BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Enemy (Jack Reacher Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Riveting, nail biting entertainment

I had never heard of Lee Child, but my librarian recommended I pick up one of his books and I sought this one out first. What a delightful surprise. At first I didn't think I could like the dry and gritty Jack Reacher, but in the end I grew to love him. I'm ignorant in ...
I had never heard of Lee Child, but my librarian recommended I pick up one of his books and I sought this one out first. What a delightful surprise. At first I didn't think I could like the dry and gritty Jack Reacher, but in the end I grew to love him. I'm ignorant in terms of military systems and terminology but Child manages to describe and inform without boring or confusing me. He keeps me engaged and completely entertained.

This book was dark, gritty and packed with tension and excitement. I couldn't put the book down. I'm very excited to read the rest of Child's works.

posted by spinspinnsuga on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

Last Lee Child book I'll read.

Wounded warriors are "garbage to the Army"? What a load of unresearched uninformed crock. TBI soldiers warehoused in filthy conditions?

Then we get to the plot. The Army is shipping destroyed tanks secretly from Iraq? How many ta...
Last Lee Child book I'll read.

Wounded warriors are "garbage to the Army"? What a load of unresearched uninformed crock. TBI soldiers warehoused in filthy conditions?

Then we get to the plot. The Army is shipping destroyed tanks secretly from Iraq? How many tanks does he think we catastrophically killed in Iraq? Most likely not enough for either a secret program or all the uranium supposedly collected.

An then Reacher deliberately sets a dirty bomb off. And he walks away from it.

Terrible. Gave it 1 star only because the system won't let you enter 0 stars. I'd give it a negative star if I could.

posted by JeffM88 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 318 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting, nail biting entertainment

    I had never heard of Lee Child, but my librarian recommended I pick up one of his books and I sought this one out first. What a delightful surprise. At first I didn't think I could like the dry and gritty Jack Reacher, but in the end I grew to love him. I'm ignorant in terms of military systems and terminology but Child manages to describe and inform without boring or confusing me. He keeps me engaged and completely entertained.

    This book was dark, gritty and packed with tension and excitement. I couldn't put the book down. I'm very excited to read the rest of Child's works.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Jack Reacher is the best Character EVER!

    All of the Jack Reacher series is absolutely riveting and exciting. I can never put down these books. It's crazy, like an addiction. I have read one a week.... I have 2 left... and have no idea what I am going to do when I have to WAIT for the next one to come out! Lee Child, please, write faster!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    I think Lee Child's books are all excellent. I thoroughly enjoy

    I think Lee Child's books are all excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed this one. The additional background to Reacher helps understand this complicated man. Although he's done some excellent "action" movies, as well as other genre films, I can't imagine Tom Cruise portraying this "giant of a man - both physically and mentally".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Reacher Novel but Not One of the Best

    This is a prequel where Jack is still in the military. The reader is able to learn much about his background, his mother and his brother. If you're new to the Reacher series, you might want to read this one first. Without a doubt, there's plenty of action as usual, and Child draws the reader in quickly. Plot is strong, characters are deep. My only "complaint" is that the story slows here and there, more than one would like with a novel such as this. Overall - another Reacher hit and one you won't want to pass up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    The Enemy by Lee Child (Series # 8)

    This was another good Jack Reacher book. Read this before series # 1. Daisy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Required reading for Reacher fans.

    A great peek into the world of Jack Reacher while in the military that gives the reader insight into his post-military life in other books of the series. The story is a page-turner typical of Lee Child's best writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Fan of Jack Reacher

    Will read and enjoy anything with this character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Super Book

    This is a great Reacher story. He is his tough and intelligent in deducing the situation. Good ending!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Not A Good One

    Having read 1-8 and 10 (and enjoying all but this one), this is by far the weakest of the bunch. If you've ever served in the Army, especially if you have a pretty good idea of how the big "A" Army works, stay away from this book. The author takes bizarre liberties with how the Army organized and functions. If these were minor details they would just be very annoying, but many are ridiculous beyond measure and are crucial to the plot, i.e. <<<spoiler alert>>> the Armor community plotting to preserve itself through a nefarious plan is beyond silly. For a guy who bases an entire series on one man whose primary background is as an MP, the author is egregiously ignorant of the service works (one book has an Army captain in the Pentagon with his own well-appointed office - colonels in the Pentagon have tiny offices, while lieutenant colonels and below have cubes). Usually you can overlook these, but not in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    I have read Killing Floor and it was great but this was even bet

    I have read Killing Floor and it was great but this was even better. Jack Reacher is a hard as nails justice server. great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    A pretty good read!

    If you think that you might be interested in the Jack Reacher series (now that a movie based on one of the books is out), this is a great place to start. Although this book is listed as #8 in the series, it is really a prequel. It is a relatively fast-moving book with plenty of intrigue. Reacher is somewhat hard to like, but not quite unlikeable either. I've now also read Killing Floor (#1 in the series) and I'm glad that I started with the prequel first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Not good

    This was the slowest book I've ever read. B O R I N G! The only reason I finished it was because I paid for it. Don't make the same mistake.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Great book

    I love the Reacher books by Lee Child. Great reads! This one is a definite page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Any Reacher is A-1 in this house.

    Lee Child couldn't write a bad story if he tried. Always enjoy his
    novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Another fantastic Jack Reacher story! Does not dissapoint so I

    Another fantastic Jack Reacher story! Does not dissapoint so I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    The Best

    The Lee Child, Jack Reacher series is one of the most entertaining I have ever read. Not one book disappoints, in fact they always exceed expectations. Keep them coming!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Not one of Child's best storylines.

    Not the best in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Awesome

    Another great Reacher story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Another Reacher experience that I could not put down

    I was at first confused on how Jack Reacher went back to the service but I could not put this one down either. The suspense keeps you holding on and you can't wait to turn the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Just keeps getting better...

    I began reading the Jack Reacher series a while ago, and am attempting to read the books in sequence. It seems that with each new book in the series, they get better and better. This book was so far the best.

    The story contained quite a bit of personal familial background, which helped to develop the Reacher character. I won't go into story detail, as enough reviewers already have. Sufice it to say that this is a fun series for action/mystery lovers and offers lots to look forward to, as there are many books in the series. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 318 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16