BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Enemy Women: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The historical fiction novel, Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles, giv

The historical fiction novel, Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles, gives an extraordinary description of the Civil War with an entirely different perspective than other war novels.  In Enemy Women, there are many historically correct facts regarding the Civil War and the entr...
The historical fiction novel, Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles, gives an extraordinary description of the Civil War with an entirely different perspective than other war novels.  In Enemy Women, there are many historically correct facts regarding the Civil War and the entries at the beginning of each chapter make it even more accurate.  However, this book goes deeper than just the obvious facts.  It gives the believable story of an eighteen-year-old girl (Adair) and her incredible journey during the war.  It provides details about the personal struggles individuals faced living in the Civil War era.  This book is perfect for historical fiction addicts and/or anyone who can enjoy a worthy romance novel that is not too overpowering and mushy.  
The unique young women Adair Colley, and main character, lived in the border state of Missouri.  This creates a conflict with the Union militia who abruptly kidnap her father.  Her quest to find him turns into a mess and she ends up in prison for being falsely accused of spying for the Confederate army.  In prison, Adair meets Major Neumann, a Union soldier, who becomes a very important part of the book later.  The Major and Adair fall in love and within a few days, these two lovebirds decide they refuse to be cooped up inside a rotten prison.  With help from the Major, Adair escapes with only $25 and sets out on a suspenseful journey to find her father and return home.   Through the struggles faced by both of the main characters, the author brilliantly used third person to tell the story giving every opinion and thought of Adair and the Major.  The eager mood of this book definitely makes it a page-turner and out of five, I give this book a four.  It was an extremely amusing and credible, however, there were a few parts where it irked me.  For instance, Adair was annoying at times and Major Neumann should have been more romantic, but there was a constant passion between the main characters, which I loved.  Overall, this book is skillfully written and I recommend it to anyone.  

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paulette Jiles¿s ¿Enemy Women¿ is a historical fiction book that

Paulette Jiles’s “Enemy Women” is a historical fiction book that revolves around the struggles of eighteen year old Adair Colley throughout the end of the Civil War.  Jiles wrote with a formal, serious tone that describes events in a blunt, unexaggerated way. It is narr...
Paulette Jiles’s “Enemy Women” is a historical fiction book that revolves around the struggles of eighteen year old Adair Colley throughout the end of the Civil War.  Jiles wrote with a formal, serious tone that describes events in a blunt, unexaggerated way. It is narrated from a third person omniscient perspective, which allows readers to view both Adair’s thoughts as well as the thoughts of her lover, Major William Neumann. The storyline and character development gives readers an anxious and adventurous mood with hints of romance and sadness sprinkled throughout.  The main characters are Adair and her lawyer, Neumann, who later becomes her lover and avenger for her father. The intended audience could be anyone because it is not written with excessive historical jargon, which makes it understandable for the young or old. That being said, it would, however, benefit the reader to have background knowledge of the Civil War and its effects on society to get the complete picture. Overall, I enjoyed this book because of the interesting series of events and the dynamic relationship between Adair and Neumann. Specifically, I liked how gritty and real Jiles displays the events and struggles of Adair’s journey. The graphic details, such as the corpse’s hand she saw while at Lila’s house, kept me on the edge of my seat.  The major drawback from an ultimate experience was the annoyingly stubborn and prideful characteristics that Adair portrayed, even when it caused her trouble. Although it was necessary for her to act like this, I feel as if a woman in the time of the Civil War would not be this independent or strong-willed. It took me out of the setting a little bit every time she threw her sassy and harsh words. Jiles did a good job in writing this book because she covered important historical facts while providing a captivating and suspenseful plot line. It could have been better if she would have tweaked Adair’s outwardly poor characteristics and if she would have spent more time writing a satisfying and complete ending. 

