Customer Reviews for

Enoch's Ghost (Oracles of Fire Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 13, 2008

    Outstanding!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Enoch's Ghost! I love how Bryan Davis is able to keep ... *counts* ... 4 plot lines going throughout the entire book, and then flawlessly bring them all together to the climactic ending.<BR/><BR/>What a beautiful story of sacrifice and love - I could read and re-read this book as many time as I want, and never ever get tired of it. It's message gives me a sense of hope and peace, reminding me of the unfailing love of my Savior.<BR/><BR/>I applaud Mr. Davis for yet another beautiful installment in the Oracles of Fire series, and I can't wait for the next one!<BR/><BR/>Thumbs up, Mr. Davis :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Enoch's Ghost

    In Enoch's Ghost, Walter and Ashley desend into the underworld, meet new friends, and make new enemies, while Thigocia looks for her husband Makaidos. Meanwhile, Makaidos awakes in a new dimension and meets a long-lost relative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Oustanding!

    A long awaited sequel to Eye of the Oracle does not disappoint. Continuing from where the Dragons in Our Midst saga left off, Enoch's Ghost does not disappoint even though Billy Bannister and Bonnie Sliver are not active. Ashley, Walter, and Karen set out with Ashley's dragon mother as they search for Ashley's brother, Gabriel, but in the process they are hindered by a dragon of old and a plot to connect Heaven with earth. They discover Sapphira Adi, a girl who is thousands of years old who lives deep underground with slumbering giants. With scenes that have you crying, climaxes that have you wanting more, and a great story plot that never ceases to amaze, this book is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    My name is enoch

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Amazing.

    All of Mr. Davis's books intrigue and have you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Its great

    I love this book u should totaly read it. it is exciting and keeps u on the edge. It is also great christian book and i would recomend it for all ages.so if you are lookong for a great book to read than this one is it but i would recomend reading the other books first.:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Continue the Epic Story

    Taking up the epic story after Tears of a Dragon, Enoch's Ghost leads and ties together all the books in the two series (Dragons in Our Midst and Oracles of Fire). Many a question is answered, but yet more are raise.A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great!

    Enoch's Ghost is a great pick-up to the 1st series, Dragons in our Midst. It's a great read and I think that everybody would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Whos

    These r tge best books evr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE THESE BOOKS!

    This is a great book! i highly recommend it to teens who don't understand the bible or just don't want to read it. This book shares stories from the bible in a way that is complicated in a good way. It is also just a great book on it's own. there is romance, action, Fantasy, and a complicated plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    What happens next?

    What happened after Walter, Ashley, and Karen took off on the back of Thigocia? This book is an excellent sequel to the Dragons in our Midst series! If you wonder what happens next, READ THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Continue the Epic Story

    Taking up the epic story after Tears of a Dragon, Enoch's Ghost leads and ties together all the books in the two series (Dragons in Our Midst and Oracles of Fire). Many a question is answered, but yet more are raise. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Awesome Story

    This is a great book full of wonder and excitement. Journey with two teenagers whose search for a lost kid leads them on an incredible thrill ride. Evil is out to stop them in dragon form. Can they survive the dragons fire? Buy this book and find the answers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Bring Kleenex

    As evil forces seek to merge heaven and earth, the former dragons and their allies seek to stop them. Events build to a climax in three different worlds, with an unexpected, heartrending conclusion. My personal favorite of all Davis¿ books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Once again, Bryan Davis has woven together a captivating story of hope, despair, and peril into yet another incredible novel. I felt as though I was experiencing everything alongside the characters, as they themselves where experiencing it. I was spellbound the entire time. I was thrilled to see how Mr. Davis had weaved together many different plotlines into another amazing story. I look foward to the next two books in the Oracles of Fire series. Bravo, Mr. Davis!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Excellent Title

    Having reached the sixth book in the DIOM/OOF universe, I wondered what surprises Bryan had up his sleeve, as book series can fall into a routine or even a rut after a while. No worries here. Enoch¿s Ghost has several surprises for longtime readers, some pleasant, others shocking. The story is actually more complicated than the above synopsis. Coming off the large tome Eye of the Oracle, the cast remains quite big, with many of the characters from the previous book making an appearance. The book is broken down into several subplots, with several characters or groups of characters off on their own quests, often in other dimensions entirely. The book is mostly a cosmic journey, with perhaps the least amount of time spent on Earth in all of the DIOM/OOF books. There are scenes in the otherworldly Bridgelands that reminded me a lot of the forest in The Magician¿s Nephew. We catch up with Timothy in an idyllic world that¿s similar to the world in Ted Dekker¿s Circle Trilogy. These places have lots of cool touches, from the Prism Oracle, the map of the cosmos that shows Heaven, Earth, Hades, and the Bridgelands, and the new world where purple and white dragons roam. If I wasn¿t occasionally reminded of the characters¿ modern day attire, I¿d forget this took place in the present. Enoch¿s Ghost is much like Circles of Seven, but taken up to the tenth power. We literally go to Heaven and Hell in this book and experience what each has to offer. Walter ends up actually seeing the Lake of Fire and several of its condemned recipients, and it¿s like having ants crawl all over your body. Elam, much like Billy in COS, undergoes several tests of his character, one involving the return of Naamah, whom I didn¿t expect to see again. Her storyline is beautifully rendered all the way to its conclusion, one of my favorite touches. Bryan has packed this story with so many meanings, so many Biblical allusions that a single review is inadequate to explain them all, nor could I, nor would I want to. I hope readers pick up on many of these themselves. A mysterious woman attempts to dissuade Elam from walking across a narrow bridge, claiming he is impure and couldn¿t possibly have the faith to cross it. Elam later finds ten wanderers that believe themselves to be faithful, but are hampered by false doctrinal thinking. That¿s just to name a few. Toward the story¿s climax, we get a gut wrenching event that I didn¿t expect. Wow. Just wow. Someone dies, someone young, and it seems pretty permanent. This event really sets Enoch¿s Ghost apart from the previous books. Before, none of the younger heroic characters died in the course of battle. For one of the good guys 'or girls' to get killed, that¿s a real toughie. We¿re talking Star Trek II-quality death scene here. Bryan also gives the scene a further dimension, perhaps implying that said character may have chosen whether to ultimately enter Heaven or to go back to Earth. Like I said, wow. As Mr. Beaver said about Aslan, ¿Safe? Course he¿s not safe. But he¿s good.¿ We could say the same about Enoch¿s Ghost. It doesn¿t contain objectionable material. It does present the consequences and punishment of wickedness, the need for sacrifice for others, and the possibilities of redemption, all in the starkest images that I¿ve ever seen in the DIOM/OOF books to date. And the best news is, there¿s still two more books to come. Anyone who accuses Christian fantasy of being a rip-off of its secular betters would be put to shame after reading Enoch¿s Ghost. I know of few current-day works like it. It¿ll leave a big impression on you even after you¿re reached the final page.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2