Customer Reviews for

Ender's Shadow (Ender's Shadow Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(375)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Ender's Game

Orson Scott Card has created another master piece in his novel, Ender¿s Shadow. This parallel to Ender¿s Game is remarkably intriguing in the different perspectives and interpretations of Ender Wiggin and the development of Bean. You are taken on a journey through a b...
Orson Scott Card has created another master piece in his novel, Ender¿s Shadow. This parallel to Ender¿s Game is remarkably intriguing in the different perspectives and interpretations of Ender Wiggin and the development of Bean. You are taken on a journey through a boy¿s life who acted Ender¿s right hand man in Ender¿s Game. Bean, as he is nicknamed, is a homeless child with nothing but violence and his need for learning accompanying him. Because of his diminutive physicality, he must overcome many situations using only his wits. Personally I felt that this novel was a close second to Ender¿s Game, although many people may disagree. Much more action and inner conflict took place in Ender¿s Game, and I feel that it was, personally, easier to relate to. However, it is still very interesting to see how the much smarter, but more petite ¿shadow of Ender¿ endures his life, and how Ender is portrayed from a different perspective. His deprived childhood makes this book easy to get into, while his perseverance and advance intellectual mind, as well as the many situations he encounters in Battle School, makes this very easy to continue. Even if you have never heard of the book Ender¿s Game, this book is still very interesting and very easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Sci-Fi, and people who just feel like reading a good book.

posted by jonkane on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good on its own, but not as part of the series

As I said in my headline, this book isn't bad. Alongside Ender's Game however, this book leaves a lot to be desired. The book was not planned while Ender's game was being written and it shows in many many places. The original characters, Bean and Ender primarily, are wr...
As I said in my headline, this book isn't bad. Alongside Ender's Game however, this book leaves a lot to be desired. The book was not planned while Ender's game was being written and it shows in many many places. The original characters, Bean and Ender primarily, are written to be completely different than in Ender's Game. The characters are changed so much in fact as to disrupt the reader's suspension of disbelief. Ender is torn down from genius hero and portrayed instead to be nothing but second rate to Bean. This book fits into the series like a square peg into a round hole.

posted by 11869512 on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 481 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    Ender's Game

    Orson Scott Card has created another master piece in his novel, Ender¿s Shadow. This parallel to Ender¿s Game is remarkably intriguing in the different perspectives and interpretations of Ender Wiggin and the development of Bean. You are taken on a journey through a boy¿s life who acted Ender¿s right hand man in Ender¿s Game. Bean, as he is nicknamed, is a homeless child with nothing but violence and his need for learning accompanying him. Because of his diminutive physicality, he must overcome many situations using only his wits. Personally I felt that this novel was a close second to Ender¿s Game, although many people may disagree. Much more action and inner conflict took place in Ender¿s Game, and I feel that it was, personally, easier to relate to. However, it is still very interesting to see how the much smarter, but more petite ¿shadow of Ender¿ endures his life, and how Ender is portrayed from a different perspective. His deprived childhood makes this book easy to get into, while his perseverance and advance intellectual mind, as well as the many situations he encounters in Battle School, makes this very easy to continue. Even if you have never heard of the book Ender¿s Game, this book is still very interesting and very easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Sci-Fi, and people who just feel like reading a good book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Excellent book

    The thinking is highly advanced and makes this book quite an interesting read. I read this after reading Ender's Game, and it is cool how everyhing fits together so perfectly. I would highly recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind thinking while they read. I have read and re-read this numerous times, and will continue to do so in the future!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Worth it!

    I read Ender's Game first, then decided to read this book next, as I have found out they are now making a movie based on these two books. This book was incredible! Not only did I enjoy immersing myself into Bean's mind, I enjoyed seeing the Battle School and everything else from a different perspective. Well done.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Good

    Definitly worth buying. My friend ashly bought for me and forced me to read it. Its all aout bean. Hes great and just as clever and thinky and ender but as raised on the streets and has more street smarts. Buy it definitly. Also recommend enders game. And dont think you have to read enders game first. There parrellel novels meant to be read in either order

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Good on its own, but not as part of the series

    As I said in my headline, this book isn't bad. Alongside Ender's Game however, this book leaves a lot to be desired. The book was not planned while Ender's game was being written and it shows in many many places. The original characters, Bean and Ender primarily, are written to be completely different than in Ender's Game. The characters are changed so much in fact as to disrupt the reader's suspension of disbelief. Ender is torn down from genius hero and portrayed instead to be nothing but second rate to Bean. This book fits into the series like a square peg into a round hole.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Awe-inspiring

