Customer Reviews for

Entwined (Eternal Guardians Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(222)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

I've never been a romance reader, but I am a sucker for Greek mythology. When BN offered MARKED (the first book in this series) as a Free Friday ebook, I was intrigued by the references to Heracles and the Underworld in the description. I figured I had nothing to lose...
I've never been a romance reader, but I am a sucker for Greek mythology. When BN offered MARKED (the first book in this series) as a Free Friday ebook, I was intrigued by the references to Heracles and the Underworld in the description. I figured I had nothing to lose.

Well, I have discovered a new author and series that have me hooked. MARKED was a good book, but ENTWINED was even better. Zander and Callia's story is beautiful. The emotions are palpable and the steam rises off the pages. Elisabeth Naughton definitely knows how to write about passion. The cliffhanger is great and I can't wait to read Isadora's story in the third book.

I hope Elisabeth has many more books intended for this series...I need my Argonaut fix!

posted by kpatt on August 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Heroes, demons and love

Zander has lived for a very long time, and fears that he will never die. He is a great guardian protecting a hidden world and half-breeds out in the human world. But he also feels that he has nothing to live for after his soul mate left. He is hurt deeply. And now demon...
Zander has lived for a very long time, and fears that he will never die. He is a great guardian protecting a hidden world and half-breeds out in the human world. But he also feels that he has nothing to live for after his soul mate left. He is hurt deeply. And now demons are hunting in the human world and the half-breed colonies are under attack as the goddess Atalanta is trying to take over. And she wants the guardians dead, together with the rest. But then he meets his soul mate again.

I liked the mythology in this one. Atalanta has taken twisted humans that turns into demons out of Hades. She attacks half-breeds, one parent human, the other Argolean who lived in this closed off realm. For protection they have the guardians who all are descended from the Argonauts. There is magic there and they live for a long time. And of course the Greek gods are all true. Now that I like.

Zander who is descendant from Achilles has lived for over 800 years and he is tired of it. He is protective, strong, and he loves deeply someone who turned away. Here we learn why. She, Callia is a healer, also very protective and strong. And I wonder what happened, but just gotta read on. They obviously want each other.

There is also a sidestory with a kid, Maximus who is in Atalanta's grip.

There is some ass-kicking, they do want to kick those demon butts back to the underworld. And then there is the troubled love affair between two people who love each other and are so angry at each other at the same time.

I shall not forget the court intrigues since the king is having trouble from the council and wants the princess to marry an Argonaut, and there again I wonder who it will be. It looks to be an interesting book 3, I assume she will be the heroine, and as for the man, well read on.

Cool side characters too, like what's the deal with Orpheus? He seems interesting, but do I trust him? In the end, an interesting paranormal romance.

posted by Blodeuedd on August 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I've never been a romance reader, but I am a sucker for Greek mythology. When BN offered MARKED (the first book in this series) as a Free Friday ebook, I was intrigued by the references to Heracles and the Underworld in the description. I figured I had nothing to lose.

    Well, I have discovered a new author and series that have me hooked. MARKED was a good book, but ENTWINED was even better. Zander and Callia's story is beautiful. The emotions are palpable and the steam rises off the pages. Elisabeth Naughton definitely knows how to write about passion. The cliffhanger is great and I can't wait to read Isadora's story in the third book.

    I hope Elisabeth has many more books intended for this series...I need my Argonaut fix!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    There are spoilers from the first in the series, Marked, in this

    There are spoilers from the first in the series, Marked, in this review.

    Entwined, the second in the Eternal Guardians series, focuses on Zander and the king’s healer, Callia. Turns out they have a history together that few knew about. After Isadora is dumped, not that she seemed to mind, by Theron so that he could marry his soul mate, and Isadora’s half-sister, Casey, the king is determined to marry her off to one of the Argonauts. His choice is the biggest and scariest (and that’s saying something) guardian, Demetrius, who promptly and not too nicely refuses. Zander, the guardian who’s rumored to be immortal, has met and lost his soul mate and, at over 800 years old, feeling like he has nothing to live for, shocks everyone by volunteering to be bound to Isadora.

