Customer Reviews for

Enrique's Journey

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The best migrant story I have read yet

I have read umpteen books over the last six months on the subject on migrants leaving their Central American or Mexican homes for a shot at the dream of living in Ther United States. The ones that come here are predominantly wonderful loving parents ready to work hard a...
I have read umpteen books over the last six months on the subject on migrants leaving their Central American or Mexican homes for a shot at the dream of living in Ther United States. The ones that come here are predominantly wonderful loving parents ready to work hard and send the money they make back to the families so they can survive a little better than most of the people left behind to the abject poverty in Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala etc.

Their stories are always tragic full of loneliness, abuse and death. The people attacking them are robbers, gang members and renegade police officers, each countries el migra, ready to put a hold on the dream A hold is all that it is. These people are determined to run away from the poverty their lives have given them, willing to risk life and limb to reach loved ones who have gone ahead. I have to highlight Enrique's Journey as the one most exceptional tale that I have read on this subject. While other authors too have travelled with migrants to trace their stories and steps none have done it as efficiently, none have laid bare the awful tragedy or shown the determination of the people she followed so graphically than journalist and authorr, Sonia Nazario. Having met seventeen year-old Enrique's she goes about back-tracking, following up on every detail of his story from visiting his home town, interviewing his relatives, riding El Tran de la Muerte and witnessing for herself the terror of bandits on the roof of the train carriages, of people falling or being knocked from their perches to fall on the rails to perish or to lose a limb. She stopped and interviewed the priests that helped the migrants with food and shelter, the ones that stood in harms way to help strangers. In short everywhere Enrique went so did she.

The story she wrote is adapted from the news story she earned a Pulitzer prize for and takes the reader along on the torturous decisions that humans make to leave their small children to give them a better life and how those same separated children so often turn to drugs and crime before making the decision to travel to America to find their family. We feel the agony of the attacks on the physical bodies - Enrique was thwarted seven times before finally reaching the promised land - and we gather into our souls the love expressed by the folk that help those worse off from themselves as they throw food and clothes to the trainriders. For the priests and health-workers that administer spiritual and physical food Nazario shows a side of humans that I have not seen described in other border crossing tomes. She brings indignation, faith, a feeling of hopelessness that one cannot do more and intense feeling to her writing. I shed a tear or two in the dramatic tale of Enrique's Journey

posted by markpsadler on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Boy Left Behind

After Enrique's mother leaves to go to the U.S. to support her family with the little money she can send to them, Enrique can not understand why she has left him. He tries many times to make it to America to find his mother but is often sent back to Honduras where he wa...
After Enrique's mother leaves to go to the U.S. to support her family with the little money she can send to them, Enrique can not understand why she has left him. He tries many times to make it to America to find his mother but is often sent back to Honduras where he waits until he can try again. He eventually makes it to 'el norte' on his 8th attempt. 'Enrique's Journey' shows the hardships that kids as young as 7 go through to be reunited with their mothers. It also shows the dangers of riding the trains whether it be corrupt police, bandits, or being crushed by the train wheels. Many kids risk life and limb just so they can know if their mother still loves them. The book moved at a good pace but was sometimes very depressing. I would still recommend it is a light, easy but powerful read.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    The best migrant story I have read yet

    I have read umpteen books over the last six months on the subject on migrants leaving their Central American or Mexican homes for a shot at the dream of living in Ther United States. The ones that come here are predominantly wonderful loving parents ready to work hard and send the money they make back to the families so they can survive a little better than most of the people left behind to the abject poverty in Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala etc.

    Their stories are always tragic full of loneliness, abuse and death. The people attacking them are robbers, gang members and renegade police officers, each countries el migra, ready to put a hold on the dream A hold is all that it is. These people are determined to run away from the poverty their lives have given them, willing to risk life and limb to reach loved ones who have gone ahead. I have to highlight Enrique's Journey as the one most exceptional tale that I have read on this subject. While other authors too have travelled with migrants to trace their stories and steps none have done it as efficiently, none have laid bare the awful tragedy or shown the determination of the people she followed so graphically than journalist and authorr, Sonia Nazario. Having met seventeen year-old Enrique's she goes about back-tracking, following up on every detail of his story from visiting his home town, interviewing his relatives, riding El Tran de la Muerte and witnessing for herself the terror of bandits on the roof of the train carriages, of people falling or being knocked from their perches to fall on the rails to perish or to lose a limb. She stopped and interviewed the priests that helped the migrants with food and shelter, the ones that stood in harms way to help strangers. In short everywhere Enrique went so did she.

