Customer Reviews for

Entice (Jessica Shirvington's Embrace Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Jessica Shirvington once again knocks it outta the park with Boo

    Jessica Shirvington once again knocks it outta the park with Book 2 in this series. My only complaints are: Not enough Phoenix page time and having to wait for Book 3. This is a fantastic serious, but I truly hope we see more of Phoenix and also more of the feelings between Phoenix and Violet are explored in the next book. Lincoln is a good guy, but Phoenix...well, there is so much more potential there! And I find the emotions between Phoenix and Violet to be more real than what is between Lincoln and Violet.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Embrace was a hit for me, and I was incredibly anxious to see ho

    Embrace was a hit for me, and I was incredibly anxious to see how Violet would grow and change in the next book (along with everyone else and the rest of the story, of course). I had a few concerns about where I thought the series might end up going, but I was so impressed when I read Entice and realized it wasn't going to follow that predictable pattern exactly the way I thought it would.




    And not only that, but I greedily devoured the story in this one and I'm ALREADY craving the final book, Emblaze! So much development took place in Entice, and while it still didn't blow my expectations out of the water it still surpassed them.




    Reasons to Read: 




    1. A fantastic & atypical love triangle:




    My biggest reservations regarding the Violet Eden series has been regarding the love triangle; love triangles have just been done to death, and they're often exactly the same as every other one out there. The first book, Embrace, doesn't give us the best impression of the Phoenix and Violet and Lincoln triangle but I can assure you after reading Entice that it is moving in a GREAT direction. It's just painful enough, but strays from the area of becoming TOO much and too annoying. (And because I'm clearly Team Linc, I just have to say that he does WELL in this book. So, so well.)




    2. Intoxicating action scenes:




    Jessica's writing is good, but I find where it really shines (besides the kissing scenes which are also well done) is with the fight scenes. These are fight scenes where I literally cannot read fast enough, and my fingers are turning the pages as fast as I can to try and find out what's going to happen. I completely lose my mind to the story.




    3. Plenty of insight about the key themes:




    Entice is pretty heavy on the themes of free will, consequences and betrayal. These are the three ideas that keep the story focused and moving forward and lend a bit more realism to the story. They're exactly the types of things most readers will find easy to relate to, and cause plenty of problems for the characters. But I was easily impressed with how thoughtful Jessica was regarding these ideas, and how there are both benefits and drawbacks to them. And they make for some excellent twists!




    That being said, there were a few times I felt like I was a little bit lost with the sudden plot twists when they initally came up and they had to be thoroughly explained before I could completely follow the gravity of the situation.




    And in some ways, some of the story was a bit predictable - nothing's easy for the budding romantic relationships, love has its costs, and not everyone is who you think they are - although some times those insticts about someone turn out to be right. I wish I hadn't been able to figure these things out so early on in the story, but I'm definitely curious to see where they go later on in the last book! And I hope the love plot isn't dragged out quite as much. It's good, but I would really like to see things settled by the end.




    ARC received from publisher for review; no other compensation was received. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I probably wouldn't have picked this up if hadn't already been

    I probably wouldn't have picked this up if hadn't already been sent for review. There were elements of the first book that I really liked and others that I had issues with. I had hopes that this might be better. I'm glad that I gave this book a chance.

    Violet was a much better character this time around. She's starting to embrace who she is a little bit better. She acknowledges that she made mistakes in the past, but at the same time they are a part of who she is. I'm not surprised that there's something different about Violet, ever more so than the fact that she's a Grigori. I enjoyed how everyone refers to her aura. I'll be curious to see how this will benefit her in the end. I'm also curious to see how the 7 rays fit into this (and I especially hope that it's even a little bit better than the book of the same name).

    I was pleased to see that Lincoln and Violet's relationship seems to be moving in the right direction throughout this book. I'm not saying that they need to be together, or that they are soul mates. But, I absolutely hated the way Violet treated Lincoln in the first book. But at the same time, Lincoln pulls some shady things throughout this book. He desperately wants to make amends, but he is constantly hiding things from Violet. I don't see how they can be soul mates because of their deceptions.

    I liked the plot line more in this story. The race to find the list first is interesting, especially since it does not work exactly like planned. I love the idea that Moses body is hiding in plain sight, thinly veiled by angel magic and illusions. I love how Judas plays into the story. It was a twist that I was not expecting. I also really enjoy Phoenix. I'm not sure he's the bad guy we all want him to be. I think his story is deeper than that.

