Customer Reviews for

Ender in Exile (Ender Quintet #5)

Average Rating 4
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great, but not necessary

Ender in Exile answers many of the questions at the end of Ender's Game. As Orson Scott Card exxplains in the epilogue, most of the book happens in between chapter 14 and 15 of Ender's Game. If you have just finished Ender's Game, i suggest that you read this book bef...
Ender in Exile answers many of the questions at the end of Ender's Game. As Orson Scott Card exxplains in the epilogue, most of the book happens in between chapter 14 and 15 of Ender's Game. If you have just finished Ender's Game, i suggest that you read this book before you move on to Speaker for the Dead. But, if you are like me and are already further into the series, it is not completely necessary to read this book.

posted by DJ_Dinosaur on July 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Buy this book if you really liked Jar Jar Binks in Star Wars episode 1

In trying to fill up every single gap between Ender's Game and Children of the Mind, Orson Scott Card has done to his signature series what George Lucas did to Star Wars.

The 3 original books were excellent, although the first was the best.

The subsequ...
In trying to fill up every single gap between Ender's Game and Children of the Mind, Orson Scott Card has done to his signature series what George Lucas did to Star Wars.

The 3 original books were excellent, although the first was the best.

The subsequent book exploring Bean's story was still readable, but got less interesting the futher we moved away from the core plotline of Ender.

This book is an abomination on the order of Jar Jar Binks or possibly Godfather IV. In order to create plot devices to move the story along, Card actually contradicts what he wrote in his existing books both in small details (the principles behind superlight flight) and in core plot devices (the hive queen). Ender in Exile doesn't add to the depth of the sage - only to its length. A lot of pages on details, but not a lot of new depth to the character or storyline.

In fact, the only character whose depth was enhanced by this book was Colonel Graff, although readers who has read Ender's Shadow would already appreciate his larger-than-expected role in Ender's universe.

Reading this book is like watching the character of Jar Jar Binks in Star Wars. It's hard to understand why the creative mind behind a classic would even write in this monstrosity.

posted by Plato90s on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Amazing...as usual!

    Orson Scott Card is an amazing sci-fi writer. I suggest all of the Ender/ Bean series. This was just as enjoyable as the rest of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A worthy addition to the Enderverse

    I was pleasantly surprised to find this on the bookshelf, and I am continually surprised by Orson Scott Card. He seems to have a solid grasp on human nature and bends it to his will in all his characters. I am glad that Card decided to go back and write about the teenaged Ender. I am also pleased that he tied this to his parallax Shadow series. While this is not as thought-heavy as the other novels, revisiting Ender's world is always a treat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Actually Pretty Good!!

    Honestly I did not think I would like this book that much before I started reading it...Ender's Game was one of the best books I have ever read and all the books after that have really kept me interested...this book takes place between the first and the second one but also answers a lot of questions from his shadow series! The book is actually pretty good and I definately recommend it to anyone that has read the other books....if you are just starting the series I would actually read this one directly after you finish Ender's Game!!! Enjoy the book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Eh. It almost has no storyline since all it is is technically a bridge.

    Never as good as Ender's Game. To me, all it was was a bridge, between the former book and the next one. Not one of Card's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great book.

    I thought this book was excellent. It kept me interested throughout the entire novel. Ender's Game was definetly the best in the series, but this is a close 2nd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    4 stars

    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable story

    I've listened to this audio twice now and the story is still a good one. This book fills in the gap between Ender's Game and Speaker For the Dead. I did get annoyed at times with some of the long-winded and preachy monologues. Valentine seemed rather weak and ineffective in this book, which irritated me. Another question I had was how did Alessandra end up with Po? Card seems to have forgotten about her after she decides to stay at the colony and her ending up with Po. I enjoyed most of the various narrators of this audiobook; having multiple narrators adds a little more depth to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    Can't Wait

    Obviously, you can't rate it because it isn't out yet, I'm betting, based on the rest of his work, that it'll be a four at least. Yeah, it does kind of seem like he's milking the series, but I'm just happy to read about the characters I've grown so fond of. And also, I didn't like Speaker for the Dead when I FIRST read it, but I've grown to appreciate it greatly. It's a lot more moving than Ender's Game, and I like the pequeninos and all the new characters, they just added so much more diversity to Ender's life and actions and such. So yeah, don't hate on Speaker for the Dead or a book you haven't read just because it doesn't focus on Ender's childhood and doesn't have the battle school people, because it's not supposed to, it's sort of supposed to be separate and standalone with Xenocide and Children of the Mind (that one I really thought was boring, but I won't go into that). What you need to do is not like it because you think it was poor writing, or not like it because you think it was boring, don't not like it because it wasn't the same (when he wrote it after he had already published Ender's Game as a novella, he just wanted an empathetic character for the main man in the other books, so he brought him back), that's silly.<BR/><BR/>Wow, I digressed a bit.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4