Customer Reviews for

Endurance: A HeroesandHeartbreakers.com Original

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Oh, how I missed the world of 'Freaks'. This takes place after D

Oh, how I missed the world of 'Freaks'. This takes place after Deuce and Fade got kicked out. This short novel is dealing with her friends: Thimble, Stone, and Stone's brat. This book goes into details on how their enclave is no more and how a Breeder and a Builder surv...
Oh, how I missed the world of 'Freaks'. This takes place after Deuce and Fade got kicked out. This short novel is dealing with her friends: Thimble, Stone, and Stone's brat. This book goes into details on how their enclave is no more and how a Breeder and a Builder survive. Excellent, now on to Outpost.

posted by terferj on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Be careful

If you bought Enclave, the whole Endurance story is at the end of the Enclave book. Don't waste your money buying it again as I did.

posted by 8343809 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Be careful

    If you bought Enclave, the whole Endurance story is at the end of the Enclave book. Don't waste your money buying it again as I did.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    For a short novella, I liked this story a lot!

    At first I didn't think I'd like this story, because its missing Duece and Fade. But Duece is still in the Enclave in spirit with her friends. They seem to think of their old friend every moment, which makes Duece's Long Walk seem like such a waste, as the Enclave quickly falls apart.

    I didn't like Stone at all in Enclave, but I did like Thimble. I liked her even more in this story. She is so SMART, and its what save only her and Stone as the Freaks attack the Enclave. But slowly, Stone proves his worth as well, as the 2 of them are on their own with Stone's small son. For a short novella, I liked this story a lot! 4 stars

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Oh, how I missed the world of 'Freaks'. This takes place after D

    Oh, how I missed the world of 'Freaks'. This takes place after Deuce and Fade got kicked out. This short novel is dealing with her friends: Thimble, Stone, and Stone's brat. This book goes into details on how their enclave is no more and how a Breeder and a Builder survive. Excellent, now on to Outpost.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Starts slow but once it picks up it's terrific!

    I had to start this sequel twice as I didn't find it grabbing me the first time but once I dug in a bit deeper on my second attempt I was hooked!

    I am really excited to see where the final book in this trilogy goes! There are several directions I can anticipate!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    And the tale continues...

    This was a novella detailing the events after Deuce and Fade are banished from College, centered around her friends Stone and Thimble. It was interesting to find out their outcomes and see another twist in this YA dystopian series. A must read if your a fan of Ms Aguirre's YA series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Despite being a Novella, Endurance read like a full length book.

    Despite being a Novella, Endurance read like a full length book. When I finished Enclave I was surprised to find that my edition had Endurance included. Naturally, I didn't want to wait so I started it immediately after finishing Enclave and boy, am I glad that I did. Endurance filled in so many burning questions that I had after finishing Enclave. Primarily what happened to those left underground after Deuce and Fade were exiled.

    What I liked best about Endurance was that it followed my two favorite characters Thimble and Stone. I loved getting to see how each of them dealt with Deuce leaving considering they both essentially betrayed her as judgement was handed down by the Elders. I also enjoyed seeing the duo struggle with the fact the two of them have undeniable chemistry despite Enclave rules dictating that a pairing between them could simply never happen. It's forbidden romance and isn't that really the best kind?

    Another thing that I liked was the Action. From beginning to end I was glued to the story. It wasn't necessarily pulse pounding but I was certainly biting my lip with each turn of the page knowing it might be either characters last. Something bad takes place in the Enclave and I was terrified that one or both of them might not make it through the night. Most shocking of all is it's not just the Ferals who cause it.Speaking of the Ferals, I felt they were much more menacing in this tale. I could finally see why the inhabitants of College were afraid of them. I am still left wondering how exactly they made it out of the underground but I guess that will come in the next book. I have my suspicions though.

    Lastly, I really liked that we were able to see more from what happened in the past. Those poor survivors thought they were smart hiding underground but the joke was on them. Had they known it would end up their tomb I'd wonder if they'd have still taken the risk in the first place? In that respect I did see similarities to a video game called Fallout but did I really care? No. Also I did sort of wonder how the pressurized doors still worked. Wouldn't they need electricity?

    The only real downside to Endurance was the fact that it was over too soon. I could've followed Thimble and Stone to the ends of the world and been content doing so. It's not really the stories fault, it is a Novella after all and despite its length I was satisfied from first to last page. It's mainly that I know in the next book these two beautifully amazing characters will be relegated back to the background so Deuce and Fade can once again take center stage.

    Final Thoughts
    In the end I highly enjoyed Endurance. In fact, I have no problem saying that I enjoyed it even more than Enclave. Thimble in my eyes would of been a more interesting protagonist to follow than Deuce. She has vitality and charisma despite her disability that's infectious and it doesn't hurt that I find her an adorable companion for Stone. With that being said, I'll be rating Endurance by Ann Aguirre ¿¿¿¿.

    *Copy purchased. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated in an which way for providing them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Awesome book

    This book has a great plot and is over all a great story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I really enjoyed getting to know more about Thimble and Stone. T

    I really enjoyed getting to know more about Thimble and Stone. Thimble is smart and resourceful while Stone is strong and fast. Together they make the perfect team. They must survive a rebellion and the underground tunnels filled with Freaks in order to get topside. This novella was full of action and romance and I loved every second of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Endurnce

    This book is cray cray

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    This book is OVER 9000!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    AMAZING

    Honestly one of the most amazing books i've ever read! Definitely read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Domb

    Monkeys make better stories

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Dont watse your money yall!

    If you have enclave the whole story of endurance is in the back.....hope I saved some of you $1.05. Aside from that tidbit, loved endurance. Written true to the aguirre style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    The best

    ;P

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    book

    this needs to be made into a full on book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great short from the Razorland Series. Very well written, easy

    Great short from the Razorland Series. Very well written, easy to relate to characters. I keep wanting more from this series. Ann Aguirre is adept at bringing stories to life and making them seem real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Loved this short read. I hope we get to read more of Thimble and

    Loved this short read. I hope we get to read more of Thimble and Stone in book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Enclave Side Romance

    This was sweet & endearing, but nothing to bother with. Just purchased "Outpost" & am looking forward to the mayhem that is sure to come. Loved Enclave, hoping Outpost is even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Sounds kewl

    Read the first book this ine looks good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2