Customer Reviews for

Endure (Need Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful finale

Endure. is. FANTASTIC! This is by far the best book of the series. Jones' writing has grown right along with her characters. Everything is done perfectly. I could not put this book down! It's intense, emotional, suspenseful, and action-packed. Endure is a thrill-ride th...
Endure. is. FANTASTIC! This is by far the best book of the series. Jones' writing has grown right along with her characters. Everything is done perfectly. I could not put this book down! It's intense, emotional, suspenseful, and action-packed. Endure is a thrill-ride that you cannot miss.

Zara grows so much as a character in this novel. She really becomes comfortable with her pixie half, and I was glad that she did. Also, she's sad about Nick's rejection, that was touched on in the last novel, but she's not completely shattered. She knows that's not the most important thing in the world. That is an extremely refreshing outlook from a YA heroine. It made me like Zara and this series that much more. Astley was wonderful, and I loved him a billion times more in this book than I did in the last one. He is just terrific. Nick got on my nerves again. When he was told how bratty he was, I wholeheartedly agreed. The character development and growth throughout this series has been amazing. I've really enjoyed getting to know these characters and all of their quirks.

The plot is intense, and the pacing is perfect. There is a lot of action, and the romance gets complicated, builds, and changes throughout the course of the novel. I read this book all in one sitting because I had to know whether or not Zara and company were able to save the world. Were they able to, you ask? Well you'll have to pick up the book and find out. In an effort not to spoil anything, I'm going to keep this part of my review kind of vague. There are new creatures introduced, as well as new dimensions/worlds/whatever you want to call them. Things get a whole lot more complicated. People die. There is a lot going on. Things get ugly. You'll be gripping your book/e-reader so hard by the end of this novel that you'll have lost feeling in your hands. It'll all be worth it, though.

Overall, I'd recommend this book and this series to anyone. Jones offers a unique twist on pixies and incorporates a lot of Norse mythology, which I like. All of the books are super quick reads, and they just get better as the series progresses. Endure is one of the best books I've read so far this year. Well done, Carrie, well done.

posted by Falln2books on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring end to a triligy

The first book I flew thru, the second a little slower but this was almost torture to finish. Not a bad ending just really slow.

posted by 10324621 on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Endure is the last and final book in the Need Series by Carrie

    Endure is the last and final book in the Need Series by Carrie Jones and let me tell you it's been a blast reading this series. The plot and characters were done so well throughout the entire series with tons of twists and turns and compelling characters that made it worthwhile for the time I invested into reading the series. Okay now on to the actual book and the review.

    Nick has been brought back from Valhalla thanks to Zara, and instead of being grateful the guy is acting like a complete jerk towards her. Meanwhile Zara is developing deeper feelings for Astley which I was all for it. Also Zara and her friends are still trying to stop the apocalypse from happening and this brings on quite a few adventures and hardships for the characters especially Zara who is the key to whether the apocalypse will happen or not happen.

    I applaud the growth Zara's character has gone through in the series. She was willing to put all her personal life issues aside and concentrate on trying to save the world. She steps up and becomes a true leader in Endure. And she isn't the only character who I saw growth in, pretty much all of them had grown in their own ways. The only one that got on my nerves was Nick he was such a brat.

    As far as the romance goes I was very happy with who Zara ended up with. She couldn't have picked a better guy.

    I was very satisfied with the wrap up of the series. Endure was fast paced without a dull moment in sight and if you haven't read the series go pick it up, every book was an incredibly fast read for me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    4.9 out of 5? NO SPOILERS.

    I love this series. A very original plot and very well written. It was very easy to just slip into Zara's perspective. The ending was satisfying to the main plot, but the romantic sub-plot didn't seem resolved. There was no clear, definite decision made. I was looking forward to this after the climax. The falling action fell a little flat. I still love this series. Zara is a very likable character and so are her friends. Another thing I noticed was that in this last book, the other characters are not as involved. It is mainly about Zara and her battles.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    yay!!

    I have been waiting for this book. I hope there are a lot of turning points! I can't wait to get my hands on it!!! Yay!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Pixie Devastation With a Great Ending

    The last book in the Need Series. Truth be told, I think there's more to tell. :-)

    I have enjoyed this entire series. When we first meet Zara in Need, she is a shy peace loving girl who moves from Charleston, SC to Bedford, Maine.

    As we learn more about her, her new friends and the evil pixies in Maine...............we are taken on several journeys throughout the book series with the last one going to Hel in Endure.

    Even as all looks bleak, Zara continues to see the best in everyone which helps win the fight against the evil pixies. It's a hard struggle that is all worth it in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED THE WHOLE SERIES .... also liked how Greek Mythology was l

    LOVED THE WHOLE SERIES .... also liked how Greek Mythology was laced in the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Wow

    I love this series!! The first book just sucked me in and took me to the third where my heart broke, in this fourth and i think final book i was a little dissapointed.
    Yeah it was good, but i was hoping for little more out of it and the ending!.....
    Let me say: Nick lovers be prepared for some more heartbreak!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    * spoiler alert ** For every teen romance book there needs to be

    * spoiler alert ** For every teen romance book there needs to be some kind of return in the romance department. I mean you spend hours reading about something that almost is, but alas...it cannot be. I was a little bit disappointed with Zara+Astley return. Zara+Nick was broadcasted so much throughout the entirety of the book, and all Zara and Astley get is one lousy kiss!!!!
    Seriously!

