Customer Reviews for

Endless Night

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unusual Latter-Day Christie

In this unusual latter-day Christie title Dame Agatha ventures into a field somewhat alein to her: 'the novel of psychological suspense,' not exactly a mystery and not exactly a thriller. I re-read it recently after many years and enjoyed it, especially as it reminded ...
In this unusual latter-day Christie title Dame Agatha ventures into a field somewhat alein to her: 'the novel of psychological suspense,' not exactly a mystery and not exactly a thriller. I re-read it recently after many years and enjoyed it, especially as it reminded me of some of the early works of another writer I admire tremendously, Ruth Rendell. In ENDLESS NIGHT Christie deftly re-works one of her most famous deceptions.

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Different

This was a hard book for me to understand. I was very lost and bored at the begining, but towards the end of it things began to get interesting. I would have never guessed who the killer was and I was extremely surprised in the end.

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Unusual Latter-Day Christie

    In this unusual latter-day Christie title Dame Agatha ventures into a field somewhat alein to her: 'the novel of psychological suspense,' not exactly a mystery and not exactly a thriller. I re-read it recently after many years and enjoyed it, especially as it reminded me of some of the early works of another writer I admire tremendously, Ruth Rendell. In ENDLESS NIGHT Christie deftly re-works one of her most famous deceptions.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    Different

    This was a hard book for me to understand. I was very lost and bored at the begining, but towards the end of it things began to get interesting. I would have never guessed who the killer was and I was extremely surprised in the end.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    A Great Book

    It is one of the best books I have read.
    What else can be expected, one if not that
    best author ever living for mysteries.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Not the usual Agatha Christie detective story, this was more a p

    Not the usual Agatha Christie detective story, this was more a psychological thriller or whatever. Those stories usually aren't what I go for but this one was ok. By "ok" I mean there was not anything too explicit or gruesome. Very slow to start but starts to pick up once the reader is acquainted with the characters and things really start to get going. The clues are there all along, including the one big question I had that is only answered by what one learns at the end. Overall, a worthwhile read, especially with it being on sale this month. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2002

    Most Expressive Book

    This book is captivating - the sense of doom Christie creates is phenomenal. I couldn't put it down! How anyone wouldn't love this one I don't know. It is very sinister, creepy and actually, at times, scary! Read this one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Bhihj

    This is awesome, one of her CREEPIEST!!!!! It also shows how gross some men and women can be. :-p

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    Terrible

    This was the worst Agatha Christie novel I've ever read. The first 3/4 of the novel are so slow! It just drags on. I knew who the killer was right away after the murder. I don't know what Agatha Christie was attempting with this novel. I don't understand how an author who is responsible for some of the greatest mystery novels could have also wrote this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Endlessly Terrible!

    Endless Night was terrible. I have read many Agatha Christie mysteries and have thouroughly enjoyed them. This book did not have her style or flare. It was long-winded and boring. Yes, there was a twist at the end, but it wasn't worth all the days I spent reading the rest of the book. I suggest that people don't read this book and choose another one like Until There Were None or Murder on the Orient Express which are Christie classics.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    endless night

    The Endless Night is a scary kind of story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. This book, written by Agatha Christie, is one you won¿t forget. This story starts off with a young man whose parents die, and he inherits their old haunted house. He has some questions about this house and where it is located, and why they particularly left it to him since he has three older brothers. To find these questions out he will find the house and go summon the spirits. The Endless Night is a story that starts off with a conflict of the main character, Saxtonix, and his dead parents. Saxtonix is a business agent whose life is going well until his parents leave him their haunted house, and he wants to find out why they chose him. He finds out the house is located in a small town south of New York City, just 20 minutes from where he lives. So he drives there and talks to some people to find out where the house is. Everyone knows, but they are too scared to take him there. He finally gets the nerve to go there by himself. When he gets to the house, he walks in and its old and worn looking, somewhere he thinks he doesn¿t want to live. It becomes pretty late, so he decides to checking in at a motel close by. The next morning is when the problems start. When he wakes up and goes to eat breakfast, some men approach him and tell him that he must pay his parents debts for the house which is 2,000 dollars and that he must have it by Monday. And to top it off, if he doesn¿t pay, the house will be repossessed, and all of his parents things will be taken away. So he some how has to come up with all that money. He goes to the house to meet a man named Lee who knows his parents¿ and all about the house. Lee tells him that he can build him a house if the other one is repossessed and the man would do it for free, but he would need at least three months. The book¿s strong points are when Saxtonix comes up with the money so his parents home doesn¿t get taken away. I also liked when he fixes up the house, moves in, gets a job and adapts to the small town. The weak points are at first when thought that he won¿t be able to get the money and doesn¿t think the house is worth his time. He basically wants to give up. When he first finds out that his parents had left him the house, he is in shock because his parents had never given him anything before. They had always given everything to his brothers. I think people should read this book because it¿s got a little bit of everything in it. It has adventure, romance, and comedy. I personally thought this book was a good one, Out of all the books I have read this one is one of the best. The best place to read this book would be alone in your room or a quiet place; that way you can get into it. This book is very addictive and will keep you turning and turning the pages.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Engrossing

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It was really interesting, and impossible to guess the murderer. When the identity was revealed, I was basically screaming with shock. I particularly liked it because it was so different from the usual Christie novel. There was no brilliant mastermind sleuth, and no happy ending. That made it an exciting and unique book for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    To RuverStorm

    Hey im actually a girl but this happened to me. Its okay to have tw crushes, and you mkght just be having troublevletting go of the one you liked for a long time. It was something you had for so long, grew attatchments to, and suddenly things have changed. Also, waiit for 6 th grade to start because people chge. Ifbyou have any questionss, ask Sydney

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Help!

    Hi my name is RiverStorm. I need help with guy problems ~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~||~||~|| i trancfered schools when i was going in 3rd grade and when i went there at the end of the year i kinda had a crush on this guy. Letts call him SwiftBird. So in 4th grade it minored and in 5th i got big again. And in the middle of the year i got feelings for the new guy. Lets called him.. HollowBranch. An i just so confuzed. Can you help? It just that i liked SwiftBird for long time(Im ebpnering 6th) and i also like the new guy.. gahh.. and to make it worse is that at end of year dance i asked HollowBranch to dance befor i went home and he said he didnt know how to dance. But, still ugghh what should i do?!?!?!? Reply to RuverStorm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    One of Agatha Christie's best. A bit different than her regular

    One of Agatha Christie's best. A bit different than her regular who done it style. A quick, easy read. Couldn't wait to see who the murder was. Thought I had it all figured out but what a surprise at the end. Never saw it coming. The story moves along quickly and the characters are well developed. Highly recommend to those who enjoy a good psychological mystery thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Cafeteria

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    highly recommend!

    Absolutely LOVE this book. I read a lot of suspense/mystery novels and can usually have a pretty good idea of the who or why but was totally blown away at the ending. Her books are timeless. She is the queen of suspense and always will be. Great character development feel like you know them and understand where they come from. Well worth the time to read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great Christie read!

    Just enough to keep you interested as a Christie fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Excellent Mystery

    Agatha Christie is one of my favorites and this is an excellent example of skill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Amazing

    I have read many of Christie's books, this one is amazing! I don't want to give too much away... but it is a marvelously told tale. The ending is enthrolling and surprising. The type of story that sticks with you long after you have read the last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Impressive

    Despite the fact that I immediately picked out the ad guy, I enjoyed this story that is so unlike the rest of the Christie oeuvre. Most of her murderers are quite civil and even tepid;this one is impressively villainous.


    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2