Customer Reviews for

Enslaved by Ducks

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    highly recommended

    A must read for anyone with ducks, parrots, bunnies and/or geese -- or city dwellers who lust after living on a bit of acreage populated with pets. Although this non-fictional story was engaging and engrossing in itself, I was constantly impressed and forced to linger over well-written turns of phrase. This guy is a talented writer, and his ability to describe a situation with color and style made this a real treat to read. I laughed, I cried, I laughed again and I cried again. What an emotional roller coaster we animal-lovers have to endure. Some people who exchew pets just can't comprehend the extreme dedication and love we animal lovers invest in our pets, and the joy we receive in return. If you are one of them, read this book. You'll understand.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    One Talented Writer, His Animal Loving Wife, and Their 'Crew'

    For animal lovers and non-animal lovers...this is one hysterically funny and touching book. Bob Tarte is an amazing writer! The story of a man who falls head over heals in love with a mismatched bunch of fowl, felines, and rabbits and all of their 'hijinks'.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Touching

    I bought this book because I'd read a review that described it as laugh-out-loud funny. I laughed a few times, but it is more absorbing than amusing. It's the story of a man who never imagined himself as he is now: enslaved by ducks (among his and his wife's many other companions). As with any story about our critter friends, there are sad moments when they die, triumphant moments when they recover from seemingly hopeless conditions and injuries, and the realization that they know if we truly love them or not. The Tarte's love and respect for their animals is evident throughout, and make this book a joy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    You'll Laugh Yourself Silly

    If you love animals and need some laughter therapy, this is the book for you. As a pet lover, I identified with the author's predicament as his pets gradually took over his life. Ducks are not the only pets to "rule the roost" in this story. Buy the book--it's cheaper than therapy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    for every pet owner

    In the course of reading this book, I had to deal with the death of one of our cats, a pet I had for almost 15 years, a pet similar to Bob and Linda's Binky-she could drive us crazy. It was comforting to have this book to read, to know that I was not alone in loving an animal in all its funny and annoying forms,then seeing it through the end of its life. Honest, touching, hysterical.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Great Read

    I pick up this book and could not put it down untill it was finished!! great book All animals lovers should own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    my favorite book--highly recommended

    I rarely have ever read a book a second time, but I am just finishing this book once more, and may even read it again. I enjoyed the personal stories Bob shared. I never imagined that a book about someone else's life and animals could be so interesting and funny, even though I own many of my own animals. However, I decided to give it a try and checked it out from the library just to see what it was like. I ended up buying my own copy because I wanted to be able to loan it out to other people who might like it as well. (Also so I could read it again myself, of course!) I identified with the way he feels about his animals, and the amount of time and thought each requires. I hope he will write more stories in a future book. His humor reminds me of Dave Barry's. (I've read all of Dave's books, so I need more of Bob's or his to continue my reading pleasure--a person can only read the same book so many times, right?)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Great book

    This is an amazing book. Bob and his Wife Linda go from a normal home to a completely crazy home that felt even more normal than before! They acquire what may be an insane amount of animals. They learn some hard lessons, and gain experience. You really get to watch them grow as people. My personal experience with this book, was finding out that I'm not alone in the world! With 7 or 8 pets in my house it was a great feeling to see what happened to me happen to someone else, even to a greater extreme. I was crying, laughing, and reading it to everyone in my family. You should give this book a chance. You wont put it down! I'm a terrible writer, but trust me when I say, everyone will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Unbelievable!

    This book was incredibly bad. Choosn by my book club as the selection for July, I was the only book club member to finish the book. The rest of the embers did not want to waste their time....if only I had known!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Love all his books. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Lightly Entertaining

    Kind of cute and entertaining. The thought of all those animals in the house made me sort of cringe, though. If you liked this book I would recommend Just A Couple of Chickens by Corrinne Tippett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Not worth buying

    As an avid animal book/book reader, I didn't even bother to finish this one. BOORING!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Only recommended to fans or fowl

    Could/should have been entitled "My Wife and I Both Married a Dumbass!" One bunny and bird/duck/parrot/turkey/starling,etc., etc. after another. And they don't just sing or talk and eat, you know! Lots of love for these pets, but OMG, too far!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great book!

    This is an excellant book for the poultry and waterfowl lovers like me :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    This is a 'must read' for anyone who has pets!

    My niece gave me this book because I live near the same small town as the author. It turns out that I live very near the author! This is a warm and funny book, well written and entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2