Customer Reviews for

Entwined

Average Rating 4.5
( 826 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I love reading this book. I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, believably written story.

posted by laura24 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Good 3.5 stars

A little slow but really good. Worth reading

posted by 8956939 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Good

    A bit predictable, but a sweet read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Overall good Goo Overall good book:)

    I enjoyed reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Beautiful literature

    Very thrilling
    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    cool

    This book was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    "There were twelve dancing princesses," he whispered.

    "There were twelve dancing princesses," he whispered. "And their little hearts were broken. But one day, they found a magical land of silver and music, where they could dance and forget all their troubles. But, alas! All things do not last forever. There was a debt to be paid..."

    In this re-telling of the Grimm tale "The Twelve Dancing Princesses," Azalea and her eleven sisters are crushed by the death of their mother and the year-long period of mourning which follows, forbidding them from leaving their castle, wearing anything but black, or dancing -- their absolute favorite past time. Searching for a place to forget their troubles, they stumble across a magical passageway that leads to a silver forest where the Keeper oversees a beautiful pavilion where they can dance every night until their slippers wear out. They soon come to realize, though, that the Keeper's motives aren't all noble, and their secret dancing has put them all in danger.

    I have a penchant for new re-tellings of classic stories; I love when you can take an old tale, one that people already know, and tweak and twist it, giving it new life and re-imagining it to really get a refreshing new feel for the characters, their motives, and their struggles. This is one that I really enjoyed. The sisters and their relationship had an adorable, Little Women-type vibe, peppered with some refreshing wit and sisterly banter; and the romances the elder ones experienced followed suit, being, simply put, sweet. With a touch of magic, it seemed that almost anything was possible, yet it was rare enough that the characters had to use their own courage and cleverness as well, instead of just relying on it to solve all their problems.

    Yes, the character names were a bit silly (all twelve sisters were named alphabetically after plants, starting with Azalea and Bramble, all the way through to Lily), but it made it easy to remember who was who in birth order. And, yes, there are a LOT of dancing references and descriptions that I couldn't really relate to, but since dancing was so essential to the story, it was understandable. And, yes, the pacing may be a bit slow for some and others may complain about some of the silly/sugary-sweet things the sisters do, but personally, I thought it was overall a really cute, sweet, refreshingly clean read.

    Overall: Little Women - meets - the Brothers Grimm in this magical retelling of "The Twelve Dancing Princesses."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Amazing!

    This book was overall amazing, and i enjoyed a lot. But some parts were hard to get through because they were a litte bit boring, and it sometimes to awhile to get to the point in some chapters. Also some chapters and events weren't nesscary at all. Not all of the sisters were really introduced much, and it isn't really explained how the Keeper was orginally the king and how he was stuck there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Good read.

    Original and fun, with an homage to classic fairy tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Great book!

    If you love magic and action and romance you will love this book! Got a little alow in the middke but the ending makes up for it! I would reccomend reading this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great book

    Not your average fairytale story
    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Worth it

    Great book! It was a lot better than I thought it was going to be and Im usually not big on fantasy books


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Entwined

    Pretty good, but a little choppy and slow. Dark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book. Would like to see a sequel.

    Good book. Would like to see a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great story, well written, fun read!

    Interesting spin on a classic, with a lot of detail. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Good book

    Very good book with a satisfying ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Ummmmm

    Was it as good as the unearthly series? I have the book but i dont know if i should read it, please tell!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Very unique!

    I really enjoyed this twist on a classic fairy tale. It was fresh and interesting and well written. I'll look for more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Thumbs up

    I liked this re-telling of this classic fairytale. The dark twists and subplots were intriguing. Have recommended this for my sisters' book group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    :)

    It was a wonderful and creative read. The author used all the components of the story of the twelve dancing princesses but still manages to make it her own. Once you pick this book up you can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great read!

    Tgis was a great book! I was completely drawn in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed this re-telling of the twelve dancing princes

    Thoroughly enjoyed this re-telling of the twelve dancing princesses. Though long, it never dragged for me. It's a book I will read again sometime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10