Customer Reviews for

Endurance: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    ENDURACE BOOK REVIEW BY CASEY HAWKINSON The Endurance by Alfr


    ENDURACE BOOK REVIEW
    BY CASEY HAWKINSON

    The Endurance by Alfred Lansing is a book about an unbelievable journey in which a group of men attempt to cross the continent of Antarctica in 1915. The group of 27 men, led by Earnest Shackleton embarks on a journey starting in England and set sail to begin the task of crossing Antarctica. Once they begin this they have to endure the dramatic problems that take place, until all of the sudden a major shift in wind direction and currents take place and icebergs crushed the boat carrying all 28 men. After making it off of the boat alive the amazing journey truly begins, when captain Earnest Shackleton feels it is his duty to make the almost impossible mission to safety keeping his men alive. Almost 700 miles from any form of civilization with limited supplies the men fight for almost 2 years over the most inhospitable terrain on earth trying to make it out. Without cooperation and a whole lot of luck this would have been impossible to do, but apparently the men of that party were some of the most incredible men that have ever lived. Overall, it is one of the best books I have personally ever read that kept me wondering what the next setback or accomplishment will be. Throughout the book, impossible tasks are given continuously to the men of the Endurance who somehow manage to overcome each and every one of these tasks. Teamwork is a major theme used throughout the book that is used and makes it possible for the whole party to survive. This combined with an immense amount of will power created an unthinkable success for the party. It is truly an incredible novel about a real event. Guaranteed to blow your mind with unbelievable accuracy of the two years, outstanding courageous men, and the truly unimaginable events that took place. This book will take you across the darkest most gruesome places in the world and will leave you wondering how did all 28 men survive. The story of these men going across Antarctica is perhaps one of the most amazing stories I personally have ever heard, and this is a must read novel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Within the genre of real life adventure books, Endurance is defi

    Within the genre of real life adventure books, Endurance is definitely a stand out. I am lucky to have a brother who regularly reads about explorers and wilderness adventures and recommends to me only the best of the best. Other must-reads in the genre are The Long Walk (though that turns out to be most likely fiction so I no longer recommend it), Into the Wild, and Arctic Adventure: My Life in the Frozen North. Endurance tells the true story of Ernest Shakleton and his crew's ill-fated and legendary expedition to Antarctica. It was likely one of history's best outcomes for what was essentially a disaster.

    At the time of launching, Shakleton's expedition was history's most extensively planned exploratory trip to Antarctic, complete with a photographer, scientists, carpenters and engineers (a crew of 27 in total). Shakleton's goal was to transverse and study Antarctic. When they set off in 1914, this expedition was the pride of the United Kingdom. Shakleton was the toast of the town for his bravery and expertise. For his bravery he is still toasted, but his polar expertise proved to be lacking. The ship he guided was no match for the South Pole's crushing cold and ice. Soon after arriving, the Endurance was stuck in ice, absolutely unable to move. The crew salvaged what it could and was forced to make do with dwindling supplies and provisions, eventually eating some of their beloved dogs.

    I won't dampen your reading pleasure by giving away too much of the unfolding events, but through a combination of amazing resourcefulness, outstanding leadership, and ultimately incredible luck on the part of Shakleton, the whole crew survived without a single life lost. Naturally, there was an abundance of suffering along the way, but also an impressive amount of team spirit and toughness. The book is inspirational and a quiet page turner.

    Please note, the "quiet page turner" part. Endurance is definitely an engrossing read, and once you get into it, you won't want to put it down. I found the book starts a bit on the slow side, at least for all its fanfare, but don't give up if you aren't immediately bowled over. You'll be justly rewarded if you stick with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    A harrowing story of survival.

