BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eon

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sci-Fi is not reality, not yet. So well written and elaborate th

Sci-Fi is not reality, not yet.
So well written and elaborate that, for just one second, I though I was reading a History book.
Characters almost come alive in this book. The story is so interesting, you will want to read it again as son as you are done with the book.
...
Sci-Fi is not reality, not yet.
So well written and elaborate that, for just one second, I though I was reading a History book.
Characters almost come alive in this book. The story is so interesting, you will want to read it again as son as you are done with the book.
The best book in the series!

posted by S-III on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Mixed

About 3 weeks ago, I spent a good 2-3 hours researching sci-fi books in search of a new favorite, one to top Ender's Game (one of the top 3 books I've ever read). I used both the Internet and my local bookstore-conglomerate to make a list of potentials, especially the ...
About 3 weeks ago, I spent a good 2-3 hours researching sci-fi books in search of a new favorite, one to top Ender's Game (one of the top 3 books I've ever read). I used both the Internet and my local bookstore-conglomerate to make a list of potentials, especially the winners of the Nebula and Hugo Awards (call me a popularist but besides commonfolk reviewers like myself, I had no one else to refer to). I eventually found Bear's name on that list with his book 'Darwin's Radio' - but because it wasn't there, I settled for a different author altogether; a book I haven't yet begun. And, obviously, I also picked up 'Eon'. I just finished the book and I must say I'm as down-the-middle as possible. Firstly, ignore those who complain about it's length. If anything, it was MAYBE 50 pages too long, but even that's a stretch - the length was appropriate (and if you can't handle 500 pages, you should maybe stick with short stories). Secondly, I thought the beginning was great - very engaging and fast-paced. It doesn't take long to have each character and their personalities known. And the plot moves quite steadily for quite some time - it does a fantastic job of sucking you into it's world, much of which lies in the realm of theoretical physics. But this was also where my biggest complaint came into play - the author, in my opinion, did an awful job of actual descriptions. Maybe it was due to the immensity of some of the things/concepts being described, but even a page of description necessary to paint the picture that has to last throughout the book wasn't there. And it came back to bite me in the end. Both physical descriptions and concepts left me wondering what I had actually read. I think I will go back and re-read some key points in hope of bridging all of my mental gaps - and maybe my misunderstanding is by no fault other than my own. But it made for great potential to melt into mediocrity. (Please feel free to e-mail me to discuss this book and to make some recommendations.)

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2001

    Mixed

    About 3 weeks ago, I spent a good 2-3 hours researching sci-fi books in search of a new favorite, one to top Ender's Game (one of the top 3 books I've ever read). I used both the Internet and my local bookstore-conglomerate to make a list of potentials, especially the winners of the Nebula and Hugo Awards (call me a popularist but besides commonfolk reviewers like myself, I had no one else to refer to). I eventually found Bear's name on that list with his book 'Darwin's Radio' - but because it wasn't there, I settled for a different author altogether; a book I haven't yet begun. And, obviously, I also picked up 'Eon'. I just finished the book and I must say I'm as down-the-middle as possible. Firstly, ignore those who complain about it's length. If anything, it was MAYBE 50 pages too long, but even that's a stretch - the length was appropriate (and if you can't handle 500 pages, you should maybe stick with short stories). Secondly, I thought the beginning was great - very engaging and fast-paced. It doesn't take long to have each character and their personalities known. And the plot moves quite steadily for quite some time - it does a fantastic job of sucking you into it's world, much of which lies in the realm of theoretical physics. But this was also where my biggest complaint came into play - the author, in my opinion, did an awful job of actual descriptions. Maybe it was due to the immensity of some of the things/concepts being described, but even a page of description necessary to paint the picture that has to last throughout the book wasn't there. And it came back to bite me in the end. Both physical descriptions and concepts left me wondering what I had actually read. I think I will go back and re-read some key points in hope of bridging all of my mental gaps - and maybe my misunderstanding is by no fault other than my own. But it made for great potential to melt into mediocrity. (Please feel free to e-mail me to discuss this book and to make some recommendations.)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    Sci-Fi is not reality, not yet. So well written and elaborate th

    Sci-Fi is not reality, not yet.
    So well written and elaborate that, for just one second, I though I was reading a History book.
    Characters almost come alive in this book. The story is so interesting, you will want to read it again as son as you are done with the book.
    The best book in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    A Fantastic Journey

    I first read this novel in the eighth or ninth grade (really!). It kept me, enthralled me, and has been on my mind for years now. Despite the theoretical concepts and alien civilizations, it is a story of survival and an evolving humanity. A great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    To mudtail

    Ok mudtl. Sorry about that morningpaw.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    amazing

    i love scifi books and this one is amazing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    Good Sci-Fi Book.

    Even knowing what it was about, this book still did a good job of creating a type of 'what's next' suspense. I think the science behind it was interesting and the ultimate secret behind the main theme, and the things involved with it were pretty imaginative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    Not excellent, but good

    This book was not excellent but good. The beginning was great and the theme was steady. Then somewhere half through the book you take a sharp turn to the right and your lost. I didn¿t like ending, I thought it was poorly written. Overall still a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    Too much from Arthur Clarke

    Reminds me of Rendezvous with Rama. Russians are actually Soviets(this book is written in 1985- so no mention of Yelstin but Gorbachev). The ending is too fast too abrupt. The story is built up nicely but crashes like a deck of cards in the end. Overall good but the end disappoints.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2001

    Great Book

    I would only reccommend this book to people who love scale. It was a very enjoyable read, but complicated in every way. Scientifically, politically, personally, all of the aspects of the book challenged my mind and the sheer scale of the book was awe-inspiring. My only reservation was that he did not write the book in the last couple of years, for he could have used the theoretical advancements to better explain some of his ideas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Emily

    So do i. I gtgtb bnt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Chse

    Im not your cousin im a son of zeus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Melody

    Im dauhter of hades and ur father and my father r brothers so we r cousins well half cousins

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    To mudtail

    U on

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Giantwing

    Why do you trust an app. more than a former med cat.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Swirlfur

    Purrs

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Wheres the med den?

    Sumone

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Oceankit

    Yaay he ceered bouncing around. Nursery.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Riverkit

    Angelkit go to blocked in result one

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Snowykit

    Snowykit*%* "SNEAK ATTACK!" She jumps onto Furyclaw.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    To nightatar

    Plz reply to the things in ur den

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5