Customer Reviews for

The Endurance: Shackleton's Legendary Antarctic Expedition

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely a Must Have

Absolutely loved this book. Read Alfred Lansing's book Endurance, this made a delightful and wonderful companion to that book. One of the most interesting, brave, exciting true life adventures ever undertaken. This should be a must read for all high school age kids.

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Endurance, a "Chill" read.

The Endurance, written by Caroline Alexander thoroughly details one of the most impressive feats a human has ever done. Sir Ernest Shackleton and his crew of twenty seven members set out from South Georgia Island in December of 1914 hoping to trek on foot across Antarct...
The Endurance, written by Caroline Alexander thoroughly details one of the most impressive feats a human has ever done. Sir Ernest Shackleton and his crew of twenty seven members set out from South Georgia Island in December of 1914 hoping to trek on foot across Antarctica, not knowing they wouldn’t set foot on land for nearly five hundred days. On January 19th, 1915 Shackleton got stuck in the ice pack and drifted eight hundred miles north. While trying to avoid committing mutiny, the crew of twenty eight attempted to carry the three life boats to sailable water. After setting up camp and waiting until April 9th, of 1915, the ice broke-up and they sailed seven days to land safely on Elephant Island. (Their first time setting foot on land in nearly sixteen months.) Shackleton waged five crew members to go with him in search of South Georgia Island in order to save the remaining crew members. After miraculously landing on the island, Shackleton climbed glaciers and mountains to find the nearest whaling station spending three days climbing on no sleep. He then attempted numerous times at saving his crew and eventually, three months later found them all alive. It’s truly one of the most awe striking stories in history and Alexander does a wonderful job of sharing it.
When talking about prevalent themes in a novel, Caroline Alexander displays the themes of perseverance and dedication in impressive fashion. She describes the journeys and tasks the crew members encountered in a way that envelopes the reader; causing them to have an appreciation for the hardship these men actually encountered and fought through.
Though I am generally a picky reader when it comes non-fiction work, I thoroughly enjoyed this read. The way Alexander describes the situations and emotions of the crew members is some of the best I have encountered. It felt as if I was actually there. Another part of the author’s piece that attributed to my liking for the book was the overall story. The fact that these men endured all of the incredible strife and hardship they did, and to still all come out alive is a written miracle.
I struggled while sitting back trying to find things I disliked about the book, until I discovered one thing. I thought Alexander could have done a much better job exploiting and analyzing the crew member’s emotions. Instead of describing how the men felt, she described the situation more, making the reader infer their feelings more.
This tale is one of the most impressive stories in history and should be shared around the world. I would recommend this to all people as it can teach them that they don’t have it so bad and they just need to persevere like Shackleton’s crew. Alexander is not proclaimed as a top of the line writer, but I would give this work of hers a 9 out of 10. I would also recommend reading her novel, The War That Killed Achillies.

posted by Yaboipetey on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Absolutely a Must Have

    Absolutely loved this book. Read Alfred Lansing's book Endurance, this made a delightful and wonderful companion to that book. One of the most interesting, brave, exciting true life adventures ever undertaken. This should be a must read for all high school age kids.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    The Endurance, a "Chill" read.

