Customer Reviews for

Enraptured (Eternal Guardians Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Love this series!!!

    I Love this series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Loved it

    Oh very good i love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Fabuleous read!

    Read all four books in this series. I agree that you should read them in sequential order to better understand each character's role in the story. Again, lots of twists and turns which kept me holding my breath and on the edge of my seat! The characters are lovable and memorable. Great series addition for my personal library! To the author: I look forward to your next story. Surely you're not going to end it here? Kudos on your "mad writing" skills!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    love this series!

    this series is great..i love the grecian mythological influence, and how the books arent difficult to read..being a grad student, its nice to have a book series where i can go get immersed in a story and get a brain-break from the textbooks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Good Series

    I've read every book in this series. The author's writting is suspencful and field with hot steamy romance. I've enjoyed watching the supporting charaters grow into main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    "An exciting, interesting, captivating world full of twists

    "An exciting, interesting, captivating world full of twists and turns, and a whole lot of smexy!"

    For full review including excerpt and dialogue highlight, please visit Reader's Edyn at:
    readersedyn (dot) blogspot (dot) com

    Review:

    ... As the mysteries unravel and both Orpheus and Skyla realize the truth of the situation, their connection blossoms and deepens into something more. But the truth could very well destroy the thin thread that connects them as neither is ready to trust and certainly not ready to open their heart to something potentially devastating: love. The journey of Orpheus and Skyla begins with opposite goals in mind, but eventually segs into a common purpose. And along the way, just maybe, a possibility of happiness could occur … but fate has a way of intervening in many things.

    I really enjoyed Ms. Naughton’s world she built around the myths and legends that we all grew up learning about. Zeus and his gods and goddesses sure do like to stir up trouble. What was nice was that I started out with a slight understanding of the story with my knowledge of the Greek gods. But Ms. Naughton then took that information and spun it all into a world of her own. An exciting, interesting, captivating world full of twists and turns, and a whole lot of smexy!

    Orpheus is a tortured man and reluctant hero, which makes the reader fall in love with him that much harder. I appreciated that he stayed reluctant toward, well … pretty much everything until the very end as it made his character seem more viable. And don’t we all love those tortured male characters who are basically forced into heroism. Those heroes that were possibly heroes all along but refused to admit it? Yup. You know what I am talking about. *nods*

    And Skyla has an even harder time than Orpheus – at least I think so – because she remembers who Orpheus was and what he was to her, remembers what he did, what she didn’t do, and is now forced to relive that scenario all over again. The problem is that Orpheus is throwing her curve ball after curve ball because he is breaking Skyla down. She is at war within against the man he was and the man he is now while constantly struggling with her sense of duty as a Siren. She ultimately has to make a decision as to what path she will take. And, trust me, she has to choose paths more than once throughout the story.

    I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent with Ms. Naughton and her Eternal Guardians and look forward to reading more about these men; heroes that walk the earth with special gifts and a strong sense of duty and the women that conquer them. For those of you who enjoy romance mixed together with a bit of the paranormal, a touch of fantasy, legends given life through creativity, and compelling stories of honor, Ms. Naughton is an author you will not want to miss. I, for sure, will definitely be returning to this world.

    (ARC eBook galley provided by NetGalley; Sourcebooks Casablanca)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Fabulous!!

    Highly Recommended!! I loved this story..made me laugh..made me cry. Just an awesome story!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Great Book!

    I really enjoy this series, can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Great books

    Love the books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    awesome series

    Cant wait for the next one to come out, hopefully its not too long of a wait! The ending to this book was completely awesome, and from everything we learned about orpheus in the rest of the series, completely surprising!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Review 1335445024698

    This is a really nice book! 1335445024698

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    4.5/5 Even having never read a book in this series, picking it

    4.5/5

    Even having never read a book in this series, picking it up at book 4 with no knowledge of the existing world and lore, Enraptured doesn’t take long to barrel into full must-keep-reading mode. The passion between Skyla and Orpheus is both steamy as hell and confusingly disturbing at first.

    Orpheus is stubborn, gruff, and domineering, but it’s really just a shield to protect against anyone seeing, or even acknowledging to himself, how deep his feelings of honor, loneliness, and commitment to his brother run. Technically, as a marked member of the Argonauts, he’s a literal hero, but O does everything he can to keep others at arm’s length, to keep them from caring about him.

    Skyla is just as stubborn and bossy, and has been atoning for her role in her soulmate’s death for over 2000 years. A social butterfly, she is not… but rather a seductively lethal assassin who can accept no other life for herself. Together, they share a depth of passion and commitment that is stronger than honor, more permanent than time, thicker than family.

    There is a large cast of secondary characters, most of whom I assume have been introduced in previous books. As a reader new to the series, I had to do a little backtracking here and there to keep up with it all. There are obviously some overarching storylines from the first books in the series here, but it’s not debilitating to the plot for someone new to the universe. The opposite, actually; I’m looking forward to reading Marked and starting this saga from the beginning. The bonds and friendships of all the characters are immersive and comfortable, like meeting old friends for the very first time. When you have a TBR list 30+ books long, this kind of expert character development and interaction makes it that much easier to commit to reading the whole series from the start.

