Customer Reviews for

Ender in Exile (Ender Quintet #5)

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great, but not necessary

Ender in Exile answers many of the questions at the end of Ender's Game. As Orson Scott Card exxplains in the epilogue, most of the book happens in between chapter 14 and 15 of Ender's Game. If you have just finished Ender's Game, i suggest that you read this book bef...
Ender in Exile answers many of the questions at the end of Ender's Game. As Orson Scott Card exxplains in the epilogue, most of the book happens in between chapter 14 and 15 of Ender's Game. If you have just finished Ender's Game, i suggest that you read this book before you move on to Speaker for the Dead. But, if you are like me and are already further into the series, it is not completely necessary to read this book.

posted by DJ_Dinosaur on July 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Buy this book if you really liked Jar Jar Binks in Star Wars episode 1

In trying to fill up every single gap between Ender's Game and Children of the Mind, Orson Scott Card has done to his signature series what George Lucas did to Star Wars.

The 3 original books were excellent, although the first was the best.

The subsequ...
In trying to fill up every single gap between Ender's Game and Children of the Mind, Orson Scott Card has done to his signature series what George Lucas did to Star Wars.

The 3 original books were excellent, although the first was the best.

The subsequent book exploring Bean's story was still readable, but got less interesting the futher we moved away from the core plotline of Ender.

This book is an abomination on the order of Jar Jar Binks or possibly Godfather IV. In order to create plot devices to move the story along, Card actually contradicts what he wrote in his existing books both in small details (the principles behind superlight flight) and in core plot devices (the hive queen). Ender in Exile doesn't add to the depth of the sage - only to its length. A lot of pages on details, but not a lot of new depth to the character or storyline.

In fact, the only character whose depth was enhanced by this book was Colonel Graff, although readers who has read Ender's Shadow would already appreciate his larger-than-expected role in Ender's universe.

Reading this book is like watching the character of Jar Jar Binks in Star Wars. It's hard to understand why the creative mind behind a classic would even write in this monstrosity.

posted by Plato90s on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    Buy this book if you really liked Jar Jar Binks in Star Wars episode 1

    In trying to fill up every single gap between Ender's Game and Children of the Mind, Orson Scott Card has done to his signature series what George Lucas did to Star Wars.<BR/><BR/>The 3 original books were excellent, although the first was the best.<BR/><BR/>The subsequent book exploring Bean's story was still readable, but got less interesting the futher we moved away from the core plotline of Ender.<BR/><BR/>This book is an abomination on the order of Jar Jar Binks or possibly Godfather IV. In order to create plot devices to move the story along, Card actually contradicts what he wrote in his existing books both in small details (the principles behind superlight flight) and in core plot devices (the hive queen). Ender in Exile doesn't add to the depth of the sage - only to its length. A lot of pages on details, but not a lot of new depth to the character or storyline.<BR/><BR/>In fact, the only character whose depth was enhanced by this book was Colonel Graff, although readers who has read Ender's Shadow would already appreciate his larger-than-expected role in Ender's universe. <BR/><BR/>Reading this book is like watching the character of Jar Jar Binks in Star Wars. It's hard to understand why the creative mind behind a classic would even write in this monstrosity.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    Great, but not necessary

    Ender in Exile answers many of the questions at the end of Ender's Game. As Orson Scott Card exxplains in the epilogue, most of the book happens in between chapter 14 and 15 of Ender's Game. If you have just finished Ender's Game, i suggest that you read this book before you move on to Speaker for the Dead. But, if you are like me and are already further into the series, it is not completely necessary to read this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best in the series

    Card himself notes that although the main story that emerges from the narrative is this two-year journey across to the new colony, the true purpose behind writing the book was to fill in many of the gaps from the other books in the series. Honestly, I found it a little boring, and although Card's ability to intricately weave a web of strategy and psychological battle, there's not enough going on in the meta-narrative to keep my interest. With many of the other books in this series, there are great wars being fought on the outside as well as the battles between characters on the inside. This one is largely lacking the great wars being fought on the outside to keep the tension high. The psychological interplay is interesting, but not enough to keep me turning from page to page as fast as possible. Also, it's good that Card is filling in some of the gaps, and that will make this an interesting read for lovers of the Ender series and Ender universe, but on their own, the shorter stories aren't that engaging. -Lindsey Miller, lindseyslibrary

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Erikka Adams, aka "The Bookbinder" for TeensReadToo.com