    Atalanta, meanwhile, is training her son, Max, to become a cold killer, trying to make him forget his humanity so that he'll fight by her side in her quest for domination, revenge against the guardians and for being made mortal. She’s been sending daemons to the mortal realm to destroy the Misos, and the guardians have been trying to protect them. Because of this, Zander and Callia are forced together several times and clash over their shared past.

    I’m not going to go into what happened between Zander and Callia, that would be giving too much away, but I liked both characters and the fact that, unlike Theron and Casey in Marked, these two knew each other and had a lot of history between them, but weren’t together because of misunderstandings and lies.

    Theron and Casey are in it a little bit, and Isadora and Orpheus both have bigger roles. I still can’t decide if he’s an evil, self-serving jerk, but Orpheus certainly makes things more interesting and I can’t wait to see where his character is going. Isadora, who, when I first started reading Marked I thought would be a wimpy annoying character, has turned into one that I like and really want to stop getting dumped and the short end of the stick. Seems like that might (hopefully) happen in the next book, Tempted, which I can't wait to read. I also like how Naughton gives us a little more insight into each of the Argonauts, making me look forward to reading more about each of them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. Not happy I have to wait so long for the next one to come out. Really good books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    A really good read.

    Kept me up reading all three books night after night.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This series is incredible!

    I picked up the first book in this series when it was a free book on Friday and I am glad I did because this book, the second in the series, was totally engrossing. It's not very often that a book pulls on my heart and actually brings tears to my eyes. I loved the ending and so will you! Start this series from the beginning...it is great!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    BETTER AND BETTER

    As you continue to read the next one in the series they keep getting better than the last one, just finished Entwined and now moving onto Tempted, it's 3:24 am can't sleep might as well keep reading, looking forward to reading Enraptured when it comes out April 3rd

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended!!

    Great read, hard to put down and you'll find yourself eager to turn that page to see what happends next, well worth the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend for paranormal romance readers

    Elisabeth Naughton is a relatively new author with a total of 2 books out right now. Based on this book and the prequel to it, I will definitely read anything else that she puts out. Great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book

    I was suprised to find this second book in the series was just as good as the first. I loved it,simply loved it. i can't wait to get my hands on the next one. I need a when on the third book coming out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Zander’s in the spotlight this go-round as he struggles wi

    Zander’s in the spotlight this go-round as he struggles with what it means to be immortal and perfecting his “a**-hole-y-ness”. Ms. Naughton took a huge risk is having the hero treat the heroine so badly and bring him back full circle to be the hero Callia deserves and a guardian worthy of this nascent series.

    Ten years ago Zander & Callia had an affair that resulted in hurt feelings all around and a 10year cleansing for her. During all this time they could barely stand to be in the same room believing the other to be unfaithful and untrustworthy. Neither entertained the possibility of the political intrigue or their own parts in a play directed by someone else leading them to their present circumstances.

    These obstacles and more contribute to how well Zander & Callia characters were drawn and how layered their story actually turned out to be. This book made me more anxious for the book that will feature Isadore because she is certainly more than a peripheral player in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Well written!

    This is a great book for rainy days, snowy days, long airline travel, the beach, etc. The story had lots of twists and turns from beginning to end. Thus far, I've read three books in this series and this one is my favorite, mainly because it kept me guessing even until the end of the story. I still find myself wondering and am inticipating reading the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent series.

    Excellent series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    awesome series

    Couldnt put it down, now onto the third!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Great series!

    Love the series can't wait for the next to come out! All the characters are different! Some ypu love and orgers you just love to hate!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!

    CAN'T WAIT TILL THE NEXT BOOK!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    not as good as 1st one, but good however

    I read her 1st book & couldn't put it down! This was pretty good, too. I enjoyed finding out more about the long lost son & what will happen next with Isadora.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heroes, demons and love

    Zander has lived for a very long time, and fears that he will never die. He is a great guardian protecting a hidden world and half-breeds out in the human world. But he also feels that he has nothing to live for after his soul mate left. He is hurt deeply. And now demons are hunting in the human world and the half-breed colonies are under attack as the goddess Atalanta is trying to take over. And she wants the guardians dead, together with the rest. But then he meets his soul mate again.

