Customer Reviews for

The Enemy (new cover) (An Enemy Novel)

Average Rating 4
( 286 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Great Imaginations Review of The Enemy

There are exactly 665 ratings of this book on Goodreads. Only 665. It's a travesty. Why? This has to change. I'm going to do my part to help it along. There's an influx of dystopian and zombie novels as of late. It's the latest craze apparently. So why is the best one I...
There are exactly 665 ratings of this book on Goodreads. Only 665. It's a travesty. Why? This has to change. I'm going to do my part to help it along. There's an influx of dystopian and zombie novels as of late. It's the latest craze apparently. So why is the best one I have read yet not more popular? I don't get it!

I'm not saying the others aren't good, but The Enemy is like a non-stop roller coaster ride. And there isn't a single lull in the action. It's full of gore, heart-stopping moments, and places where I forgot to breathe I was so scared. And the best part? There's a second book!

Look I'll admit that the idea of "grown-up" zombies feeding on children is a slightly amateurish idea. But I promise you that the minute you start reading, you will completely forget this.

Some of my reviews get technical where I talk about story elements, pacing, characterizations, and the like, but I don't really want to do that with this review. It's not necessary. Charlie can write a killer action story and that's all you need to know. He's not afraid to do what he needs to do to keep the story moving along, even if things have to get really scary.

I guess I would call this a young adult novel. But it's very violent. You know how the Hunger Games is violent? I think this is even worse than that. I found myself cringing in a lot of places. But it didn't really bother me. I really, really loved this book. Zombies are like my favorite thing to read about lately. I don't really see that changing anytime soon. They scare the bejeezus out of me.

So do me a favor. If you love dystopians, if you love reading about zombies, you need to add this one to your TBR list. Then you need to click on that list and move this book to the top. After you read it, come back here and let me know what you thought. I can't think of a single person that I wouldn't recommend this book to.

posted by K_malinczak on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

This book was not very good

This book does not go very deep with details or characters. Throughout the book I felt no relation to the characters. It did have a good story, but the writing was not very good. I felt thte characters had hardly any personality, and the characters that did show the mos...
This book does not go very deep with details or characters. Throughout the book I felt no relation to the characters. It did have a good story, but the writing was not very good. I felt thte characters had hardly any personality, and the characters that did show the most were usually the bad guys. Overall, I would definetly not recommend this book.

posted by 3445427 on June 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Imaginations Review of The Enemy

    There are exactly 665 ratings of this book on Goodreads. Only 665. It's a travesty. Why? This has to change. I'm going to do my part to help it along. There's an influx of dystopian and zombie novels as of late. It's the latest craze apparently. So why is the best one I have read yet not more popular? I don't get it!

    I'm not saying the others aren't good, but The Enemy is like a non-stop roller coaster ride. And there isn't a single lull in the action. It's full of gore, heart-stopping moments, and places where I forgot to breathe I was so scared. And the best part? There's a second book!

    Look I'll admit that the idea of "grown-up" zombies feeding on children is a slightly amateurish idea. But I promise you that the minute you start reading, you will completely forget this.

    Some of my reviews get technical where I talk about story elements, pacing, characterizations, and the like, but I don't really want to do that with this review. It's not necessary. Charlie can write a killer action story and that's all you need to know. He's not afraid to do what he needs to do to keep the story moving along, even if things have to get really scary.

    I guess I would call this a young adult novel. But it's very violent. You know how the Hunger Games is violent? I think this is even worse than that. I found myself cringing in a lot of places. But it didn't really bother me. I really, really loved this book. Zombies are like my favorite thing to read about lately. I don't really see that changing anytime soon. They scare the bejeezus out of me.

    So do me a favor. If you love dystopians, if you love reading about zombies, you need to add this one to your TBR list. Then you need to click on that list and move this book to the top. After you read it, come back here and let me know what you thought. I can't think of a single person that I wouldn't recommend this book to.

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Could be the beginning to a great series

    I found this book by accident and I'm very glad i did! Unlike a lot of stories, it doesn't just follow one main plot with one main character. Instead there are several thrilling, action packed story lines with the reader getting to see through many different characters perspectives. I was hooked by the end of the first page and ended up finishing the book in one day. After the cliff hanging ending, I am now eagerly awaiting the sequel!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    The most terrifying zombie book I've ever read...

