BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Eona

Average Rating 4.5
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

a fabulous quest fantasy

To the shock of everyone Eon the novice proves to be a female; the first dragoneye of that gender in centuries. The ten other dragoneye except Eona and Lord Ido were massacred after being betrayed by the latter. No longer concealing her sex, Eona struggles with the gri...
To the shock of everyone Eon the novice proves to be a female; the first dragoneye of that gender in centuries. The ten other dragoneye except Eona and Lord Ido were massacred after being betrayed by the latter. No longer concealing her sex, Eona struggles with the grief of the Celestial Dragons and remains loyal to the deposed Pearl Emperor Kygo; removed from the throne by his uncle High Lord Sefton.

While Eona flees accompanied by rebels Ryko and Lady Dela in search of the stolen Black Folio, Lord Sefton sends his army to kill one of the two threats remaining to his rule. He also incarcerates Ido before the last experienced dragoneye can use his power. Eona reluctantly needs to rescue the traitor so he can mentor her on using her power to protect Kygo who she loves while wanting Ido.

The second Empire of the Celestial Dragons (see Eon) is a fabulous quest fantasy. Eona is terrific heroine struggling to learn her craft ironically from the traitor who betrayed and destroyed his peers. The tale is filled with angst as the dragons are grieving over the loss of their bonded partner; while Eona feels the weight of the world on her shoulders as she tries to help the mourners and the exiled young Emperor Kygo, but does not know how. This is a strong action-packed thriller that will have young adult readers soaring though the sky riding dragons.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Great Concept Falls Flat

Eona the sequel and conclusion to Eon was a great idea that in the end underwhelmed. In Eon we met Eona the last Mirror Dragoneye, a crippled girl posing as boy. On the run after the fall of the emperor by he's brothers coup along with Lord Ido, she must find a way to r...
Eona the sequel and conclusion to Eon was a great idea that in the end underwhelmed. In Eon we met Eona the last Mirror Dragoneye, a crippled girl posing as boy. On the run after the fall of the emperor by he's brothers coup along with Lord Ido, she must find a way to restore the rightful monarchy and save the dragons.

Eona is like a reflection of the first book as she is wanted as a boy so she is hiding as a girl. Unfortunately regardless of gender Eona keeps getting in her own way. In Eon she was frustratingly slow or maybe it was just how apparent the storyline was, but she displays cleverness at the speed of molasses. It seems Eona learned nothing from the first book since her fears and lack of communication was the root of most of her problems. I was really disappointed at the lack fighting in these books it seemed like a good setting for a strong female warrior, but wasn't. I found all the supporting characters way more interesting and likable than the lead.

I love the idea of this series. The set up was great. The world, asian lore, and influences are refreshing in the stacks of vampires, witches, and shifters. But with all the time and effort put into creating the Eona world, the heroine got left behind. The storyline was interesting but really what good is the plot or an intricately written world if your main character is annoying and ruining everything. What a waste.

posted by Unwasted_Words on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a fabulous quest fantasy

    To the shock of everyone Eon the novice proves to be a female; the first dragoneye of that gender in centuries. The ten other dragoneye except Eona and Lord Ido were massacred after being betrayed by the latter. No longer concealing her sex, Eona struggles with the grief of the Celestial Dragons and remains loyal to the deposed Pearl Emperor Kygo; removed from the throne by his uncle High Lord Sefton.

    While Eona flees accompanied by rebels Ryko and Lady Dela in search of the stolen Black Folio, Lord Sefton sends his army to kill one of the two threats remaining to his rule. He also incarcerates Ido before the last experienced dragoneye can use his power. Eona reluctantly needs to rescue the traitor so he can mentor her on using her power to protect Kygo who she loves while wanting Ido.

    The second Empire of the Celestial Dragons (see Eon) is a fabulous quest fantasy. Eona is terrific heroine struggling to learn her craft ironically from the traitor who betrayed and destroyed his peers. The tale is filled with angst as the dragons are grieving over the loss of their bonded partner; while Eona feels the weight of the world on her shoulders as she tries to help the mourners and the exiled young Emperor Kygo, but does not know how. This is a strong action-packed thriller that will have young adult readers soaring though the sky riding dragons.

    Harriet Klausner

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Best book ever

    I could not put this book down. It is one of the most intense books I have ever read. The perfect balance between romance and action, along with mystery and drama, this is a must read!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Blown Away!

    In both Eon and Eona, Goodman has created characters and a story that are both classically perfect, and yet unpredictable and new. From the beginning of book one I was engrossed in her fantastically real world and book two, no less breathtaking, was a satisfying conclusion. It's almost impossible for an author to flawlessly execute all aspects of such an epic prose, but to put it simply: she did.
    Word of caution--They may not be "adult" novels, but book two in particular has some sexual content that would be around PG-13 in movie terms.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo

    Eona has finally shed her false identity. Now, she must look to setting the kingdom to rights after High Lord Sethon took control. All the Dragoneyes are dead, with the exception of the traitorous Lord Ido. Eona, Ryko, and Lady Dela attempt to find their Emperor - the young son with ties to the throne. Indeed, Kygo is the true Pearl Emperor. When they find him, they must attempt to take the throne back from his uncle. Regaining control of the land won't be easy. Death and destruction will come. Without their Dragoneyes, dragons are disappearing from the world. Now more than ever, Eona needs Lord Ido alive, so that he can share his knowledge. In the past, Lord Ido only wanted power. Could he have changed? Eona isn't putting all her hopes in Ido sharing his knowledge; she's also working on translating a folio left by her ancestors. The knowledge and power she gains from the folio scare her beyond belief. Could her destiny already be chosen for her? The stunning conclusion to EON: DRAGONEYE REBORN was an intense, emotional read. I loved reading about the union between the Mirror Dragon and Eona. I loved the twists and turns of this read. I loved the relationship between Eona and Kygo. Honesty, I just loved the book. It was heartbreaking, frustrating, horror-filled, sweet, satisfying, romantic, and vastly entertaining.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Excellent to the Very End

