BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ender's Game (Ender Quintet #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Ender's Game

Title: Ender's Game
Author: Orson Scott Card
Genre: YA Science Fiction
Publishing Information: 324 pages; January 1st, 1985 by Tor Science Fiction
Series: Ender's Saga #1

Where I got it: Border's liquidation sale

One sentence: When child genius six-year-old En...
Title: Ender's Game
Author: Orson Scott Card
Genre: YA Science Fiction
Publishing Information: 324 pages; January 1st, 1985 by Tor Science Fiction
Series: Ender's Saga #1

Where I got it: Border's liquidation sale

One sentence: When child genius six-year-old Ender Wiggin is recruited by the government as defense for a hostile alien race's next attack, his life changes forever in ways he could never imagine.

Themes: Space, battle, war, kids, aliens, saving the world,

Main character: 4/5
Ender was a fascinating, well-rounded character. He consistently felt older to me than his age, but because it had been thoroughly explained earlier in the novel, it was nothing that significantly turned me off. I particularly enjoyed Ender's struggle with his situation and his emotions and actions seemed reasonable and realistic. Ender is one of those characters who continue to be sympathetic, despite the fact that he is undoubtedly supposed to be a character whose smarts and abilities place him in a different league than most children.

Secondary characters: 4/5
I especially loved the secondary characters because they were almost more human than Ender was. Petra was cute and bad-ass at the same time, Alai was sweet and I loved how he befriended Ender, and I adored Bean, who was spunky and an absolute riot. The struggles that Ender had making friends made those relationships even more fantastic and heart-warming.

Writing style: 4/5
Card's writing style was built for a movie remake- the action scenes are intense and heart-stopping, the sentences short and quick to the point. I was slightly disappointed by the choppy sentences and the slightly juvenile style, but it seemed to move along well and I was rarely jolted out of the book.

Plot: 5/5
Absolutely fantastic! I was a little nervous about the premise, but Card executed it brilliantly. I absolutely adored the battle tactics and politics in the system, which was complex and entertaining- exactly the sort of thing I love to read. Further, there are such deeper questions brought up by the ending that challenged my opinions and thoughts on the entire novel.

Ending: 4.5/5
What a shocker. Honestly, the climax was so fantastic and shocking, but the final ending was something on its own. It brought up so many more questions and discussions that just brought a further level to the novel.

Best scene: The climactic scene was just phenomenal- wow.

Positives: Strong, compelling characters, fantastic plot, ending!!!!

Negatives: A few weak characterizations, sometimes the writing was childish.

First Line: I've watched through his eyes, I've listened through his ears, and I tell you he's the one.

Cover: A little retro- I wanted something a little more modern and mysterious.

Verdict: So good! I really don't know what else to say. Even if you don't like science-fiction, definitely try this novel out.

Rating: 8.6 / 10

posted by Audreyclair on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Inappropriate language

I DO NOT agree with the publisher regarding the recommended age for this book. There is language in it (IN FACT, I HAD INCLUDED SOME OF THE WORDS, BUT THEY WERE REJECTED BECAUSE THEY WERE INAPPROPRIATE) that is highly inappropriate for 9 to 12 year olds. This was orig...
I DO NOT agree with the publisher regarding the recommended age for this book. There is language in it (IN FACT, I HAD INCLUDED SOME OF THE WORDS, BUT THEY WERE REJECTED BECAUSE THEY WERE INAPPROPRIATE) that is highly inappropriate for 9 to 12 year olds. This was originally an adult book that was re-released with a new kid-friendly cover. Regardless of how interesting the story might be, I would not purchase it for my child.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 189 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    I love this book!

    I've read it over many times and love it every time that i read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    One of the best books

    This is one of the best books i have ever read. I couldn't put it down the idea around the book is very original not like some science fiction books i have recently read (I Am Number Four) <-- don't read that one my little brother has thought up more original plot lines. any way the book was so good i accidentally pulled an all nighter reading it. A must read. all the other books in the series are great too but this is the best one in my opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    incredible

    Great Story and wonderful writing. Definitely a Sci/fi classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    great science fiction book

    Ender's Game was one of those books that pulls you away from reality. While I was reading it I rarely wanted to do anything but read. The way the author portrays Ender's personality really makes you feel closer to him than anyone else. You understand him and you sympathize with him when he justifies beating people up as a way to end the future battles. I never once thought of him as a bad person when he did this, but if written in a different point of view I'm sure I would have. This book is also very action pact with lots of battles and conflicts which draws you in even further. Now you'll just have to read it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Unexpectedly good

    I'm not usually a huge fan of sci-fi novels, but this book exceeded my expectations. I had to read it for school (and most of the time school books aren't very interesting), but I greatly enjoyed this book. It had an entertaining and somewhat suspenseful story line, and good characters. I never would have seen the ending coming! I'd definately recommend taking the time to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Love it!!!!

    Gee, I absolutely love this book! Great writing and fast moving plot. Please read :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Loved it! again....

    It has been a long time since I first read Ender's Game, and re-reading it was almost as good as the first time. Great use of underlying sarcasm and complex issues in an easy/entertaining read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Great book

    My son loved this book and thinks it is one of the best he has ever read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    ender is my hero kinda

    i recently bought this book on my nook and reading it is just too easy. the pages fly by if your willing to invest in the idea. i didnt even realize i was reading a sci fi book so dont be afraid to be a nerd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Never got into the sequels, but...

    This first one is classic space opera. The later books got too weird and boring for me, but I do love this one. I've read it several times over the years, and it's definitely among my top ten sci-fi books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    A Very Good Book, but only an introduction.