    From the first page, it's almost hard to believe that this book is non-fiction. The true story of how these men survived against all odds is a gripping tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Reads like adventure fiction instead of an historical account. W

    Reads like adventure fiction instead of an historical account. Wonderfully written and plenty of action. Although the tale is factually drawn from diaries and interviews, the conditions of their journey back to civilization from the South Pole were so oppressive and dangerous I can't help but wonder if there were any incidents swept under the rug and now left to history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    T

    I had to read this book for school and l was not looking forward to the prospect of reading this book. I thought it would be boring and it is not that all of the books l read for school are boring, it is just that this genre of books is not my type. Boy was l wrong. In this book is a world of ice and cold with a life and death struggle against the elements of the Antarctic. At some parts l was eager to read on, but at other parts l was able to stop. This is overall a really good book that l would recommend to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Endurance

    Forget contemporary exaltations about leadership, Lansing's book provides insight into how true leadership functions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    Out Cold

    The title Endurance really does justice to describe what the book is full of. Other than the fact that it is the name of the ship that Ernest Shackleton and his crew of twenty seven other men set out on. The goal of the journey was to cross the Antarctic Continent overland from east to west in the open icy wasteland of the Weddell Sea. They had to abandon ship was because the ice beginning to destroy the ship, and ended up where they began just on the opposite side of South Georgia Island. There were a handful important themes and messages in this book. But only a few really stood out. While facing death through hunger, frost bite, and well below freezing temperatures, the crew of the Endurance fought hard and won. They had to fight with themselves to keep going. This crew, with its captain showing the highest amount, had unbreakable endurance. This book also shows just what those twenty-eight men were made of. And the importance of team work. While other men would have given up and died they kept going and had the same number of men at the end of the journey as they did in the beginning. Another important theme of this book is courage. Ernest Shackleton and his crew had some tough courage. And again, Shackleton having an amazing amount of courage pushed his crew to fight and went against the odds of survival to keep them alive. The title really captures the overall theme of this book. I very much enjoyed this book overall. The message really inspired me but also gave me some history of an incredible journey of the Antarctic. This also helped me see what one man, and a team of men, are capable of doing. The way that the author took the actual records of the men that were there, and put them into chronological order was very well done. And including the right amount of detail about the landscape along with the physical and character descriptions of the men really painted a clear picture in my head. I also enjoyed reading about what the men did during the time that they were stranded. Especially training and racing the dog teams. I didn't like reading about what they had to do for food though. Which ended up being the dog teams and penguins, but it was what they had to do to stay alive. It was also quiet difficult to continue reading only to find that the crew had hit another setback. Or that they somehow were worse off than they were before. Hungrier, colder, and even more exhausted, with hope of surviving becoming less and less. If you want to read a true story of adventure, adversity, hardship, broken sprits, and amazing Endurance, this book is for you

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Epic of Polar Adventure

    Endurance, written by Alfred Lansing, is an inspiring story that encourages men and women to try the impossible. The story is of twenty eight men who survived in Antarctica with little to no supplies for months. The tale cannot help but motivate its readers to try things they never thought they could do before. It is truly a heart-warming story that is great for all categories of readers. When I first picked up Endurance, I had no expectations. I wasn't very interested in the subject; I was just looking for the book to not be completely horrible. But when I hit page one and it jumped right into the action, I was hooked. I think that Endurance is geared toward readers a little older than me, but that still did not stop me from loving the book. People my age would enjoy this book if they like action and an epic story of problem solving. Parts of the book were slow, but most of it was fast paced and exciting. I would definitely recommend this book to all types of readers, if not only to expand their horizons. Endurance can also be a slightly challenging read at times. It often sights quotes from the crew's many diaries. The language that they use in these quotes is different, but not anything that disrupts the flow of the novel. One must keep in mind when reading from the diaries of the crew men that the expedition took place in 1914. One of the parts that I found the most interesting was when they were forced to move into the rowboats after the Endurance was crushed between slabs of ice. When they first got into the water, they had much difficulty moving because they kept on hitting ice and they weren't used to rowing yet. But eventually, as a reader sees time and again throughout the novel, they overcome their struggle. It amazed me that even with all the hardships that they had to face, they pulled through and every member of the crew survived. That is a feat worth reading about. I recommend this book to any and all readers interested in one of the greatest exploration tales of the twentieth century. Also, to readers who want another exhilarating read like Endurance, I recommend the book Between a Rock and a Hard Place, by Aron Ralston.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    A splendid read. A real page burner.