    The action in this book is very well presented. For all of the major events, I found myself sinking into the imagery without scrutinizing grammar, word usage, or annoying writing habits… because there just weren’t any. Ms. Naughton has created a world rich with lore based on our existing Greek mythology (which makes it much easier to assimilate and understand), and a diverse cast of characters that never get boring or dull.

    The ending of Enraptured nicely wraps up the overarching storyline of the book, but segues into a heartbreaking tangent that promises heart-stopping adventure, intense emotion, and devious machinations.

    What started out as a seemingly straight-forward mission and a sizzling, inevitable attraction, quickly grew into a story rich with adventure, drama, honor, brotherhood, passion, and tantalizing twists, culminating in an ending that will have you jonzing for the next installment. Enraptured is a “must read”! You should probably start with Marked though, just so you don’t spoil the first three books!

    Original review written for GraveTells and Urban Girl Reader. This review copy was provided by Sourcebooks via NetGalley and no compensation was received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    I loved this book. Orpheus has always been one of my favorite c

    I loved this book. Orpheus has always been one of my favorite characters. I love him and Skyla together. I can't wait for Gryphon's book next. Love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    I came across the first two book of the Eternal Guardian series

    I came across the first two book of the Eternal Guardian series in a discount bin at Walmart. I had never heard of Elisabeth Naughton before but I'm always on the look out for a new series and new to me authors. When I spotted two books in the same series I picked them up. When I read the synopsis the story line intrigued me so I bought them. They sat in my to be read pile for awhile until one day I decided I wanted a different theme then the ones I was reading. I started and finished Marked and Entwined in a day and a half. As soon as I was done I ran out and bought Tempted. I pre-ordered Enraptured as soon as I was able to and waited very impatiently.
    It was worth the wait this book is the best so far! Each book is from several points of view with the main focus on one of the eternal guardians and their love interest. The main characters in Enraptured is Orpheus and Skyla. He is an Argolean/Medean/daemon hybrid and newest member of the Argonauts and She is a siren and one of Zues' best assassins and both of them are stubborn smart-asses who think they're to dark and screwed up to be loved or to open up to love. Orpheus has been my favorite character from book one. I'm a sucker for the hero who thinks he's to damaged to actually be one. And to be honest I love the brooding sexy man who hides behind a bad attitude with sarcasm and smart-ass remarks and even though he goes though some changes in this book I think he will always be my favorite Argonaut. Skyla is new to this book but I easily like her from the beginning. She is a perfect match for Orpheus. I think there's are the hottest and most erotic scenes in the series. And I love there constant battle to keep the upper hand on each other.
    With all of that said I don't need to tell you that I love this book! This book brings out emotion like any great book should. There are very strong female and even "stronger" males in this book. Lots of anticipation and action all the way though. With any great novel there is what I like to call the "grab your tissues" part of the book. That's when the tears spill over and from then on forget it your a girl they aren't stopping until the end. Now without giving any spoilers away I'm going to tell you what the two sentences in the book were for me.....Relief and something else, something he couldn't define, seeped into Orpheus's chest. "Thank you Dimiourgos," he wispered......Yah when you get there bring out the box of tissue you'll need it! (Dimiourgos is the Argolean word for creator).And then this (a tasty teaser for all) "I choose you Deamon or no deamon not. Argonaut or not. Zeus and Athena are wrong about you, Orpheus. You're not evil"..."How can you be sure?"...."Because I watched you with your brother. An evil soul can't love like that"..."I don't have a soul-"...Yes, you do. One that deserves so much more than you've been given." Ok all I can say is WOW!!! I love this series and this book is my favorite of the four by far. I recommend that anyone who has not picked up these books and read them do so as soon as possible! If your a lover of books like I am then I promise you, you will love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Really enjoyed! First book I read in this series, will definitel

    Really enjoyed! First book I read in this series, will definitely be going back to read the previous books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Excellent read

    Another great book in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The series involves the Argonauts (the Eternal Guardians), the A

    The series involves the Argonauts (the Eternal Guardians), the Argoleans, the misos (who are mix of half argolean/half human), humans and the daimons, and don’t forget those rascally Gods who are always causing trouble.

    Orpheus is once again on a search for the Orb, but this time is it not a quest for power and glory. This time he needs the Orb to return his brother’s soul to his body. When Gryphon’s body was stolen by an evil wizard, his soul was sent to the hell realm of Tarturus to be tortured for eternity; a fate which should not await a Guardian as brave and strong as Gryphon. Orpheus is determined to rescue his brother’s soul and return it and his Guardian markings back to Gryphon’s body.

    Skyla is a siren, an assassin for Zeus. Her mission is to keep the evil half-demon Orpheus from obtaining the Orb, and she is to bring it to Zeus. When Skyla realizes she has been lied to by Athena and Zeus, she joins Orpheus in his quest to save Gryphon.