-J Sortino

posted by sortinoj on December 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    The historical fiction novel, Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles, giv

    The historical fiction novel, Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles, gives an extraordinary description of the Civil War with an entirely different perspective than other war novels.  In Enemy Women, there are many historically correct facts regarding the Civil War and the entries at the beginning of each chapter make it even more accurate.  However, this book goes deeper than just the obvious facts.  It gives the believable story of an eighteen-year-old girl (Adair) and her incredible journey during the war.  It provides details about the personal struggles individuals faced living in the Civil War era.  This book is perfect for historical fiction addicts and/or anyone who can enjoy a worthy romance novel that is not too overpowering and mushy.  
    The unique young women Adair Colley, and main character, lived in the border state of Missouri.  This creates a conflict with the Union militia who abruptly kidnap her father.  Her quest to find him turns into a mess and she ends up in prison for being falsely accused of spying for the Confederate army.  In prison, Adair meets Major Neumann, a Union soldier, who becomes a very important part of the book later.  The Major and Adair fall in love and within a few days, these two lovebirds decide they refuse to be cooped up inside a rotten prison.  With help from the Major, Adair escapes with only $25 and sets out on a suspenseful journey to find her father and return home.   Through the struggles faced by both of the main characters, the author brilliantly used third person to tell the story giving every opinion and thought of Adair and the Major.  The eager mood of this book definitely makes it a page-turner and out of five, I give this book a four.  It was an extremely amusing and credible, however, there were a few parts where it irked me.  For instance, Adair was annoying at times and Major Neumann should have been more romantic, but there was a constant passion between the main characters, which I loved.  Overall, this book is skillfully written and I recommend it to anyone.  

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    Two Thumbs Up!

    Enemy Women was written by Paulette Jiles in 2002. This book takes place in Missouri during the time of the Civil War. This book is a story of freedom, love, and duty. Jiles shows that women are not weak and small minded, but rather they can accomplish and overcome many things. <BR/> During the Civil War, the men that made up the Missouri Sate Guard were sent to the Virginia, Tennessee, and the Southern part of the country, leaving only women and children at home. Meanwhile the other state militias soon began to invade Missouri, and with no men there to protect the women, these militias began to take and use whatever they wanted from these women. During the Civil War many women were arrested and convicted of being spies for the Confederate Army, these women were placed in special camps until the end of the war. These camps were harsh, cold, and a very poor environment for anyone to live in. <BR/>In the beginning we meet the Colleys, the father Squire, Adair, Little Mary, John Lee, and Savannah. The Colleys live on a farm in Missouri and their father is a Justice of the Peace. Their family has chosen to remain neutral in the war against the states and the men do not go to war, voluntarily anyway. Eventually Adair¿s father and brother are pulled into the war leaving Adair to care for her younger sister¿s. When the Union soldiers start taking over their land Adair and her sister¿s must leave. <BR/>Along the way, the girls meet up with some other migrants and travel with them. When Adair is betrayed by a member of the party she is arrested for giving information to the Confederate Army and placed in a camp. This novel tells of Adair¿s trying time in the camp, how she survived the interrogations and fell in love with one of the interrogators, and her journey as an escaped ¿enemy woman¿ to find her family. This plot appealed to me because it was very lively and was realistic. The plot was just complicated enough to keep me interested, but not so that I was confused. <BR/>This story is amazing and I recommend it to all who are interested in suspense, romance, or adventures. The Denver Post called it, ¿A remarkably engaging story¿.¿ I give this book two thumbs up. This book is full of suspense and adventure and left me on the edge of my seat throughout the entire time I was reading it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Paulette Jiles¿s ¿Enemy Women¿ is a historical fiction book that

