Customer Reviews for

An Engagement in Seattle: Groom Wanted\Bride Wanted

Average Rating 3.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

These are two fun reprints from This Day Forward in which the protagonists become engaged under abnormal conditions

Groom Wanted. In Seattle Russian biochemist Aleksandr Berinksi works in the United States on a visa that is expiring shortly. His only chance of remaining in America is to marry Julia Conrad, the boss of the firm where he works. They need each other and must fool the...
Groom Wanted. In Seattle Russian biochemist Aleksandr Berinksi works in the United States on a visa that is expiring shortly. His only chance of remaining in America is to marry Julia Conrad, the boss of the firm where he works. They need each other and must fool the INS.


Bride Wanted. In Seattle, Chase Goodwin places an ad on a billboard, seeking a bride willing to come north to Alaska with him. Though hurt by a recent relationship and finding the billboard tacky, Lesley Campbell responds to the odd advertisement.

These are two fun reprints from This Day Forward (Silhouettes circa 1993-94) in which the protagonists become engaged under abnormal conditions.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

judy1942

I'm a little disapointed with this auter. I really didn't care for it

posted by judy1942 on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    These are two fun reprints from This Day Forward in which the protagonists become engaged under abnormal conditions

    Groom Wanted. In Seattle Russian biochemist Aleksandr Berinksi works in the United States on a visa that is expiring shortly. His only chance of remaining in America is to marry Julia Conrad, the boss of the firm where he works. They need each other and must fool the INS.


    Bride Wanted. In Seattle, Chase Goodwin places an ad on a billboard, seeking a bride willing to come north to Alaska with him. Though hurt by a recent relationship and finding the billboard tacky, Lesley Campbell responds to the odd advertisement.

    These are two fun reprints from This Day Forward (Silhouettes circa 1993-94) in which the protagonists become engaged under abnormal conditions.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    ok

    It was ok. But I didn't think it was one of her best. Alittle disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book! Just like all of Debbie Macomber's books it is a little more conservative in the "romance" aspect of the book. However, this one doesn't disappoint! Both of the stories I fell in love with for different reasons, and I cant wait to read more from this fantastic author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    judy1942

    I'm a little disapointed with this auter. I really didn't care for it

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Groom wanted/Bride wanted

    I really enjoyed both stories. I found it hard to put down once I got started. Although I do wish Groom wanted was a little longer & had a chapter to tell what happened within the next couple years as it did for bride wanted.
    Overall, great book & hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    I loved this book. Two stories in one book and I loved both of t

    I loved this book. Two stories in one book and I loved both of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Kindle has these bundle on $.48cent. Whu B&N has it more cos

    Kindle has these bundle on $.48cent. Whu B&N has it more costly...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great

    an engagement in seattle by debbie macomber
    groom wanted - scientist needs to get married to stay in US. he can make their company survive and thrive with the knowledge he has. he only believes marriage is for life. the family is trying to talk her into marrying him and the pre-nup offers him a part of the company which he turns down. just why would he want to get married then?
    she wants to please her grandmother and get married before she passes away, she's had another heart attack.now they have to convince the immigration people that they are in love or they could send him back to his home country and send her to jail for fraud.
    can they learn to live with one another as husband and wife? and the problems at the office: someone is giving others secrets about the new paint line. everything points to her new husband.

    bride wanted by debbie macomber
    Chase needs a wife and they need to leave Seattle for Alaska in a few weeks time.
    he advertises on a billboard.
    Leslie thought she'd be marrying Tony who she dated all through college up til a few months ago when
    he told her he needed more time but he then dated another teacher and they had married.
    her friends come to her rescue to help her get through the loss.
    she saw the billboard and thought the one who left the ad was a moron.
    Leslie meets Chase when a mugger takes her purse=she had started to pursue him but Chase took over and caught him.
    he agrees to a coffee in payment. she's emotional as this was to be her wedding day. she tells this all to Chase and he sits and listens intently.
    She agrees to have dinner with him and they meet at the public entrance to the aquarium. they stroll to a restaurant for dinner as she educates him about the area and stories about mail order brides. after getting to know one another better they agree to meet the next day. Problem is she finds out it was he who posted on the billboard before he can tell her himself. He has started to return and meet the 500+ women who've left a message for him.

    She is interested in why the women responded and they discuss the many reasons.
    He forfeits interviewing the 800+ now respondents to spend time with her at Paradise at Mr. Rainier, a picnic lunch, hike to the meadows.
    they take the neighbor's boys fishing early in the morning and we learn how to smoke a fish they caught. her old boyfriend wants to hook up with her again so Chase leaves her to make that decision.

    The reason why i like this book so much is we do travel to Seattle area a few times a year to spend time with my daughter and her family and have been to the area and like it very much-good to hear more details about new places we need to visit when there. The stories are easy to follow as there are NOT a ton of characters to keep track of.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Good read!

    The stories were pretty fast pacedl but it's still entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    A good read.

    Enjoyed the stories, they were a quick read and entertaining. Would recommend all of Debbie Macomber's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Loved it

    I love all her books but this one was especially good. I would recomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Sweet story

    I loved this story. It's a bit on the ridiculous side but flames the desire of unbridled romance.

    You find yourself rooting for the romance and hope for the happy ending. Characters are well developed and believable.

    Look for the puppies and rainbows at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Written on autopilot

    Both stories had the feeling like they were written in the 80's and dusted off for 'revision' - which meant adding the term 'cell phone' to make it 'current.'. Unfortunately a lot of Macomber's books are like this... The only reason I persevered in reading them is because I was stuck on a cross country flight with nothing else to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    Great read!!

    I loved the stories (although they gave away a little too much a little too soon) they were beautifull romances where you would not think they would exist. The courtships were a little more prudish than i would have liked, but in the end, the author kept my interest in the characters. I fell in love with the concept of their love and that was enough to hold my attention. Additionally, it wasn't one of those stories that made you guess what happened at the end although, as with any book I genuinely like, I do wish there was a sequel. But isn't that what great writing is all about. All in all a great read. I don't think you'd be diappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    YES

    I love all of Debbie Macomber's books!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12