    The Enemy / 978-1-423-14504-2

    I'm a big fan of zombie lit, and have read quite a lot of what's out there, but I can honestly say that "The Enemy" scared me far more than most anything else I've read.

    "The Enemy" starts hard and fast by plopping us in the middle of the zombie apocalypse, as a rag-tag band of kids struggle to survive against the infected grown-ups. We rapidly learn that some time ago, everyone over about sixteen became incredibly sick and eventually started shambling around killing and eating the uninfected children. The children that have survived thus far have banded together into small, tightly-knit tribal groups, struggling to eke out some semblance of survival. Without any adults to guide them, the children hover between disaster-induced maturity and touching youthful naivete, as the older of the children try to look out for the smallest and youngest in the groups.

    Part of what makes "The Enemy" so frightening is that the reader is frequently and harrowingly terrified for the young protagonists. Author Higson does a wonderful job of characterizing the many children that fill the pages of this excellent novel - the point of view switches frequently between the children, and each child is fleshed out thoroughly and realistically. The children are attuned enough to the realities of the situation to allow the reader to identify with and care for them, but they still make enough foolish mistakes to retain their childlike status in the eyes of the reader. And once the reader becomes intimately familiar with all the characters, and grows to like them, the dangers of Anyone Can Die really hit home - this is not a book where battles feel bland and anti-climactic because you *know* none of your favorite characters will get offed.

    I really cannot rave enough about the wonderful writing here - everything from the world-building to the characterization to the point-of-view switches is done remarkably well. The switches between the characters always flow naturally and never feel forced or clunky or cheap. The children are often delightfully Genre Savvy, as you would naturally expect urban children familiar with zombie lore to be, but always remain ultimately vulnerable, particularly as things get worse and the younger children are forced to confront the horrors of this new world. And the world building is done so well that I started to become deeply concerned about the fate of the older children - is the danger of infection over for them or are they inexorably doomed like their parents?

    If you like zombie books even a little bit, then you will love "The Enemy". I'm not 100% certain about the age target audience - personally, I found this book to be terrifying, and I'm an *adult*, but probably older kids can handle it as a solid horror/adventure story written from their perspective. While there is no sexual content, there is quite a bit of horror and violence, obviously, so do keep that in mind when shopping.

    ~ Ana Mardoll

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    This book is AWESOME!!!!!!

    This book by Charlie Higson is action packed and will keep you on the edge of your seat. I would recommend this to any zombie-lover or action-lover!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    Awesome!

    Great book. Thrilling an it will keep you guessing what will happen next. It has a suspenseful ending that keeps me yearning for the next book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    20 + Stars for this incredible book!

    WOW. JUST WOW. I read alot, and have written many reviews lately, but this book truly blew me away. Gripping, fast paced, extremely well written. Keeps you guessing. I was wary to read a zombie thriller, but im so glad i chose this book. It has quickly climbed into my top five, possibly top three, and I have read close to 100 fantasy fiction style books in a little over a years time. I am 27, and absolutely LOVED this book. Immediately bought the second, and have devoured 8 chapters of it already. 303 pages in the book. I easily read 100 or more pages at a time; tried to pace myself but just couldnt, i had to know what happened to the characters. I promise you will love this book, so many twists and turns. Off the charts. Happy reading everyone!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Amazing book

    This is the first book ive ever read where the author does the truly unexpected. As I read this book, I was captivated, griped, and amazed at this authors ability to turn a book into such an amazing possibility for entertainment. I reccomend this book to everyone who is willing to be thrilled, engaged, and has time on their hands to read this gripping novel. Thumbs up to the author!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    This is by far the best book i ever read!!!!! Its full of action and fast paced. Which is why i love it so much. I read the first 2 books and now im waiting for the 3rd book. It beat the "Hunger Games Series" and the "Maximum Ride Series" on my list!!! Its great. I totally recomend it! :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    This book was not very good

    This book does not go very deep with details or characters. Throughout the book I felt no relation to the characters. It did have a good story, but the writing was not very good. I felt thte characters had hardly any personality, and the characters that did show the most were usually the bad guys. Overall, I would definetly not recommend this book.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Amazing Book! MUST READ.