    Paulette Jiles’s “Enemy Women” is a historical fiction book that revolves around the struggles of eighteen year old Adair Colley throughout the end of the Civil War.  Jiles wrote with a formal, serious tone that describes events in a blunt, unexaggerated way. It is narrated from a third person omniscient perspective, which allows readers to view both Adair’s thoughts as well as the thoughts of her lover, Major William Neumann. The storyline and character development gives readers an anxious and adventurous mood with hints of romance and sadness sprinkled throughout.  The main characters are Adair and her lawyer, Neumann, who later becomes her lover and avenger for her father. The intended audience could be anyone because it is not written with excessive historical jargon, which makes it understandable for the young or old. That being said, it would, however, benefit the reader to have background knowledge of the Civil War and its effects on society to get the complete picture. Overall, I enjoyed this book because of the interesting series of events and the dynamic relationship between Adair and Neumann. Specifically, I liked how gritty and real Jiles displays the events and struggles of Adair’s journey. The graphic details, such as the corpse’s hand she saw while at Lila’s house, kept me on the edge of my seat.  The major drawback from an ultimate experience was the annoyingly stubborn and prideful characteristics that Adair portrayed, even when it caused her trouble. Although it was necessary for her to act like this, I feel as if a woman in the time of the Civil War would not be this independent or strong-willed. It took me out of the setting a little bit every time she threw her sassy and harsh words. Jiles did a good job in writing this book because she covered important historical facts while providing a captivating and suspenseful plot line. It could have been better if she would have tweaked Adair’s outwardly poor characteristics and if she would have spent more time writing a satisfying and complete ending. 

    -J Sortino

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is, quite possibly, the best Histo

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is, quite possibly, the best Historical Fiction written during the Civil War. The book carries an overall hopeful tone despite all of the tragedies that befall the main character, Adair Colley, and casts a dark mood. It is told from a third-person point of view, mainly following Adair throughout the novel. During the Civil War, women played a huge role. Because women were constantly being underestimated, groups began to use them as spies in addition to their support at camps through cooking and cleaning. Once the use of women became common knowledge, armies started to jail women on account of spying, cutting telegraph lines, and aiding the enemy. Adair Colley has her father taken away from her at the age of 18 by Union Militia and, in attempting to get him back, gets thrown into jail on false charges, the same being charged to women across America at the time. She meets Major William Neumann with whom she falls in love, and is forced to escape becoming an “enemy women.” Jiles did an excellent job in writing this novel which was extremely accurate due to her years of extensive research on the subject. At the beginning of each section are placed excerpts from old letters dating to the Civil War to provide the happenings in the story with some historical basis. The only downfall to this book would be the lack of quotations. It does take a little longer to comprehend, but one can get used to unique grammatical strategy. This book is targeted at young adults, especially with an interest in the Civil War. Enemy Women is different from most books about the Civil War in the Adair, the main character, is not directly involved in the war per say, but she is affected by it in such a way that makes her a part of it without the boring, repetitive battles that one would have to endure reading about if the main character were a soldier. This is a new breed of historical fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    ¿Enemy Women¿ by Paulette Jiles is a historical narrative as wel

    “Enemy Women” by Paulette Jiles is a historical narrative as well as a great read for everyone. The overall tone of the novel is serious and at some points suspenseful. The point of view is from a third person stance. The mood is definitely that of an adventure, the whole time you follow the character on their journey and you get just about every mood there is. At some points, it is suspenseful, and then the romance can kick in. At other times, you may even feel scared or worried. The two main characters are Adair Colley and Major Neumann, but throughout the story you meet multiple minor characters that play some pretty crucial roles. The intended audience for this novel is most definitely anyone. It is a good read for people who are interested in the history, or the story. This novel can attract people of all ages for sure. In general, I liked this book because it gave a little bit of everything. Specifically I liked the technique of using no quotation marks; this gave a better sense of being told a story. I thought it was very unique and creative the way it was written technically. Overall, I believe Paulette Jiles did a fantastic job because you can tell she worked really hard with all the historical evidence and accuracy, and it played a great role in the story. Also, she did an incredible job incorporating it into a story people of all ages would love. It could have been improved by giving it a slightly more realistic plot. While it is intriguing, it is just very unlikely for Adair to of accomplished so much. Things were different in that time period; women were unable to vote and participate in war. Therefore, it is likely that Adair would have been less successful. Although, &quot;Enemy Women&quot; is definatly a good read for all and I give it two thumbs up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Paulette Jiles does an excellent job writing a historical fictio

