Customer Reviews for

Entwined

Average Rating 4.5
( 834 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(516)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

I love reading this book. I was instantly immersed into this fantastic, believably written story.

posted by laura24 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Good 3.5 stars

A little slow but really good. Worth reading

posted by 8956939 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 516 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!

    I really loved this book. I just could not put it down. All girls should read it. I will be looking for more books by Heather dixon for sure! Read it!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!

    This is one of those books I COULD NOT put down!!! At first, I found the story a bit slow, but after a few chapters it is completely captivating!!!! I am a grimm's fairy tale finnatic, and the Twelve Dancing Princesses is one of my favorites, and this version is the BEST ever told. I would recomend this book to ANYONE!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love it!!!

    This book is now officially on my Favorite list!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    This is a wonderful twist from the boing vampire books that are out. Really puts you into the book as if your right there with the princesses!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great

    Lol i just love the name missy. Someone at my school is called that name. Lol sorry im easy to get sidetracked...
    Well this book was a great read for .99 cents...
    Loved the plot

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great book

    I really liked this book and loved reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. There were many great elements in this book that drove you to read it faster and faster. The message behind the whole book is breathtaking. Once I began reading it, I was entwined to read the book, never to stop.

    The story line of the book had me hooked. After losing a precious family member Azalea and her other sisters are confined to mourning. They are not allowed to do the one thing that reminds them of the lost loved one. The sisters find solace in a magical world hidden in a secret passageway. I can't begin to tell you what a gorgeous book this is. Simply magical and very entertaining, Entwined is a book you must read.

    The characters of the book have some major growth that I enjoyed reading! It is a growth not in one character but in all of them. Ms. Dixon's writing flows you along with the story, as if you are in it. The magical realm Ms. Dixon created along with Keeper, is a place I would want to dance forever. This is a re-make of the original Twelve Dancing Princess. I have not read that book but after reading this one, I will definitely go pick it up.

    The love behind the family, especially how it ended left me in tears. Such a pure love, between everyone gave hope for the family to be whole once again. I adored the King and the change that happen in him. His love for his children, and the way the girls handled everything with great maturity is fantastic. These girls also had some fire in them that made me laugh in some parts.

    This book is absolutely beautiful and amazing. Simply wonderful for anyone who wants an out of this world, magical read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An AMAZING take on a classic story

    The cover was the first thing to draw me in. Look at the pretty vines,castle, and dress! It gave only a little dose at to what this book held in stores. The characters were so unique that I was able to remember the names of the 12 girls and others introduced. If you pay close attention, you will be able to see who might end up with who, but lets just say (cause I won't spoil it!) things really did end in a way I never expected, but trust me...everything you will love it if you are a fan of fantical parties and the ever present dreaming world ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Azeala,Bramble,Clover,Delphinium,Eve,Flora ect. ect.

    I loved this book! People say that it is boring but its not! I have to admit it has one flaw though, it can be a little creepy at times. I wish i could give this book four and a hakf stars, but sadly,I cant. This book was so unpredictable! I had no Idea that ________ was actually _________!
    (Read the book to find out the blanks)
    Anyway, I was so suprised! Azealea is awesome and I love her andher sisters. They are so kind to each other and I love that! ABSOLUTLY FAB BOOK! A MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    ENTWINED

    I absolutely LOVE this book! It is my favorite book. It is exciting, its a fairytale, and has a mystery sort of thing, a reallly good combination and a great read! It is an amazing book to read, and i reccomend it to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    I don't know where to even begin, no book has made me so happy, so sad, and even a little frightened. I loved this book the moment I read the first page. I recommend this book for anyone to read any day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Your fav nerd

    I love this book it is kind of like the twelve dancing princesses but like a zillion times better. Aza is my favorite person on this book. The keeper is my least favorite he is so creepy and scary. I knew he was trouble when he first poped up in the book he is so scary. Why does aza not slap him because there was sevral times i wanted to. Anyway this is one of my favorite books. I totaly recomend it to anyone that can read or knows someone that can read. :)
    Peace this nerd out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

    I love entwined soooo much. I hope heather makes another book about azalea. But my favorite is Bramble. I kept reading her parts for more than an hour. My mom is super angry at me now. Bye!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    I will read this book over and over again i loved it they should make a movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book was amazing! I hope to see more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - get it as quick as you can!

