Customer Reviews for

Enticed

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great read

I really enjoyed reading this! the writer created an amazing story that is full of passion and drama.

posted by marianne68 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

did'nt really like it

I love maya banks books and had everone she written but for some real I didnt like this one .and i not sure why but i will buy the next one coming out, like i did the other series

posted by miladriven on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    I really enjoyed reading this! the writer created an amazing story that is full of passion and drama.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Blah ....

    This book could have been so much better , the premise was interesting, the book was not.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    did'nt really like it

    I love maya banks books and had everone she written but for some real I didnt like this one .and i not sure why but i will buy the next one coming out, like i did the other series

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Reptint......

    This is actually a reprint. One of the first books of hers I read long long ago. I am glad I loved it then or I would have been pissed that I had purchased it before. Why do they do that and not inform their readers?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Read it for the amazing title alone ;)

    First off I have to say I had a hard time swallowing the concept of a hidden pregnancy and amnesia. Bryony kept said pregnancy a secret because when Rafe left her island home he promised to come back to her. And Rafe never called, texted, or returned because he had amnesia. Rafe suffers from short-term amnesia, meaning he’s only forgotten the last 4 months or so of his life rather than the whole thing. Conveniently, the only space of time he’s known Bryony. Did I mention the amnesia occurred because of his plane crashing on his way back to New York from Bryony’s island home. No need to worry, mere months later Rafe only suffers from amnesia…no major physical injury attained during the PLANE CRASH.

    I think I’m torn because:

    A. This is actually not the weirdest romance plot I’ve ever come across…contemp or otherwise, so why can’t I let these dramatic plot points go?

    B. The author has a good base for a story. The character motivations are clear and understandable.

    I think for the amnesia to have worked for me the author needed to take it further. Rafe openly admits he thinks it’s a little ridiculous that he suffers from the ailment. But he fails to remember Bryony in any way. No smell recognition (perfume, hair, etc.), no touch recognition, no “feeling in the bones”, nothing. Yet, the author makes Rafe instantly protective of her. It just didn’t fit. You can’t say you have no connection to someone then play the “instinctively protective” card and the “no connection” card at the same time. Further, to start the book with a prologue of time on the island…or the plane crash…Bryony waiting by the phone. Giving the reader some basis for their relationship would have been extremely helpful from a plot point of view. I do realize that later in the book things turn out differently than we expect, but I still think a prologue could have been done.

    This lack of prepping the reader for major plot points continued throughout the book. It was as if the plot was nothing but major scenes with none of the downtime to develop emotions or deeper understanding of the characters. This disappointed me because in all honesty as wild as the plot sounds Banks really could have made it work. The plot points were there, character motivation was good she just didn’t have the finer details down.

    The strongest relationship in the whole book was Bryony and her grandmother. There was smooth dialogue and genuine warm feelings between the two. Rafe and Bryony were a rushed romance…which you think makes sense because of the whole amnesia thing…but then the ending kinda blows that theory out of the water and you’re left scratching your head as to how they fell in love so quickly…

    But…

    If I take this book with a grain of salt (as is my vow in this experiment) it was an easy evening of reading. At less than 200 pages I was on a roller coaster of pleasant trashiness. And one to be honest, I enjoyed enough to continue on with the series. It really is Banks’ ability to create a solid story idea – even if the execution fails a bit – that is deliciously trope filled. It’s like watching day-time reality tv. Pretty rough, but I dare you to look away.

    Rating: 2.5/5 You can’t possibly refuse a few short hours of your day to a title like Enticed by his Forgotten Lover…you know you gotta read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Love Maya Banks

    Maya Banks has another hit on her hands with this Harlequin series. The characters are great. The story line flows well. They're quick reads and you just want to get to know the rest of the characters she hints about. Definitely a recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love Maya Banks' books!

    This book was courtesy of NetGalley and Harlequin. "Have we met?" Answer: a right hook! Because Bryony Morgan pulls no punches. Even when she's very pregnant and facing down the father of her unborn child. She fell for wealthy hotelier Rafael de Luca when he courted her for her beachfront real estate. Then he disappeared. Now, she's in New York for answers-and she won't accept a brush-off. But selective amnesia after a crash has Rafael puzzled. How could he ever forget a combustible beauty like Bryony? Solution: return to the island where they met, and relive the unforgettable nights in question-until he remembers everything. I absolutely love this book. Of course I've never read anything by Maya Banks I didn't like. This is one of those short sweet feel good reads. Rafael does some of the best groveling I've read in a while! I adored the character of Bryony's grandmother, she was so cute and feisty. I highly recommend this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It held my interest all the way to the end!