    Paulette Jiles does an excellent job writing a historical fiction novel set during the Civil War. Most books written regarding this time period are strictly about the battles of the war or someone who fought in it. In this riveting novel, the story is told in the point of view of an eighteen year old girl, Adair Colley, and her forbidden lover Major Neumann. To make the story as accurate as possible, Jiles places letters or documents that were written during the Civil War to show that what was happening in the story truly did occur during that time period. The author did an excellent job at balancing the budding romance between Major Neumann and Adair with the hardships they both faced during the war. There was just enough romance to leave me wanting more. There were some dull points in the book, and the only reason I kept reading was because my curiosity got the best of me. I had to know if Adair would ever get her happily ever after. Because of the romance as well as the history in Enemy Women, many different types of people could find reading it enjoyable, such as romantics or history fanatics. The author’s tone changed throughout the book. At the beginning of the book, her tone was one of anger and melancholy, but during some parts her tone was even one of love and fear. The mood of the reader changed drastically as well, but for the most part the reader was anxious to find out what would happen next in Adair’s journey. The only thing I believe Jiles could have done better on was the ending of the novel. The ending did not specifically say what the future held for Adair and Major Neumann, or if there was even a future for them at all. Since the romance was my favorite part of the novel, the ending was a huge disappointment. Other than that, I found reading Enemy Women to be an enjoyable experience, and I would even recommend this book to others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    ¿Enemy Women¿ by Paulette Jiles entertains civil war addicts thr

    “Enemy Women” by Paulette Jiles entertains civil war addicts through the use of nonfiction; however, the book is based off of true stories. Present are excerpts and other factual information in the book before each scene or chapter, so there is high reliability towards the book. The book demonstrates the conflicts of the civil war through multiple view points of people both in the war and not in the war. The book is written in third person point of view in hopes to excite and offer readers suspense through the use of unfortunate events and lethal battles. The main characters in the book are Adair Colley, an eighteen year old courageous and ambitious girl on a mission to save her father from the Union militia, and Major William Neumann, a bold member of the Union Army who is Adair’s lawyer at first, but then looks to avenge the capturing of Adair’s father Marquis after Neumann realizes the Colley’s have done nothing wrong. The book demonstrates Adair’s perilous quest to find and save her father, and Major Neumann’s desire to start a new life outside of the war. The book is not all violence and dangers though a love story is evident throughout the book between Neumann and Adair with hopes of marrying each other one day after the war. Jiles set out to portray attitudes and actions of common people affected by the civil war in the 1860’s and that is exactly what “Enemy Women” demonstrates. Attitudes of common people, Adair, soldiers, Major Neumann, and other people looking for the right opportunity to strike, Tom Poth are all demonstrated in “Enemy Women” and little to no other books offer the same information. I personally enjoyed the book because of the unexpected results among characters listed throughout the book that adds large amounts of suspense to the story. I specifically enjoyed the personality change of Adair throughout the book. At first Adair is conceded and gullible, but through personal experiences Adair becomes cautious, brave, and alert at the end of her journey. Personally I did not like how the book never really offered information about the south or the Confederate States of America and their attitudes on war. This is really the only defect of this book along with potential improvements. Overall if one is looking for a suspenseful civil war book, “Enemy Women” is the one for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Unlike many other books about the Civil War, ¿Enemy Women¿ by Pa

    Unlike many other books about the Civil War, “Enemy Women” by Paulette Jiles is a thrilling story that keeps the reader’s attention throughout the book and leaves him wanting more. The events in the book are historically accurate, but they are told in a way to keep the book from becoming boring. It is told through the life of eighteen year old Adair Colley who was arrested by the Union and separated from her family. Although she is never in the midst of the fighting, the reader is able to follow parts of the war through Adair’s journey. As “Enemy Women” follows Adair’s point of view, it also becomes intertwined and told from Major William Neumann’s point of view. Major Neumann is one of the most important characters in the book because he not only helps Adair escape, but he provides her with another reason to finally finish her journey. Because the book is filled with scenes of action, adventure, and romance, it is appealing to the teen audience as well as the adult audience. These aspects of the book give it an exciting plot that allowed me to enjoy reading it. One of the parts I found especially enjoyable was in the end she did not lose everything. Although Adair lost all of her land, belongings, and became separated from her family, she did not lose hope and found her horse and the man she loved. At the end of the book, the author showed this hope and new life by describing the small sliver of a new moon peeking out from behind the clouds. However, despite all of the positive aspects of the book, there was one part that I believe the author should have done differently. She did not describe exactly what happened to the rest of Adair’s family and left me wondering about her brother and sisters. “Enemy Women” went above my expectations for a Civil War novel by combining historically accurate events with a meaningful and exciting plot. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys this adventurous time in American history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    ¿Enemy Women¿ by Paulette Jiles is a wonderful fiction novel tha

