BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Enemy (Jack Reacher Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 317 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Riveting, nail biting entertainment

I had never heard of Lee Child, but my librarian recommended I pick up one of his books and I sought this one out first. What a delightful surprise. At first I didn't think I could like the dry and gritty Jack Reacher, but in the end I grew to love him. I'm ignorant in ...
I had never heard of Lee Child, but my librarian recommended I pick up one of his books and I sought this one out first. What a delightful surprise. At first I didn't think I could like the dry and gritty Jack Reacher, but in the end I grew to love him. I'm ignorant in terms of military systems and terminology but Child manages to describe and inform without boring or confusing me. He keeps me engaged and completely entertained.

This book was dark, gritty and packed with tension and excitement. I couldn't put the book down. I'm very excited to read the rest of Child's works.

posted by spinspinnsuga on July 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

Last Lee Child book I'll read.

Wounded warriors are "garbage to the Army"? What a load of unresearched uninformed crock. TBI soldiers warehoused in filthy conditions?

Then we get to the plot. The Army is shipping destroyed tanks secretly from Iraq? How many ta...
Last Lee Child book I'll read.

Wounded warriors are "garbage to the Army"? What a load of unresearched uninformed crock. TBI soldiers warehoused in filthy conditions?

Then we get to the plot. The Army is shipping destroyed tanks secretly from Iraq? How many tanks does he think we catastrophically killed in Iraq? Most likely not enough for either a secret program or all the uranium supposedly collected.

An then Reacher deliberately sets a dirty bomb off. And he walks away from it.

Terrible. Gave it 1 star only because the system won't let you enter 0 stars. I'd give it a negative star if I could.

posted by JeffM88 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Reacher Novel but Not One of the Best

    This is a prequel where Jack is still in the military. The reader is able to learn much about his background, his mother and his brother. If you're new to the Reacher series, you might want to read this one first. Without a doubt, there's plenty of action as usual, and Child draws the reader in quickly. Plot is strong, characters are deep. My only "complaint" is that the story slows here and there, more than one would like with a novel such as this. Overall - another Reacher hit and one you won't want to pass up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    A pretty good read!

    If you think that you might be interested in the Jack Reacher series (now that a movie based on one of the books is out), this is a great place to start. Although this book is listed as #8 in the series, it is really a prequel. It is a relatively fast-moving book with plenty of intrigue. Reacher is somewhat hard to like, but not quite unlikeable either. I've now also read Killing Floor (#1 in the series) and I'm glad that I started with the prequel first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    Another fantastic Jack Reacher story! Does not dissapoint so I

    Another fantastic Jack Reacher story! Does not dissapoint so I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Not one of Child's best storylines.

    Not the best in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    Jane

    Walks in and smiles at gordon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Warning! Grabs and holds!

    This was my first Reacher book I started in chronological order and I was instantly hooked. I couldn't put The Enemy down recommend it to all military suspense lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    Enemy (Jack Reacher Series #8)

    This was my first `Burglar¿ book ¿ and I hope to chase up and read all the others. The Burglar is Bernie Rhodenbarr, second hand book dealer by day, burglar at night. He doesn¿t need to be a burglar ¿ he just seems to do it for the adrenaline rush, and because he takes pride in a job well done. Even though he is participating in a criminal activity, he mostly steals from bad guys, and if he steals from someone good by accident, then he breaks in just to put it back. Oh, and he tidies up after himself as well. In this book, Bernie is asked by an old friend to steal cash from a doctor, because the doctor has stolen Marty¿s mistress. Before the `big¿ night, Bernie goes out on the prowl and breaks into the apartment of a woman who returns while Bernie is present. While he is hiding under her bed, a crime is committed, and so he returns everything he has stolen before he leaves as he feels she has suffered enough. Unfortunately, Bernie is spotted on a surveillance camera, and is accused of committing a totally different crime in the area. The long arm of coincidence is a phrase used by Bernie throughout the book as Latvia, date rape drugs, mobsters and cops are drawn into a wacky, improbable and utterly enjoyable romp. As he deals with three separate criminal activities and incredibly draws them together near the end. Bernie is a very witty, literate and eloquent. He is ably supported in his adventure by Caroline the dog groomer, Ray the donut munching cop. Block gives us the solution but not before we learn a little European history, a little New York architecture and perfect glimpse into New York life. Block has a wonderful command of the English language, full of humour and very, very clever with what he does with words.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Can't Get Enough of Jack Reacher

    Before I got into this series I didn't find the notion of an ex-MP drifter appealing. Then I read Persuader, performed by the very talented Dick Hill, and was hooked. The Enemy is the first book in the Reacher series I've actually read rather than listened to, and I loved it, love the title. The Enemy shows a Jack Reacher who hasn't yet been cut loose to aimlessly roam the U.S. He is a major in the permanent and seemingly unchanging Army bureaucracy. But as global politics shift, so must the Army. And make no mistake, Reacher still makes waves and gives no quarter in his quest to find the truth from ignoring orders and forging signatures to insubordination. He keeps moving forward like a shark and so does the action. I agree with other reviewers that this is a police procedural rather than a thriller, but it is very fine writing and another non-stop read. However, I think Lee Child 'telegraphed' the killer by sidelining him. I knew who it was way before I figured out the plot. The prequel was excellent in that we see Reacher's mother dying and his relationship with his brother. Reacher has some emotional context here and I hope Lee Child continues to grow Reacher emotionally in future books. Can't wait to read One Shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    Reacher Rocks

    I have read all the Reachers series and one thing I always wanted was a 'Take us back to when he was in the army' well that's exactly what we got with The Enemy, clever the twists and turns through-out the book had me reading this book in one sitting. Great book Reacher Rocks!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4