    At this point, I will be ready the next book in the series. I'm hoping it can continue to develop.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    *contains mild spoilers of Embrace* Entice is secondary novel i

    *contains mild spoilers of Embrace*
    Entice is secondary novel is a series that exceeded the first. Embrace was enjoyable but just not that memorable. However Entice was full of action, frustration, potential romance and just exciting. I honestly couldn't put the book down and was sometimes late for work because I lost track of time reading it at breakfast! My liking towards Violet Eden has solidified in Entice. I really liked how independent she is, something you don't usually see in paranormal YA novels. I was also glad that this time she learnt from her previous mistakes and didn't repeat them. She held her ground, she was focused and even if she was swayed a bit, she knew where she belonged in the end.
    The end of Embrace was shocking, we find out that Pheonix has somehow embraced his evil side and is now out to get her. Boy am I glad Pheonix is out of the way. I hated how Violet was sidetracked by him and caused so much hurt to her true love, Linc. Even if he still didn't know it yet. However Entice doesn't focus on the romance, but it focuses on finding the scriptures, on finding out who has betrayed the Grigoris and also on Violet learning more about her powers and how big of a part she will have to play for the Grigoris.
    The secondary characters in Entice were all so likable! Spence, the guy who I thought was going to create yet another love triangle, only ended up being her awesome kick-butt sidekick thank god. He had me cracking up so much when he teamed up with Violet. We also have Sal, Steph's love interest and then Zoe. I honestly think the introduction of these trio made the book lighter and a bit less dark for the readers. Griffin was as great as always and Magda was as annoying as hell. I loved how Stephanie, who is Vi's none paranormal best friend, is in on everything. Vi doesn't have to keep this huge secret from her and Steph is always 100% in on what Vi is doing and most of the time actually joins in on meetings and watches their practices. Thank god there is no negligent protagonist and a whiny best friend here!
    Entice is a great, and better, follow up to Embrace and I now have high hopes for Emblaze. i know many readers have gotten bored of angel novels, but I believe if you stick to the end of Embrace and pick up Entice, you will fall in love with this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    Great book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Favorite Series

    ....anxiously waiting for the last book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Spectacular

    Absolutely addictive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Love this series!!!! I can 't wait for the next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Entice is one of the most amazing books I have read (including E

    Entice is one of the most amazing books I have read (including Embrace), the book has a great ending into the leading to the beginning of the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Loved this book!

    Already read the fourth from Australia and it only gets better from here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Couldnt put it down

    Almost started crying when i thought it was going to be over i didnt want it to end and i am so excited to start the next one this series should never end it is amazing and i think everyone should read this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Outstanding!!

    Love love love very enchanting yet dark and mysterious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Amazing sequel

    Could not put this book down! Cant wait until the next book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    Darn Shirvington for creating such a sexy character like Phoenix

    Darn Shirvington for creating such a sexy character like Phoenix, knowing that Violet probably will not choose him in the end! (Though there's still hope they might end up together). I mean, Linc is sweet & awesome and all, but I fell for Phoenix. Yes, I fell for the typical agonized hot-as-hell villain who you can't help but feel sorry for. Anyways, excellent book, but I'm subtracting 2 stars for Shirvington going anti-Phoenix!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    highly recommended

    I can hardly wait for the next book to come out. I loved reading the two books that Jessica shirvington has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    WOW - INTENSE & SUSPENSFUL! ALSO HAS BIBLICAL HISTORY & SCRIPTURES.

    This 2nd book in Jessica Shirvington's Embrace series DOES NOT DISAPPOINT! Just like the 1st book, I couldn't put it down. I absolutely love the story line of exiled angels & grigori. Also, the implementation of actual scriptures from the Bible, along with Biblical History gives it mire depth. I just love it & cannot wait until the release of the 3rd book titled Emblaze, which comes out in March of 2013!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    Must Read

    I rate this book 4.5. Since day one, I root for Lincoln. I like his characteristics--mellow, understanding, thoughtful, loving, and most of all protective to his loved ones ( a real Guardian Angel who protects humanity). O_o In book one, Ms. Jessica Shirvington tore my heart when Violet slept with Phoenix. I felt the agony that Lincoln was experiencing when he found out. In this book, I enjoyed more the romance of Lincoln and Violet, but pulled my hair out when they tried to distant themselves to one another again after what happened to Rudy and Nyla. I also enjoyed the new characters (Spence,Zoe, and Sal) that Ms. Jessica added in this second installment, and the smart-ass remarks of Steph. Finally, the author revealed the lineage of Violet, and many more. Ms. Jessica also twisted the ending. Of course, Phoenix was still the villain. Without his craziness, the story would not be the same. The story was well written. The half point I deducted was due to my frustration on Lincoln and Violet's romance in the last part of the story. All I have ever wanted is for Linc and Violet to hook up and remain as great couple. When is it going to happen? My rating was always based on the level of my enjoyment. Sorry for being cryptic on my review. I just don't want to spoil the suspense, but I am quite sure that you will also enjoy as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    beautifully tragic

    This teen love story is so tragically romantic that it'll keep your eyes glued to the page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    amazing!!

    This book series is great couldn't put it down definitely a must read! i cant wait for book 3!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Want to read

    Jessica actually came to my school today. And she is the most awsome writter i have ever met! Now i hope i can get on my nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3