Customer Reviews for

Ender's Game (Ender Quintet #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2569)

4 Star

(530)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(108)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

121 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

End the Game

I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher readi...
I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher reading it. My math teacher is pretty, in her early 20's, and a conservative Bible-thumper, so I was curious to what she saw in it. Once I see somebody with a book in their hands, I become very nosy. Her rave review convinced me to read it.

What can I say about this book is that it's very fun and entertaining. I read it in one day. The sci-fi itself was pretty basic, and the most interesting part for me was Ender's trials at Battle School. Even though I had trouble following the null gravity battles. I did not understand Ender's explanation at all. It seems I would not be fit for Battle School :(

The most unbelievable part for me was the age of these kids. They were very young, yet talked like your average adult. I understand they were supposed to be genius's and everyone was chosen as the best in something, but the only I saw that in Ender. I wish I could have known the other characters more.

The "twist" ending didn't surprise me as much as the final chapter did. It just seemed so completely different from the rest of the book. I'm not sure whether or like it or not. This book definitely made me think in places.

Overall, I recommend it to sci-fi and non sci-fi fans alike. I'm interested to read the sequels to see what happens to their universe afterward, if I can find them at the library. The library has a nasty habit of only carrying some books in a series- and never the ones I want.

posted by Awesomeness1 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he despera...
One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he desperatly failed, lacking any sort of suspense and everything was predictable for the most part. I generally like all o fthe author books, but this was definetly one of his mosy failed attempts at a legacy...it honestly isnt worth your time to read.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3465 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 174
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    End the Game

    I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher reading it. My math teacher is pretty, in her early 20's, and a conservative Bible-thumper, so I was curious to what she saw in it. Once I see somebody with a book in their hands, I become very nosy. Her rave review convinced me to read it.

    What can I say about this book is that it's very fun and entertaining. I read it in one day. The sci-fi itself was pretty basic, and the most interesting part for me was Ender's trials at Battle School. Even though I had trouble following the null gravity battles. I did not understand Ender's explanation at all. It seems I would not be fit for Battle School :(

    The most unbelievable part for me was the age of these kids. They were very young, yet talked like your average adult. I understand they were supposed to be genius's and everyone was chosen as the best in something, but the only I saw that in Ender. I wish I could have known the other characters more.

    The "twist" ending didn't surprise me as much as the final chapter did. It just seemed so completely different from the rest of the book. I'm not sure whether or like it or not. This book definitely made me think in places.

    Overall, I recommend it to sci-fi and non sci-fi fans alike. I'm interested to read the sequels to see what happens to their universe afterward, if I can find them at the library. The library has a nasty habit of only carrying some books in a series- and never the ones I want.

    121 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificent World of Ender Wiggin

    I'm not sure how I've never made the time to read Orson Scott Card's "Ender's Game". It came to my attention about 15 years ago because of it's prescient inclusion of something like the Internet - a supercomputing, connected and communication experience. Viewing Ender's "desk" through the lens of 2010, one can't help but also applaud Card's anticipation of the iPad.

    The book is not standard sci-fi fare. Oh, it has its aliens (called "buggers" throughout the book), space- ships, travel, and battles, but it has much more than that. It has a unique depth. After reading it, I see now why schools are including it on their reading lists.

    Ender is a genius. A six-year-old genius. It becomes clear early in the book that Ender's intelligence is ridiculously off the charts, even by the standards of Card's fictional future. Card's mastery is on full display in how deep and dimensional he's able to make the characters. Like many children who have some distinguishing characteristic, whether it's a good or bad, Ender finds those characteristics under attack. He's very withdrawn, insecure and closed off to most of the real world. I couldn't help but feel Ender's claustrophobic view of his world.I couldn't help but feel his anger, frustration and outrage.

    I'm looking forward to reading more on Ender Wiggin. But like Ender, I need to step away for a while. I need some fresh air. I need to stretch out and catch my breath before I re-enter Ender's game...and Orson Scott Card's world.

    51 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Sci-Fi

    In the running for top 10 sci-fi books of all time, in my opinion. I am only sorry that I waited so long to read this gem. Card has kicked off his Ender Wiggin series in grand fashion here. With all the sclock coming out of hollywood these days, it would be nice to see a faithful screen adaptation of this novel- it could not go wrong. Truly an original story with gripping characters and an engaging plot. I could hardly put it down.

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Orson Scott Card

    This is a very good book. Orson Scott Card wrote an interesting book. In the book kids are taken from their homes and put into a school that teaches them to become the best naval fleet commanders they can be. The main cause of this is an alien enemy called the Formics, and are generally called the Buggers as a more unofficial name. It is a strange step to use children and train them from age 6 to about 18. This is similar to Sparta where the best and smartest were the only ones allowed to fight and started at age 7.