    Review by Sarah L: When the heroine plants one on the hero (and I don't mean a kiss) in the first chapter you know it's going to be good. An engaging storyline and strong character development leads to a fast paced story that holds the reader's interest throughout.

    I felt a strong connection with both Rafe and Bryony. Their feelings are very evident. The author did a good job portraying the connection Rafe felt with Bryony even with his amnesia and the torment he went through when he did get his memories back. Little did Rafe know that his amnesia was actually giving him a second chance and he was becoming a much better man because of it.

    The author also did a good job setting us up for the next installment in the series, Wanted by Her Lost Love which is Ryan's story which I look forward to reading when it is released in November.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Quick read - Packed full of conflict!

    Please view full review at: readersedyn(dot)blogspot(dot)com

    Review:

    You'd think after the above dialogue everything would be hunky-dory between Rafe and Bryony, right? Not quite. Just when you think things may be on the brink of resolution, Banks yanks the HEA rug out from under the reader's . err . eyes. This HEA is not wrapped up pretty with a bow. Rafe and Bryony have only two options: work for a happy ending, or give up the possibility altogether and move on.

    Enticed by His Forgotten Lover is the first Maya Banks book I have read. I was unsure what to expect, having read many mixed reviews surrounding her different works. I began reading with a bit of caution, but soon found that there was no need. This book was pleasant and enjoyable despite the difficulty in reaching the HEA. Hey, difficult HEAs are not always a bad thing. This book is the first in the Pregnancy & Passion series and although a pregnancy is a key factor in the story, Banks was able to construct a story that did not revolve entirely around the baby. I am all for the baby/family angle, but there is such a thing as overkill. I never felt like Banks took the pregnancy angle too far.

    Rafael is a helluva piece of work. Not only does Bryony face constantly conflicting emotions where Rafe is concerned, the reader also journey's through a love/hate relationship with Rafe. Do we like him, is he just a victim, is he the ass that he is reputed to be, does he really want a future with Bryony, does he have an alternate motivation, what is his deal? These are the types of questions I was asking myself throughout the whole story. Bryony, on the other hand, may be just a bit too trusting. She finds herself between a rock and a hard place: wanting to trust Rafe, but wary of past hurts he has inflicted. I felt that both characters behaved in a believable manner and found myself relating to many of Bryony's dreams and responses.

    Overall, Enticed by His Forgotten Lover was an enjoyable quick read. Those of you who prefer to have the HEA handed to you on a platter may become frustrated with this book, but I still say it is worth the read. Some may dislike the amnesia aspect, and others may avoid baby angles to stories. However, I feel like Banks did a great job with all components tied together. I am fairly confident that many will find this book enjoyable even with a few possible red flags based on preference. The bottom line is that romance needs conflict to work and this book has plenty.

    (book won on Twitter contest hosted by author.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Loved it

    I love series like this...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not so good!

    Maya Banks have written better stories than this. it was quite a plain boring story line. it was also predictable. I did not feel the impact or was moved by the character. I guess I am just trying to compare it to the four other stories she wrote that moved me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Neko

    "Locked out."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Daisuie

    ?....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Great series!!

    Definately recommend this series. They are reprints so beware!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    I rarely regret buy a book but I do this one. Instead of a fun o

    I rarely regret buy a book but I do this one. Instead of a fun one night stands oops preggers read, I got super jerk of the year.




    This was no fun at all for me. I liked the first section where the hero needed to deal with the fact that he had memory loss and a woman who was expecting his child that he had no recall of meeting let alone impregnating. 




    And then...bleck...His before memory self is so jerky and why is the heroine so trusting of him. 




    I just couldn't engage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Ok

    Unbelievable! This was true fiction and lacked reality. Thats why its ok. I found myself skipping sevetal pages because the story dragged. At one point, i thought the island was going to have mystical creatutes or mermaids introduced. This book is for a 18 yr old because no real adults or real man would ...... read the book and you will see why its "ok."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    All Maya...

    I read all books Maya Banks but as for this one I just didn't really care for the story line. It read well and I don't think that there could have been anything to add to make it better... it just wasn't very high on my list of favs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Awesome

    Dderies is fascinating! Way to finish ! Buy! Buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Being better

    Liked theHEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6