    Ender's Shadow is an excellent read, one I would recommend to readers of all ages and fans of all genres. This book is filled with military intelligence, cunning, wit, humor, friendship, rivalry, loyalty, love, and an admirable amount of grit and determination coming from the smallest and most unlikely of places. Having read Ender's Game already will not take away from this fantastic tale but might, instead, add to it. I hope that readers and fans of Ender will come to love Bean and hold a special place for him in their hearts as I have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Great

    I liked how this book provided another point of view but follows along with the events in enders game

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Bean's Story

    Loved this book but wish I had read it right after Ender's Game or at the same time!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Ender's Shadow

    Was almost as good as Ender's Game

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Amazing

    This is one of the first military sciences fiction booksI have ever read. I loved this book so much I read the entire series and then read all of the Ender books. Not gonna lie, I like the shadow series more, simply because Bean is a major boss in every way. He was given the most interesting background I have ever read, and was given more potential than Ender could ever had had. Although both series are great, I absolutely adore this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    interesting to see bean's side of the story

    interesting to see bean's side of the story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Better than ender's game!

    Bean's point of view is so enlightening. He was hilarious! This book had even more action than its companion. Now it's time to read the rest off the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book

    Tells the same story of enders game but from a different perspective. Very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    It's a really great book. Just like ENDER'S SHADOW!

    Pure AWESMENESS!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Excellent

    An excellent companion to enders game, maintaining the overall flow of the story, as well as the relateability of the charaters, while providing new insights into the world of ender.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Great parallel story telling

    Bean may be bettet than Ender

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Awesome book

    A great book showing the original book in a different perspective. Bean turns out to sometims be a more exciting main character than Ender was. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Long needed sequel to Ender's Game

    Excellent read for those who enjoyed Ender's game!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Ender's Shadow, A stunning follow up to Ender's Game

    Ender's Shadow is the story of Bean, Ender's close comrade and friend from Ender's Game. This story is takes place at the same time as the Ender's Game, however it follows Bean from his early childhood all the way to the end of Ender's Game. This story shows a very different childhood and introduction to the IF compared to Ender, Bean is a street rat that used the IF to escape his town. The story is nothing like Ender's Game, it starts off with Bean starving in the streets of Rotterdam, organizing a gang of children using his immense knowledge. As I was reading this book, it completely changes my perspective on Ender's Game, I feel more empathy for Bean after learning about his struggles. I highly recommend reading this book after Ender's Game to learn the background information. I feel that this book is very powerful and changed my perspective on Ender's Game, I suggest to everybody to get in on this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Another Master Piece From Orson Scott Card- BEST ONE YET!!!

    Ender's Shadow by Orson Scott Card, published 12/15/2000,is a fiction book that you wont be able to put down! It is the best one of Card's books yet. It is like Ender's Games but from another charecters point of view. Bean is a hyper-intelligent young kid off the streets that gets recruited by a nun to go to battle school to fight the buggers. It is a very exciting book because you get to see battle school from another perspective besides Ender's and not just anyones. Bean is a very young genius, who has an act to figure things out and not settling for second.
    This book is exciting and fun. You wont be able to stop reading it once you have started.This book affected me by giving me an escape from life and stress, it helped me take my mind off of homework and work and gave me a place to go and get lost in a world of pure exciting imagination and adventure. I would recommend this book and other books from the Enders series to everyone and anyone. It is easy to follow and has very clear details so you always know exactly whats going on.
    The setting in Ender's Shadow takes place on the hellish streets of Rotterdam, where Bean is on the verge of starvation and fighting for food, but being the smallest and youngest on the street he cant get by with strength or toughness like the other kids. Beans has to use his brain and strategy to survive.Card uses so much detail to describe the setting you know how it feels to live on the streets and you learn the personality's and weaknesses of the other character. In battle school, the author does amazing at drawing this picture for you to where you know exactly how each room and section of the school looks and is used for.
    Bean goes through so many adventure and life threatening challenges that keep you locked in and anxious! You will be surprised and shock how many twists and turns there are in the story. The book will surpass all your expectations. Be prepared to fall in love with each character and their lives. I highly recommend Ender's Shadow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 481 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25