    “Enemy Women” by Paulette Jiles is a wonderful fiction novel that has real historical events. Majority of the novel is told through Adair Colley who is one of the main characters, so the tone is mainly based off her attitude and how it changes throughout the novel. Besides Adair, the other main character that we get to live the novel through is Major William Neumann, which shows his change as a character just like Adair. The focus of the novel is during the Civil War (1861-1865). The main characters show us the point of views of a civilian, Adair, and by a Union military officer, Neumann and how the war affected and changed them both. The novel was written for any Civil War fanatic or any person looking for a good read about war, but what makes “Enemy Women” so unique for the other Civil War novels is that it is fiction, yet it contains events from what happened during the war. After completing the entire novel, I found myself disappointed that it was over because the more I read the more I found myself continuing to read even when I finished what the class assignment required. The main plot of the story was well written and was easily able to grab the attention of the reader. I loved the fact that even though the novel was fiction, it was able to tie in real events about the Civil War. Also, in the beginning of each chapter, Jiles inserted quotes, letters or information about events that took place during the Civil War by real people and made it go with the main plot. The biggest negative about this novel is that when the characters have dialogue there are no quotations, so at times during the conversation you might think it is the same person talking when it is someone else. Overall, Jiles does an outstanding job constructing the novel. The story she made is on point with how the people during this era acted and showed how the men, women, and soldiers were changed and treated during the war. All the research that Jiles did learning about the Civil War era to make this novel was as accurate as possible even though it is fiction, but truly did pay off in the end. Finally, I give this book 4 stars mainly because the author did not use the quotations during the dialogue which made it a little harder on the readers, but besides that one change the book was absolutely fantastic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    ¿Enemy Women¿ by Paulette Jiles is a thrilling historical fictio

    “Enemy Women” by Paulette Jiles is a thrilling historical fiction set back in the 1800’s in the time of the Civil War. Jiles perfectly depicts a passionate, courageous, and suspenseful tone throughout her book. The story was told in third person; however, the characters spoke in first person. The main characters in the book are Adair Colley and William Neumann. Adair is a seventeen year old girl living with her father, brother, and two sisters in Missouri. The Union Militia come and capture her father.Her and her sisters set off to find him along dangerous roads. From the time she sets off she is met with misfortune. She is separated from her sisters and sent to prison. While in prison however, she meets William Neumann, Major Neumann is to be her interrogator; however the two fall in love and he helps Adair escape. This book is primarily about Adair travelling alone on her way home. We see her struggles as she wanders through the dangerous territories of the Civil War. The intended audiences for this book are those who enjoy reading historical fiction and those who want to get a different take on life during the Civil War. So many books based on the Civil War are from the perspective of a soldier however; this book is different in that it is shown form a civilian’s perspective. I generally enjoyed reading this book however; there were some parts in it that the reader would need a background in Civil War to understand what was going on. This book was an easy read but Jiles did not use quotation marks. For the first few chapters the reader has to really pay attention to the book because it gets confusing but as the book progresses it gets easier to understand. Jiles did an excellent job in portraying the life of a civilian woman during the Civil War and the fact that she used real events made the book even more interesting to read. This book could be majorly improved by adding quotation marks to it to make it more understandable. Also adding a more detailed ending to the story could have made the book a more memorable piece of literary work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is a lovely, informative historica