    The story she wrote is adapted from the news story she earned a Pulitzer prize for and takes the reader along on the torturous decisions that humans make to leave their small children to give them a better life and how those same separated children so often turn to drugs and crime before making the decision to travel to America to find their family. We feel the agony of the attacks on the physical bodies - Enrique was thwarted seven times before finally reaching the promised land - and we gather into our souls the love expressed by the folk that help those worse off from themselves as they throw food and clothes to the trainriders. For the priests and health-workers that administer spiritual and physical food Nazario shows a side of humans that I have not seen described in other border crossing tomes. She brings indignation, faith, a feeling of hopelessness that one cannot do more and intense feeling to her writing. I shed a tear or two in the dramatic tale of Enrique's Journey

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Very Moving!

    If anyone ever wanted to know what it is like for someone to come to this country this will let you in. I was very touched by this book and will remember it forever.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    An Eye Opener

    This book is a real eye opener, told in a caring way. The characters are real and so are their experiences. Very interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Riveting and Heart Breaking

    I normally do not enjoy non fiction books, but the author's style of writing, as well as her in-depth personal experience with researching this story made for compelling reading. No matter where you stand on immigration or immigration reform, this book goes beyond that topic, touching on the more important aspects of legal and illegal immigration: how it affects families and societal structure throughout the Americas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    When is immigration reform coming?

    I was deeply disturbed by this book. The treatment of these children is inhumane. I am moved to do something about immigration reform.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    The Boy Left Behind

    After Enrique's mother leaves to go to the U.S. to support her family with the little money she can send to them, Enrique can not understand why she has left him. He tries many times to make it to America to find his mother but is often sent back to Honduras where he waits until he can try again. He eventually makes it to 'el norte' on his 8th attempt. 'Enrique's Journey' shows the hardships that kids as young as 7 go through to be reunited with their mothers. It also shows the dangers of riding the trains whether it be corrupt police, bandits, or being crushed by the train wheels. Many kids risk life and limb just so they can know if their mother still loves them. The book moved at a good pace but was sometimes very depressing. I would still recommend it is a light, easy but powerful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    HONDURAN BOY MAKES IT TO THE UNITED STATES SUCCESSFULLY.

    The book, Enrique¿s Journey by Sonia Nazario is a story of a boy¿s search for his mother who left him to go live in the United States. The story begins in Honduras where Enrique¿s family is struggling to survive. Lourdes, Enrique's mother decides she must leave for the United States to be able to support her family. She leaves Enrique who is five and his sister in the care of relatives. After many years pass, Enrique realizes he must find his mother in the United States to ever be happy. His life in Honduras has become worthless. He has quit school and spends most of his time high from sniffing glue. Enrique leaves Tegucigalpa one day with the clothes on his back and a slip of paper with his mothers phone number. He has no money and does not realize the dangers that lie in wait for him. Enrique must travel through Mexico by train to make it to the United States. Along his journey, Enrique encounters numerous dangers in which he is lucky to make it out alive. At one point, he is beaten so badly, he can barely make it into the nearby town. Gangsters and immigration patrol throughout Mexico stop immigrants in their travels and demand money and clothing, often killing them. Not only are the gangsters and patrol dangerous, but so are the trains. Many immigrants loose their lives and body parts while jumping on and off the boxcars. The most amazing part is the people he meets along the way who help him when they have so little themselves. It takes Enrique over two months and eight attempts to get to his mother. With the help of a smuggler and $1,200.00, Enrique finally sees his mother. Once in the United States, things are not the way Enrique imagined. He does not respect his mother and resents her for leaving him. He misses his daughter and girlfriend. Enrique begins to make bad choices again and drinks and does drugs. Finally, He realizes that he needs to grow up and wants Maria here with him. Maria leaves her daughter and is smuggled into the United States. She comes to live with Enrique. They miss their daughter, Jasmine very much and hope to bring her to the Unites States when possible. Many messages abound from Enrique¿s Journey, but the three major ones are that anything can be achieved with determination, love can drive one to do amazing things and dreams are not always reality. Enrique was determined to find his mother in the United States. He felt that whatever life she was living, it would be better to be with her than without her. He knew he could sustain any hardships because of his determination to see her. Enrique kept trying and trying believing that once he was with her, he would be happy. Love also can cause amazing things to happen. Enrique loved his mother so much, he was willing to leave life in Honduras to be with her. Finding her and being with her was his major focus for years. On his perilous journey to find his mother, what kept Enrique moving forward was his love. When Enrique reached the United States, he realized that his dreams were not reality. He was happy for a short time and then began to resent his mother for leaving him. Enrique thought they would live happily together forever with little struggles. That was not the case. In the end, Enrique realizes that his mother is very important to him. Finding his mother with determination and love helped him learn that life might not always be what one imagines, but it can still be great with hard work. Enrique¿s Journey is an excellent example of life in Honduras. The music, poverty, family connections, and overall generosity of the people perfectly portrays how Hondurans live. They have little to nothing, yet have the spirit of family and togetherness which keeps them happy, even in the worst conditions. Another excellent portrayal of life as an immigrant is shown with Enrique¿s trip to find his mother, The descriptions and experiences are so vivid that one actually believes they are there. One can

