Customer Reviews for

Ender's Game (Ender Quintet #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Ender's Game

Title: Ender's Game
Author: Orson Scott Card
Genre: YA Science Fiction
Publishing Information: 324 pages; January 1st, 1985 by Tor Science Fiction
Series: Ender's Saga #1

Where I got it: Border's liquidation sale

One sentence: When child genius six-year-old En...
Title: Ender's Game
Author: Orson Scott Card
Genre: YA Science Fiction
Publishing Information: 324 pages; January 1st, 1985 by Tor Science Fiction
Series: Ender's Saga #1

Where I got it: Border's liquidation sale

One sentence: When child genius six-year-old Ender Wiggin is recruited by the government as defense for a hostile alien race's next attack, his life changes forever in ways he could never imagine.

Themes: Space, battle, war, kids, aliens, saving the world,

Main character: 4/5
Ender was a fascinating, well-rounded character. He consistently felt older to me than his age, but because it had been thoroughly explained earlier in the novel, it was nothing that significantly turned me off. I particularly enjoyed Ender's struggle with his situation and his emotions and actions seemed reasonable and realistic. Ender is one of those characters who continue to be sympathetic, despite the fact that he is undoubtedly supposed to be a character whose smarts and abilities place him in a different league than most children.

Secondary characters: 4/5
I especially loved the secondary characters because they were almost more human than Ender was. Petra was cute and bad-ass at the same time, Alai was sweet and I loved how he befriended Ender, and I adored Bean, who was spunky and an absolute riot. The struggles that Ender had making friends made those relationships even more fantastic and heart-warming.

Writing style: 4/5
Card's writing style was built for a movie remake- the action scenes are intense and heart-stopping, the sentences short and quick to the point. I was slightly disappointed by the choppy sentences and the slightly juvenile style, but it seemed to move along well and I was rarely jolted out of the book.

Plot: 5/5
Absolutely fantastic! I was a little nervous about the premise, but Card executed it brilliantly. I absolutely adored the battle tactics and politics in the system, which was complex and entertaining- exactly the sort of thing I love to read. Further, there are such deeper questions brought up by the ending that challenged my opinions and thoughts on the entire novel.

Ending: 4.5/5
What a shocker. Honestly, the climax was so fantastic and shocking, but the final ending was something on its own. It brought up so many more questions and discussions that just brought a further level to the novel.

Best scene: The climactic scene was just phenomenal- wow.

Positives: Strong, compelling characters, fantastic plot, ending!!!!

Negatives: A few weak characterizations, sometimes the writing was childish.

First Line: I've watched through his eyes, I've listened through his ears, and I tell you he's the one.

Cover: A little retro- I wanted something a little more modern and mysterious.

Verdict: So good! I really don't know what else to say. Even if you don't like science-fiction, definitely try this novel out.

Rating: 8.6 / 10

posted by Audreyclair on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

For many many years Orson Scott Card has been one of my favorite

For many many years Orson Scott Card has been one of my favorite authors.  
Today I discovered that he is on the board of the
National Organization for Marriage,
and he has campaigned vigorously against gay marriage.
Please do not support this homophobe....Do not purc...
For many many years Orson Scott Card has been one of my favorite authors.  
Today I discovered that he is on the board of the
National Organization for Marriage,
and he has campaigned vigorously against gay marriage.
Please do not support this homophobe....Do not purchase his books in any form.

posted by baltoreader on February 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Ender's Game

    Title: Ender's Game
    Author: Orson Scott Card
    Genre: YA Science Fiction
    Publishing Information: 324 pages; January 1st, 1985 by Tor Science Fiction
    Series: Ender's Saga #1

    Where I got it: Border's liquidation sale

    One sentence: When child genius six-year-old Ender Wiggin is recruited by the government as defense for a hostile alien race's next attack, his life changes forever in ways he could never imagine.