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is a lovely, informative historical fiction piece set during the American Civil War. Although for a majority of the piece the tone is sad and rather pathetic, towards the end of the book, things begin to look up for the main characters, and leave the reader filled with hope. The main characters in Jiles’ story are the striking Adair Colley, who, when taken from her home and forced to endure the long, bump-filled road back to home, meets one Major William Neumann-a handsome Union military man who is bored of his every day, run of the mill desk job. Jiles writes her story for those who are interested in a side of the Civil War that does not involve battles day in and day out, but rather focuses on the more day-to-day journeys of the Civil War. In general, I did like Enemy Women, and Paulette Jiles did do a decent job at writing the book. Historically speaking, she did an excellent job in her writing. Unfortunately, her lack of quotation marks is extremely annoying, and although exciting, Adair’s story is one that is highly unlikely in the real world. I did enjoy, however, the literature excerpts from the time period at the beginning of each chapter, and the subtle love story woven throughout the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    Enemy Women is a historical fiction novel set in Missouri. The

    Enemy Women is a historical fiction novel set in Missouri. The author, Paulette Jiles, does a great job of mixing both facts with fiction in order to produce a compelling story. In the beginning, the book is mainly in the view of Adair Colley and her struggles as a young woman throughout the civil war, however as the book continues Adair meets a man named Major Neumann. Once the Major is introduced the book then toggles between the Majors point of view and Adairs. Enemy Women has a very serious tone, but it is appropriate due to the killing and corruption that went on during the civil war. The Major and Adair are the two main characters throughout the novel. The two share a special bond which was highly frowned upon due to the Major working with the Union and Adair living in Confederate territory. Enemy women was definitely wrote for mature audiences. There is descriptive violence in it along with minor archaic language. I personally, did not like the archaic language and I feel Jiles could have added quotations during dialogue in order to help my comprehension of the book. The author does a great job of showing you through Adairs’ life how hard it was for women during the civil war, however she sparked the interest of myself when she began the love story of Major Neumann and Adair. Jiles does a great job of attracting people of different genres such as love, violence, a tad of mystery, and self-struggles. Over all I think this is a great book and would recommend it to anyone that is studying the civil war and wants to understand the lives of women during it.
    -Farrah Nicholas

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    The American Historical novel ¿Enemy Women¿ takes place during t

    The American Historical novel “Enemy Women” takes place during the Civil War. The author, Paulette Jiles, writes a believable story about what would happen during the life of an average citizen during the war. The novel follows the journey of Adair Colley after her life is turned upside down after her house is ransacked by the Union Militia. The story shows how dark and gritty the time period could really be and makes the reader understand the conflicts that people went through during the Civil War from Adair’s point of view. Aside from following Adair, the novel also follows Major William Neumann, a military man that Adair meets while in a woman’s prison who becomes one of the main characters as well. The book was very enjoyable and kept me wondering about what would happen next. The only thing that I did not care for about this book was the fact that it did not use quotation marks. If the book had quotation marks, then it would be very difficult to find anything “irritating” or “wrong” with the book. Jiles also did a good job about doing a lot of research beforehand regarding the history of the war, which led to the story being more believable. One piece of evidence that shows that Jiles did a lot of research was the primary source(s) at the beginning of each chapter. The only major improvement I see that could be made would be to add quotation marks. It is a little thing that makes a huge difference, but the reader is eventually able to tell the difference between narration and dialogue. “Enemy Women” is a very good book that I would recommend to other people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    Enemy Women is a historical romance novel set in the antebellum

    Enemy Women is a historical romance novel set in the antebellum era proceeding into the Civil War that’s jam-packed with historical primary sources related to the story!   Enemy Women is definitely a must read for any history geek, romance-holic, or suspense junkie. It’s a third person story that begins by displaying martial brutality against the Colley family at their home in Missouri. Adair Colley a beautiful, young woman is left with her two younger sisters after her father and brother disappeared after the corrupt Union militia ransacks their home. As Adair and her sisters pursue the men who took her father, Adair is arrested falsely for treasonous charges.
    Once it feels like all is lost; Adair finds love in an unexpected place. The story divides into following the lives of Adair and Major William Neumann a Union Army soldier who is tasked with interrogating women with such accusations pressed against them. Once Adair is free from prison Neumann is called to fight on the battlefield. When they couldn’t possibly feel any further apart all they can have is trust and commitment, but can they survive? Jiles keeps the reader on their toes hoping for the star-crossed lover’s safety as the reader is absorbed by the surreal imagery of the Civil War. 
    Enemy Women is truly a gem amongst other novels of the genre, never have I been so enchanted by the historical sources that align perfectly with Jile’s story.  Paulette Jiles wrote a 4.5/5 with the only flaw in my opinion being the over-cramming of sources near the end of the story distracting the reader from the conclusion. I would recommend to anyone who wants to squeal like a teenage girl and get a history lesson along the way!-Ash Bishop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is a well written novel combining

