Customer Reviews for

Ender's Game (Ender Quintet #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3542 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2635)

4 Star

(541)

3 Star

(184)

2 Star

(67)

1 Star

(115)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

124 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

End the Game

I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher readi...
I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher reading it. My math teacher is pretty, in her early 20's, and a conservative Bible-thumper, so I was curious to what she saw in it. Once I see somebody with a book in their hands, I become very nosy. Her rave review convinced me to read it.

What can I say about this book is that it's very fun and entertaining. I read it in one day. The sci-fi itself was pretty basic, and the most interesting part for me was Ender's trials at Battle School. Even though I had trouble following the null gravity battles. I did not understand Ender's explanation at all. It seems I would not be fit for Battle School :(

The most unbelievable part for me was the age of these kids. They were very young, yet talked like your average adult. I understand they were supposed to be genius's and everyone was chosen as the best in something, but the only I saw that in Ender. I wish I could have known the other characters more.

The "twist" ending didn't surprise me as much as the final chapter did. It just seemed so completely different from the rest of the book. I'm not sure whether or like it or not. This book definitely made me think in places.

Overall, I recommend it to sci-fi and non sci-fi fans alike. I'm interested to read the sequels to see what happens to their universe afterward, if I can find them at the library. The library has a nasty habit of only carrying some books in a series- and never the ones I want.

posted by Awesomeness1 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he despera...
One of the most confusing booksnive ever read. It starts out pretty cool but as you continue reading its very hard to understand, and overall just not that great of a.book. you can tell the author tried to make it have twists and be surprising and.be GOOD but he desperatly failed, lacking any sort of suspense and everything was predictable for the most part. I generally like all o fthe author books, but this was definetly one of his mosy failed attempts at a legacy...it honestly isnt worth your time to read.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    End the Game

    I've seen this book in libraries, on best-of lists, and pretty much everywhere. But I've always dismissed it because of the cover and the premise which just seemed corny and something meant for 14-yr-old StarWars fans. So I was surprised when I saw my math teacher reading it. My math teacher is pretty, in her early 20's, and a conservative Bible-thumper, so I was curious to what she saw in it. Once I see somebody with a book in their hands, I become very nosy. Her rave review convinced me to read it.

    What can I say about this book is that it's very fun and entertaining. I read it in one day. The sci-fi itself was pretty basic, and the most interesting part for me was Ender's trials at Battle School. Even though I had trouble following the null gravity battles. I did not understand Ender's explanation at all. It seems I would not be fit for Battle School :(

    The most unbelievable part for me was the age of these kids. They were very young, yet talked like your average adult. I understand they were supposed to be genius's and everyone was chosen as the best in something, but the only I saw that in Ender. I wish I could have known the other characters more.

    The "twist" ending didn't surprise me as much as the final chapter did. It just seemed so completely different from the rest of the book. I'm not sure whether or like it or not. This book definitely made me think in places.

    Overall, I recommend it to sci-fi and non sci-fi fans alike. I'm interested to read the sequels to see what happens to their universe afterward, if I can find them at the library. The library has a nasty habit of only carrying some books in a series- and never the ones I want.

    124 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificent World of Ender Wiggin

    I'm not sure how I've never made the time to read Orson Scott Card's "Ender's Game". It came to my attention about 15 years ago because of it's prescient inclusion of something like the Internet - a supercomputing, connected and communication experience. Viewing Ender's "desk" through the lens of 2010, one can't help but also applaud Card's anticipation of the iPad.

    The book is not standard sci-fi fare. Oh, it has its aliens (called "buggers" throughout the book), space- ships, travel, and battles, but it has much more than that. It has a unique depth. After reading it, I see now why schools are including it on their reading lists.

    Ender is a genius. A six-year-old genius. It becomes clear early in the book that Ender's intelligence is ridiculously off the charts, even by the standards of Card's fictional future. Card's mastery is on full display in how deep and dimensional he's able to make the characters. Like many children who have some distinguishing characteristic, whether it's a good or bad, Ender finds those characteristics under attack. He's very withdrawn, insecure and closed off to most of the real world. I couldn't help but feel Ender's claustrophobic view of his world.I couldn't help but feel his anger, frustration and outrage.