    I haven't read a lot of books, mainly because none of them were interesting. I recently went to a book fair and saw this book. It looked very good. I purchased the book and started reading. Boy, Am I glad I did. I finished the book a few minutes ago. The action, The description, Everything, I Loved. I would recommend this book to people who are older than 12, only because there are a few curse words in it. Other than that, everyone would enjoy this book. THIS IS A MUST READ NOVEL.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a very very good book, everyone should read this

    i found The Enemy while browsing the teen section at Borders. It is not all that easy to find books like this. The book starts off with a great opening story, that leaves you with some questions that you have to read a little farther to find out. As the book goes on, it has something for everyone. It has action, drama, horror, romance, and zombies. If you like any of these types of writing, then you should find this book, make sure your in a nice comfy spot, and turn the first page. This book also is good at keeping you glued to its pages. each tiny little story is almost over when you finish a chapter, and you feel like you have to keep reading to find out what happens next. One of the major themes in this story is about how well strangers can work together. With all these kids under 16 running around with lead pipes and baseball bats, you would think that this would all go to hell. But it does the exact oppisite. The gropup of kids this book focuses on, is well organized and well defended. Overall, this is a very very good book and i would recomend it to every teen out there. Why? Becuase this book holds your attention and doesnt let go. It has a little something for everyone in the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ!

    This book was a mix of 28 days later and lord of the flies. kids are left to fend for themselves and survive without adults. the characters are great, and the story keeps you interested until the very end. cant wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    340 pages

    This book was a free Friday offering, so of course I had to give it a try. It is also the first book in a series. It is about a virus which attacks adulta and turns them into zombie like cannibals which eat the children. The children try to fight them off and survive by scavanging. There is a lot of cannibalism in this book. There is all kind of blood, guts, gore, extreme violence, death, sickness, fighting and just plain depravity. I literaly got sick to my stomach. One review was by a fourteen year old. There is no way I would a fourteen year old read this book. Even though it is about kids, it is not for kids. It is well edited, which is the only good thing I can say about it. This book is very disturbing. For adults only, but I cannot recommend it.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Terrible.

    Shirley Manson kills zombies with her singing. Still better than The Enemy.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I loved this book!!!!

    I thought that The Enemy was a great book. I found all of the characters relateable and realistic. The plotline was very good, with lots of twists and turns that kept me guessing. There was lots of action, and if you like to be frightened, this book is perfect for you. However, I would not reccomend reading it before you go to bed. I saw some reviews that said it wasn't relatable and that the Enemy was written like a children's book, but I strongly disagree. Charlie Higgens is a great author and I would highly recommend thus book to any teen or adult.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Very compelling, couldn't put it down, but not for the faint of heart.

    This book (1st in the series) falls into the "young adult" or older teen category in my opinion. That isn't to say that younger teens or adults wouldn't like it. However, there is a reason that this is generally not recommended to younger teens and children. It is very gory and probably really scary to most of them. That said, I am a grandmother of a young boy who, because of his advanced reading levels, is in young adult level reading. I recently ran out of stuff to read on my nook and noticed that he had bought this book to read. I asked him if it was a good book and he said yes. I began reading it and in 6 days time I had purchased the other 3 and read them all. Now I am frustrated because number 5 is not coming out in the US until Spring 2014 and the last 2 in the series will be out a year each apart from #5. Very compelling series and hard for me to put down. But really gory and for some, I would think, very scary. You need a strong stomach and not be given to nightmares. A really interesting concept where most of the adults, everyone 16 yrs old & older, in the world have died, leaving the children to fend for themselves. The twist is that the surviving adults are monsters killing and eating the surviving children. Medieval, times have almost returned. I couldn't put them down. Survival becomes the only thing and the children of this world become very resourceful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    READ THIS BOOK!!

    I am 14 years old and i have read the whole series. I think someone my age would like the book better because its writte from a kids point of veiw. This book is easily one of my favorite books of all time even though i dont normally like scifi books and especially zombie books. Althogh it is gory at some ponts. I read the whole series in a month. I could not put these books down. I recomend you read this whole series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Wow

    This scary book is not appropriatte for kids. Freaked the heck out of me.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Memyselfandi

    Great book. It puts an interesting spin on a classic senario. Full of action and suspence. I hardly ever got bored reading this book. Charlie Higson minipulates the story perfectly each twist and turn adds a key ingredent in the ever more changing literary burrito.
    Note: Does get gory at some times
    12+ is the age limit i suggest

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Great book

    Cant wait to read the next one

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15