Customer Reviews for

Endless Night

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unusual Latter-Day Christie

In this unusual latter-day Christie title Dame Agatha ventures into a field somewhat alein to her: 'the novel of psychological suspense,' not exactly a mystery and not exactly a thriller. I re-read it recently after many years and enjoyed it, especially as it reminded ...
In this unusual latter-day Christie title Dame Agatha ventures into a field somewhat alein to her: 'the novel of psychological suspense,' not exactly a mystery and not exactly a thriller. I re-read it recently after many years and enjoyed it, especially as it reminded me of some of the early works of another writer I admire tremendously, Ruth Rendell. In ENDLESS NIGHT Christie deftly re-works one of her most famous deceptions.

posted by Anonymous on April 29, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Different

This was a hard book for me to understand. I was very lost and bored at the begining, but towards the end of it things began to get interesting. I would have never guessed who the killer was and I was extremely surprised in the end.

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Unusual Latter-Day Christie

    In this unusual latter-day Christie title Dame Agatha ventures into a field somewhat alein to her: 'the novel of psychological suspense,' not exactly a mystery and not exactly a thriller. I re-read it recently after many years and enjoyed it, especially as it reminded me of some of the early works of another writer I admire tremendously, Ruth Rendell. In ENDLESS NIGHT Christie deftly re-works one of her most famous deceptions.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    endless night

    The Endless Night is a scary kind of story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. This book, written by Agatha Christie, is one you won¿t forget. This story starts off with a young man whose parents die, and he inherits their old haunted house. He has some questions about this house and where it is located, and why they particularly left it to him since he has three older brothers. To find these questions out he will find the house and go summon the spirits. The Endless Night is a story that starts off with a conflict of the main character, Saxtonix, and his dead parents. Saxtonix is a business agent whose life is going well until his parents leave him their haunted house, and he wants to find out why they chose him. He finds out the house is located in a small town south of New York City, just 20 minutes from where he lives. So he drives there and talks to some people to find out where the house is. Everyone knows, but they are too scared to take him there. He finally gets the nerve to go there by himself. When he gets to the house, he walks in and its old and worn looking, somewhere he thinks he doesn¿t want to live. It becomes pretty late, so he decides to checking in at a motel close by. The next morning is when the problems start. When he wakes up and goes to eat breakfast, some men approach him and tell him that he must pay his parents debts for the house which is 2,000 dollars and that he must have it by Monday. And to top it off, if he doesn¿t pay, the house will be repossessed, and all of his parents things will be taken away. So he some how has to come up with all that money. He goes to the house to meet a man named Lee who knows his parents¿ and all about the house. Lee tells him that he can build him a house if the other one is repossessed and the man would do it for free, but he would need at least three months. The book¿s strong points are when Saxtonix comes up with the money so his parents home doesn¿t get taken away. I also liked when he fixes up the house, moves in, gets a job and adapts to the small town. The weak points are at first when thought that he won¿t be able to get the money and doesn¿t think the house is worth his time. He basically wants to give up. When he first finds out that his parents had left him the house, he is in shock because his parents had never given him anything before. They had always given everything to his brothers. I think people should read this book because it¿s got a little bit of everything in it. It has adventure, romance, and comedy. I personally thought this book was a good one, Out of all the books I have read this one is one of the best. The best place to read this book would be alone in your room or a quiet place; that way you can get into it. This book is very addictive and will keep you turning and turning the pages.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    Engrossing

    I enjoyed this book a lot. It was really interesting, and impossible to guess the murderer. When the identity was revealed, I was basically screaming with shock. I particularly liked it because it was so different from the usual Christie novel. There was no brilliant mastermind sleuth, and no happy ending. That made it an exciting and unique book for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great Christie read!

    Just enough to keep you interested as a Christie fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Amazing

    I have read many of Christie's books, this one is amazing! I don't want to give too much away... but it is a marvelously told tale. The ending is enthrolling and surprising. The type of story that sticks with you long after you have read the last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Impressive

    Despite the fact that I immediately picked out the ad guy, I enjoyed this story that is so unlike the rest of the Christie oeuvre. Most of her murderers are quite civil and even tepid;this one is impressively villainous.


    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2001

    you will never guess

    I enjoyed 'Endless Night' quite a bit. Christie outdid herself on this title. You will never guess who the murderer is. It is so well written you would have never thought who killed Ellie, but when Chrisite reveals the murderer, you can piece it all togehter. It is not the best book I have ever read, but I recommend it to you. NOTE: no detective, i.e. hercule poirot or miss jane marple- makes story better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1