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is a well written novel combining both historical and fictional elements. The novel is great for young adults looking for information on the Civil war along with a fictional story to keep their interest.The genre could best be described as a historical-fictional to its historical elements along with its fictional characters that are put through historical events. The tone is set in a perspective shared between the two main characters Adair and Major Neumann whom meet later in the novel and fall in love with one another. Neumann is a major in the Union militia while Adair is an average civilian that is falsely accused of spying by the military and sent to prison. Along the way there are many graphic scenes that should be view by mature young adults as they paint the picture of how viscous the civil war was. Overall I personally liked the novel based on its successful mixture of historical information and fictional story. It keeps the reader engaged in the novel as they become addicted and read from cover to cover. However, in the novel Jiles uses a writing style which excludes the use of quotation marks. This makes it hard for the reader to distinguish between conversations that take place between characters and the rest of the story. After a little bit of reading however the reader will get use to this style and become comfortable with it. This novel has peaked my interest into looking at Jiles' other novels as they all seem to be similar in differing ways based on their covers. I would recommend this novel to any young adult that is interested in the civil war and enjoys a good story. Bryce Helton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Enemy Women is a historical fiction that takes place during the

    Enemy Women is a historical fiction that takes place during the civil by Paulette Jiles. It is in an omniscient point of view with a suspenseful mood. The author tone is seems to shift from intense to a more depressed tone depending on the situation in the story. The main character is Adair Colley, an eighteen year old who has her father arrested and taken away by a man named Tom Poth. While seeking information about her father with her two sisters she is accused by a cynical family named that is referred to as the Upshaws for spying. In prison, Major Neumann is assigned to Adair’s case. He is the second main character. While spending time with Adair, he notices that she is different and later falls in love with Adair. Neumann wants to help Adair escape and wants to marry Adair but he cannot as he gets transferred to a fighting unit. He helps Adair escape and the two find themselves taking separate journeys as Neumann must go through the hardships of war and Adair must go through the hardships of traveling home. The book is a good historical insight and should be intended for historically profound students/scholars. They book in general was a huge pleasure to me as it provided insight on actual historical events that happened during the civil war. People who pick up this book will be in a ride for exceptional character development and a new experience never before seen in civil war accounts. What I disliked about the book specifically was the pacing as you will find zipping through chapters confused due to the inconsistency. The author did a good job of providing a new view point on the civil war. Most civil war pieces are told from the union or from the confederate sides but this give an input from the neutrals that are often miscounted for. She also provides quotations of events that are occurring right before each chapter which helps the reader make connections. Besides the pacing, the author could have done a better job with her structure and organization. Also the book lacked quotation marks with made it difficult to differentiate narrations from conversation. Overall I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an entertaining historically fiction account of the civil war.
    Justin Byrd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2014

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is a well written historical ficti

