BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Enough Is Enough: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Such an excellent well written book, I like it very much and it

    Such an excellent well written book, I like it very much and
    it is the book that every one should read. 
    Alice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Calling for unending economic growth to provide prosperity and j

    Calling for unending economic growth to provide prosperity and jobs on a finite planet is irrational and can only lead to disaster. Some clear simple thinking will showus that this is true, however this point has not gotten a cross to the vast majority of people, our leaders, and the media. We are already well past the point of sustainability, yet business, governments, and conventional thinking call for ever more growth. "Enough is enough," by Bob Dietz and Dan O'Neill not only gives us an overview of what is going on and where that is taking us, but gives us a way out.



    There is a plethora of information out there in books and articles, if only people would read them, describing the problems we face, however causes are too often overlooked. This book examines the whole picture, what is happening, and what lies behind the obvious – – our push for growth in any and every way, more people, more energy, and more stuff. Recognizing the obvious fact that the world's most affluent will have to cut back and that emerging nations will have to restrain their desires, Dietz and O'Neill referred to studies showing that when one has enough, one does not need more to lead a satisfactory life. In fact, as many of our greatest thinkers have shown us, we would do far better by finding satisfaction in spiritual and cultural pursuits. Tthis is a wonderful book. Instead of heading for a crash our world would become a better place if everyone would read it and take it seriously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Rob Dietz and Dan O¿Neill have crafted a thought-provoking book

    Rob Dietz and Dan O’Neill have crafted a thought-provoking book about how to make a steady-state economy a reality in our world. With earth’s finite resources and its rapidly growing population, Dietz and O’Neill effectively highlight the problem of our times: economic growth. Frequently thought of as the solution to our world’s many ills, economic growth can also be a pathway to crisis and societal collapse as the size of the global economy outgrows the stocks of resources that our planet can provide. The authors provide a clear presentation of the problem and offer numerous policy proposals for a good, sustainable society. Employment, consumerism, the distribution of wealth and income, and international trade are among the many topics they address. This is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Enough of the "invisible hand", "creative destruc

    Enough of the "invisible hand", "creative destruction" and many other concepts of mainstream economics still anchored in the coal-based industrial revolution of the XVIII-th century. Whether on the laissez-faire side or Keynesian side, none of the current economics theories and framework have insured a good life for all the people and the planet. I am joining "The Econ Scream" in support of the "enough-o-nomics" principles offered with clarity, thoroughness, convincing arguments, well-thought solutions and good humor by two young economists whose ideas should be used by politicians, media, individual citizens and business people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    With this book the authors simply and clearly offer concrete ste

    With this book the authors simply and clearly offer concrete steps to be taken to improve the lives of the average person. Enough is Enough speaks to people about jobs, healthcare, and happiness and in doing so dismantles the myth perpetuated in our society that equates the GDP with prosperity for all and debunks the myth that conserving the environment can only be done at the expense of people and their way of life. Enough is Enough explains why the very opposite is true. In making the idea of an alternative to growth economy understandable and accessible, the average person – the citizen - gains power over the economic conversation. They will be able to cry foul when we are told that the banks are too big to fail and that the topic is too complicated. Enough is Enough connects the everyday welfare of people with environmental welfare in an inclusive way which will help to grow a movement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    When are the pundits going to realize that growth as a panacea f

    When are the pundits going to realize that growth as a panacea for economic ills is beginning to sound ridiculous? The arguments against growth as panacea are now quite clear, especially as expressed by Dietz and O'Neill in "Enough Is Enough." With clear verbiage free of economic jargon, they explain that "the growth-centric economy...fails to address the environmental and social issues of the day." Their extensive vision of what a steady state could look like, with its equitable and efficient purpose of building an "...economy is which material and energy use are kept within ecological limits...[with] the goal of improving quality of life." This is not stagnation, but opportunity for creative living and relief from stress.

    The book makes a compelling case for a steady state, because the authors add story to illustrate their points, like why university economics students in Europe and America have begun to rebel against the classical mantra of growth in their classes. The authors also express public outrage in exaggerated but effective cartoons, and they provide common sense alternative solutions that are so reasonable, their denial would look pretty foolish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    This is the book for anybody dissatisfied with the way our econo

    This is the book for anybody dissatisfied with the way our economic system values growth and profits above our well-being and the environment, and for anybody wondering how our economy can be expected to grow indefinitely on a finite planet. Rather than simply criticizing the current system, however, Dietz and O’Neill lay out the framework for an economic system that can meet our needs without destroying the planet—one that is more equitable, stable, and sustainable. It is ultimately optimistic, and a fantastic call to action. The best part? You won’t feel as though you are listening to an econ professor while you read this; clearly organized and full of stories and witty writing, it is a surprisingly easy read. Even if you struggled through Econ 101, you will find this accessible, particularly because the economics in this book actually makes sense. I am excited to have my friends read Enough is Enough, and highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Rob Dietz and Dan O¿Neill¿s new book, Enough is Enough, not only

    Rob Dietz and Dan O’Neill’s new book, Enough is Enough, not only takes a fresh look at big issues facing the world but offers hope in the form of sound, practical ideas toward resolution of each problem. Perhaps the subtitle of the book says it best: Building a Sustainable Economy in a World of Finite Resources. It is a book about economics that never seemed to be like my economics text in college. It is written with lively antidotes, funny illustrations, and interesting stories. Their dream, and now mine, is an economy of enough where we all can get what we need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    Okay, I admit it: I had fun reading this book. How often can you

    Okay, I admit it: I had fun reading this book. How often can you say THAT about a book on economic theory? Dietz & O'Neill have a conversational tone that can make you laugh, make you think and make you GET it. They open up a new way of thinking about economics and make it accessible to everyone. I didn't feel like I was missing the concept because I don't have a PhD in economics. The read was enjoyable, and I definitely find myself thinking about politics, news and daily life choices differently. I find myself in conversations thinking, "I have to get x this book!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    A must read for all those who still believe that a change in eco

    A must read for all those who still believe that a change in economics paradigms is possible towards a fairer and more sustainable society.
    It gives the lector an accessible, entertaining and eye-opening summary of how could be our lives without growth.
    If you feel that you had enough of our economic model enjoy this book and its knowledge about how a different model could be envisaged. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1