Customer Reviews for

The English Heiress

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it.

A little over 1000 pages with an interesting story line.

posted by 8177952 on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Highly disappointed.

The first 900 pages was about the history of France. With too much details of insignificant material regarding riots, executions and escape plots. Doesn't really express much details on the main characters. After the first 900 pages the English Heiress finally gets to E...
The first 900 pages was about the history of France. With too much details of insignificant material regarding riots, executions and escape plots. Doesn't really express much details on the main characters. After the first 900 pages the English Heiress finally gets to England just to be betrayed emotionally by her savior. She forgives him the end.... Completely disappointing I would not be reading any more books from this author.

posted by Sagitarianmommy on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly disappointed.

    The first 900 pages was about the history of France. With too much details of insignificant material regarding riots, executions and escape plots. Doesn't really express much details on the main characters. After the first 900 pages the English Heiress finally gets to England just to be betrayed emotionally by her savior. She forgives him the end.... Completely disappointing I would not be reading any more books from this author.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended--Unless you don't like involved stories

    There is a review about this book which says that all it talks about for 900 pages is the French Revolution. Not So. This book is set during the Revolution and uses the atmosphere and some actual events of it, as it should since that is the setting and it is a historical. I never like books that are set in a particular setting and then don't use that setting to make them different from every other time period.

    I am glad I now have this on my Nook. The only problem I have with this copy is that the table of contents are useless. There are no chapters listed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Enjoyed it.

    A little over 1000 pages with an interesting story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    I enjoyed this book. It involves a lot of history, but it was go

    I enjoyed this book. It involves a lot of history, but it was good. I will read more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Always enjoy her books!

    In the last month I have read six of Ms Gellis's books and I have highly enjoyed everyone of them. I even go back and read her earlier books to savor the colorful, well written words and plots.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    It was an "ok" read

    There was a TON of history in the book and not much of any character development. The book ended very abruptly. I felt that at 1000+ pages the story had drug on and on with the history. It was kind of like a history lecture with fictional characters thrown in to give us something to hold on to and care about. It kinda failed at that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ripped from history

    Too much of this book unnecessarily dragged on and the story ended too awkwardly to feel any satisfaction at finishing the 1009 pages. The story was slow to start, the historical context was entirely too drawn out (and at times felt almost copied from history books), grammatical error rampant and prime moments overlooked while insignificant ones rambled on. Probably one of the worst romance novels I've read, it felt more like a rough draft than a finished, carefully edited, polished product.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Hated this book

    The first 800 hundred of the 1009 page book are mostly the history of the French revolution. There was little to do with the main characters as far as their personal relationship. It was all about the revolution and how it affected the city of Paris and the nobles there. When it finally became interesting it just ended leaving one wondering what happened. This is one book I would not recommend unless you are really into the history part of the story. Very disappointed in this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I loved this book

    I absolutely loved this book, but i need to find book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended - her characters and story setting is well written you feel you are right there

    I have read some of her other books and each one is like a special gift.
    Oustanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Much better than expected!

    I truly didn't expected much from this book, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was fascinating to read this account of the French revolution in romantic terms. Long in places but never the less very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great Book!

    Great Book1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    BOOK NEVER TRANSFERRED TO MY NOOK, CAN'T REVIEW

    BOOK NEVER TRANSFEREED TO MY NOOK CANT REVEIW, SORRY

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great read

    I enjoyed it a lot. Couldn't put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Fascinating

    I couldn't stop wanting to know what will happen to them next. Not the world's best but good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    highly recommeded

    enjoyed very much, had to keep reading to find out what happens next.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    The English Heiress

    Taking place during the French Revolution, this book has violence and danger percolating throughout. Still for the most part, the violence isn't explicit but just adds more tension to the story. This is basically a romance but the historical setting adds a bit more substance. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    recommended

    I learned alot of French/Engish history

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    tmi

    Too much information. This could have been a really great story and it was for like the first 150 pages. The next 850 pages could have been condensed to about 300. I love historical fiction, but this went quickly from story to history book. The main characters fizzled out, too bad. Obviously a lot of research went into this book so, if you like detail you'll like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Anonymous

    I find where other readers disliked history of the french revolution i found it to be a very interesting and integral part of the story, i enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5