Customer Reviews for

Ender's Shadow (Ender's Shadow Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 492 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(386)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Ender's Game

Orson Scott Card has created another master piece in his novel, Ender¿s Shadow. This parallel to Ender¿s Game is remarkably intriguing in the different perspectives and interpretations of Ender Wiggin and the development of Bean. You are taken on a journey through a b...
Orson Scott Card has created another master piece in his novel, Ender¿s Shadow. This parallel to Ender¿s Game is remarkably intriguing in the different perspectives and interpretations of Ender Wiggin and the development of Bean. You are taken on a journey through a boy¿s life who acted Ender¿s right hand man in Ender¿s Game. Bean, as he is nicknamed, is a homeless child with nothing but violence and his need for learning accompanying him. Because of his diminutive physicality, he must overcome many situations using only his wits. Personally I felt that this novel was a close second to Ender¿s Game, although many people may disagree. Much more action and inner conflict took place in Ender¿s Game, and I feel that it was, personally, easier to relate to. However, it is still very interesting to see how the much smarter, but more petite ¿shadow of Ender¿ endures his life, and how Ender is portrayed from a different perspective. His deprived childhood makes this book easy to get into, while his perseverance and advance intellectual mind, as well as the many situations he encounters in Battle School, makes this very easy to continue. Even if you have never heard of the book Ender¿s Game, this book is still very interesting and very easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Sci-Fi, and people who just feel like reading a good book.

posted by jonkane on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good on its own, but not as part of the series

As I said in my headline, this book isn't bad. Alongside Ender's Game however, this book leaves a lot to be desired. The book was not planned while Ender's game was being written and it shows in many many places. The original characters, Bean and Ender primarily, are wr...
As I said in my headline, this book isn't bad. Alongside Ender's Game however, this book leaves a lot to be desired. The book was not planned while Ender's game was being written and it shows in many many places. The original characters, Bean and Ender primarily, are written to be completely different than in Ender's Game. The characters are changed so much in fact as to disrupt the reader's suspension of disbelief. Ender is torn down from genius hero and portrayed instead to be nothing but second rate to Bean. This book fits into the series like a square peg into a round hole.

posted by 11869512 on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    Ender's Game

    Orson Scott Card has created another master piece in his novel, Ender¿s Shadow. This parallel to Ender¿s Game is remarkably intriguing in the different perspectives and interpretations of Ender Wiggin and the development of Bean. You are taken on a journey through a boy¿s life who acted Ender¿s right hand man in Ender¿s Game. Bean, as he is nicknamed, is a homeless child with nothing but violence and his need for learning accompanying him. Because of his diminutive physicality, he must overcome many situations using only his wits. Personally I felt that this novel was a close second to Ender¿s Game, although many people may disagree. Much more action and inner conflict took place in Ender¿s Game, and I feel that it was, personally, easier to relate to. However, it is still very interesting to see how the much smarter, but more petite ¿shadow of Ender¿ endures his life, and how Ender is portrayed from a different perspective. His deprived childhood makes this book easy to get into, while his perseverance and advance intellectual mind, as well as the many situations he encounters in Battle School, makes this very easy to continue. Even if you have never heard of the book Ender¿s Game, this book is still very interesting and very easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Sci-Fi, and people who just feel like reading a good book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Good

    Definitly worth buying. My friend ashly bought for me and forced me to read it. Its all aout bean. Hes great and just as clever and thinky and ender but as raised on the streets and has more street smarts. Buy it definitly. Also recommend enders game. And dont think you have to read enders game first. There parrellel novels meant to be read in either order

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A different perspective..

    A twist on the "Ender's Game" series, "Ender's Shadow" offers the same story told from Bean's point of view. OSC does a beautiful job of separating the voices of the characters, limiting story overlap, while keeping appropriately consistent the same socio-political structure and happenings of the first book yet telling a new story within that existing infrastructure.

    Personally, I favor the story from Ender's Game to this book. But that's just a matter of preference, and certainly doesn't diminish the quality of this parallel series. All in all, I would recommend this read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Ender's Shadow Review

    Before I start, I must say the original Ender's Game was one of my favorite books of all time. I had high expectations of this book before starting it. To my surprise, I find it quite thrilling and intense. The book's plot never slows down and is fast paced. Throughout the book I enjoyed reading about Bean's personal struggle against the IF administration. I wish the author wrote about Ender more like the original book, but I like how the author developed Bean's character. I feel like I can relate to the characters in this book and feel what they are going through. All in all, Ender's Shadow was a very good book and I highly recommend it to any fan of Ender's Game or a fan of any science-fiction novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ender's Game with a Fresh Perspective

