Customer Reviews for

Endymion Spring: Die Macht des Geheimen Buches

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    It's good!

    I read Endymion Spring without reading the reviews and I am very surprised that it has not been properly appreciated. It is such a well-written book (although some pieces did not really have to be so descriptive that you have to reread the paragraphs but I guess they meant to make the experience more colorful). I believe that this book will be more esteemed by intellectual young adults since the plot DOES center on academia. Not everyone would understand the tribulations a book would cause (the blank book) and the inclination to embrace such a difficult undertaking (of Blake's and Endymion's). Not everyone revere books and therefore cannot appreciate their value. Moreover, the ending could have been more special... Nevertheless, I enjoyed reading Endymion Spring. It IS quite interesting. I recommend it to young adults who enjoyed Inkheart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Had Potential, But Couldn't Meet Standards

    When I received this book with praises from the giver, I had pretty high expectations. However, once I read the Prologue, I was already disappointed. The impossibly contrasting imagery confuses the reader and doesn't allow a clear picture to form. The characters could have also been more developed as nearly all of them seemed flat with no strong defining features or characteristics. The consistant contradictions of action in the story further repelled me. The Historical Note also made me question the originality of the story since the only part not illustrated by historical notes was Blake and Duck's story. Had potential to be enthralling, but fell short of the bar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Totally awsome book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Blake is a boy temporarily living in Oxford with his mother because of his parent¿s divorce. When he finds a mysterious blank book he puts it back on the shelf. What he doesn¿t know is that many people want that book and some will kill to get it. I think it¿s a good fast paced book that has interesting and mysterious characters. It kept me on the edge and wanting more because of the many different pieces of information. The book is a little complicated but still a good read. I enjoyed it A LOT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Amazing and Educational

    The book is fantastic. It is confusing but when you analyze it and take the time to solve it's tricky puzzles not only do you enjoy it more but you learn how to understand the sophisticated literature. I would reccomend this book to any teacher who wants to teach their students about history, comprehension and logic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Good book for fantasy lovers

    This book was wonderful, with it's cunning adventure and stunning language. The only downside was that the humor content was very low. I enjoyed this book very much, and I would definitely recommend it to many fantasy lovers. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    The big let down :-(

    I was enjoying the book very much up until the very end. It was as though Skelton became board writing the book and tried to finish it as quickly as possiable. I am now left with many unanswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Awful doesn't begin to cover it

    This book is tasteless, boring, unexciting. Ugh! Too dreadful even for words. My friends said this book was dreadful. And then I decied to read it to find out they were right. I'm a really fast reader but this book was soooo boring it took me months to finish. If I could give this book no stars at all I would!! Ugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    A book with a twist on history

    The book is a fun, interesting twist on an old subject in history you would normally be bored of or fall asleep in class over when your teacher read it to you from a dusty volume. Skeleton demonstrates his love for mystery, history, with a dash of adventure in this book, and it shouldn't be put down or mocked in any way just because someone found it horrible. Everyone's taste are different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    A GREAT book for Readers!

    This book succeeds on many levels. Kids will understand the main character's fear of normalcy in a family of scholars, and their fears caught up in a parent's pending divorce. Most parents will laugh at Skelton's intentional skewering of several academic types. Some others simply won't follow all the clues or get the jokes. But it is a fascinating and well-written tale with a truly clever ending. Tamara

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Good read

    This book is pretty well written. It does drag a bit at points, but on the whole, the switching of perspectives during the writing is very effective. Unlike some people, clearly, my friends and I enjoyed reading this book, and we did enjoy the main characters, particular Duck. A good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    Not impressed

    I read this book with my son and I cannot begin to express how disappointed we were. The book is overwritten to the point where it is often a bloated, meandering wreck. My son wanted to give up every time we read it, but I promised him it must get better. Unfortunately, it didn't. Some parts were so boring and mindnumbing that I wish I had given up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Don't waste your time

    I got this from a friend's mother who works at a big bookstore and often gets advanced copies of books. She wanted my opinion since I love fantasy and fully expected to enjoy this book however, I coudl barely read it to the end. It was just too much work to follow the clunky plot and boring characters. And when the book finally got to the end, I was left wondering why I bothered. The whole experience was very frustrating and not at all enjoyable. This book could have used a better editor and much more editing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Pretty Good

    Endymion Spring was a good book, but it has a slow plot and a less than desirable main character. I found Blake annoying and too weak to perform the task. I felt that the author did a great job stirring up mystery in the beginning, but that he failed to write a great climax. Jolyon's and Psalmanazar's subplots were letdowns after the author built them up with so much mystery. Still, the book was okay and is a great read for a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Awful, awful, awful

    I don't get it. It was just too much work to try to care. And when the book finally got to the end, I was like so??? I found this book to be incredibly boring, one of the few books that I've wished I never bought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Not bad. A good read.

    Endymion Spring has an interesting storyline and is the slightest bit historical fiction. I particularly enjoyed it. I like books that I can actually put down but jump right into them when I want to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    When hyoe goes bad

    Ok, books about cool books are not new. Inkheart and Inkspell do a much better job than this at being interesting. This book tries way too hard. The concept is interesting, but the writing suffers from lack of grace. In short, it's boring. The author prolly has no kids, because he doesn't know how they talk or what they think, based on his flat characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Not bad.

    This book was pretty good, but not on my favorite book list. But it come close. It's a book that will kill some time, and leave you with several days of thoughts about a book(the one in the story) that could be so powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2