    I liked the mythology in this one. Atalanta has taken twisted humans that turns into demons out of Hades. She attacks half-breeds, one parent human, the other Argolean who lived in this closed off realm. For protection they have the guardians who all are descended from the Argonauts. There is magic there and they live for a long time. And of course the Greek gods are all true. Now that I like.

    Zander who is descendant from Achilles has lived for over 800 years and he is tired of it. He is protective, strong, and he loves deeply someone who turned away. Here we learn why. She, Callia is a healer, also very protective and strong. And I wonder what happened, but just gotta read on. They obviously want each other.

    There is also a sidestory with a kid, Maximus who is in Atalanta's grip.

    There is some ass-kicking, they do want to kick those demon butts back to the underworld. And then there is the troubled love affair between two people who love each other and are so angry at each other at the same time.

    I shall not forget the court intrigues since the king is having trouble from the council and wants the princess to marry an Argonaut, and there again I wonder who it will be. It looks to be an interesting book 3, I assume she will be the heroine, and as for the man, well read on.

    Cool side characters too, like what's the deal with Orpheus? He seems interesting, but do I trust him? In the end, an interesting paranormal romance.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2015

    Hello

    A 24 chapter free story and the second in the series of an eternal Argonaut of Achilles line who finds his long life empty, and the healer he once loved in a paranormal tale of alternate existences, heroes, evil, daemons, and romance. Adult language and adult sex scenes.
    This book shows as being over 600 pages long, but the additional pages are due to Nook scanning error in counting pages.
    An excerpt of next in series is also provided.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    Super duper hot!

    So freaking good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2015

    This is the second book in the Eternal Guardians series. I loved

    This is the second book in the Eternal Guardians series. I loved it!

    Zander is an interesting character. I really liked him, but he has a serious issue with self-pity at first, which I found a bit off putting for a hero. He is one of the oldest of the Argonaughts and, as he is from Achilles bloodline, believes himself to be immortal. Nevertheless, as the story progresses, he pulls his head out of his you-know-what and is actually a great person to know, who realises that everyone has their weakness and his happens to be his soul mate.

    Callia is a wonderful character. She is the King's physician and has the power to heal. I really liked this strong willed woman. She has had to endure a lot over the last ten years, but her spirit has not been broken. But when Zander volunteers to marry Isadora, her world comes crashing down around her ears.

    This story is another roller coaster ride, full of action, adventure and danger. Adalanta is busy preparing her demons for war with the Argonaughts, and has a secret weapon in her arsenal, though he's not very willing. This secret weapon is a young boy by the name of Max, who is ten years old. I really liked Max. He is a very resourceful young man, who has had to endure years of abuse and cruelty at the hands of Adalanta, and has had to do some terrible things to survive. His courage and determination to escape his "Mataras" to find his real mother had me cheering him on. Callia also finds out a secret about herself which, although it surprised her, didn't really surprise me. But it made me look at the King in a slightly different light! 

    As the story progressed, I fell in love with all of the Argonaught warriors, and the story in general. This is a fast paced, action packed adventure from beginning to end.
    As I said in my review for Marked, "This story is mostly a typical paranormal romance, with lots of action and danger mixed in. However, there are several twists and turns that keep one guessing at what is really going on.", but after listening to this story I realised that there is a bigger story arc within each storyline, and I am looking forward to finding out what that story arc will reveal. One thing I will say about this story (and series) is the world building is excellent. The characters are well developed and extremely lifelike. I have always been intrigued with Greek gods and their offspring such as Hercules, whose exploits became legend (or are they myth?) over time. So reading about his descendants, who were with Jason on his voyage for the Golden Fleece, excites me. I am also a huge sucker for paranormal romances in general, so I am looking forward to continuing with this series and I will (hopefully) get to read/listen to Tempted as soon as I can.

    Elisabeth Naughton has written an exciting paranormal romance series. I love her fast paced writing style and the flow is wonderful. I will be continuing to read this series, but I do have one of her romantic suspense novels sitting on my Kindle, which I hope to now read in the near future too!

    Due to scenes of a sexual nature that are on the explicit side, I do not recommend this book for younger readers. However, I highly recommend this book if you love erotic paranormal romances. - Lynn Worton

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21