priorities, and most of all your level of faith in God and the ability to love as He does. Excellent adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Amazing Book

    This is incredible. Mr. Saint shares stories of his life in the Amazon Jungle as an adult, and as a child. He also tells of his father, Nate, who was killed when Steve was a child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    Jungle Edge Extreme

    This powerful real life adventure of a family with four teenagers moving into the Amazon Jungle, clearing land and building open relationships with former stone-age people. Down to earth people that learn as much as they give to the people. Great humor and storytelling by the author. I would come to work and read funny passages to my fellow workers daily. Through each page my previous thoughts about these native cultures were challenged in such positive ways. I would recommend this as a great entertaining read to anyone, anywhere, anytime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Amazing

    Five star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    A great book of faith and forgiveness. It is the story of Ste

    A great book of faith and forgiveness. It is the story of Steve Saint who learns to love, forgive and help the Waodani people of Ecuador even though they had killed his father when he was a little boy. It is a moving interesting book.
    I can't imagine number one what it would be like to live and grow up in the Rain Forest of Ecuador, and number two then to have your father brutally killed by the very people you grow up around and you forgive them and love them as your family, this is just mind blowing. This truly tells a story of how this family not only believed and had faith in Jesus but truly lived their faith. Loving, teaching, forgiving, and living with the very men who were the ones who speared his father and 4 others to death is only possible through Christ and really knowing the meaning of loving others as Christ loves them.
    This is an interesting book of the story of Steve Saint and his family and the Waodani tribe of Ecuador. When Steve's aunt who lived with the tribe dies they ask Steve to come live with them to teach them the ways of God and what they need to know to survive and not be dependent on the outside world. It is a remarkable journey, one that draws you in and makes you want to keeping reading. It is a wonderful story of God's plans being put into work and we come to love Mincaye and the Waodani people too. Steve is a man of faith but even more amazing is his wife and children being in tune with God's call on their lives and being willing to go where God leads them, leaving the modern world and all its conveniences behind. Praise God for this man and his family.
    I found this book both interesting and challenging. By that I mean it makes me look at how I live my life, could I forgive like Steve has and then follow God's calling to live with these same people in the jungle. I would hope I could, this book makes you think about this.
    I really enjoyed this book, and I hope everyone will take the time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    PLEASE READ!!!!!

    Steve is my friends gpa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    highly recommend

    If you want to read a story on true forgiveness, this is it. Our Pastor even used this book as a theme for one of our sermons. It is fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Not your typical missionary book!

    Captivating reading! Not only was the story of Steve Saint's personal tragedies and triumphs riveting, but it gave me pause to consider why I do the things I do. It is a compelling story, for sure, but more than that it gives you a window into your own soul, your own motivations, your own legacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Absolutely amazing story of how tragedy can inspire people to overcome obstacles and to help others. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about spirituality, other cultures, underdogs against impossible odds, and nonfiction that is so unbelievable it must be true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Very spiritual

    I give this book 5 stars even though i haven't finished it yet.just how God worked through Steve is remarkable.i'm currently reading chapter 10,and so far it's been a story about forgiveness and God's providence.i'm only12 yaers old and i found this non-fiction book extremely well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2