    I'm looking forward to reading more on Ender Wiggin. But like Ender, I need to step away for a while. I need some fresh air. I need to stretch out and catch my breath before I re-enter Ender's game...and Orson Scott Card's world.

    51 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    A sci-fi classic!

    'Ender's Game' kicks off a series of books beloved by readers of all ages. Card's clean & straightforward prose elucidates the challenges, hardships & eventual vindication of one boy's rise through Battle School in a future where gifted childrrn are robbed of their childhood and cynically honed as weapons in a war against alien invaders. Ender's story is gripping on a psychological, social & action level as he outsmarts everyone who treats him unfairly. A great mix of futuristic tech, tactical game theory and coming of age all too early tale. This is the book that got me hooked on science fiction as a kid!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    This series is so good

    I can warmly recommend it. Classic science fictiin

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Great Sci-fi concepts

    I found this book fun to read. It had a lot of interesting sci-fi concepts, but I expected him to take some of them a little further than he did. I also felt that the ending wrapped up too quickly and found myself confused how he had ended up in that situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Ender's Game review

    I think that this is a great book, very well written, though it does go through a rather slow period in the middle.
    though one word of warning, this is a teen novel about children definitely not a children's novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Good book

    The book overall was pretty good and had some pretty interesting characters. Anyway, the only thing that really bothered me was the formatting on the nook. For me it had about 800 pages when in reality it had probably less than half the amount. I just hated reading the book that way. But it was a pretty good book that held my attention most of the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Couldnt put it down untill towards the end. 

    Couldnt put it down untill towards the end. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Excelent

    Muy buen libro, muy recomendable

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Phenomenal series

    The Ender series and the shadow series are well written and extremely enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book though at times it was confusing butid still recomend it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    This will be my traveling journal

    I have always wnted to wrute a journal for myself, and here i have found a way to share it. If you can find it, then i give you permission to read it. My name is Kate. I am a teenage girl that lives somewhere i wont tell you. This is my screwed up life.
    My mother has been called crazy by some, a genius by others, and loud by all. A few years ago, she started her own theatre company for kids. Or adults. She saysits for young people, but if she finds any boys, she has to cast them. You would think that boys would catch on that there are lots of girls in thetre, but they dont. I am currently acting in her production of Twelfth night. To give you an idea of what its like, let me describe one rhearsal:
    I walk through the doors to tje gym. In one corner, Molly cartwheels and falls on her bottom, only to get up again. And then do other cartwheel, her nike shorts flapping around her skinny legs. In otjer corner, tlyer lounges with his guitar, steumming and staring at the floor. Danielle shoots him glances of admiration from across the room. Morgan and blake stand together. Have to go. Look at the book peaches fir another installment. The title will be red roses in the summer

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2014

    Enjoyable book I found the honesty of the characters refreshing,

    Enjoyable book
    I found the honesty of the characters refreshing, but I do wonder if a child thinking he's playing a wargame would be more effective than an adult knowing he was dealing with real life. I understand the concept, but I feel real soldiers who have fought on real battlegrounds have an ability/maturity that can only be gained through real experience, which in turn tempers that soldier's ability to make quick and reliable decisions in dire circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    The book I read is called Ender¿s Game by Orson Scott Card. Card

