Customer Reviews for

Eon

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Journey

I first read this novel in the eighth or ninth grade (really!). It kept me, enthralled me, and has been on my mind for years now. Despite the theoretical concepts and alien civilizations, it is a story of survival and an evolving humanity. A great book.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Mixed

About 3 weeks ago, I spent a good 2-3 hours researching sci-fi books in search of a new favorite, one to top Ender's Game (one of the top 3 books I've ever read). I used both the Internet and my local bookstore-conglomerate to make a list of potentials, especially the ...
About 3 weeks ago, I spent a good 2-3 hours researching sci-fi books in search of a new favorite, one to top Ender's Game (one of the top 3 books I've ever read). I used both the Internet and my local bookstore-conglomerate to make a list of potentials, especially the winners of the Nebula and Hugo Awards (call me a popularist but besides commonfolk reviewers like myself, I had no one else to refer to). I eventually found Bear's name on that list with his book 'Darwin's Radio' - but because it wasn't there, I settled for a different author altogether; a book I haven't yet begun. And, obviously, I also picked up 'Eon'. I just finished the book and I must say I'm as down-the-middle as possible. Firstly, ignore those who complain about it's length. If anything, it was MAYBE 50 pages too long, but even that's a stretch - the length was appropriate (and if you can't handle 500 pages, you should maybe stick with short stories). Secondly, I thought the beginning was great - very engaging and fast-paced. It doesn't take long to have each character and their personalities known. And the plot moves quite steadily for quite some time - it does a fantastic job of sucking you into it's world, much of which lies in the realm of theoretical physics. But this was also where my biggest complaint came into play - the author, in my opinion, did an awful job of actual descriptions. Maybe it was due to the immensity of some of the things/concepts being described, but even a page of description necessary to paint the picture that has to last throughout the book wasn't there. And it came back to bite me in the end. Both physical descriptions and concepts left me wondering what I had actually read. I think I will go back and re-read some key points in hope of bridging all of my mental gaps - and maybe my misunderstanding is by no fault other than my own. But it made for great potential to melt into mediocrity. (Please feel free to e-mail me to discuss this book and to make some recommendations.)

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2