Customer Reviews for

The Endless Forest (Wilderness Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

BEST OUT OF THE SERIES!

As an Outlander fan, I was looking for a series to read as I wait for Diana's 8th book to be completed. This series was recommended. It is difficult to read other series after reading Diana's descriptive stories. I feel that out of all the books from this Wilderness ...
As an Outlander fan, I was looking for a series to read as I wait for Diana's 8th book to be completed. This series was recommended. It is difficult to read other series after reading Diana's descriptive stories. I feel that out of all the books from this Wilderness Series, The Endless Forest is by far the BEST! I fell in love with her writing in this book-to me, Sara's writing has become more like Diana's.

This could be a stand along book because Sara does go back to explain plots and characters from the previous books; however, because this is more the legacy of Elizabeth and Nathiel Booner through thier children, reading the previous books gives you deeper understanding AND CONNECTION to the characters.

As the other books in the series concentrate on other children of Elizabeth and Nathaniel, this is no different. It is centered around their son Daniel and Martha. Their cute love story is refreshing and I felt that Sara has done an excellent job of developing both characters very well. It's playful and very fresh! I found myself laughing at many parts.

The other children and thier spouses are mentioned but are minor characters - Lily & Simon (who I loved in Fire Along the Sky), Jennet & Luke, Ben (Hannah's husband). Their subplots are in the background.

The youngest sister of Daniel, Birdie, is well developed in this book-I wonder if Sara does write a 7th book if it will be about Birdie....

Sara does include an Epilogue of articles and notices from a newspaper that Elizabeth eventually brings to the village. It expands 20 years and you find out what happens to the bonner clan. It does end the series well, but it also leaves room for more and possibly another book.

All and all, if you love the Bonner clan you will love this book. It is my favorite of the series.

posted by dabeanster on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat disappointed

I am only 1/2 done with this book. The characters that I have grown to know so well in the previous books are flat. With several years since the last 2 books and a jump of 15 years in the story, it was very difficult to get back into the story. It seems that the auth...
I am only 1/2 done with this book. The characters that I have grown to know so well in the previous books are flat. With several years since the last 2 books and a jump of 15 years in the story, it was very difficult to get back into the story. It seems that the author tried to cram too many people into each section and many were lost. Only 1/2 way through and I am distracted by the several typographical, grammatical and other errors. Names of characters inserted in the wrong place (Luke's classroom, instead of Daniel's - or is Luke also teaching?). Comma's or other writing mistakes that cause you to lose the flow of reading and have to re-read sentences. I was so looking forward to this long awaited final book and it is lacking.

posted by limajen on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    BEST OUT OF THE SERIES!

    As an Outlander fan, I was looking for a series to read as I wait for Diana's 8th book to be completed. This series was recommended. It is difficult to read other series after reading Diana's descriptive stories. I feel that out of all the books from this Wilderness Series, The Endless Forest is by far the BEST! I fell in love with her writing in this book-to me, Sara's writing has become more like Diana's.

    This could be a stand along book because Sara does go back to explain plots and characters from the previous books; however, because this is more the legacy of Elizabeth and Nathiel Booner through thier children, reading the previous books gives you deeper understanding AND CONNECTION to the characters.

    As the other books in the series concentrate on other children of Elizabeth and Nathaniel, this is no different. It is centered around their son Daniel and Martha. Their cute love story is refreshing and I felt that Sara has done an excellent job of developing both characters very well. It's playful and very fresh! I found myself laughing at many parts.

    The other children and thier spouses are mentioned but are minor characters - Lily & Simon (who I loved in Fire Along the Sky), Jennet & Luke, Ben (Hannah's husband). Their subplots are in the background.

    The youngest sister of Daniel, Birdie, is well developed in this book-I wonder if Sara does write a 7th book if it will be about Birdie....

    Sara does include an Epilogue of articles and notices from a newspaper that Elizabeth eventually brings to the village. It expands 20 years and you find out what happens to the bonner clan. It does end the series well, but it also leaves room for more and possibly another book.

