Customer Reviews for

Eon

Average Rating 4.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and fam

EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and familiar Asian-inspired world where dragons are essential to maintaining peace, balance and harmony.

I applaud the efforts of Goodman to cast her heroine as a cripple. She does a lovely job of keeping faith ...
EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and familiar Asian-inspired world where dragons are essential to maintaining peace, balance and harmony.

I applaud the efforts of Goodman to cast her heroine as a cripple. She does a lovely job of keeping faith with the difficulties of being lame without it feeling forced. I also enjoyed the edgy quality that carried the flavor of Tamora Pierce. The topics explored are definitely for an older YA audience and I'm sure many adults looking for a good yarn will enjoy this story.

Do not expect to be amazed by a brilliant, new writing style or concept. While Goodman does a compelling job of telling Eon's story, and excels in keeping a predictable story entertaining and interesting, the story has been told before, many, many times. She does a creditable job of creating a believable world with strong Asian connections with her own style.

Above all, this is a story of a girl, masquerading as a boy, learning to be true to herself. If you enjoy Tamora Pierce's Alanna stories, tales of dragons, Asian lore and culture - I am sure you will enjoy EON and EONA.

posted by BasiGirl on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I was really disappointed by this book. It has such a promising

I was really disappointed by this book. It has such a promising and unique plot, but the heroine was such a let down. I'm all for the main character having flaws (it makes them more personable), but I don't ever like being disappointed in their morals. (**Spoiler Aler...
I was really disappointed by this book. It has such a promising and unique plot, but the heroine was such a let down. I'm all for the main character having flaws (it makes them more personable), but I don't ever like being disappointed in their morals. (**Spoiler Alert: She does drugs)

I also thought the built up tension of finding the dragon's name was UNBEARABLE! I almost had to stop reading the book. The tension lasted way too long for my taste, and I was ready for the plot to move along!

posted by ashleyann120 on April 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Good

    Not the best not the worst

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    GOOD

    I wish they explabed things a little but better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Good overall but

    I didn't quite like the middle since the mystery was taken out of it by my mind(takes all information in, peices it together as I go). Spoiler alert: I knew the mirror took females only.other than that, some suggestive themes I noticed were her doing drugs, well described corpses, language innapropriate for youth, and rape attempts by Ido. I find this book to be for mature audiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Hh

    Hi age 78 very good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    TO ALL

    MOVING TO COBALT

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Swirlfur

    I do!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    This one's different.....

    This was a good book overall. Like some of the previous reviews said, " im sick of the vampire and wearwolf books." I too agree that the dragon idea was cool and different. Wasn't the greatest of all books but a very good read! I'm glad i read it!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I will stick around for the sequel

    At first i didn't really understand what was going on but after a while i got used to the flow and the author's style. Eona is definitely one of those characters that make you want to scream on top of your lungs and help her out. She made many mistakes and started out as a flawed character. I'm happy to say that throughout the book she kind of grew up and took matter into her own hands. Eona is not a damsel in distress, she is a fighter and always will be! I'm sticking for the sequel just to see how it all turns out. I recommend this book to anyone who has patience, you'll need it all because this book will answer all your questions in the very last chapter! Seriously!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Get this book!!!

    Awesome read! Cant wait to read more of goodmans work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Enjoyable - Leaves you wanting more!

    SYNOPSIS: Eon is a girl pretending to be a boy, training to be a candidate to be chosen by the Rat Dragon as an apprentice Dragoneye. (All of this is explained very well within the first couple chapters of the book..so if you're confused, don't worry.) During the ceremony, he is not chosen by the Rat Dragon, but just as the ceremony comes to an end, the Mirror Dragon, the dragon that has been missing for over 500 years, suddenly appears and chooses Eon as it's Dragoneye. Eon taken from the status of a servant boy and moved straight up to a Lord, second only to royalty, and also into the fragile state of affairs. There are uprisings, and a prince who has his sights set on the throne.

    REVIEW: Wow. There is just so much wrapped up into this book! I loved Eon (Eona's) character, even if every now and though I thought she was blind to what was staring her right in the face. The characters were very strong, and for once there was no doubt about who was whom, no one suddenly switching sides or saying they were someone they weren't. Those who were bad and evil were obvious, and those who were good stayed that way. I'm very excited to get the next book, Eona, oddly enough this was the book that caught my eye and starting the series. Something about the cover just drawled me to it. While this is not a romance book at all, there were some semi-sensual parts in it (although, you had to be paying attention). Part of me hopes for a little bit more in the future.

    At points, especially in the beginning, the book seemed to drag on. As mentioned, there are a lot of details, and they were important to the book, thus necessary. It just, I really wanted to get to some action, and it just wasn't happening.

    Nancy Wu did pretty well as the narrator. While not the best I've ever heard, the story was told very well and it was easy to distinguish between characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    love this book <3

    A must read for anyone who loves novels with dragons and amazing heroins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2