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Maternal Pain, Death Trains, and Blood Stains

    For Los Angeles Times writer Sonia Nazario, the hands-on research behind her tear jerking feature articles, which follow the trails of Enrique on his quest to find his mother, was a pilgrimage to understand the perils and dangers that many children undertake in search of love and hope. Enrique's Journey is the culminating product of the 2003 Pulitzer Prize winning feature articles that chronicle the life-threatening path of an Honduran boy searching for his mother. Not only does it narrate the many dangers of Enrique's trek, but it also enriches readers with insight into the intuitive longing of Enrique's need to be with his mother and brings forth the very real struggles of young children traveling by El Tren de la Muerte.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Crossing The Boarder

    Enrique's story is brilliantly captured exposing the treacherous path that migrants must travel in order to gain a chance at opportunity. The book goes into amazing details about the life Enrique is subjected to growing up as an abandoned child in Honduras. His yearning for his mother is too great for him to handle and he struggles to fight his past and uncertain future. Even with the grave risks involved with his repeated escapes from Honduras in search of reaching the States, Enrique finds conquering his ghosts is, too much to handle. This adventure strips Enrique of his childhood and tosses him into a tornado of pressures which will mold him into an unpredictable young man, but first he must successfully cross Mexico on a train which many are killed on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Enrique¿s Journey is a non-fiction novel written by Sonia Nazar

    Enrique’s Journey is a non-fiction novel written by Sonia Nazario to give us insight into the life of an immigrant. In my opinion, Nazario is trying to make people understand the hardships of an average immigrant. Throughout the novel, the author uses facts of cruel, inhumane acts that are being done to immigrants. Not only are these acts evil, but in addition they are poor, starving and dehydrated. The novel mainly focuses on Enrique and the splitting of his mother, but also compares the same similarities with other people. Enrique is an ordinary Mexican boy who experiences the same hardships of all Mexican children. While Enrique is only 5 years old, his mother Lourdes leaves to the United States in order to support Enrique and his sister. Enrique goes through the troubles of splitting up with relatives, drugs, and a girlfriend. When Enrique is about 15 years old, Enrique longs for his mother and decides to leave to find her. He confronts obstacles he never knew would have to be faced. He is constantly robbed, abused, and is back where he started from. Along the way, people humbly help but some produce conflict. Local Gangs and “La Migra” (the immigration authorities) repeatedly harass Enrique but Enrique doesn’t give up. With little to no money, his mother’s phone number and his pride, Enrique longs and hopes to find his hardworking mother.

