Customer Reviews for

Envy (Luxe Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 316 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Omigosh ok this is for people who already read the book

ok i love this book! it is the best and most well written book i have ever read. Im so excited about Elizabeth's baby. But she had to marry Snowden. I wonder how old he is. Eww. And she has to pretend to have his baby. Ugh. Im so sad that Teddy went to war. Teddy ...
ok i love this book! it is the best and most well written book i have ever read. Im so excited about Elizabeth's baby. But she had to marry Snowden. I wonder how old he is. Eww. And she has to pretend to have his baby. Ugh. Im so sad that Teddy went to war. Teddy is amazing. Im also sad that Henry went to war. By the way its the Spanish American War going on. i love the letter he wrote to Diana. Awww. OK so lina or carolina is so annoying. She doesnt deserve Longhorn's money. Shes just selfish. Dont fall for it Leland. (What kind of name is Leland or Snowden?!) Penelope just go ruin everyone's life will you!? Oh BOO HOO henry's leaving you. Well you deserve it! Youre evil... Her main purpose in life is to ruin other people's lives, right? I am very very excited that Diana is going to pretend to be a male and go to war. How's it going to look when a Holland disappears AGAIN? Well this book is amazing. Respond to this statement because Im DYING to talk to someone about it. My friend's taking to long to read it. :D ha. Well Splendor is coming out in October according to my sources. I hope they are wrong and it comes out earlier. PLEASE READ THIS!!!

posted by 1015477 on February 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Angieville: ENVY

Third Luxe book and my favorite cover to date. Could just be that it's Diana on the cover and she's my favorite character...but I really like the dress. Actually, this is my favorite book of the three as well. And I really wasn't sure it would be. What with Henry and Pe...
Third Luxe book and my favorite cover to date. Could just be that it's Diana on the cover and she's my favorite character...but I really like the dress. Actually, this is my favorite book of the three as well. And I really wasn't sure it would be. What with Henry and Penelope being...shudder. But this one seemed the most real. People grew up and, in a couple of notable cases, grew spines. Whether or not it will all be too little too late remains to be seen. The fourth (and final) Luxe book, SPLENDOR, is due out in October and will hopefully settle a few things satisfactorily.

ENVY begins just a couple of months after the disastrous conclusion to RUMORS. Elizabeth is inexplicably back on the scene, but not really there. Diana is floating through a fog of numb and trying to rise above the crushing blows that keep coming her way. Ditto for Henry. Lina is capitalizing on all her success and makes a surprisingly apt romantic choice. And Penelope is Penelope. You just want someone to stash her in a broom closet for Two Seconds so everyone else can take a deep breath and perhaps hatch a plan to put her in her place once and for all. And amid all this, everyone manages to sweep off on a trip to Palm Beach where much of the book takes place.

I liked the change of scenery in this one. Putting everyone together in a Florida beach hotel for several days on end forced them all to interact despite the myriad tensions criss crossing between them. It also provided several quiet moments in which several characters reflected on how they ended up in the nasty mess they're in. It was nice to see some talk of doing the right thing at the cost of short-term (even long-term) happiness. Though I do hope happiness is in the cards for the most deserving (read: Teddy, Elizabeth, Diana, Henry). I liked this one best because it seemed the most natural. Every single character, at one point or another, was able to see beyond themselves for a moment to the people around them. I hope they remember what the view was like. This continues to be a diverting series and I look forward to its conclusion.

posted by Angieville on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    It's 1900 in New York, and scandal and gossip are never far behind.

    Elizabeth Holland is back and everyone is awaiting her re-entrance into society. But things are not as they seem in No. 17 Gramercy Park. Elizabeth and her sister, Diana, are both grieving the loss of their loved ones. When the sisters are invited along on a trip to Florida by the newly married Schoonmakers, they decide this is the perfect escape.

    Penelope Schoonmaker isn't pleased to invite the woman her husband is in love with along on her trip, but she knows she must keep her enemies close if she's ever going to get what she wants.

    Carolina Broad is climbing high in society, but her place is not secure and her newfound fame and fortune could disappear any moment.

    I've been addicted to the LUXE series since it began, and ENVY continues to add more gossip and scandal to the story. I thought the twists and turns in ENVY moved the story along quicker than the previous two stories. I loved that the author moved a lot of the action to Florida - it added new scenery and lots of fun situations. There were many times I told myself "just one more chapter" because I needed to know what would happen next.

    Each chapter tells a part of the story from a different character and I found myself enjoying each storyline this time around. Yes, I still wanted to yell at Penelope, would get annoyed at Carolina's social climbing, and tell Diana not to make so many assumptions, but I think that's part of the fun of the series.

    Anna Godbersen does such a great job at getting the readers involved in the characters that you can't help but cheer them on, or even root against them. I also thought there were some characters this time around who got stronger and started to stand up for themselves, so I'm eager to see where they end up.

