BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Entering the Castle: Exploring Your Mystical Experience of God

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mystical Writing

'Entering the Castle' is intended as a guide into mysticism. The idea presented in the book is to become mystics without monastaries. This requires answering three key questions: (1) Why was I born? (2) What is my greater purpose in my life? (3) How can I be of ser...
'Entering the Castle' is intended as a guide into mysticism. The idea presented in the book is to become mystics without monastaries. This requires answering three key questions: (1) Why was I born? (2) What is my greater purpose in my life? (3) How can I be of service? The Castle spoken of in this book is our inner center - a place where can find sanctuary, peace and guidance. Through contemplation we can access this Castle within. The ideas in this book are based on St. Theresa of Avila's THE INTERIOR CASTLE, where she mentions seven mansions i.e. stages through which the soul passes in its mystical journey to union with the Divine. 'Entering the Castle' gives an inner dimension to our spiritual work that is at times lacking in current spiritual literature, which is more concerned with achievement and prosperity as end goals rather than inner development of the self. So I am glad to come across this book.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Caroline a spiritual teacher now turn into a political partisan sharp tongue columnist

I've love love her very early works, before she became this world famous spiritual teacher. You can sense from her voice, a humble, gentle person who had inspired millions of people including myself! Especially her "Spiritual power & spiritual practice". But ever sinc...
I've love love her very early works, before she became this world famous spiritual teacher. You can sense from her voice, a humble, gentle person who had inspired millions of people including myself! Especially her "Spiritual power & spiritual practice". But ever since last year presidential election, Caroline has changed to this sharp tongue, partisan, opinionated political person who writes articles on HuffingtonPost.com and their news paper, criticizing all Republicans parties, candidates or anyone who is not supporting the democrats party because their political views is not the same as hers. I feel that she is not living what she preach! You are an spiritual teacher! You should rise above all these political madness and use your power and inspirational words to bring people together! Especially during this trouble time, instead of clam people's anger & differences on the health care bills that just past, she writes many articles to add the oil into fire to make people more partisan and angry! Caroline, I am so disappointed by the direction you took. I think you were a wonderful spiritual teacher when you just started many years ago, maybe your success and ego has finally got to you! Please bring back the old Caroline Myss we love! Not this political driven, sharp tongue partisan columnist! If you are republican, or not agree with the health care bills that just passed or the direction of our country is heading, go to HuffingtonPost.com and type in the search section of Caroline Myss you'll see what I am talking about! ( http://www.huffingtonpost.com/caroline-myss/are-republican-right-wing_b_516467.html ) Caroline, please stay out of the politics! And use your wisdom and spiritual insights to bring people together not dividing them!

posted by 3310068 on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Mystical Writing

    'Entering the Castle' is intended as a guide into mysticism. The idea presented in the book is to become mystics without monastaries. This requires answering three key questions: (1) Why was I born? (2) What is my greater purpose in my life? (3) How can I be of service? The Castle spoken of in this book is our inner center - a place where can find sanctuary, peace and guidance. Through contemplation we can access this Castle within. The ideas in this book are based on St. Theresa of Avila's THE INTERIOR CASTLE, where she mentions seven mansions i.e. stages through which the soul passes in its mystical journey to union with the Divine. 'Entering the Castle' gives an inner dimension to our spiritual work that is at times lacking in current spiritual literature, which is more concerned with achievement and prosperity as end goals rather than inner development of the self. So I am glad to come across this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Myss goes too far

    There is a specific context for Teresa's teaching and writing. Also, Myss fails to qualify key elements of Mystical Theology with reference to Theresa of Avila. One must first die a spiritual death, and commit themselves to a spiritual community like the DC Carmelites. Given this pre-condition, Theresa instructed them on purification (which was not pleasant btw) to rid all human-ness from ones entire being. It is a practice, a way of life that when followed¿there is divine union, love, and suffering in Christ. Academics and theologians might take a year to understand the nature of Mystical Theology in a specific context. It¿s not about you and feeling good for you¿not about finding your purpose. Far too general definition on contemplation. Completely lacks thorough study on the senses, the mind, the appetites, attachments, and reason. Mystics w/out monasteries can contact a local secular community, commit to the way of life, or live amongst the community. These communities have preserved/lived a specific way for centuries. If you must borrow from their doctrine, at least give back to their community.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Enter...discover yourself