    The book I read is called Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Card was born in Richland, Washington in 1951. Also he was named after his grandfather Orson Rega Card. Got married to Kristine Allen and had 3 children.
    Andrew Wiggin (Ender) is a 6 year old boy that was chosen by the government to one day be a hero and defender of earth just like Mazer Rackman was when he saved the human race from the buggers over 70 years ago. He was chosen before he was even born because since his siblings Valentine and Peter were somewhat what the government wanted but both of them put together so Ender was the third. The government monitored him for his whole life until one day when he beat up a bully and ended up accidently killing him. And they sent Colonel Gaff to go and persuade Ender to go to battle school and train so he can later on save the human race. Ender accepted and in there surprise ender proved himself within months of sending him to the school and was well ready to be a leader and ready to be able to join older kids and got be in battles in the battle room where they are weightless. Even though he got into his first army the commander of the army was an 11 year old and didn’t like him because he was only 6 years old and the older boys called the little kids launches and didn’t respect them until there were of age of 11. But after a while he was traded to another army and he proved to them that he wasn’t just useless as everyone thought he was but after years past by and he had a fair shares of being on different armies. He finally became a leader of his own and had his own army, even though all the other army leaders were old friends or old enemies hi was determined to prove himself. When he finally got to meet his army he was at first disappointed because he was given all of the newbies and had no veterans of battles before all of them were fresh launches that just got moved up to the armies and had no experience in battle or how to control themselves in zero gravity. But that wasn’t going to stop him from being the best army and army commander at the school and after 3 long weeks of training his troops everything he knew about fighting in zero gravity. And in their first couple of battles he and all his troops have proven themselves the best but after a while the teachers and the colonel’s wanted to get Ender used to being outnumbered in battle because the buggers had numbers over the humans space fleet. So they started to put armies together to make them outnumber 2 to 1 and see how Ender reacted, at first he thought he was being cheated and did some of the boldest moves he could come up with under pressure, it paid off. After a couple of more battles the Commanders in charge of battle school decided to hurry up and get him to the Commanders school because there fleet was getting close to the buggers home world and they needed a commander. So once he finally was transferred he was alone and under a lot of stress, but after a while when Gaff left him alone he woke up to an old man sitting on the floor staring at him without talking and he did this for hours and since the door was locked Ender didn’t know what to do. So finally he began to exercise but the old man grabbed his leg and though him to the ground and said don’t turn your back to your enemy and after a while he figured out that that old man was Mazer Rackman the most famous IF space commander. Maze taught a lot to Ender and got him ready to take the buggers head on, And when he was ready gave Ender his own fleet and had his old friends as officers of it but there where to train and battle in a simulator. And learned to work together and learn to trust each other after a while they thought they were ready to be challenge and Mazer himself made simulators to challenge them to do better but secretly there were actually commanding the real space fleet but they didn’t know it. And after defeating the so called simulated test that Ender and his team thought they were fighting It came to the final test but it was actually the buggers last defense against the human space fleet and Ender and his friends were outnumbered 1000 to 1 but in the end Ender sent a Dr. Device which was a bomb that had a blast that impulse and everything in its blast radius will be destroyed. So after doing some quick maneuvers he shot the bomb at the planet not knowing what it could do.
    The point of the book was to tell the people that no one can have a normal life and that you are a pawn in the government’s game and that they would always be like that until they could get away from it.
    I really liked this because it kept me and the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it. I’ve really liked it because Ender the hero and main character in the book never wanted to hurt people and actually he never knew who he was fighting ended up winning all the battles. And in over whelming odds he took the buggers head on and fought with the only resources he had.
    I recommend this book to whoever likes science fiction books and how earth will be like in the future. And if you really like to think about the future and how it could end up this is the book to read this because I love books that talk about the future And this is a good book to get you started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Hi its Lance again

    Get the dang book it is soooooooo goood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    pretty good read kinda was slow for me in the end 

    pretty good read kinda was slow for me in the end 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    Format could be better

    It's a challenge to read because of its size and thickness. I bought this for my sister and she said the opacity of the ink text varies. I will write another review once she finishes reading this book but for now, this is the rating that I could give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Enjoyable

    This book is an enjoyable read. I'm impressed how well the movie followed the story line! Sit back, relax & get ready to let yourself be thriled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    A really good book

    Watch the movie. Read the book. Harrisin ford is great in the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    To read this

    What? You are wierd. You just got the fat lady surprize say good bye.......bang! Thats what its like how odd is it?oh and chat with me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 28