    I will be first in line to get my hands on a copy of SPLENDOR, the next book in the LUXE series, when it's released.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    I'm only in the 5th grade, only 10 years old, yet I absolutely a

    I'm only in the 5th grade, only 10 years old, yet I absolutely adored this book. Each page was beautifully adorned with glamorous details and excellent emotions for all of the characters. It mostly is about Penelope's forced marriage with Henry Schoonmaker. Diana, at first, doesn't want a thing to do with Henry, until he finally tells her at the luncheon about his true desires and intentions. Later, she finds him making love to Penelope on a balcony (he was drunk) and decides she no longer loves him. He sends her a letter in the end, saying he went into the army, making her cut off her hair. I didn't really love it 100%, it got really fake for me. I just can't believe the abortion thing...no spoilers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!

    This book is very good but also sad and upsetting at times somtimes i just think she got tired of writing and the characters do things that makes you wonder if you really know them at all but the front cover dress is my favorite out of the entire luxe series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    amazing

    this book was great! the ending was very well thought out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Wonderful Read

    This book was so good! The the perfect mix of rigid social classes and romance. Excellent. I would not recommend this book for a child under 13, though. Some content may push the border of modesty and appropriateness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could be better!!

    It is my opinion that this author does not believe in a happy ending to anything. I just don't understand. I thought this was supposed to be a teen romance??? Well I'm sorry to say its really not what I expected. Yes the characters grew and became more themselves in this book and I will say it was vastly more interesting than the last two but come on.. I don't think I'm going to like the last book from what everyone has reviewed on it. And I might not even read it for a while. I just don't know how this can be a good series about romance even for teens, when no-one is happy! It's just so sad! Poor Henry and Diana! And Elizabeth. I feel so utterly sorry for everyone. But Penny got what she deserved in this one. And hopefully it stays that way in Splendor, I will have to wait and see bc I'm reading something w/ a happy ending now thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Follow-up to previous 2 novels pulls in unexpected directions...disappoints.

    The drama created by Ana Godbersen in the Luxe series is what keeps you from puting the books down, yet in this, the third installment, the way her unforgettable characters handle their trials seems like it could go in several directions, and never goes in the direction the reader wants. Surprises at the turn of every page are fizzled by conclusions that leave the reader feeling somewhat cheated. Hopefully things are continued in the final novel so that they bring closure and some optimism for the further lives of the characters the reader has grown to love like friends of their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Addicting!

    I agree with those who say that this is the best so far in the series. I couldn't put this one down. I felt so sorry for Elizabeth, but good was so glad to see the author took it in the direction she did as far as her character goes. I'm also hoping things work out some how for Diana and Henry. I've enjoyed watching their characters grow and change. While I still think Penelope is a witch, I was beginning to feel sorry for her towards the end of the book. I'm not sure how I feel about that. I can't wait for the final book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book in Series

    This is by far the best book in the series. I want to know what happens!! Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Great book as usual

    This book is following an excellent and romantic series written by a very intelligent author. You should read this series. I'm left wundering and excited for the next book Splendor-ending this wonderful series. Read this book, mainly for girls I must recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but slightly predictable

    This series of books is fun to read, but there isn't a lot of suspense since the first book, Luxe. I have enjoyed all of them but feel that the characters and plot could be a bit more involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    I liked this book much better than the second in the series. The characters seem to grow up more and it was fun that they got out of New York and travel. I almost did not read this one because of how much I hated the end of Rumors, but I am glad that I did. Diana is more the central character now than Elizabeth. Diana makes things more fun. I can't wait for the fourth book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ...just ok

    usually i'm able to read books in a short period of time because of what i like. but this book was pretty slow for me but the book overall was good. penelope i personally dont like but this book made her seem whiny and almost child-like. she was immature at some points but whatever. Elizebeth's story is my fav...even though having Will alive is what i would like, she's still my main interest. the two books before Envy was good and a can't-put-it-down. i just hope the next one will be better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    It was good.

    Envy left me feeling good about the story so far. It was better than the second one, but some parts strayed from the story. i like how they added a lot of the possibilities when Elizabeth learns of her problem. It wasnt all about social things. I really felt like i was learning more about the characters. It was a good book and Im excited for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!!

    This Book was amazing and also sad but i cant wait for the very last book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    This book was pretty good. I don't think that it was as good as the first one, though. Some parts of the plot just seemed too unrealistic at times. The characters actions are meant to show what they are willing to do for appearances, but some of the new problems are too hard to believe. Penelope becomes too desperate when it comes to Henry. Normally, I don't like Penelope but she is still a good character. She is cunning and always one step ahead of everyone else, and does what she has to to stay on top of the social ladder. But in this book, she becomes whiny and a bit pathertic when she doesn't get what she wants. However, despite a few complaints, I still liked this book. This series has so many twists and turns it keeps the reader anticipating what will happen next. Besides, if it wasn't at least a little unrealistic, it wouldn't be fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Could be better

    The book was quite interesting, but I felt like it was a slow moving book and nothing very interesting happened until the end, I love this series though and I do recommend the book I just wish more could've happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    Excellent!!! Bravo!!!!

    This book is a great addition to the others that have already come, it not only continues with the heart ponding events, but it takes it farther, always keeping you craving for more. Read this book, you won't regret it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Yet!

    If you love the last two you will be absolutely enthralled with this one. I usually hate book series that just seem to keep going for the sake of making money, but with this series it's totally worth the wait and I do feel that eventually there will be a very satisfying end for all the beloved characters, even for the unbeloved characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5