    Ender however will not have that much time to become the best commander he can. The book goes through his struggles of isolation, being younger than most other kids, and the resentment of others at his perfection of everything. I recomend this book for anyone who just wants a fun read while still making you think a little bit.

    26 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Movie

    Btw there is a movie of this book coming out in 2013. It has the kid with the awesome eyes who played hugo...and the chick from nims island. Sorry only movies i can think of with them in it. Go to IMDB for more info!
    Hope that helps!!!!

    20 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Everyone Should Read this at Least Once

    Everyone should read this book at least once. The imagery O.S. Card uses is so extreme and futuristic, considering that this book was written in the eighties; indeed, ahead of its time, some instances have recently appeared in the last few years. The overall plot keeps you turning the pages. Read it- you wont be disappointed!

    19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Gravo

    My all-time favorite book!

    16 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    A great book

    I happened to stumble across this book by accident. I have so enjoyed reading it that I gave it to my Grandson. He so liked it that I have purchased a number of other books in this series. This is a great books for kids to read.

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    Very Enjoyable Reading!

    Ender¿s Game by Orson Scott Card is a thought provoking book about Andrew ¿Ender¿ Wiggin and his attempts to help the military save the plant from destruction. However, the pre-pubescent child has no idea that he is actually helping the military. Ender is rather brilliant, just like his older sister and brother. His intelligence causes lots of problems throughout the story, especially resentment from classmates, both on Earth and while he attends the Battle School. Ender enjoys being at the Battle School because he is presented with many games that help stimulate war such as computer games and one that is similar to laser tag. One game in particular called ¿Free Play¿ fascinates the boy because he cannot seem to get past a level. This computer game stumps him until he begins to get angry, and the game rewards his frustrations with progress, conditioning Ender's violent tendencies and supporting his need to win completely. He manages to succeed extremely well at the laser tag game and using superior tactics, manages to defeat more experienced soldiers. Ender reorients his team using the phrase ¿the enemies¿ gate is down¿ so that they always know where the zero G environment is located. Because of his advancing skills, Ender becomes a leader at the Battle School and after being transferred to Command School, others begin watching how he plays the games. Through his lessons at the Battle School, Ender learns that reality is not always what it seems. <BR/>The author uses two different fonts to distinguish between the military¿s world and Ender¿s belief of what the world is. This format helps the reader recognize that Ender does not understand his environment and that reality is not what he believes it to be. Card uses a limited point of view to help the reader feel the same isolation that Ender must endure. The setting plays an important role in Ender¿s Game because without the technological advancements that allow space travel, Ender would never have left the Earth. <BR/>Science fiction novels generally do not draw largely on the author¿s own life, but Card¿s life had some influence on Ender¿s Game. He enjoyed reading immensely as a child which sparked his imagination. Card¿s first interaction with political activism was prior to and during the 1964 presidential election because his family had just moved to a very conservative town in Arizona. This introduction to politics plays some role in how the military control Ender¿s mind. Card¿s own children enjoyed video games greatly and his son Geoffrey currently designs them for a living. <BR/>I would greatly recommend this book because I truly enjoyed it. I do not tend to like reading and this book grabbed my attention from the beginning. I related to Ender¿s fascination with the games because I enjoy playing video games in my free time. The plot has many twists and turns that will keep the reader anxiously waiting for what will happen next, but the story still flows smoothly. Ender¿s Game is a book that I believe many young adults can relate to today as the popularity of video games increases.

    16 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Anonymous

    One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he desperatly failed, lacking any sort of suspense and everything was predictable for the most part. I generally like all o fthe author books, but this was definetly one of his mosy failed attempts at a legacy...it honestly isnt worth your time to read.

    14 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great

    Everyone should read Enders Game, 3 chears for enders game

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    You guys dont make sense

    Instead of complaining about the one page sample JUST BUY THE FREAKIN BOOK. Its a really good book.

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    I love this book

    I read this for english class in high school 15 years ago,and loved it. I have reread it about every other year since. Definitely recommend.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    free sample isnt worth downloading

    Is only one page. Its like only reading the first two words of a poem. YOU CANT FIND OUT WHAT IT IS ABOUT!!!!

    11 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    A Must Read at ANY age

    This is a classic novel in the sci-fi genre. Non sci-fi fans will love it too!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    I love it

    This is my favorite book of all time no doubt

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Aeh. So-so.

    I know everyone will say that "Enders Game" is the best sci fi classic ever. Bla bla bla.

    I
    did
    not
    care
    for
    It
    At.
    All.


    So sue me.

    7 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    GREAT

    This book is an openly amazing, exciting, and wonderful. It pulls you right in and you can't stop reading! I'm 11 and I read this book in a day, and I haven't done that since the Harry Potter, or Twilight, series. That just shows you how this book compares with many other greats.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Ender's Game

    One of the best books ever written

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great

    Favorite book ever

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3465 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 174