    Themes: Space, battle, war, kids, aliens, saving the world,

    Main character: 4/5
    Ender was a fascinating, well-rounded character. He consistently felt older to me than his age, but because it had been thoroughly explained earlier in the novel, it was nothing that significantly turned me off. I particularly enjoyed Ender's struggle with his situation and his emotions and actions seemed reasonable and realistic. Ender is one of those characters who continue to be sympathetic, despite the fact that he is undoubtedly supposed to be a character whose smarts and abilities place him in a different league than most children.

    Secondary characters: 4/5
    I especially loved the secondary characters because they were almost more human than Ender was. Petra was cute and bad-ass at the same time, Alai was sweet and I loved how he befriended Ender, and I adored Bean, who was spunky and an absolute riot. The struggles that Ender had making friends made those relationships even more fantastic and heart-warming.

    Writing style: 4/5
    Card's writing style was built for a movie remake- the action scenes are intense and heart-stopping, the sentences short and quick to the point. I was slightly disappointed by the choppy sentences and the slightly juvenile style, but it seemed to move along well and I was rarely jolted out of the book.

    Plot: 5/5
    Absolutely fantastic! I was a little nervous about the premise, but Card executed it brilliantly. I absolutely adored the battle tactics and politics in the system, which was complex and entertaining- exactly the sort of thing I love to read. Further, there are such deeper questions brought up by the ending that challenged my opinions and thoughts on the entire novel.

    Ending: 4.5/5
    What a shocker. Honestly, the climax was so fantastic and shocking, but the final ending was something on its own. It brought up so many more questions and discussions that just brought a further level to the novel.

    Best scene: The climactic scene was just phenomenal- wow.

    Positives: Strong, compelling characters, fantastic plot, ending!!!!

    Negatives: A few weak characterizations, sometimes the writing was childish.

    First Line: I've watched through his eyes, I've listened through his ears, and I tell you he's the one.

    Cover: A little retro- I wanted something a little more modern and mysterious.

    Verdict: So good! I really don't know what else to say. Even if you don't like science-fiction, definitely try this novel out.

    Rating: 8.6 / 10

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    That was great. I enjoyed every minute reading this.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ender's Game is a great Book for young men and women to read while growing up.

    Now that I read Ender's Game at the age of 25, I wish I would have read it 15 years earlier. The book is inspirational and I believe would motivate children to be the best that they can be. It's a great example of how important it is to think before you do. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    One of my favorite books of all time!

    Plot:

    It is the future. Earth has survived an attack from an insectile alien race – barely. Population control laws are in effect. Families are limited to 2 children. Young children are monitored to see if they have military potential, and those that show promise at an early age are whisked away to train in the military’s Battle School, in the hopes that by the time they reach adulthood, they will possess the necessary skills to defend the Earth, if the aliens – “buggers” – ever return.

    Andrew “Ender” Wiggin is a rare third child in his family. His older brother and sister showed intellectual promise, but his brother was too ruthless and his sister too compassionate to qualify for Battle School. So the Wiggin parents were permitted a third chance to produce a military prodigy. And they succeeded.

    Ender is whisked away to Battle School at the ripe old age of 6. The School, located on a space station orbiting the Earth, is populated by military officers and child prodigies. Ender is one of the youngest.

    And these are not your average children.

    They train daily in space military tactics, weaponry, and combat. Although they are all at an age that we associate with Dora, Spongebob, and Hannah Montana, these kids are nothing like the children currently roaming your local elementary school hallway. They are calculating, intuitive, sometimes ruthless, always dangerous.

    One of the main focuses of the School is the battleroom, where the children are equipped with special suits and laser guns that allow them to fight each other in zero-gravity. On Ender’s first trip to the battleroom, it becomes quickly apparent that he is a cut above the other students. Some of his peers respect this. Some are threatened by it.

    And as Ender works his way up through the ranks of Battle School, his teachers take notice, and wonder if perhaps Ender is the child they’ve been waiting for. The child who can change everything. The child who can save Earth.