    Although Demitrius is still my favorite guardian, I was very excited to read Orpheus’s story. Being part-demon, the presumption is that Orpheus would be untrustworthy, dangerous, etc., etc., and encompassing everything bad from the demon side. He has spent a good part of the last two hundred years doing things and making choices for his own personal gain, but could this be less demon in nature and more to do with the fact that he was passed over in the Perseus’s lineage for his younger half-brother simply because Orpheus was half-demon. Now that Gryphon’s soul has been ripped from his body, his Guardian markings transferred to Orpheus who is the last of the bloodline.

    I did have a hard time getting into this story since there is a lot of jumping between various characters in the set up of the story. I always find too much switching characters to be distracting to the story. Although I understand that in this series, the demons and the Gods are always plotting go get ahead, between Zeus, Hades and Atalanta all plotting to get the Orb from Orpheus so they could be the most powerful, it was distracting and I had a hard time being interested in Skyla and Orpheus when every time the story got going, we had to be pulled away to watch Hades rant or see where Atalanta was in her goal to be released from her imprisonment.

    Take out all the additional distractions and the story was enjoyable, the characters are well written and the quest to save Gryphon was engrossing. The tortures that Gryphon endured and the resulting trauma to the usually happy-go-lucky guardian are heartbreaking and I will be keeping my eye out for his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First, let me say it took me five minutes of staring at the cove

    First, let me say it took me five minutes of staring at the cover before I started reading this book. The story inside is just as good as the picture outside. Orpheus is a half breed Argonaut who is part daemon. Orpheus has taken on the mission of trying to rescue his brother Gryphon’s soul from the fields of Asphodel , as Orpheus feels responsible for his bother being there. Along the way he meets up with Skyla, a Siren and feels an unusual attraction to her even as she interrupts his attempted grab of a girl with the power to help him.
    Skyla knows things about Orpheus that he himself doesn’t know. She has been sent by Athena to retrieve a powerful object that Orpheus has and that he supposedly is going to use for evil. There are things in both of their pasts that make Skyla believe that Orpheus is capable of evil and she is willing to take on the job of stopping him. Her feelings for him make it hard for her to complete her mission and eventually she sees what he is really all about and that adds to the conflict.
    The interesting part of this book is how both of their pasts have so much influence on the lives they presently lead. Both people have been betrayed by each other on many levels and by people around them that they trusted. In order to get what they want out of their lives they need to resolve past issues around their love affair and the other people in their lives. Add to the mix the intervention of the Fates, the Gods, and the daemon world, and they have a lot of pressures that could drive them apart one more time. Eventually they work together towards a common goal but they still can’t totally trust the other. It is also refreshing to see an Alpha male and female go back and forth with each other to provide support or a good kick in the pants when needed.
    The characters from previous books in the series add to the feeling of urgency in this book. You can feel the time ticking away before the war between the races blows up. There are some pretty horrific scenes in the book involving torture and battles but nothing is gratuitous. I loved the mythical references like the hellhounds and the Cerberus. The setup is there for the next book in the series and it looks like it’s going to be a good one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An amazingly emotional book...

    My Review:
    A
    Honestly, at the 30-35% level on this book, I was thinking that this was going to be a C+ or maybe a B- rated book. At that point it was dragging a bit and getting caught up in all the Greek mythology and politics which make up the basis of this series. But at around the 50-55% mark, things started to pick up and they picked up to make this an AMAZING book.


    This book is about Orpheus and Skyla. Orpheus is a Guardian who is also part Daemon, something that should never occur. He's worked hard over the years to keep his Daemon side hidden. As the eldest son, Orpheus should have automatically been a Guardian, but instead, it only happened after he accidentally sent his younger brother, Gryphon to the Underworld. Orpheus knows that he shouldn't be the Guardian and is consumed with guilt over the fact that he is one and that Gryphon is suffering the tortures of Tartarus. It's his mission to save him...whatever it takes.


    Skyla is a 2500 year old Siren. Zeus and Athena have sent her after Orpheus to retrieve an orb that he hopes to use to save Gryphon even if it means killing him. What she doesn't realize though is that she's been lied to and betrayed in the most elemental of ways for the last 2000 years and she has a history with Orpheus that he doesn't remember. Skyla has spent 2000 years cutting herself off from any emotion and being around Orpheus is awakening feelings that she honestly thought were dead.


    There's a TON of emotion in this story. Skyla is trying to figure out who she can trust. Orpheus is dealing with flashes of memories that he can't interpret and his suddenly unpredictable inner Daemon. In the middle of it all they are trying to save Gryphon, who simply broke my heart. After three months in Tartarus being tortured and killed over and over every single day, this huge warrior is a broken man. *gah* My heart just hurt for him.


    Elisabeth outdid herself in the writing of this book. There is so much going on and it all comes across so incredibly well. I love emotion and angst in my romances and this one was amazing!!! Orpheus feels like a fraud and has huge amounts of guilt over what's happened to Gryphon, Skyla is trying to figure out who to trust (which includes herself and her gut emotions), and then Gryphon is simply shattered. I cannot wait for the next book in this series...I am crossing my fingers that it's Gryphon's, but I wouldn't be surprised if we have to wait a while for his. We'll see...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5