Customer Reviews for

Ender's Game (Ender Quintet #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3449 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2569)

4 Star

(530)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(108)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

121 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

End the Game

I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher readi...
I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher reading it. My math teacher is pretty, in her early 20's, and a conservative Bible-thumper, so I was curious to what she saw in it. Once I see somebody with a book in their hands, I become very nosy. Her rave review convinced me to read it.

What can I say about this book is that it's very fun and entertaining. I read it in one day. The sci-fi itself was pretty basic, and the most interesting part for me was Ender's trials at Battle School. Even though I had trouble following the null gravity battles. I did not understand Ender's explanation at all. It seems I would not be fit for Battle School :(

The most unbelievable part for me was the age of these kids. They were very young, yet talked like your average adult. I understand they were supposed to be genius's and everyone was chosen as the best in something, but the only I saw that in Ender. I wish I could have known the other characters more.

The "twist" ending didn't surprise me as much as the final chapter did. It just seemed so completely different from the rest of the book. I'm not sure whether or like it or not. This book definitely made me think in places.

Overall, I recommend it to sci-fi and non sci-fi fans alike. I'm interested to read the sequels to see what happens to their universe afterward, if I can find them at the library. The library has a nasty habit of only carrying some books in a series- and never the ones I want.

posted by Awesomeness1 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he despera...
One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he desperatly failed, lacking any sort of suspense and everything was predictable for the most part. I generally like all o fthe author books, but this was definetly one of his mosy failed attempts at a legacy...it honestly isnt worth your time to read.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Ender's Game

    Ender¿s Game Hello, I am a junior at a high school in San Diego, California, and I recently read Ender¿s Game by Orson Scott Card. I read this book because it was assigned to my English class by our teacher. Because I have recently read this book I am knowledgeable and I have a good overall understanding of it. In general, this book did not appeal to me for many reasons. For example, this book seemed a little more futuristic than the types of books I usually read. I did not like how Ender was forced into leadership at such a young age and how he was placed into situations that are more suited for people older than him such as adults. In addition, the relationships between the siblings in the story were both too close and loving to be realistic or too distant and violent. Furthermore, the vocabulary and way of speaking was distracting and pulled my attention away from the main purpose of the story. The parts of the book that I liked were when Ender is placed in dilemmas where he could stick to the popular thing to do, or stand up for what is right and do the correct thing. Another thing that I disliked was the authority that the humans and I.F. had over the students like Ender who are more important than they are, and his use of examples showing Enders true genuine heart. For me, Ender¿s Game was a slow to medium read because of the high amount of action, there is a lot going on at all times which got a little bit distracting and confusing sometimes. At all times there was a lot to remember and focus on. There were quite a few characters which at times got confusing to remember who was who but the lack of specific detail made it a little bit easier to remember all of them. I would say this book is a good read for young teens all the way to young adults. There is not too much difficult vocabulary so most ages would be able to comprehend the overall meaning of the story. Orson Scott Card uses many different types of literary techniques throughout the story. Some include symbolism, when Ender is put into positions and is forced to make decisions that are not suited for a seven year old, but more for an adult or someone with more life experience. For example, being forced into command school at such a young age. Also, plot twist, when Ender and the rest of the I.F. go to the buggers home planet he thinks it is just another game and he later realizes that they are actually there as part of the third invasion trying to kill of the bugger species entirely. And epiphany, Ender realizes that the I.F. is wrong about the buggers. Ender realizes that they are completely harmless and he feels bad for invading their planet. Overall, this book is best suited for people who like the more action packed, fictional story lines because of the futuristic feel it has. People within the ages of thirteen and mid-twenties would be most attracted to this book because of their large and active imaginations. This is not a book that I would have chose to read if it was not assigned to me, but it was a good experience to read something that is not typically my taste in reading.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Hi

    Is this anygood?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    :)

    :) hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Click here

    You just took an order from a random person

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Eh

    This book is strange. The only reason i made it to the end was curiosity. The action is good, but the characters and plot were not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Dylan.bouvia@ejshs.org

    Im the guy that drew


    =====]::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Definitely Recommended

    I really enjoyed the full story after seeing the movie. The book was much better, particularly in filling in the broader story line. Wish I had read this series back in the day. It was definitely ahead of its time, although with today's technology it came alive on the screen. I'm looking forward to reading the next 3 books.
    I'm in a book club and could definitely see reading this as a club selection. Themes range from genetic engineering / selection, to taking advantage of youthful trust and associated adult manipulation for the "greater good". The impact of these kinds of activities on these very bright youngsters as they come to fully realize the impact of their actions, etc. The affects of bullying in the development of these kids, both in a normal settings and among their peers. The list goes on.
    Definitely an interesting read which was improved by the author's introduction that was included in the e-book I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Not as good as you may expect

    Seems to repeat... training exercise after training exercise.

    Bleh. Should have read something else.

    Will still probably see the movie... on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    This is your life!

    When i saw the cover of this book i just started to hate the book.But as i got far in to it got more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    This would not be one of my favorite books or book series to read.

    Interesting premise but it bordered on crude in a few places and definitely NOT a children's or young person's book. I finished the book and I am not interested in reading the sequels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Ok

    This book was aheah of its time with tabket computers, andthe concepts its ok, not awful not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Poor Ender

    If I had not paid for this book I would not have finished it. The child abuse got to be too much for me. I was pained by the life forced on chilren. I cried for Ender more than I want to admit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    hannahferrell47@yahoo.com

    Add me plz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Bad sample

    But i think its good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    It becomes predictable even prior to seeing the movie.

    It's a good story line and enjoyable to leisurely read well waiting for an appointment or any other time you have to spare. Not a must read for sci-fi fans since there are more engrossing plots out there. There are some neat ideas in regards to the technology of the day. I hope the movie is more flashy to keep me interested. I'm half way through the second book and it's much of the same in writing skills and story line. I doubt if I'll read the next ones unless the plot thickens and becomes more intense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Ehhh

    Cool but boring. If it didn't have so many componets it could focus on other things. The end was really disapointing. I have read better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Thunderfang

    Sprints Back To Camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Read This

    Okay. First things first. This is an amazing book and I enjoyed it very much. However, I cannot in good concience give this book the 5 stars it deserves because the author, OS Card, is an avowed homophobe and I cannot give him my support. READ THIS BOOK! But get it from your local library. Mr. Card doesn't deserve a dime.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Bnjurs

    S
    NOT GOOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Anessa<3

    Heyyy people if u ever need anybody 2 txt just for fun then txt me just 2let u kno i am bisexual... my # is 8132704384

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4