    Best book i have read in a long while, and i mean a long while.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    /

    /

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Endurance

    Riviting story. Hardships beyond belief. It's hard to imagine in this day of helicopters, worldwide communications, that those men could ENDURE such hardships and ALL survive. I often wonder if any of us in this enlightened age could survive as these men did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Fantastic!!!

    Highly recommended for adventurers and book enthusiasts of all aged! A classic!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Endurance

    Superb book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Very Interesting

    Hubby actually read the whole book. This is unusual as he is not an avid reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    A remarkable story, truly enlightening about Shackletons great a

    A remarkable story, truly enlightening about Shackletons great adventure. This astonishing story is about how Shackleton and his crew sailed to Antartica, but after 10 months of being surrounded by the ice, the Endurance was crushed. Shackleton and his crew had to make the 850 mile sail to the closest outpost. I liked how Endurance was full of suspenseful adventures and that Alfred Lansing uses the diaries from the sailors to describe events.One thing I didn't like was how redundant it was, it got a big boring how day after day it was cold, all white, and they saw a few penguins. Some of the major themes was hope and having the strength to keep moving forward. Some one should read this if they want gain respect for these sailors. Into Thin Air is a lot like this book and if you liked that book then yo will like this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Still Shivering

    What a journey. What a disaster. What a group of men. What a book. Excellent. Don't miss this one.

    Sw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    Adventure account; second to none!

    The year is 1915 and one of the greatest survival adventures takes place in the World's most inhospitable environment. It is almost impossible to believe that for a period of two years, 28 men survived the challenges they faced without the availability of today's technology and survival equipment.
    I am almost exhausted just from reading this account and cannot begin to imagine how the crew of the Endurance managed against all odds.
    For the reader, it is an adventure like no other and a book that one cannot put down until the very end. Both historically correct and enthralling, this is a "must read" for anyone interested in history, adventure and man's ability to conquer nature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The definitive book on the 1914 Shackleton expedition

    This book was written around 1950, the author having interviewed all expedition members still living, and gaining access to the diaries of those who were not. The book describes both the physical ordeals and the psychological ones. It shows Ernest Shackleton's perceptive leadership styles in dealing with men of diverse temperaments. A readable and thrilling story of one of history's most amazing stories of seamanship and, yes, Endurance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    A Great Read for Everyone

    Endurance, written by Alfred Lansing, is an inspiring story that encourages men and women to try the impossible. The story of twenty-eight men surviving in Antarctica with nothing cannot help but motivate its readers to try things they never thought they could do before. It is truly a heart-warming story that is great for all readers.
    When I first picked up Endurance, I had no expectations. I wasn't very interested in the subject; I was just looking for the book not to be completely horrible. But once I hit page one and it jumped right into the action, I was hooked. I think that most people my age would enjoy this book if they liked action and a story of problem solving. Part of the book was slow, but most of it was up-and-moving. I would definitely recommend this book to everybody my age and older. I think that if you were younger than thirteen or fourteen that you wouldn't truly understand the struggle that the men were going through. Endurance is also a slightly challenging read. It often sights quotations from the men's diaries. They talked different in 1915 than they do currently, so some people may find difficulty in understanding it.
    The part that I found the most interesting was when they were forced to move into the rowboats after their floe that they were traveling on was cracking too much. When they first got into the water, they had much difficulty moving because they kept on hitting ice and they weren't used to rowing. But eventually, they overcame their struggle and got used to it. It amazed me that through every problem and struggle that appeared, they made their way through it, and in the end, they all survived.
    Alfred Lansing was an American journalist writer. He is best known for his writing of Endurance. I enjoyed Endurance very much and will be sure to read any other books written by Lansing. I would also like to read another book on the same subject: Shackleton's Incredible Voyage. I found the story very compelling and I encourage everyone to read Endurance. You will put it down feeling refreshed and knowing that you have just read a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    An outstanding adventure, testing the human spirit and the endurance of mankind

    This book was riveting and full of human strength and the will to survive. It is the true story of a captain who became an unexpected hero, and his bold crew that fought bravely for their lives, guiding the lost and freezing crew through uncharted and frozen Artic waters. Their intelligence, perseverant spirits and strong will to survive that made the book hard to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4