    All and all, if you love the Bonner clan you will love this book. It is my favorite of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Book #6

    I really enjoyed this series. I enjoyed this book too, except for the Epilogue at the end. The ending of the book was really good, but the epilogue felt melancholy. I would have given this book 5 stars if not for the epilogue. I think the author tried to wrap up and tell everyone's story, but didn't have time and so she used the epilogue to end things. I didn't like that, I would have much have things left to interpretation rather than have it all spelled out for the reader. However, the book is very good and a fitting conclusion to this series. I enjoyed Daniel and Martha's story and I was pleased with the way the author finished Jemima's story. If you've read the rest, read the last of the series. If you don't want to know the fates and future's of everyone in Paradise, don't read the epilogue. I wish I hadn't.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Wilderness series

    Sara donate is amazing. Literally I don't think I did much but read through the entire series. Was sad when I finished the series, it's that good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OUTRAGEOUS PRICE FOR AN EBOOK

    I just bought the first 5 of the books in this series and have already read two of them. This is a wonderful series but I guess I'll have to do without the final book unless the price becomes more reasonable as the first 5 were. It's shameful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Disappointing

    I have read all the other books and loved them. This one started out promising to be a good read as well, but I must say I'm disappointed in it. I had to check and make sure I wasn't reading a Harlequin romance instead. The continual coverage of Martha and Daniel's sex is getting tiring. How many pages are really necessary to cover it? Also, she seems to go down a path then drop the reader. I am more interested in what ever happened to the plot to use Curiosity's chickens than I am what new positions Martha and Daniel are going to try. There are a lot of pages that could have easily been left out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    Wonderful

    I was so excited when this book came out. I loved the way all the Bonner childrens lives were explained and brought to closure. I was sad to know that this was the final book as I have read and reread this series 3-4 times. But I think the way the book ended gave us the feeling that Nathaniel and Elizabeth lived their lives to the fullest and lived to see their children and grandchildren grow and live full lives. I will dearly miss them though. Nathaniel and Elizabeths story will remain one of my favorites always!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Realistic

    I'm going to miss the Bonners terribly, but I'm glad that they stuck to a realistic ending of mortality. The Wilderness series have always taken me away to the intense, clear description where you could almost taste the atmosphere created of Paradise. Nathaniel and Hannah have always been my favorite characters from the beginning but I found myself wondering about Jemima and how she explained where she came from. Thank you, Sara, for a wonderful and exciting journey that should remain as timeless as this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    Somewhat disappointed

    I am only 1/2 done with this book. The characters that I have grown to know so well in the previous books are flat. With several years since the last 2 books and a jump of 15 years in the story, it was very difficult to get back into the story. It seems that the author tried to cram too many people into each section and many were lost. Only 1/2 way through and I am distracted by the several typographical, grammatical and other errors. Names of characters inserted in the wrong place (Luke's classroom, instead of Daniel's - or is Luke also teaching?). Comma's or other writing mistakes that cause you to lose the flow of reading and have to re-read sentences. I was so looking forward to this long awaited final book and it is lacking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    I will miss the Bonner Family

    I very much enjoyed the Bonner Family journey. I was very invested in the characters and cared about how they survived their adventures. The history sprinkled within the story was an added bonus. I would characterize this series as a romantically adventurous historical tale. This series is an easy read that takes you to a different time.
    A true enjoyment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    A Letdown

    Overall, I have really enjoyed Donati's Wilderness series, especially the third, fourth, and fifth books, so I was looking forward to completing the series. Unfortunately, I came away disappointed. This book lacks the rich description and crafting of characters that make her previous books so good. It was good to have some questions put to rest, but then Donati hints at a relationship or some history between two characters and leaves that question unanswered. There were a couple of minor contradictions between this book and the previous works, as well, and I thought the way she ends the series was just too depressing.

    Donati has had a bad habit of killing off some of her most interesting and enjoyable minor characters between works, and this one is no different. Also, her characters in this one were flat, especially Martha & Callie; I never felt as though I got to know them. The only exception is the character of Jemima Southern; we are shown a side of her that we always suspected was there but even that was handled somewhat predictably. The whole book just seemed somewhat of a perfunctory ending to a series that was othewise rich & well-written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Willowbreeze

    Pads out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Satisfying conclusion to a great series

    I loved the whole Into the Wilderness series and was mostly happy with how all the loose ends in the characters stories were finished. I have recommended this series to several of my friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    Love the series!

    This is actually the first book I purchased. I found it at a thrift shop for $1. After I started reading, I enjoyed it so much, but was curious about the author. I found out this was book #6 ... so of course I stopped where I was, and ordered the first 5 books. I'm on #4 ... each one a story about a strong woman and her coming of age in the early 1800's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Dovepaw

    I gtg ill bb on tomorrow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Bronze

    Oh my gosh... i can't believe him...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Charli

    Bronze?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Toxinkit

    Waddles in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Toxinkit

    Look at Mysterys post in rest 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Cloudspots

    Purred happily. "Thank you swagstorm." (Im starting high school tommorow so wont be on as often)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Swag S.

    Im going to be a freshmen :-D))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6