    Where do I even start? This book was amazing! Heather Dixon, has done an amazing story of retelling the fairytale of the twelve dancing princesses. The story opens with Azalea, the oldest of the princesses and all of them named for flowers/plants, getting ready for her first ball. Her mother has not been well, so she will serve as hostess. Her mother calls her to her room so that she can visit with her, which leaves Azalea even more worried about her pregnant mother. She tells the king, her father, about her concerns. During the evening and the ball, her mother passes away, leaving Azalea in charge of all of her sisters, including newborn Lily. The castle is forced into mourning, which for the girls means no dancing. Dancing is what they loved to do most with mother and they feel they have lost her more than ever. The king goes off to war leaving the girls alone.

    Azalea continues to find ways to defy the mourning rules and her father, whom the girls feel does not even care that they are there. Led to a secret and magical area of the palace, the girls meet Mr. Keeper, who earns the attraction of Azalea. Is he as perfect as he seems? Is the place as wonderful as what it seems? And then there is Captain Bradford, who would make a perfect king for the country. But will he make her a perfect husband? Who will she choose, or rather who will choose her? And will any of them survive the darkness that overtakes the palace?

    This is a wonderful story that you can get lost in. I giggled, I cried, I mourned with the princesses. This is a wonderful, magical read that you should race right out and get!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Leave feeling entwined in Entwined

    In a world recovering from sick majic and a wicked ruler, Azalea and her eleven younger sisters live the lives of poor princesses. While sill in morning for their late mother, what the girls want most is to dance. The twelve princesses feel freed from the pain of their mother's death when they dance together. When they find a small pocket of majic in their otherwise drab bedroom, the girls are enthralled to escape and dance. As the girls dance into happiness, a dark being is at work, reminding the girls that everything isn't quite what it seems.

    From the first look at the summary of Entwined, I knew this was the book for me. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys palace intrigue especially because all of the aspects of a fairytale -including the gowns, the gentlemen, and the startling villian- are in this book. I reccomend this book to the fairytale-lover in all of us!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Book!

    Azalea is the oldest of twelve daughters of the King, which means it will soon be time for her to choose a mate and future King. But when her mother passes away, the palace goes into mourning for a full year, and all balls and parties cease. For Azalea and her sisters, this is the worst possible thing that can happen, as dancing is the only thing that can keep their spirits alive. Then Azalea discovers a hidden forest within the palace, that is run by a handsome gentleman who calls himself The Keeper. Here, the princesses can dance to their heart's content. As time goes on, however, Azalea begins to notice a more sinister side to Keeper. With her life spinning out of control, Azalea must find the courage in herself to do the right thing.

    Entwined is a beautiful book, plain and simple. I couldn't stop myself from falling deeply into the lush atmosphere. The language and writing style was soft with details but rich with colors. Heather Dixon was brilliant in her descriptions of the hidden forest, with some imagery sure to linger in the minds of readers long after the book is finished. Azalea was a tremendously powerful character, with her thoughts and actions completely justified and intelligent. The King was also written very well, and I was pleased to see him prominently penned into the plot. This book was not only a fabulous retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, but it was also a tender story of a father struggling to care for his daughters. At over 450 pages, this read felt quick. I personally could not put it down for anything, except maybe to Google a few of the dances listed inside. Especially the romantic Entwine! Heather Dixon instantly became a favorite author, and I look forward to reading more from her!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Lovely

    A great retelling of a fun story. It is much different than the original story. I was surprised by the review that said it was the same and needed to be changed a lot. It is a fun read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for Teens Read Too

    On Christmas Day, Azalea's mother passes away and the whole country begins a year of mourning. During that time, Azalea and her eleven sisters have to wear black, stay inside the castle, aren't allowed to dance, and their father has grown distant and ignores them. Desperate for some grasp at their former life, the girls begin dancing in secret. When they get caught by their father, however, they search for another location. When they discover a magic passage to a place ran by the Keeper, they are thrilled to be invited back every night to dance if they so desire. When the Keeper starts becoming cruel and violent and demanding that Azalea find the magic object to free him, things become desperate for the princesses. To make matters worse, the king finds out about their evening dancing and puts out an advertisement asking single, eligible males who think they can solve the riddle of the princesses' evening excursions to come and give it a shot. Will the princesses find a way to stop the Keeper? Will they be able to mend their broken family? A retelling of the fairy tale, THE TWELVE DANCING PRINCESSES, this touching, entertaining version will delight fans of Jessica Day George, Mette Ivie Harrison, Gail Carson Levine, Cameron Dokey, and other fairy tale re-tellers for older readers. The characters are well-developed, and the plot does a great job of holding the reader's interest. Those who like fantasy, adventure, romance, and comedy will all enjoy reading ENTWINED.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 516 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 26