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is a well written historical fiction novel, giving an accurate description of the life of a woman during the Civil War. The novel is set during the American Civil War and is based around Adair Colley and Major Neumann. The book's tone is somewhat of that of survival, Adair constantly trying to survive and make it to return home and to see Major Neumann again. The book is written from the third person limited point of view, allowing for the reader to know the thoughts of Adair and the Major but no other characters. The mood is that of urgency, Adair in a fight to survive both the sickness and the journey back home to her home and the Major. Adair Colley and Major Neumann are the major characters of the novel, as the reader sees the war and their journey's through the characters eyes. The audience is meant to be young readers and others who take an interest in the Civil War and historical fiction. I personally enjoyed this book because I have always had an interest in the Civil War and the lives of people during the war. I particularly liked how Jiles managed to capture the characters' personalities and the seemingly realistic lifestyles of people during the Civil War. Jiles did an excellent job while writing the novel, accurately describing the lives of people during the wartime era. It could be improved if Jiles went more in depth with the effects of the war on Neumann and the battles in which he fought. However, other than that, I cannot think of any other improvements, an excellent novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    Enemy Women is a Historical Fiction Novel written by Paulette Ji

    Enemy Women is a Historical Fiction Novel written by Paulette Jiles.  The book is based in the middle of the civil war in Missouri where some of the bloodiest fighting occurred. This story transends many genres such as love, revenge, and courage. The main characters are Adair Colley: a girl from backwoods Missouri that is forced to leave her home and go on a terrible oddessy that includes a stint in jail, wondering across the badlands of Missouri, and encounters with hostile Union Soldiers and Major Will Neumann: a by the book Union Officer whose sense of honor gets him tossed from the comfy desk job at the jail into the chaos that is battle during the Civil War. The story displays graphic violence and other breif moments of adult content, so it is intended for a mature audience.  I enjoyed reading this book because the author did a good job of keeping the plot suspensful even though it was not totally centered around the battles of the Civil War.  The sense of not knowing what Adair or Major Neumann were  going to do next always kept me on the edge of my seat and never wanting to put the book down. The Book also include a huge amount of Archaic language which makes the reader feel like they are back in the 1860's when the events of this book were taking place. On the other hand there were a few things that I disliked such as the fact that the authoer did not use quotations and gave Adair's Journey much more attention than that of Major Neumann. In my oppinion the author did an amazing job of blending a love story with a historically acurate action story. The only way it could be improved would be to add an ending where Adair and and the Major get to be reunited. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to learn about the history of the Civil War or the history of Womens 
    Rights.




    -Braden Richardson 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is a historical fiction book set i

    Enemy Women by Paulette Jiles is a historical fiction book set in Missouri during the Civil War.  It has a serious tone. The majority of the book is written from the perspective of Adair Colley, an eighteen year old girl who was falsely accused of spying against the Union. Some parts of the book are written from the perspective of Major Neumann, who was assigned Adair’s case while she was in prison. The two quickly fell in love. The mood of the book is fairly dark; the book is set during the bloodiest war in American history. The intended audience is people who are interested in the Civil War but do not want all of the dry details. The book was very good because it is an interesting story about normal people during the American Civil War. I liked excerpts from historical documents at the beginning of each chapter, as well as the details that showed what the time period was like. I disliked how some parts were vague, and the author did not use quotation marks. Overall, the author did a very good job. If I could change anything, I would add quotation marks, but that was easy to get used to. - Kevin Sanders 6th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2014

    ¿Enemy Women¿, written by Paulette Jiles, is an excellent histor

    “Enemy Women”, written by Paulette Jiles, is an excellent historical fiction novel portraying events during the Civil War. Since the novel is a depiction of the Civil War, the tone of the book is formal and mostly serious considering the war environment. The third person point of view is taken from the two main characters, Adair Colley and Major Neumann. The main character, Adair Colley is an eighteen year old girl whose life changes when she loses her family and home. Major Neumann, the second main character, is a Union soldier that meets Adair while she is in prison and Major falls in love with her. The mood throughout the book is depressing and sad because it involves the acts of war and violence, however, the main characters brightens the mood by adding a hint of romance to the novel. This book is great for teens who enjoy the era of the Civil War or is a history fanatic. If anyone wants to know more about the Civil War times then this would be a great read for them as well. In general, I really enjoy this book because it is a great story of the bravery of a young girl while also portraying the everyday lives around the Civil War. I was disappointed that the author did not include quotation marks because sometimes it was confusing on who was talking at the time. Overall, the author does a great job on this novel because she exposes the readers to life during the Civil War era through an awesome story line and I recommend this book.  -Abri' McDaniel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6