Customer Reviews for

The English Assassin (Gabriel Allon Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

learn history and current events while enjoying a terrific spy story

A very enjoyable read: well-framed action with the right amount of tension, interesting surprises, memorable characters, believable dialog. At the same time the book provides a primer in Swiss banking's profitable collaberation with Nazi Germany. There's also something...
A very enjoyable read: well-framed action with the right amount of tension, interesting surprises, memorable characters, believable dialog. At the same time the book provides a primer in Swiss banking's profitable collaberation with Nazi Germany. There's also something for those with an interest in Renaissance art, which is an integral addition that enriches the persona of Silva's fascinating protagonist. I liked Silva's writing so much that I bought all of his "Gabriel Allon" books and read them in the order they were written. (This one is #2) Every one of them was a page turner, and each provided a well-turned lesson in either middle east conflicts, radical Islamic enroads in Europe, Vatican history and politics, or WWII Europe's connection or reaction to Nazi Germany.

posted by llij on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Passable writing, predictable plot

I readily admit having a chip on my shoulder with Daniel Silva after reading the deplorable 'Unlikely Spy.' It's not that he's a bad prose writer -- it's simply that he mistakes cruelty for tragedy; he thinks he'll move a reader by killing off sympathetic characters, b...
I readily admit having a chip on my shoulder with Daniel Silva after reading the deplorable 'Unlikely Spy.' It's not that he's a bad prose writer -- it's simply that he mistakes cruelty for tragedy; he thinks he'll move a reader by killing off sympathetic characters, but only succeeds in making his stories ugly. With that in mind, I read 'The English Assassin.' His writing is fine, his characters are better played out than in 'Unlikely Spy' but the plot... oy! It's just so trivial. We've been here before in stories like 'The Fourth Protocol' and 'The Train.' The WWII terrain is rich with drama and romance; what it requires is originality of thought. Silva's just not the guy to do it.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    learn history and current events while enjoying a terrific spy story

    A very enjoyable read: well-framed action with the right amount of tension, interesting surprises, memorable characters, believable dialog. At the same time the book provides a primer in Swiss banking's profitable collaberation with Nazi Germany. There's also something for those with an interest in Renaissance art, which is an integral addition that enriches the persona of Silva's fascinating protagonist. I liked Silva's writing so much that I bought all of his "Gabriel Allon" books and read them in the order they were written. (This one is #2) Every one of them was a page turner, and each provided a well-turned lesson in either middle east conflicts, radical Islamic enroads in Europe, Vatican history and politics, or WWII Europe's connection or reaction to Nazi Germany.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    Engaging thriller

    English art gallery owner Julie Isherwood obtains a commission for Mario Delvecchio to go to Zurich to restore a painting. Mario has no idea who the client is or what painting he is to clean, but the money is too good to ignore. In Zurich, Mario finds his host is not at his villa and learns from Julie that there is a change of plans. Julie provides Mario with the security codes to enter the villa. Inside Mario learns he is to restore Raphael¿s Portrait of a Young Man from the early sixteenth century until he finds the murdered body of his client. Relying on his stealth as a former Israeli operative, Mario sneaks away, but is caught by the police as he tries to leave town. <P>Mario¿s former boss Ari Shamron obtains his freedom. Ari had arranged for Mario, who is actually Gabriel Allon, to do the restoration job. He wants Gabriel to meet with Anna Rolfe, daughter of the deceased, to see what she knows. Reluctantly, Gabriel becomes involved once again in the deadly world of professional assassinations even as art crimes from the time of the Nazis threaten his life. <P>The first half of THE ENGLISH ASSASSIN is as good as any thriller readers will find as Daniel Silva sets up his plot with historical references and moral predicaments. However, the latter part of the novel is loaded with action, but turns into a more typical 'shoot-em-up' espionage chiller. Overall, fans will enjoy this story, but will feel a bit shortchanged because the second half fails to attain the incredible levels of the first part of the book. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    Definitely read this book!!

    This novel was definitely a great read, not only because of the intricate plotline, but also because when you have to put the book down its pretty hard to do so since the story is enthralling from start to finish. Gabriel Allon, one of the main characters, is definitely the most interesting character that emerges from this book since he has two conflicting occupations, that of a cold-blooded assassin, and a very talented art restorer. Another great thing about this book is that somehow, someway, Daniel Silva brings these two very different pasts together in a way that makes a fantastic read. Furthermore, it feels as though Gabriel is easy to identify with, considering he has constant internal struggles dealing with his emotions and his past, an obstacle that many people face. When referring to the plot, my favorite part about it is how historically accurate refferences are in the book to events that actually happened in World War II in Switzerland as well as the rest of Europe when regarding the plunder of many priceless artifacts that were in the possession of Jews during this time. Overall, if you like history, adventure, mystery, and a book thats hard to put down, the The English Assassin is the book that you are looking for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!!

    This book was another great story in the series. I am looking forward to reading the remaining Gabriel Allon books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Good One by Silva

    When art restorer and troubled sole Gabriel Allon is sent to Zurich, Switzerland, to restore the painting of a misterious millionaire banker, he arrives, is told to let himself and given alarm codes, only to find his would-be employer murdered at the foot of his Raphael. His instincts kick in and he runs only to be caught by a ruthless Swiss policeman. As the plot unfolds, a secret collection of priceless, illicitly gained Impressionist masterpieces is missing. Gabriel's finds himself battling wits with the rogue assassin he helped to train

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    Silva does it again.