    Even though my Zara + Astley return was most definitely lame. This book was action packed with tons of Norse Mythology(which before I read this book and saw the Avengers I knew nothing about)and the usual awesomeness of The Need Series.

    That's right...it was totally awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    All good things must come to end. I've been waiting awhile for

    All good things must come to end. I've been waiting awhile for this book to come out. I jumped at the chance when Netgalley had it. I actually read this book slowly so I could enjoy it since it's the last in the series.
    It picks up from the last book and Zara is having to prevent a apocalypse from happening. That's a lot on a teenage girl's shoulder who should be focusing on school. She is also dealing with Nick who she rescued from Valhalla, but of course he's being hard-headed and difficult. He doesn't even want to be around her because she's a pixie. There's also Astley, who is her pixie king. Does she have feelings for him or not?
    Zara has to defy pixie rules in this book by letting humans know what they are up against. In addition, Zara and her friends come up with the idea of teaching the humans how to fight, sometimes without the weapons they truly need.
    There's an emotional roller coaster through out the book with Zara. She comes upon people, she thought she would never see again. She has to continuously save herself, her friends, and her mind in this book.
    I will not ruin this book for anyone who hasn't read it. So here are my thoughts on Endure:
    What did I love about this book the most? I loved the action and how Carrie brought the series to a great finish. I loved how Carrie explained everything also. She put a lot of research into this book, and you can tell by reading this book. =)
    I love how Zara grows up so much in this book and fights even when she is thrown into a difficult situation. She stands up for what she needs to do also, and makes people upset.
    This book definitely is a great ending to an amazing series.
    The only thing that I really did not like was Nick. How I used to adore him. In this book though, I wanted to smack him around. He kept hurting Zara's feeling. Thank goodness for Astley, who helped Zara out through it all. Zara friends were also there to pick her up.
    I recommend this book to anyone who has read the other books in the Need Series, readers who adore YA, and readers who adore the fey. This is one fey series that will be missed, but like I said in the beginning of this post...all good things must come to an end.
    Look forward to reading more books from Carrie Jones soon. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    great ending to a great series!

    I have read this series from the beginning and found this book to be a pretty good ending to the series. Things are tied together and there is closure to the story. As with any series, there is always room to write more if the author so desired, but the Pixie war is over and there is a nice tidy ending. I am not going to tell you what happened in the book, or who Zara ends up with, but I am going to say that Endure kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I was hooked from the beginning.

    This final installment is fast paced and if you blink, you will most definitely miss something important. There were parts of this book that made me laugh, and quite a few that made me cry, there were even more that made me sigh like a teenager in love, which I am far from being at my age. (Though I am very much in love, so I love stories with romance in them!) All of the characters in this series are likable, and even though at times the reader is upset with them, everything ends up good in the end, so that should make readers happy.

    You DO need to have read the rest of the series to understand this book, as any good author who wants faithful readers of her series, Ms. Jones does not fill in many of the blanks in the story or repeat things from previous books over and over again, which is one of the most annoying things a series author can do. I actually had to brush up on the previous books since it had been a while since I read them and couldn’t exactly remember how the last one ended.

    Endure, is a rather quick read, I couldn’t sleep last night and read the whole thing before falling asleep at 2:00 am. I then got up this morning and read the “4 months later” part again because I wanted a few questions answered that were not explained well by the ending. I think I have a good grasp on how Ms. Jones wanted the ending to go. No, I am not writing it here, but it makes me happy that Zara is still a pixie in the end.

    This book is appropriate for 7th grade and up (adults included). There is no sex or compromising situations. There is a lot of violence since the characters are fighting a war. This book, as well as the series, would probably appeal to girls more than boys since the main character is a girl and there is quite a bit of romance in it.

    I received this book as an ARC. I do not get paid to review books; I do so in order to assist you in recognizing books that you might enjoy and also to assist parents and teachers in recommending appropriate books for your kids to read.


    Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Satisfying end to a wonderful series

    I was hooked from the beginning and the anticipation for this final book to come out ate away at me. This amazing end was just as fufilling if not more than the rest of the series. I'm sad to see it's over but I feel like I wasn't left with any loose ends. The action and romance was not only attention grabbing but also left me completely captivated, unable to put the book down. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Always Awesome Series

    This series is always entertaining. The last one had a lot about Valhalla and this one features more Norse mythology such as Hel. I find the mythology that is woven into the series to be one of the best parts as it makes old mythology feel fresh and new and it could pique the interest of those considering the series. Zara’s character is unquestionably awesome. This is the girl to have as a friend. She doesn’t shy from a fight and is always seeking to do the right thing for the greater good. She’s willing to do whatever it takes to make things as close to right as she can. Her friends aren’t too shabby either. They all lend something special to their Scooby-type-gang. Zara still has her issues, mostly in her love life, and since she’s not perfect it makes her and her situation a bit more believable. This is a young adult series that I will recommend time and time again.

    ARC Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2