Customer Reviews for

Entangled Minds: Extrasensory Experiences in a Quantum Reality

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Disappointed

    I'm not sorry that I read the book. It is just mainly a list of things tried in esp experiments with maybe maybe not results. There is no real meat to this book. I was frankly disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Zero Credibility

    This book is utter nonsense. Spoon bending? The author, Dean Radin, fell for spoon bending??? (see endnote 1 on page 331). Sorry, but given that, his credibility is zero or less. Just as bad, Radin can only offer lame excuses (page 290) for not pursuing some of the many prizes that are being offered for a valid, definitive demonstration of psi. (If the evidence is as strong as Radin claims, he should have already walked home with several of these prizes.) Radin complains that he'd have to spend more than a million in order to win the million dollar prize James Randi is offering. But all Radin would have to do is demonstrate his spoon bending ability under scientific conditions. If Radin can bend spoons as he claims, it should be an easy million for him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Essential PSI Research Primer

    ENTANGLED MINDS takes us on an exciting journey into the most cutting-edge scientific research pertaining to psychic phenomena, or 'PSI.' Not only does author Dean Radin present a thorough history and analysis of experiments in the fields of telepathy, clairvoyance and psychokinesis, but he does so with such brilliant clarity that these otherwise occult topics are illuminated sufficiently for any layperson to begin to see that these metaphysical areas of research have far-reaching consequences that none of us can afford to ignore. If PSI is proven to be a real, rather than an imaginary phenomena, we will be well advised to take PSI into account in fields of history, scientific research, medicine, and every form of social dynamics, including sporting events and international conflicts. The quantum entanglement that Albert Einstein called, 'spooky action at a distance' may just be the key to comprehending how we may all be interconnected at a very deep, fundamental level. Radin is uniquely suited to describing what we now know about PSI, since he is currently employed as laboratory director of the Institute of Noetic Sciences, and is one of less than 50 conventionally trained doctoral level scientists currently engaged in full-time PSI research. My favorite part of ENTANGLED MINDS is reading about how Radin and other PSI researchers were quick to note the tremendous opportunity available to them to track world-wide psychic responses to significant events. I also love the way this book describes how some of the more mysterious phenomena, such as presentiment, or responding to a stimuli in advance of physically experiencing it, are currently being scientifically studied. ENTANGLED MINDS truly shines when it describes meta- analysis results for a wide variety of research topics, in which previous scientific analyses are analyzed. ENTANGLED MINDS is highly recommended reading for anyone interested in a more complete understanding of how humans interact with the world. While PSI may currently be considered a controversial 'fringe' topic, Radin explains that, 'History shows as the scientific frontiers continue to expand, the supernatural evolves into the paranormal, and then into normal.' ENTANGLED MINDS is a truly courageous book that inspires all of us to consider a rational, scientific view of psychic experiences... and imagine what kind of world we can create together when we understand just how interconnected we really are.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    The twentieth century saw a phenomenal expansion of science into previously unexplored realms. Two of these realms: quantum physics and psi phenomena 'information transfer outside the senses' turn the accepted classical worldview on its head, and hold the promise of a new view of reality and human potential. Dean Radin¿s new book Entangled Minds stands at the crossroads of these two fields of research as he looks to the possibility that the quantum ¿entangled¿ nature of reality is the underlying mediator of psi effects. Radin begins his book with a fascinating and eye-opening review of the century or so of science on psi phenomena. Describing the experimental designs and the results of more than a thousand investigations 'with many thousands of trials' into telepathy, clairvoyance, presentiment and psychokinesis, he soberly and painstakingly reports on the studies, and provides meta-analyses of all the research. Did you know that from 1935 to 1987 about 2500 people attempted to mentally influence the fall of dice in 148 different experiments, and the odds that results were due to chance alone were 1096 to 1? And how about this? On the day when millions of people around the globe tuned in to the televised broadcast of Princess Diana¿s funeral, a dozen Random Number Generators located throughout the U.S. and Europe came into coherence with odds against chance of 100 to 1. So, are psi phenomena real? Through Radin¿s exhaustive and objective review, the open-minded reader is forced to concede, ¿There¿s something interesting going on here.¿ Overwhelmingly, the evidence from many thousands of trials cannot be explained as chance phenomena, which to my mind warrants much more investigation and resources devoted to this under-explored field of human potential. As a reader, I could connect with the frustration that Radin and other pioneers in this field must feel when confronted with the closed-minded skepticism of colleagues in science who, with a conservative eye on their careers, simply ¿don¿t want to go there¿ the media who rely on scientists for information and the ¿professional skeptics¿ who make it their business to ridicule efforts at genuine psi exploration. After making the case, Radin turns to the science of quantum physics to see how psi might fit in as a possible effect of the quantum reality we¿re immersed in but don¿t necessarily experience in our everyday macro world. He gives a summation of the various interpretations of quantum mechanics that have emerged over the last century, paying particular attention to the Stapp-Von Neumann approach that puts the mind back into the quantum measurement process. Radin suggests ¿the mind/brain might be a self-observing quantum object, and as such it resides within an entangled, nonlocal medium that just happens to be entirely compatible with the known characteristics of psi.¿ In other words, through the quantum nature of our being we may be connected to one another in some intimate but still mysterious way. Perhaps the mystery will be solved some day, but not if these kinds of psi studies continue to be relegated to the backwaters of science. So, the import of Dean Radin¿s work is great and far-reaching, and perhaps even urgent. The fractured worldview that sets us apart and usually against one another has not been too good for the planet lately. If you¿re open-minded and can entertain the possibility that we all have the capacity to know things outside our senses and influence one another with our minds, then read this book. Awareness of a capacity is the first step to opening it. ¿ Margaret Esterman, Executive Editor, Great River Books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    From metaphysics to physics

    This book, mentioned recently on the Oprah show, presents a roadmap showing how common human experiences once thought to be supernatural metaphysics are transforming into natural physics. Skeptics who are always complaining that there is no valid scientific evidence for psychic phenomena are wrong -- Entangled Minds summarizes over a thousand experiments published in peer-reviewed journals. I was amazed at the wealth of available data. Some of the more advanced scientific techniques, including functional MRI, are now being used to successfully demonstrate telepathy in the laboratory.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1