    Why I Love It:

    Don’t let the summary throw you off. Ender’s Game may be a book about children, but it is by no means a book for children. The children in this book are nothing like how we picture children (as the mother of an almost-6-year-old, I can say this pretty definitively). Everything about this book is aimed at an adult audience.

    Ender’s Game is not a thriller or adventure story, although some of the battleroom scenes are exciting. More than anything, it’s an examination of the mind of Ender Wiggin, the culture he lives in, and a world under military rule. And it’s all fascinating.

    Mr. Card writes Ender in a way that while you understand he is just a child, you can still be awed, chilled, and amazed at his thoughts and actions. As a matter of fact, all of the characters are interesting and intriguing, from his friends at the Battle School, to his sociopath brother Peter, to the Commander of the Battle School, Colonel Graff.

    There is a twist at the end of Ender’s Game. You may see it coming; you may not. I did, but it didn’t lessen my enjoyment of the book one bit. The fact that I have read this book over and over again, in spite of knowing the twist ending, speaks to the strong writing of the rest of the book. The book doesn’t exist just to throw you off at the end. The book exists to make you think, to draw you completely into the character of Ender, and to absorb you in the science-fiction world he lives in.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    Book review for Ender's Game

    Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
    "I have to win this for now and for all time, or I'll fight it every day and it will get worse and worse". Ender's Game written by Orson Scott Card is a splendid book with rich vocabulary and good plot. It is written in the first person point of view by Ender.

    As the third child in the family, Ender grew up and proved that he is not a baby. Ender was chosen to go to a battle school, a school only for the geniuses. Ender, having trouble adjusting to his surrounding and making new friends has a greater challenge ahead of him. Also as a military genius, he has the task of saving the human race and destroying the buggers race.

    I think if a reader is looking for a science fiction book with great action, this is the right book. I personally liked this book because it has good sentence structures that trap the reader inside the book until you finish the book. I recommend this book to high school students because it has some mature parts in the book. Overall the book was excellent.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    I highly recommend Ender's Game!

    The next bugger (alien) war is about to happen and Earth still has no commander for their army. After watching Andrew (Ender) Wiggin through a monitor for several years, Colonel Graff, head of the battle school that trains their students for war, thinks that, the very young, Ender could possibly be the world’s only hope.

    Ender gets put into battle school and creates rivals almost instantaneously and hardly has any very close friends. He goes through the troubles of dealing with his friends, enemies and stressful changes in rules throughout his education before getting put into command school, where things are no better than they were at battle school.

    Even before actually reading anything about this book, it seemed so fascinating just by the looks of its cover and it also looked like it would be a very futuristic novel that would be very intriguing and hard to put down. After actually reading it, it turned out to be what I thought it would. It was such a page turner and really gets you interested. The book is so descriptive that you can literally see everything happening in the book, inside your head.

    In my opinion, Ender’s Game, is a great book for people who are 13+ (mostly teenagers). It becomes so hard to even put it down and I would say that it deserves 5 stars out of 5. It is so interesting to read about the troubled life of the young, Ender who works his way through battle school and command school to become the next war commander. It takes you to another place in your head and the descriptiveness of the book allows you to feel like you are watching a movie inside your head about what’s happening in the book as you read further through the chapters. I think that Ender’s Game was a very descriptive, futuristic and fascinating novel and do highly recommend it for teens who love to read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great story, amazing ending!

