BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ender's Game (Ender Quintet #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2618)

4 Star

(541)

3 Star

(183)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(114)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

124 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

End the Game

I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher readi...
I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher reading it. My math teacher is pretty, in her early 20's, and a conservative Bible-thumper, so I was curious to what she saw in it. Once I see somebody with a book in their hands, I become very nosy. Her rave review convinced me to read it.

What can I say about this book is that it's very fun and entertaining. I read it in one day. The sci-fi itself was pretty basic, and the most interesting part for me was Ender's trials at Battle School. Even though I had trouble following the null gravity battles. I did not understand Ender's explanation at all. It seems I would not be fit for Battle School :(

The most unbelievable part for me was the age of these kids. They were very young, yet talked like your average adult. I understand they were supposed to be genius's and everyone was chosen as the best in something, but the only I saw that in Ender. I wish I could have known the other characters more.

The "twist" ending didn't surprise me as much as the final chapter did. It just seemed so completely different from the rest of the book. I'm not sure whether or like it or not. This book definitely made me think in places.

Overall, I recommend it to sci-fi and non sci-fi fans alike. I'm interested to read the sequels to see what happens to their universe afterward, if I can find them at the library. The library has a nasty habit of only carrying some books in a series- and never the ones I want.

posted by Awesomeness1 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he despera...
One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he desperatly failed, lacking any sort of suspense and everything was predictable for the most part. I generally like all o fthe author books, but this was definetly one of his mosy failed attempts at a legacy...it honestly isnt worth your time to read.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    It was okay

    I read many reviews, and most of them indicated this was a great read. It was good, but didn't meet my expectations.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Pooh

    Great book, but i think it has waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too many bad words. On the description, it says this book is for 10+. 10 year olds are reading this book and reading those bad words. Card should have excluded those words.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    a new story twist

    I am a fan of sci fi/fantasy and this is very different story line. Just not my "cup of tea".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    To anonymous stop!!!!!

    I care. If I happen to be unsure about whether or not i should buy a book I read the long reviews to get more details about whether or not I would like it. People write long reviews if they a. Really liked the book and wanted to share. B. Didnt like the book and wanted to warn people. Or c. Just want to help others by giving details of the kind of book it is. So dont be a pooper and criticize.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Teribble and Confusing

    Okay...um hi. So I had to read this for school summer reading and it was just terrible. The book jumps right in without a prolouge or any explination whatsoever about the book therefore keeping me not focused. A good thing is that there are many challengig words to grow your learning in vocab. Mildly gruesome. A LOT of profanity /or innapropriate language. Story goes by quickly so by the time i finished the final page i was like "What the heck?". I like many sci-fi books which is surprising since I am a girl but if you are looking for a book to enjoy and read I would find something else.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Review

    Its okay ...if ya like since fiction it is good. Some parts are more exciting than others . Once he starts getting in armies it is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Is this book any good?

    It looks good but i dont know what its really about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Any good?

    I got the sample but dont know what to make of it. Is this book any good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Um...

    B&N is getting ridiculous. The overview of this book is about the movie, and IT DOESN'T EVEN END IN A COMPLETE SENTENCE!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    G

    Well,this is my first sci-fi book because you know, I've always been more of a fantasy girl. I honestly thought that this was going to be one of the greatest books that I have ever read, but the brink of the middle to the ending had me confused, and a bit bored.

    Don't get me wrong though, the author really had it going there and I admire alot of his work here in this book, but you know, it just wasn't for me. I guess this is a whole sci-fi fan thing, so I'll just go back to my fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    great book...but...

    It was a great book. I enjoyed it alot...the story and actions. But when the movie came out, it ruined it. Movies limit your imaginations so it is really hard for film industry to make a successful movie on books. (Except for The Fault in Our Stars) Mr.Card probably made a bad choice to let this book come out for movie in my opinion. The book was still good. Please respect my opinion. And thanks for reading this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book because it was being turned into a film, and it

    I read this book because it was being turned into a film, and it felt like it was about too many things all at once in just the right way. While the author might have written over a dozen related works, it ended perfectly. We don't need to know what Ender does after finding a queen egg, we don't need to know why one of the side characters was the way he was, or that another side character did a literal 180 personality wise and suddenly wanted out of life things she felt were pointless beforehand—we know enough to know that the world is better and that the war is over with the aliens, who knew they were going to live again because of the commander who destroyed them. It should have been left as was because the results afterwards could have ended many ways, and the author kind of ruined it by narrowing the outcome into a pigeonhole it wasn't before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Ok book

    Ok but not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Heavy reading

    This is an interesting, unique story, but the paragraphs and chapters are long and ponderous. Authors like Baldacci's style uses slim paragraphs and short chapters which promote quick pace reading. The ending has different phases; the first being a suprise and entertaining, the others being weird and unbelievable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    I saw the movie

    Movie was great, so I decided to get the book aswell. People told me the movie didn't go like the book did. But I guess I'll find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    It was ok

    This book wa s fine nor bad not great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Good

    The movie does not come close to how good the book is, if you get the shot read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Disturbing

    I was mentally scarred by this book. The detail, with the astronauts deaths

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Movie

    I just watched the movie and it was decent. Does anyone know if the book is better than the major motion picutre? Thank in advance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Ehh

    For a homophobe, this book is pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10