    Where did Ender disappear to after he saved planet Earth from the formics? What happened to Peter and his bid for world domination, to Valentine in Peter's shadow, and to the human race and its government between ENDER'S GAME and SPEAKER FOR THE DEAD? <BR/><BR/>Finally, Orson Scott Card provides the missing story in the ENDER series that readers have been waiting for! Card writes with his characteristic straightforward style that, though simple, belies the hidden ethical dilemmas presented to the characters every step of the way. And through it all, the story is as gripping as ENDER'S GAME and will keep you up all night until you reach the book's AWESOME conclusion. <BR/><BR/>Having saved the world from a race of super intelligent and ruthless fighting formics, Ender is exiled to the far reaches of space under the pretension of governing and developing a new colony for humans on a new planet. As always, the government plays an underhanded game in sending him off and all his doings, as Earth and its countries are still at war and unsettled after Ender and the other children of his Battle School won the war. Seen as "Earth's most deadly weapon," Ender soon guesses he will never return to Earth, his family, or any semblance of the life he once knew. <BR/><BR/>Instead, he begins to research his new obsession, the formic race he destroyed. The new colony he is going to is built on an old formic planet, so Ender goes willingly into hyperspace, aging only two years while everyone on Earth ages forty years. Valentine escapes the plans of Peter on Earth to join Ender in space and secretly, Ender is relieved to have someone he can trust. While Ender indulges in every spec of information on the formics and on the people of his new colony, Valentine waits patiently for Ender to confide his new plans to her while also beginning a series of historical novels on Ender, Battle School, and the Earth wars. <BR/><BR/>Upon landing on the new colony planet, Ender is hailed as a hero and a welcome source of leadership. He is also confronted with the best discovery he could have asked for - a species of creatures is found deep in a cave, hybrids between formics and a native creature. This is the closest Ender or anyone else has come to studying the actual formics themselves! Through his mental and telepathic communications with these creatures, Ender learns more than he could hope for about the planet and the formics history. <BR/><BR/>One day, Ender and a native person named Abra go off to explore the planet to find a location for a new colony. On this adventure, Ender discovers the answer to the question he has silently asked himself since he found out the game he played was really a war - "Why did you [the hive queens] let me kill you?" <BR/><BR/>The truth is more exciting than I can spoil for anyone who has breathlessly awaited this novel. <BR/><BR/>As always, Orson Scott Card intertwines the story of emerging governments, political struggle, and personal and moral dilemmas as the story of Ender unfolds. Kudos to him for not only continuing a series for over twenty books, but for doing so with inventiveness, brilliant writing, and a compelling story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Still Amazing

    Just when you think youve taken everything you can from the Ender series, a new analysis, a new character, a new story comes to life. Card has never let me down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Amazing...as usual!

    Orson Scott Card is an amazing sci-fi writer. I suggest all of the Ender/ Bean series. This was just as enjoyable as the rest of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Wonderful as always

    I have never read an Ender book I didn't thoroughly enjoy. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A worthy addition to the Enderverse

    I was pleasantly surprised to find this on the bookshelf, and I am continually surprised by Orson Scott Card. He seems to have a solid grasp on human nature and bends it to his will in all his characters. I am glad that Card decided to go back and write about the teenaged Ender. I am also pleased that he tied this to his parallax Shadow series. While this is not as thought-heavy as the other novels, revisiting Ender's world is always a treat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Actually Pretty Good!!

    Honestly I did not think I would like this book that much before I started reading it...Ender's Game was one of the best books I have ever read and all the books after that have really kept me interested...this book takes place between the first and the second one but also answers a lot of questions from his shadow series! The book is actually pretty good and I definately recommend it to anyone that has read the other books....if you are just starting the series I would actually read this one directly after you finish Ender's Game!!! Enjoy the book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Ender again

    It's always nice to go back to familiar characters that you've enjoyed in the past. However, I can't help but feel that this was little but a ploy to make more money by tugging at the heartstrings of all of us here who love Ender Wiggins. This book doesn't provide much to me in the Ender series (although I wasn't a fan of the original ending). It's kind of like hanging out with good friends and finding out how their summer was, but it leaves you feeling unsatisfied.

    Maybe that's just me, becuase of my high standards. But because of all the previous books I can't help but feel that you expect books about Ender to be moving and teach you something through his innocence and intelligence. For me, this book just didn't do that.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Not as deep as "Ender's Game" but fun to read.

    If you always wanted to know what happened to Ender after he fought the buggers then you'll really enjoy this book. It's nowhere near as deep and thought provoking as "Ender's Game" though. It basically takes place between the last two chapters of that book. So it explains a lot of his thinking. It's a full story in its own right and a fun read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It just isn't one I'll read again and again. I've read "Ender's Game" at least six times over the years. One of my favorites.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I've read the whole series and love it

    This 5th in the quartet (a la hitchhiker's guide) fills in a very large gap in the original series and expands Ender's universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Readable

    Not nearly as good as Enders Game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Card never disappoints me. This was a nice link to Speaker For T

    Card never disappoints me. This was a nice link to Speaker For The Dead. I will admit, I have not yet read SFTD.
    Card, admits in the afterward, he had some help with this book. I enjoyed getting to know some of the characters better. Card is a master at character development. While I would not think this is a necessary read for the ENDER series, if you are a fan go for it! Again, Card does not disappoint and it is an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Eh. It almost has no storyline since all it is is technically a bridge.

    Never as good as Ender's Game. To me, all it was was a bridge, between the former book and the next one. Not one of Card's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Card you still got it

    This book really is quite good i like the other books after enders game because the philophy of it all but its really fun going back to ender as a kid

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great book.

    I thought this book was excellent. It kept me interested throughout the entire novel. Ender's Game was definetly the best in the series, but this is a close 2nd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a great book

    In Ender's Game you get the impression Ender's parents are of average intelligence while the kids are super geniuses. This is a great back story about what is REALLY going on back at home. It turns out like all kids, the Wiggens siblings only think that. In reality the parents are way ahead of the sibs and are quietly manipulating things from behind the curtain. Being a former parent myself, yes I said former parent, I got quite a laugh out of this little factoid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Back to the old Wiggin

    After reading the other sequels to Ender's Game, (and having read Ender's Game twelve years ago), it was very refreshing to get back to the young Ender Wiggin. Back when he was still a strong, clever hero. OSC, my favorite living author since I was eight years old, has not forgotten the Ender we all know and love. This book is everything I wanted it to be, and it was very satisfying. I didn't realize how hungry I was for more Ender until I picked up this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent continuation of the series.

    I remember loving this series when I was in high school, and was happy to read this new book in the series. I was very happy with the plot and writing of this novel, and it makes an excellent addition to the Ender Series. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoyed the rest of the series, though I would not really recommend it as a standalone novel since you will miss out on much of the plot if you have not read at least Ender's Game if not the rest of the series as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11