    The Endurance, written by Caroline Alexander thoroughly details one of the most impressive feats a human has ever done. Sir Ernest Shackleton and his crew of twenty seven members set out from South Georgia Island in December of 1914 hoping to trek on foot across Antarctica, not knowing they wouldn’t set foot on land for nearly five hundred days. On January 19th, 1915 Shackleton got stuck in the ice pack and drifted eight hundred miles north. While trying to avoid committing mutiny, the crew of twenty eight attempted to carry the three life boats to sailable water. After setting up camp and waiting until April 9th, of 1915, the ice broke-up and they sailed seven days to land safely on Elephant Island. (Their first time setting foot on land in nearly sixteen months.) Shackleton waged five crew members to go with him in search of South Georgia Island in order to save the remaining crew members. After miraculously landing on the island, Shackleton climbed glaciers and mountains to find the nearest whaling station spending three days climbing on no sleep. He then attempted numerous times at saving his crew and eventually, three months later found them all alive. It’s truly one of the most awe striking stories in history and Alexander does a wonderful job of sharing it.
    When talking about prevalent themes in a novel, Caroline Alexander displays the themes of perseverance and dedication in impressive fashion. She describes the journeys and tasks the crew members encountered in a way that envelopes the reader; causing them to have an appreciation for the hardship these men actually encountered and fought through.
    Though I am generally a picky reader when it comes non-fiction work, I thoroughly enjoyed this read. The way Alexander describes the situations and emotions of the crew members is some of the best I have encountered. It felt as if I was actually there. Another part of the author’s piece that attributed to my liking for the book was the overall story. The fact that these men endured all of the incredible strife and hardship they did, and to still all come out alive is a written miracle.
    I struggled while sitting back trying to find things I disliked about the book, until I discovered one thing. I thought Alexander could have done a much better job exploiting and analyzing the crew member’s emotions. Instead of describing how the men felt, she described the situation more, making the reader infer their feelings more.
    This tale is one of the most impressive stories in history and should be shared around the world. I would recommend this to all people as it can teach them that they don’t have it so bad and they just need to persevere like Shackleton’s crew. Alexander is not proclaimed as a top of the line writer, but I would give this work of hers a 9 out of 10. I would also recommend reading her novel, The War That Killed Achillies.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    A must read

    I read this book about 10 years ago and have since gifted it to several friends and family. I must say it was one of the best books I have ever read. I didn't want to put it down! Amazing what these men went through and survived!! The pictures that are in the book really bring you into what is going on. If ever your looking for a book for yourself or as a gift - this is the one I would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    True leadership

    This book took me to a place where I truely felt like I lived it. I love true stories and this one took the cake. Besides Shackleton's talent for picking his team (which eventually saved their lives) but had the foresight to bring a very talented photographer along for the trip. This book showcases photos which were carefully selected for survival and the writings from the journals ,which each man was required to keep, in such a way that I felt like I was there everyday, part of the conversations and events, every step of the way. Not even SOUTH, Shackleton's own book which I also read, did that for me. Caroline Alexander put an experience together by letting the words and actions of each man tell this amazing and true tale. I have to buy another copy for me. Every one I loaned out was NEVER returned...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    The Endurance

    This is an excellant read- read it in one sitting.Great pictures!
    I shared the content with my 4th and 5th grade students and they were eager to learn more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    Well Done!

    This book was well written, and interesting, but very informative

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2001

    Shackleton does the impossible!

    Fabulous reading. Had me on the edge of my seat. Very sad tale to be told. But with a positive ending. The pictures are the best I have ever seen for black and white for their time. The story is amazing and that this journey has never been duplicated. He beat the odds on this trip. Enjoy the read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    Good Story

    This is the first non-fiction book on tape that I have listened to. It is similar in style to a program on the history channel. I've enjoyed the story and would recommend this to anyone interested in history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    You must read this book

    Incredible account of how much man can endure under terribly adverse conditions. Extremely well written with stunning photographs. One of those 'can't put it down' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    A thrilling account of perseverance and determination

    The story of Shackleton is one for the ages. Alexander eloquently described the arduous expedition the 27 men endured, while the photojournalistic pages of serene beauty masked the brutally harsh environment they endured for months on end. A fantastic read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2000

    A Must Read!!!

    I read this book and absolutely loved it. it is excing, thrilling, and you can't put it down. My dad read it and loved it and so did I.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Beautiful pictures, compelling story

    Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    An Inspiration.

    I first learned this story from reading 'Endurance' by Alfred Lansing. The book was a real thrill for me because I did not know how the story would end until I finished the book. Caroline Alexander's book was just as enjoyable for me even though I knew how it would end. She adds a terrific human touch to Lansing's journalistic account. The photographs add a strong sense of realism. Caroline gives special insights into the personalities of the men, and gives us all some insight on the quiet professionalism and undaunted optimism that it took for these guys to accomplish the impossible. I live in California but it would almost be worth the trip to Washington to Natural History Museum to see the exhibit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2