    Science fictions are definately not my favorite genre of books. However my friend convinced me to read Ender's Game, and I am so glad he did! I read the book in one afternoon- easy read but definately worth it. It was captivating and kept me guessing from beginning to end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Worthy of the adjective "classic." Thought-provoking,

    Worthy of the adjective "classic." Thought-provoking, intelligent, sensitive, exciting. Highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Recommended for not only sci-fi fans

    Though this is unarguably a science fiction book, a wide variety of tastes will enjoy it. The main flavors of this book are of course sci-fi, but also military, morality, politics, and the human psyche. If you like to read at all, you enjoy at least one of those subjects. What hooked me the most was Card's ability to both express and question the idea of breaking down barriers of morality for the sake of saving humanity. This is a pattern throughout the book and can be seen in almost every character.
    Another unifying idea is that of inherent evil. Ender frequently wonders if he is like his violent and manipulative brother, Peter. Peter is an embodiment of uncontrolled emotions. He does things we only think of doing at our maddest. Ender is in a way like him, but his emotion and actions are controlled. He knows how to use his intelligence to his advantage without causing undue pain to others. This slight difference applies to our own lives. This book reminds us it doesn't matter if we have power, but what we do with it.
    All in all, this is a great read. It is imaginative yet clearly thought out. I look forward to reading the sequential books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Ive bought this book 4 different times!!! Every time i loan it t

    Ive bought this book 4 different times!!! Every time i loan it to someone i dont get it back. Not that i blame them its the first space based book i ever read and still one to read on a nice slow day. HIGHLY recommend to readers of all genre's it will get you thinking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    More than YA - give it a listen

    Orson Scott Card says his books are meant to be heard more than read, and the cast of narrators for Ender's Game is phenomenal.

    This book has been billed as YA and it does ok in that genre, but I find I get something more out of the book (the series, really), every time I listen. And Since I first "read" (listened to) this book in 2006, I get the urge to listen to it pretty much once or twice a year, despite the way my "to-read" list keeps growing.

    Ender's Game is full of emotion, politics, children you tend to forget are so young, and the war of several lifetimes. And yet, that somehow doesn't begin to describe its depth and complexity. Just pick it up; you won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK I think this is the best Si-Fi book

    YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK
    I think this is the best Si-Fi book I have ever sat down and read.
    I couldn’t stop reading it the moment I picked it.
    All I can say it is slow in the beginning but it gets better as it goes on.
    Maybe around chapter 7, salamander.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    I first read this in sixth grade and I reread it recently.  I ha

    I first read this in sixth grade and I reread it recently.  I have absolutely loved this book and could read it a million times.  I highly recommend Speaker for the Dead and the rest of the Ender Saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Ender's Game (and the entire series for that matter) is often mi

    Ender's Game (and the entire series for that matter) is often missed and overlooked by readers due to it's Sci Fi appearance, story line, and cover art. I am by no means a SciFi reader and normally despise this kind of work, however this book is so much more than that. It has a solid story line, terrific characters, and it is a true piece of literary artwork. I am an avid reader but have not ready many (if any) books that can keep up with what Orson Scott Card has done here. It is truly one in a million.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I picked this up out of my teacher's library as something to rea

    I picked this up out of my teacher's library as something to read when we had a substitute. I'm so glad I did. I could not put it down and ended up borrowing the book so I could finish it.
    I found over all to be a phenomenal read and later bought a copy for my own book collection. It has a full plot full of fantastic characters, adventures and twists and turns in unpredictable ways.
    I loved it so much it's found its was back into my to be read pile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Imaginative & Thought provoking!

    A thrilling exploration of space and the alternative education of children. Card reaches in and starts to shape Ender and his gang almost immediately. His pace is very quick, expecting us to keep up with him.

    Ender is likeable. We want to see him as the hero; and when we start to doubt, we work hard to find his humanity. The problems faced are some of childhood's most painful ones: being excluded from a group of other children playing; learning to make friends; and having to choose between what is right and what would be a popular decision.

    No spoilers but you'll continue to love our little guy right to the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet!!

    I really like the talent that Orson has on describing something no matter how hard it is in a way that everyone can picture it,besides he really make you love or sometimes hate the characters in his books.This is my second book from him,first was Pathfinder (waiting for the second one on November) and in both of them he show me that he has a spot on my list of top favorites writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent, I didn't want the story to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Ender's Game is an amazing story!!!!

    Ender's Game is an amazing story!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10