    Enrique’s Journey is a novel that I really enjoyed reading. Not only did I realize what Immigrants have to face, but also why they face it. Many of these immigrants only want to reunite with family or live an American dream. Immigrants devour these hardships and only use it as stepping stones. I’ve come to know that many people help these immigrants and pray for them to achieve their goal. The author does a fantastic job of creating images of these scenes. Not only can I picture what’s occurring, but also I emphasize for these immigrants hardships. I would recommend this novel to any reader. This novel is not only a good read, but informational. This novel gives explicit detail of Enrique’s journey and only makes the reader more interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    The book Enrique's Journey was written by Sonia Nazario and was

    The book Enrique's Journey was written by Sonia Nazario and was published by Random House
    in 2006. This book is based on the problems we have with immigration today. As it talks about
    Enrique's mom leaving Honduras to go to America it connects to how there are many people
    today trying to immigrate into our country for job opportunities and to earn money. Sonia also tries
    to the readers by writing it about a mom leaving her child which many kids now are left without
    mothers. The message I got from this book is that anyone can find what they are looking for by
    chasing after their dreams. This book is about a boy named Enrique who was only 5 when his
    mother went to America. After 11 years had passed he sets out on a journey from Honduras to
    find his mother in the U.S. It is a dangerous journey especially when he has to cross the border.
    He has waited so long to see his mom and does not want to be patient anymore. Enrique's main
    way of traveling was by riding on the sides and tops of trains. He is not the only child who would try
    this. Thousands of children try to make the long journey, although some succeed many fail. As
    Enrique is determined to find his mother he must be aware of his surroundings and use the hope
    inside of his heart to keep him going and guide him through, no matter what challenges are
    thrown at him. I liked this book because it was intriguing and very inspiring when seeing the
    determination Enrique has when wanting to search for his mother.  This book made me want to
    keep reading and see how it would end. The story gets better and better as you read it, at least it
    did for me. It was full of adventure and those are the types of books I enjoy because of the thrill
    and excitement of trying to wonder what will happen next. Enrique's Journey drew me in and
    made me not want to put it down. I learned from this book that immigration is a huge problem
    especially between South and Central America. There are thousand of people trying to cross
    over into America but more fail than succeed at attempting to cross. Women are the most common
    in immigration to earn money mainly by going to the U.S leaving behind families and friends. I
    would recommend this book for people of the age 14+. This book takes a little time to get into and
    understand but as you read on it becomes very interesting. Enrique's Journey can be similar to
    some persons life which can help you connect to the book. In conclusion this novel is a great
    reader and I highly recommend for you to grab this book and enjoy the wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Eh

    not so great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Very good

    Enlightening story about the immigrant problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Awful

    This is simply an justification of illegal immigration

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    L

    Jaywing's Journey chapter two
    ————————————————————————————
    About a moon later,Jaykit was three moons old.Hse and her sisters made a play-clan called Braveclan.They went on adventures,really fun ones,too.They rescued members of the clan,went on journeys,'caught' fresh-kill,patrolled camp,and fought Ashclan.The days just could not get better then this.The whole time was exiting,and Jaykit tasted her first piece of fresh-kill.Jaykit waited for Ripplekit polietely."The clan must be fed first."she said over and over while ' hunting' fresh-kill.The morning light had spilled over the horizon, and Jaykit left camp(the nursery)to hunt.She caught a mouse and starling.She could not hunt,not to mention carry,anything else.She waited for fresh-kill in the line to the fresh-kill pile in the middle of the nursery.Jaykit fought her hunger back.Finally,all the kits had gotten fresh-kill but her, and she thankfully chose a mouse from the pile.Braveclan was strong through the cold nights of leaf-bare.The clan kept through toughness and hardship,and went on.Braveclan was a cool clan,even Birchleaf admits it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Love this book! Good read!!!

    Really opens your eyes to some truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was okay. I gained a greater understanding of the immi

    This book was okay. I gained a greater understanding of the immigrant struggles coming to the Uninted States. However, I thought that the train jumping and the lost of limbs was a bit much. I am not sure I would have made the journey. Also, I didn't care for the reunion betwen Enrique and his mother.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The book gave me insight into what a Mother would do for her child no matter the sacrifices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Rosepaw

    Waits for her new mentor

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Open your eyes

    I had to read Enriques Journey for school and it was an eye opener. I never imagined all that imagrants had to go through to make it to the uniyed states. They face drugs alchol rape gangs murders thiefs bandits and the NIS. It was amzing to read what children are willing to do to get to the united states. I just wished that they wrote if Maria Isabelle and Enrique got to be with their daughter again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3