    I have seen this book at countless libraries and I didn't choose to read it until I had to for school. I missed out on alot. By far one of the better books that I have read and it was so good that I went out and bought the rest of the series that is constantly expanding (currently he has another book in the making). I enjoyed them all and if you think this book is good you will love the rest of the series that not only has books about Ender, but books about Bean and the rest of the kids at Battle School also.

    I highly reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommend

    I loved this series. I haven't read all of the side books, but I do recommend you read Ender in Exile after Ender's Game, before you read any of the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Greg and Adam- MR. MORONE

    Ender's game takes place in the future, where families are not allowed to have more than 2 children. However, a boy named Ender is allowed to be born even though he is a third child. In exchange, the International Fleet has the right to take him away. Eventually he is taken from his home and is trained to be a military leader. Once he reaches the military school in space, his life would never be the same again. He trains to fight against an alien race known as the Buggers, through simulations of battles. I don't want to reveal too much about this book, but all I have to say is that this is one of my favorite books I have read in high school. Yes, the recommended age for reading this book is set at a minimum of twelve years old, I'd say that anyone, of any age, can appreciate this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    :)

    My teacher made me read this book, and its pretty damn good xD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    Best Book Ever

    Ender's Game is one of the greatest books of all time. I love it so much because I could not put it down it was that interesting. I think that it was so interesting because it had lots of action which what I like in books. If it had been a slow moving book and it had not had action I would have barely been able to pick it up. I also like that it is sci-fi. That makes it a lot different than what we are use to. It makes us really think about the book and about what it would be like to be in a time where an Xbox in their eyes would look like an old computer that took up a whole room in our eyes. I like how in this book everybody trusts a kid as in other books where the kid has to convince the adults that he is the right person.

    Stuart J

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I have read it at least 10 times!

    I have Read Enders Game at least once a year. Growing up as the youngest of three I knew the chanllenge of wanting to feel old enought to read what my sisters did. Finaly when I was ten years old I read this book; all I can say is it changed my life! The story realates to you on a personal level and draws you in from page one. Every time I read this again I feel exactly like the first, Card is an an amazing author for being able to keep this story of good vs. evil alive for generations. You can call me an ultimate nerd for being so gripped by this novel that I actually cry every time I read it. I recomened this book to everyone, its a book that will excite, relate, and make you feel emotionaly connected to Ender for lifetimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    A must read. One of the very best.

    I've read this one several times. I love it.
    On the surface this is a fantastic story. You will love it just for that alone. But if you look any deeper you'll find a comentary on humanity and society and the psyche of fear. Everyone should read this book. Besides it's just a great read! And it's one of those rare books that teens and their parents will both love, and can talk about over dinner.
    Ender is one of the great characters in science fiction. This is a much easier read than "Dune" but Ender is as much fun to delve into as Paul Atreides.
    There's one violent scene so know your kids before you give them this book. My 10 year old son had no problem with it but he's a movie and video game fan so it wasn't bad to him. My 12 year old daughter found that part a little hard to read and I had to explain why that scene was important in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    Love this!

    This is one of my favorite books. I read it several years ago and have read it again many times since. It only gets better every time you read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Ender's Game is a Classic science fiction novel!

    I consider myself a person who fancies himself as a science fiction fan. I love the Softwire series, Star Trek and Star Wars. Stories involving space cruisers and desolate nuclear wastelands perk my interests. This is why Ender's Game sits on the top of my list as one of my favorite novels of all time. This book takes the science fiction genre to the next level with exciting characters, a compelling story that focuses on the human condition and really cool space battles that take place near the Bugger homeworld.
    The story stars Andrew "Ender" Wiggin a six year old boy who is taken to an elite training camp that is run by the military and his ultimate goal is to annihilate the "Buggers." An insectoid alien race who is at war with Earth. Although the conflict with the Buggers is very interesting the book really shines with its characters and story. Ender Wiggin is a very compelling character that you really like as you read the book. The plot doesn't seem fake or forced, and when you get hooked in you cannot put this book down.
    The only real problem I had with the book is its super accelerated ending. The story jumps at a rate of 20 year intervals in the last chapter. I understand why Orson Scott Card wrote it like this though, everything that takes place during this time is in the sequels.
    In the end Ender's Game comes out on top. A perfect five out of five. A must read
    George Counts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    Ender's Game is an instant classic!

    Ender's Game, a book by science fiction writer Orson Scott Card, is a book about, at the beginning of the story, a boy named Ender Wiggin who is, at the time, around six years old. Ender Wiggin comes from a very sophisticated and intelligent family, aside from Ender's brother, Peter, and is chosen to become a commander at a "battle school." This "battle school" is an isolated, solitary, camp for children ages six to eighteen to become prepared for battle against alien, bug-like creatures nicknamed, "buggers." Ender proceeds and excels in all of the "games" and faux wars fought with beams of light that "froze" you. Ender soon becomes the most disfavored by most of the children at battle school. Although Ender is unaccepted by his peers, he is one of the only ones that the "adults" were looking at. Back on Earth, Ender's sister, Valentine and elder brother, Peter, were, unfortunately, devising a plot to gain popularity and accountability with the outside media. They had to use false names, Demosthenes and Locke. Nobody knew, at the time, that they were just children. As for what happened with Ender, I will let you figure that out on your own. And as for what happened with "Demosthenes" and "Locke" I will let you figure this out on your own as well. Ender's Game is an all around great book and if you like science fiction you will definitely love this instant classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 189 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10