    Entering the Castle has showed me where my treasure is... within. I experienced entering my own castle and it continues to be quite a journey. Caroline's passion is so embedded into this work, that it is hard for me to read accusations of her being too 'preachy' or 'condescending'. Rather, I see a woman who has experienced the Divine and who demands of herself and the listener the utmost reverence and gratitude for the journey itself. She has judgments like we all do, but please realize that this journey is not about what you can create or get, but instead, it is about going into yourself and dialoguing with the GOD presence within to find out how you can be of service to yourself, the people around you and the world, by becoming a channel for grace!!! Manifestation is awesome, but this work's purpose is not to teach you or help you manifest. If that's what you're looking for then watch 'The Secret' or read ' The Science of Getting Rich' . If you are aching for a deeper communion with your soul and God, then look no further. A direct connection with your soul is beyond words! Blessings to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Oh I Am So Excited...

    ...to be the first one to say just what I thought of this book. Caroline Myss, author of such books as Anatomy of Spirit and Why People Don't Heal, brings us a very different part of the metaphysical world. For this book, she discusses the work of Theresa of Avila, with whom she alleges she communicated with while she was writing the book. Dubious as it may sound, it is all the rage within the New Age community right now with Esther and Jerry Hicks' Abraham making communicating with the nonphysical all the more popular (though do not be mistaken. Myss does not endorse the Hicks' work). Yes, once an authority of Chakras and touting a PhD in Energy Medicine (which has surprisingly disappeared since the unaccredited nature of her doctorate program was discovered). There is enough spiritual work in this book to last you a lifetime, but do not be so eager to hop on board. Myss makes it clear that even if you do all this material, you still may not feel the grace of God. In fact, you may not even receive that healing you so desire. She makes it clear that the world of healing is irrational and asks you to leave behind critical thinking and to exchange it with irrational thought. And even if you surrender completely to this irrational thought, God may very well not bestow his grace upon you. So what's the perk of following this? Beats me. You can have Myss acting higher than thou for hundreds of pages and preaching to you about all the things you are doing wrong in your life. Watch this woman and it is clear that there is nothing enlightened about her, so be wary of her words and do not be so willing to throw yourself down this rabbit hole.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    A Good Effort

    The author, Caroline Myss has done a good job of taking on the very difficult task of interpretting Saint Teresa of Ávila's spiritual work "The Interior Castle". Ms Myss has taken a document orinally written by Saint Theresa in 16th-century Spain, and used her own interpretations and experiences to bring these writings into the 21st century.

    While I never could last long with a translation of Saint Theresa's original writing, I found the author's version very readable and engaging.
    However I would have to say that absorbing the subject matter of this book, which is basically getting in touch with one's soul by dividing it into rooms and studying each room before moving on to the next, is not a simple matter to accomplish.
    The author herself is a Theology teacher and author of several spiritual books, and yet it took her many years of study and soul developement before she was at a spiritual point in her life when she could fully absorb the message of Saint Teresa.
    So the question is should you as a person, interested in expanding their spiritual growth, buy this book?
    If you are at all interested in Saint Teresa or have had some experience with spiritual study, then you may be interested in purchasing this book. I doubt many people will be able to quickly master the Saint's methodology, however if you are patient and refer back to the book from time to time, you may also realize a greater understanding of your soul and God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Anonymous Caroline a spiritual teacher now turn into a political partisan sharp tongue columnist says it all. How can you spew such rhetoric and hate and be a spiritual teacher. I could not recommend this book.

    How can I put my faith and trust into this book after reading that post. It literally sickened my stomach that I used my hard earned money to help pave the way for her to do more of her bidding. She should be ashamed of herself but her ego will never allow it.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    A compassionate, wise view of the mystical tradition

    Carolyn shares a thoughtful, modern examination of St Teresa of Avila's claasic text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Enter...discover yourself

    Entering the Castle has showed me where my treasure is... within. I experienced entering my own castle and it continues to be quite a journey. Caroline's passion is so embedded into this work, that it is hard for me to read accusations of her being too 'preachy' or 'condescending'. Rather, I see a woman who has experienced the Divine and who demands of herself and the listener the utmost reverence and gratitude for the journey itself. She has judgments like we all do, but please realize that this journey is not about what you can create or get, but instead, it is about going into yourself and dialoguing with the GOD presence within to find out how you can be of service to yourself, the people around you and the world, by becoming a channel for grace!!! Manifestation is awesome, but this work's purpose is not to teach you or help you manifest. If that's what you're looking for then watch 'The Secret' or read ' The Science of Getting Rich' . If you are aching for a deeper communion with your soul and God, then look no further. A direct connection with your soul is beyond words! Blessings to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2