    After reading the Kill Artist, I couldn't wait to read the English Assassin. I was not disappointed. The book was just as good and included many twists and turns that will keep you from putting the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Another Thrilling Read!

    Daniel Silva is becoming an author who hooks fans with his intricate tales of non-stop suspense, historical detail and fascinating characters. Though violence plays a part, it never seems intrusive to the plot. "The English Assassin" is the third book of Silva's I've read, and now I must read his other two. In "The English Assassin," Israeli spy Gabriel Allon is once again caught in another predicament that forces him out of retirement. This time he is accused of murdering a Swiss banker, and while on the run, discovers stolen art the SS took from German Jews in World War II, a conspiracy that will rock the world and the banker's daughter, an renowned concert pianist with the terrible memory of her mother's suicide. Through twists and turns that keep the reader mesmerized to the very end, Silva proves he is a master of suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Silva shines again

    With his fifth novel, Daniel Silva has clearly established himself as a master of the international thriller. In fact, The English Assassin separates Silva from the pack in much the same way Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy boosted Le Carre into the literary stratosphere. There are no missteps in this elegantly crafted novel that mines the history of the Swiss collaboration with the Nazis to spin a mesmerizing tale of betrayal and redemption. Silva brings back Gabriel Allon for another star turn as a reluctant Israeli agent who is pressed into service to discover why a wealthy Swiss banker was murdered after he sought a meeting with Israeli intelligence. The English Assassin crackles from start to finish as Allon and the banker's daughter delve into the Nazi looting of priceless art and uncover Switzerland's desperate efforts to bury its past. Silva's flair for character is always remarkable; he has an uncanny feel for just how far to take them and rarely strikes a false note in a lineup stocked with a dissolute London art dealer, a British-trained international killer, a corrupt Swiss cop, and a shadowy world banker. The book offers the added bonus of a well-researched look at the world of art restoration, but never at the expense of first-rate, riveting entertainment. The English Assassin is another remarkable effort from an author who never fails to deliver the goods.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2002

    The Best Silva Yet

    I am a Silva fan from the Unlikely Spy on and this is his best book yet. His writing gets more sophisticated with time, his characters are real. He is at the top of the thriller game. I just wish he would write as fast as I can read them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2002

    Passable writing, predictable plot

    I readily admit having a chip on my shoulder with Daniel Silva after reading the deplorable 'Unlikely Spy.' It's not that he's a bad prose writer -- it's simply that he mistakes cruelty for tragedy; he thinks he'll move a reader by killing off sympathetic characters, but only succeeds in making his stories ugly. With that in mind, I read 'The English Assassin.' His writing is fine, his characters are better played out than in 'Unlikely Spy' but the plot... oy! It's just so trivial. We've been here before in stories like 'The Fourth Protocol' and 'The Train.' The WWII terrain is rich with drama and romance; what it requires is originality of thought. Silva's just not the guy to do it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    A classic espionage novel/highly entertaining

    I have been reading the Gabriel Allon Series for the past couple of months. Each novel has an excellent plot revolving around Middle Eastern issues; Allon is an ex-Israeli intelligence officer who is called back into service for crucial action. Each book in the series contains some of the same characters and locations and the familiarity adds to the novels' appeal.Think early James Bond - Sean Connery. The plots are grounded in political events of the past 10 years with insights into the Arab Spring, Palestinian/Israeli conflicts, terrorism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    A must !!

    I've only recently discovered this author, thanks to Nook Book recommendations, and highly recommend his work. In fact, I've finished 5 of his books with another 3 waiting to be tackled.
    It is a case of "not wanting to put the book down".
    For someone that likes suspense, knowledge of some of the contributing issues, these books are more than enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    A superb blend of Israeli, WWI and II and Jewish history and suspense

    I think I read the last one of the series first and was then hooked. I've read four or five more. Each one is great, and Gabrielle Allon is fascinating character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    A Good Read

    NOt the very best of the Gabriel Allon series, but a really good read. I don't think I have ever read any of this series that I didn't like
    It is another one cannot put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    An old established business organization will commit murder and mayhem in order to keep the status quo. And, here, history plays an important role in revealing the human atrocities that leave one shuddering in fear. A definite read for a Book Club. The Gabriel Allon Series is so fasinating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Excellent series....

    Cannot put them down. Silva writes with style and feeling. Fascinating characters and plot. Eye-opening descriptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    ?

    Whats hypnotic mean?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Hypnotic.

    The action draws you in. You become part of it and the rest of your world stops...until the next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Truly an engaging and delightful read

    The English Assassin was the current selection for my bookclub. I love mysteries but usually find the first 30 to 50 pages a slower read while the writer sets up the story. Not so with this book. I could hardly put it down. I was late to work after lunch becuase I couldn't stop reading. If you like mysteries, I think you should add Daniel Silva to your must read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Silva Very Good.

    International Intrigue.. good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9