    I would highly recommend this book for any lovers of Ender's Game or even just sci-fi/fantasy in general. The same story line as Ender's Game this is told from the perspective of Bean, Ender's second in command. It is riveting to hear about Bean's background before he entered the school and to really understand more about some of the events that took place in Ender's Game. This book can be read either on it's own, or as a companion to Ender's Game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    fun, fast read

    Ender's Shadow is a companion to Ender's Game told from the perspective of the character named Bean. I really liked Ender's Game so I picked up Ender's Shadow hoping it would be as entertaining and it definitely was. It was interesting to hear Bean's perspective on the situation that presents itself in both novels. Ender's Shadow definitely works as a companion to the original and I am pretty sure that it would work without the original as well. I read them within a month of eachother and i wasn't at all bored reading a similar story over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Ender's Shadow vs. Ender's Game

    I recently finished Ender's Shadow, and honestly, I enjoyed it more than Ender's Game. I thought that the details of Bean's background and the conflicts with Achilles were much more interesting than the material in Ender's Game. I thought that Bean was a more interesting character than Ender, and I enjoyed seeing Ender from another's point of view. Orson Scott Card says that one can read either Ender's Game or Ender's Shadow first, but I would recommend only reading Ender's Shadow after you read Ender's Game. Seeing Ender's Game from the eyes of a different character is interesting, and I believe that everything is made much clearer if one reads Ender's Game first. However, one need not read the sequels to Ender's game, Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide and Children of the Mind to understand Ender's Shadow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    This book means business

    Ender's Shadow was an exceptional book. It starts out a bit slow, but picks up and eventually you can't stop turning the pages. Even though you have to read Ender's Game to read this companion volume, I'd say it's worth it. They're both great books and if you're into science fiction reading, the Ender's series should be at the top of your list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    Review excerpt from Curled Up With a Good Book

    In the foreword to ENDER'S SHADOW, Orson Scott Card tells how this novel that parallels the SF/F classic ENDER'S GAME came into being. He describes how he 'flirted seriously with the idea of opening up the ENDER'S GAME universe to other writers.' Deciding that Bean ('the child-soldier whom Ender treated as he had been treated by his adult teachers') would be the most obvious character to start such a project with, Card became jealous that he himself wouldn't be the one writing such a book. He 'deftly swiped the project back' and began the experimental task that became ENDER'S SHADOW. This novel tells Bean's story satisfyingly, and provides a thoughtful new perspective on Ender Wiggins. It works best if viewed as a companion novel to the Hugo- and Nebula award-winning ENDER'S GAME, rather than as a true stand-alone novel. Card has done a bang-up job of, in his words, '[telling] the same story twice, but differently.' ENDER'S SHADOW should especially please readers who loved ENDER'S GAME but were lukewarm about its sequels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Slightly tedious and confusing but overall a gopd book

    This book was slightly tediius confusing and redundant to much like enders game nut still a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Killian

    "Thankyou." She dipped her head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great Book!

    Exepet it had a bad word said in it like 20 times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    Very interesting

    Enjoyed reading this book from a childs point of view. It is an ok book and would recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    This book is pretty cool

    This book is like Lord of the Rings but in the future. Basically these kids are picked to save the world from an alien race known as buggers. These kids are super smart and know everything. They get around all the computers and eventually set up teams in space command. Well a boy named Bean whos the smartest person in the world, must help Ender destroy the buggers. He does this by becoming Enders Shadow. Even though hes smarter, hes not as good at commanding the troops as ender is. YOU GOTTA READ THIS BOOK!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    One of the best orson card books EVER!

    This is a brilliant book revialing the mind of Ender's equal, Bean. The ending is a bit confusing but worth the wait! I can't wait to read the next Ender books! I hate science fiction, but I couldn't put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2002

    Ender's Game...Again

    Ender's Shadow is another one of Scott's notable works, but I'd like to add, no matter how brilliant, it's not good to make the basically same book under a different title. It does has it's fine points, and you catch on with the Bean character rather quickly. It's a good way to work out a lot of any problems you might have had with Ender's Game. Although I may not have said it, it trully is a great work, and if you enjoyed Ender's Game, you'll love Ender's Shadow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2000

    Worthwhile read

    This is a companion story to Card's award winning Ender's Game. Ender's Shadow retells the story of the battle school and the campaign against the buggers from the point of view of Ender's smallest soldier, Bean. This is definatly one of Card's better works and I highly recommend this one to science fiction fans of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2000

    Card does it again... and again... and again...

    OSCard is one of favorite authors, so i happen to be a little more critical about his books than most anything else, but he's writen a great novel about another genius kid and he adds in the thrill of the old book. although bean was never my favorite character, he certanly has become a hero in the origional Game, when you read it through again. it's quite amazing how Card just gets better and better with the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    almost as good as enders game

    this was a fun book, almost as good as the first one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4