Customer Reviews for

Eon

Average Rating 4.5
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and fam

EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and familiar Asian-inspired world where dragons are essential to maintaining peace, balance and harmony.

I applaud the efforts of Goodman to cast her heroine as a cripple. She does a lovely job of keeping faith ...
EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and familiar Asian-inspired world where dragons are essential to maintaining peace, balance and harmony.

I applaud the efforts of Goodman to cast her heroine as a cripple. She does a lovely job of keeping faith with the difficulties of being lame without it feeling forced. I also enjoyed the edgy quality that carried the flavor of Tamora Pierce. The topics explored are definitely for an older YA audience and I'm sure many adults looking for a good yarn will enjoy this story.

Do not expect to be amazed by a brilliant, new writing style or concept. While Goodman does a compelling job of telling Eon's story, and excels in keeping a predictable story entertaining and interesting, the story has been told before, many, many times. She does a creditable job of creating a believable world with strong Asian connections with her own style.

Above all, this is a story of a girl, masquerading as a boy, learning to be true to herself. If you enjoy Tamora Pierce's Alanna stories, tales of dragons, Asian lore and culture - I am sure you will enjoy EON and EONA.

posted by BasiGirl on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I was really disappointed by this book. It has such a promising

I was really disappointed by this book. It has such a promising and unique plot, but the heroine was such a let down. I'm all for the main character having flaws (it makes them more personable), but I don't ever like being disappointed in their morals. (**Spoiler Aler...
I was really disappointed by this book. It has such a promising and unique plot, but the heroine was such a let down. I'm all for the main character having flaws (it makes them more personable), but I don't ever like being disappointed in their morals. (**Spoiler Alert: She does drugs)

I also thought the built up tension of finding the dragon's name was UNBEARABLE! I almost had to stop reading the book. The tension lasted way too long for my taste, and I was ready for the plot to move along!

posted by ashleyann120 on April 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and fam

    EON bursts with promise, setting the stage of a wondrous and familiar Asian-inspired world where dragons are essential to maintaining peace, balance and harmony.

    I applaud the efforts of Goodman to cast her heroine as a cripple. She does a lovely job of keeping faith with the difficulties of being lame without it feeling forced. I also enjoyed the edgy quality that carried the flavor of Tamora Pierce. The topics explored are definitely for an older YA audience and I'm sure many adults looking for a good yarn will enjoy this story.

    Do not expect to be amazed by a brilliant, new writing style or concept. While Goodman does a compelling job of telling Eon's story, and excels in keeping a predictable story entertaining and interesting, the story has been told before, many, many times. She does a creditable job of creating a believable world with strong Asian connections with her own style.

    Above all, this is a story of a girl, masquerading as a boy, learning to be true to herself. If you enjoy Tamora Pierce's Alanna stories, tales of dragons, Asian lore and culture - I am sure you will enjoy EON and EONA.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Great Book

    I loved the book and I can't wait to read the 2nd one.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!!!!!

    Such a good book! Couldn't put it down. I was so amazed about what happened in the end! So awesome

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    This was a fantastic book that draws you in and takes you on its

    This was a fantastic book that draws you in and takes you on its
    adventure. Definitely a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    My daughter and I have read the first two books and all I can sa

    My daughter and I have read the first two books and all I can say is
    wow, we really enjoyed them. Hope there is another book coming. Thank
    you for writing such great books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Awesome

    I really enjoyed this book

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    A real page turner!

    Eon is a real page turner! I could not put it down for a moment! Keep up the good work, Alison Goodman!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of My Favorites

    I had my doubts about whether or not I would like this book, but shortly into it I was hooked. It was so good I found myself wondering, how has this book not received more attention?! Why didn¿t I read this book sooner? With awe inspiring dragons, formidable characters, a vivid setting, and a skillfully crafted story, this epic first book in a duology is now one my favorite books of all time. Alison Goodman made me a fan for life.

    Strongly influenced by ancient Asian cultures, Eon is set in a detail rich world ruled by an imperial family but balanced by the powerful Dragoneyes. Through a bargain with the twelve energy dragons, the Dragoneyes connect with their spirit dragon to wield power, control the elements, and much more.

    In training to become an apprentice to the Rat Dragon, Eon has the odds stacked against him. His broken hip makes him walk with a limp making it difficult for him to walk let alone practice the dragon art of fighting. To top it off, Eon is really Eona, a girl and therefore forbidden to practice the dragon art. An act punishable by death. The one thing working in her favor is her dragon sight, the rare ability to see all the energy dragons. She can only hope that the Rat Dragon chooses her as his apprentice.

    Eon/a is a complex heroine. She is strong and intelligent yet flawed by her inclination to be dishonest and her lack of trust in others. She weaves a dangerous web of lies in her fight for survival and, at times, this is very frustrating. There are many moments where I wanted to yell at her to snap her out of it. While at the same time, you understand her situation and her reasoning. That being said, in the end, Eona became one my favorite heroines.

    Eon is technically considered a young adult book but, to me, the story reaches beyond young adults to older audiences as well. Goodman¿s world is exceptional and you will find yourself captivated by the rich culture and unique mythology. I enjoyed this book so much that once finished it, I immediately (the same day) bought the next book, Eona: The Last Dragoneye.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    This book is amazing at least read the last couple sentences

    This book will captivate you and launch you into a world where love fear desire and power hold sway of most of the empire of the celestial dragons. You should stop using this book to chat with each other and role play. The people who do quote rps un quote are such freaking drama nerds. Go find somwhere else mess off

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Eon

    Good book, very much enjoyed it and would like to see more from Alison Goodman. I know I liked it as I was a bit disappointed that the story ended with only two books! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    great read!

    33 and loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Amazing!

    "It's all in a name." Never has that been more true. This book pulls you in and doesn't let you go until the final page, and even then you are left wanting more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Fantastic!!

    I loved this book! The plot is weaved together so well, with twists and turns that will keep you turning those pages! If you're the type to visualize the story as you read like I am, you'll really enjoy this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Awesome

    So good but intended for mature audience..............spoiler the dragons name is also eona, coarse-ish language and rape atempts by the evil rat dragon eye ido............. kygo and eona are in love and have their little afair in the sequel................
    - # HAPPY GIRL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED IT!!!!!

    I LOVED IT!!!!! Now this did take me awhile to read cause it started off really slow. But then it got good, then really good, and better and better and then it got freaking awesome!!!! In this book there is action, there is suspense, mystery, twist and turns that i NEVER saw coming!!! Like I was thinking it went one way… Then it went the other way! Just really good writing!! ¿¿ So as you can tell I really loved this book!! And I did ¿¿ I am just SO happy that I ordered the second one and it was delivered yesterday, so I can start it tomorrow!!

    Oh and there where Dragons!! ¿¿¿¿¿¿ And not just Dragons… Spirit Dragons!!!! ¿¿¿¿ OH YEAH!!!! Oh and Ninja fighting ¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Eon

    A crasy good book. eona

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    To madi

    Here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Great

    Read this one and then eona

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    AWESOME!!!!

    This book was so full of twists and surprises and was the best book I've ever read in my life!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    To kimiko on fire

    How do i ask a boy out if my parents dont let me date? What if a boy does ask me out? How do i say no without ruining our friendship or making it awkward? How do i secretly date someone i like if my parents dont let me?-#1zaynmalikhater

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9