    This book, sequal to Eon, did not disappoint! Captivating and awe inspiring! Action packed with twists and turns to keep you guessing till the very end! Highly recommended!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    You must read EONA

    Eona was abolutely amazing! It's the kind of book that once you pick it up, you simply cannot put it down! It's action packed, exciting, even thrilling. You never know what's is going to happen. This is a must read! Beautifully written and a wonderful story that will capture anyone's heart! Don't miss out, READ IT!!!!! =)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Excellent series

    I got this just out of curiosity at the local library! This book and the other in the series "Eon" were superbly written. Once I started reading the first, I was hooked and couldn't put it down! I would recommend this to anyone, young & old alike.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Very highly recommended

    Thus is the first book in awhile that made me feel as if I was inside the story but the end left me asking what will happen to dela, rilla, chart, lon, and lillia. It also left me wondering what will happen between kygo and eona. Will he make her his empress or one of his conqudins? Will the both of them be able to restore the empire? I can only hope that alison will write another book to this series or atleast a novelet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Eona

    This is an amazing book! If you have just finished reading a good book like the Hunger Games and liked it then you are going to love this book! It has romance trust betrayal power it is an AMAZING book! Buy it! But this is the second book, so if you haven't read the first book Eon then you will be very confused! Overall this book is AMAZING!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    WOW BUY RIGHT NOW!!!!

    This is the best book i have ever read. It has dragons, romance, and a whole lot of action. I was glued to this book or a whole entire day! Im only 11 years old ( i have a VERY high reading level) and find my self captured in this magical book. If you like the hunger games then this is 10x better. This book can spark your imagination! I love Eona she never is the character you think she is going to be which is great. Great job Alison Goodman! BUY THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    THE BEST

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!
    Could not keep my eyes off it, so detailed and magnificent!
    I wish the story would not end

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My only complaint? It ended. I will admit to some disappointment

    My only complaint? It ended. I will admit to some disappointment and a wish for a better conclusion to this story. I feel strongly that it deserved that much. My mind spins with the possibilities of what could have been...

    Otherwise, I was completely drawn in to EONA, as I was EON. Perhaps it is not the most serious type of book, but I found it had an edgy quality to it that carried the flavor of Tamora Pierce. The topics explored are definitely for an older YA audience and I'm sure many adults looking for a good yarn will enjoy this story.

    Do not expect to be amazed by a brilliant, new writing style or concept. While Goodman does a compelling job of telling Eona's story, and excels in keeping a predictable story entertaining and interesting, the story has been told before, many, many times. She does a creditable job of creating a believable world with strong Asian connections with her own style.

    Above all, this is a story of a girl, masquerading as a boy, learning to be true to herself. If you enjoy Tamora Pierce's Alanna stories, tales of dragons, Asian lore and culture - I am sure you will enjoy EON and EONA.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    This book is amazing

    This book had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Ive never liked a book so much in myvfentire life. Theres a sequal and i read tht to. It is so fastenating. This a book tht u can imagine stuff just by reading a sentence. Ive never been this happy with any of my book choices.i have never been so happy in my life. If ur reading this book the best qay to read it is in the dark. Tht is when u see things happining when u look up from this enchanting book. Enjoy!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    Epic Fantasy- one of the best stories I've read in a long time.

    It was grabbing from the very beginning and didn't let you rest until it was over. And even after it was over I couldn't stop thinking about the book. I really wish it would go on and on. To me it was comparable to some of the best epic fantasy stories like, Sword of truth series and the Lord of Rings series.
    This review will have spoilers if you haven’t read book one.
    The story starts right off after Eona’s real gender has been revealed and the kingdom has been conquered by the King’s evil brother Sethon. Kygo should have taken the King’s place after his death but instead Sethon has taken the Kingdom by force. Eona has seen many people slaughtered and almost all the other Dragoneye’s and appreciates have been killed by Lord Ion. After they escape Ryko has been wounded and is on his dying bed. Dela begs Eona to save him and she finds that her healing powers make him a slave to everything she wills him to do. Ryko despises her for making him a slave. Their group finds the Emperor Kygo and they start making plans to help him win back the throne. A romance develops between Eona and Kygo but Eona doesn't know if she can trust him. Does he really want her or just her power over her dragon to win a war? Eona tells the Emperor that they will have to breakout Lord Ion from Sethon’s prison so he can teach Eona how to control her dragon. When they find Lord Ion he is almost dead from torture. Eona heals him and he becomes her slave. They are the last two Dragoneye’s left and a special bond develops between them. Even though Lord Ion killed all the other Dragoneye’s and was their enemy, Eona senses a change in him. She keeps many secrets from everyone especially Emperor Kygo. Her friends Dela and Ryko are starting to think that she is becoming more like Lord Ion and desires power. In the end Eona is torn between two very different men. Everybody wants her power to rule and Eona has to decide who she can trust.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!

    When i finished both books i cried when it was over.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Eona

    ...Book II... good story!! Highly recommended! ...would like to see more from this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Such a compelling work of art... It was such a joy to take part

    Such a compelling work of art... It was such a joy to take part in this wondrous journey that was Eona. Seriously, I have to admit I got a little choked up when I finished it.
    I highly recommend this book! :D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Good book

    I thought that this book was even better than the first book!!!!!! This book had more action in it. I loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Spectacular

    It was amazing. The perfect sequel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Looooooovvve iiiit!!!!!!!!!!

    Didn't read it but am in the middle of#1 rite now. Its really good!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10