Customer Reviews for

The Entitled: A Tale of Modern Baseball

Average Rating 3.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Not your everyday baseball story

If you're looking for something with exciting play-by-play, this is NOT the book for you.. If, on the other hand, you like a story that goes behind the scenes and searches out the inner workings of the characters, I think that you'll really enjoy "The Entitled."

I bo...
If you're looking for something with exciting play-by-play, this is NOT the book for you.. If, on the other hand, you like a story that goes behind the scenes and searches out the inner workings of the characters, I think that you'll really enjoy "The Entitled."

I bought this book because I am familiar with Mr DeFord's history with Sports Illustrated, and he uses his years as a sportswriter to craft a story that, like his magazine articles, I could not put it down until I reached the last page; then was more than a little disappointed that we weren't taken to the end of the season. (Read the book and find out just what I mean...)

posted by JPMAZ on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Then BUY one

If you don't like what Barnes & Noble GIVES you then buy something else.

posted by 17396064 on July 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Not your everyday baseball story

    If you're looking for something with exciting play-by-play, this is NOT the book for you.. If, on the other hand, you like a story that goes behind the scenes and searches out the inner workings of the characters, I think that you'll really enjoy "The Entitled."

    I bought this book because I am familiar with Mr DeFord's history with Sports Illustrated, and he uses his years as a sportswriter to craft a story that, like his magazine articles, I could not put it down until I reached the last page; then was more than a little disappointed that we weren't taken to the end of the season. (Read the book and find out just what I mean...)

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    This isn't a baseball book

    If you're looking for sparkling field play or dramatic at-bats, look elsewhere. There are better books for that found elsewhere. What this is about is human interactions, the privilege and entitlements we bestow upon our stars...whether they want them or not, and the courage it takes to sacrifice a life's works and dreams to do the right thing.
    Howie Traveler finds himself in the crux of a dilema. He sees something that he wishes he didn't and now must decide what to do about it. If he tells, he likely loses his job and career, as the manager of the Cleveland Indians. He would also tarnish the career of future Hall-of-Famer Jay Alcazar. Howie has sacrificed everything; his marriage, family, and personal relationships for baseball. His career as a player has been lackluster...he made the big leagues, but only briefly. He's bounced around from town to town in the minor leagues. Like many "almost was'," he eventually gets yhe opportunity to coach and manage and finds he's got a talent for it. After finally getting the chance to manage in the big leagues, he finds some success riding the back of Alcazar.
    Alcazar loves baseball and has an immense talent for the game. Thrust into the spotlight, he receives many of the rights and privileges that stars receive...prefered seating at restraunts, special treatment by management and lots of women. He doesn't necessarily want this, but neither does he turn it down. Jay is a Cuban immigrant, but has been raised since infancy, in luxury, by his aunt and uncle in Miami. As a young man of means, he decides to go to Cuba to find his mother and bring her to the U.S. What he finds there affects him deeply and he just isn't the same player the next season. Of course, Howie gets the blame for the poor performance and is on the verge of getting fired when the incident happens.
    This is an excellent book! There'a lot going on here and very little of it is actually about baseball. The author even includes topics for discussion by book clubs. I will say that a book club taking this on should probably include both males and females just for the differing perspectives. I hope you enjoy it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    barbieok

    I loved this Free Friday book. Some of the reviews weren't so good, but to me it was a very good book about people and also, about baseball. I would recommend it to anyone. Free or not.
    And for those who don't like the Free Friday books you can go out to B&N search and either enter free or 0.00 and get tons of free books and not just on Friday!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Yay

    We need Temple Run! Rate as good so we can get it on Nook!

    3 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    The Entitled

    This book is one of the best baseball books I've read. If you want action on baseball this is yours. And big thanks to B&N for putting this on free friday

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Yes

    Wonderfully entertaining even for someone NOT in love with baseball (like me). Well written with fleshed out characters that will grow on you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    A Great Novel, NOT Just A Sport's Novel

    A great novel, whether about whaling, love, war, or baseball, is really about the human heart...how someone meets the challenges of life.

    Baseball is much like life in general...failure is more likely than success...a hitter who fails 60% of the time will be on the All Star team.

    And this novel beats the odds...it bats 1.000 as both a great baseball story and a masterpiece of modern American fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Fhytbmru

    Bmti

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Entitled

    Very good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2