Customer Reviews for

Epic: The Story God Is Telling

Average Rating 4
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Nice Read

    It was nice to have a book that connects a lot of my favorite stories.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    A great way to show the love of God through the movies we enjoy!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is a very quick read, but also extremely engaging. I was hooked after reading the first paragraph. If you are a movie-lover, this book will speak to you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    An absolute gem of a book

    <p> Upon beginning to read Eldredge¿s latest book, I found myself with a knife in one hand, a razor in the other, ready to cut, shred, slice and dice my way through--what I had falsely believed-- was going to be another milquetoast, week-kneed ¿inspirational¿ piece of nonsense foisted upon the unsuspecting masses. How very wrong my initial perceptions were! Rather than cutting and ripping my way through this book, I found my self pleasantly delighted by each wonderful page. I can honestly say that this is the best little book I¿ve read in the past year. <p> What is it about certain stories that capture the imagination and adoration of so many people? Just in the past fifty years or so, we have had the great pleasure of being blessed with many wonderful stories, both in book and film, like ¿The Lord of the Rings,¿ ¿The Chronicles of Narnia,¿ ¿Star Wars,¿ ¿The Matrix,¿ ¿Titanic¿ and a host of others. Something about these films and stories spoke to us on a deep, emotional level, bypassing our analytical minds and moving upon us in a genuinely spiritual fashion. Eldredge has discovered the common theme that unites all these wonderful stories, and shows us how they all are very similar to the Greatest Story Ever Told. <p> Could it be that all these famous, well known stories have become so popular because there is something in us that wants, or possibly even knows that they are true? Whether it be the heroics displayed upon the decks of the sinking Titanic, or the courageousness of two lonely little hobbits trekking across forlorn lands to destroy ultimate evil, there is something about those stories that we wish were true for ourselves. But what if these stories could, in fact, be speaking of a reality that is available for us? Is it possible that we too could live ¿happily ever after¿ upon completion of a heroic deed? The surprising but honest answer Eldredge gives us is a resounding ¿yes.¿ <p> The ultimate story of all history is that of the God/man Jesus. Here is a man who lived a simple, but powerful life. He was a champion and a friend to many, and a bitter enemy and a thorn in the side of a few. But those few were the power-brokers of the day, and decided it would be convenient to do away with this miracle worker who so rudely upset their conscience. But the miracle worker, so quickly and violently put to death, had one last message he wanted to deliver before he left this planet: death is NOT the end, but the beginning of Real Life. <p> Eldredge correctly points out that films like ¿Titanic¿ and ¿Gladiator¿ succeed because they plainly show that there is life after death, there is a happy ending no matter the tragedy. Isn¿t that what we long for, hope for, pray for? Our lives are not just meaningless little accidents that are the results of random chemical reactions, but we are here for a purpose, not matter how wonderful or horrible the circumstances around us. But the purpose does not reach it¿s ultimate fulfillment until we¿ve reconciled with the Son of God. <p> In this short, six chapter book, Eldredge presents us with God¿s plan of salvation. But though he quotes from the Bible where appropriate, the book never, ever becomes one of those dry, dull theological treatments that read more like a recipe for meatloaf than an introduction to the living God. Theological terminology has been banned from this book, and it is all the better for it. Rather than aiming at the brain, Eldredge correctly and expertly aims at the heart, and hits the bulls-eye page after page. This book is the finest gospel presentation I¿ve ever come across in my many years of Christianity. <p> But there is a group who will hate this gem of a book, who will easily find tremendous fault with it. They would be the modern Pharisees of today, the holier-than-thou religious folk who can¿t stand a presentation of Jesus that can¿t be read without a theological dictionary in one hand and a King James Bible in the o

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    Enjoyed it

    I enjoyed this book. It is a quick read that kind of opens your eyes to a different perspective from what we generally hear in churches across America on any given Sunday morning. 'There is more going on that what these eyes can see.'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    My room

    Slashers room. Smells rotten, dont you agreee?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Very interesting Very interesting

    I love the way he tied some very good books/movies into the gospel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Find your part in God's story

    John Eldredge launches his fresh look at Gospel with this quote: "I wonder what sort of tale we've fallen into" (J. R. R. Tolkien, LOTR). Christianity is not a series of rules and church attendance, but the opportunity to participate in "the story God is telling." Eldredge draws frequent parallels with various books and movies to show that our best loved stories reflect God's great true story because "eternity is written in our hearts." This short book is both thought-provoking and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    What an amazing book!

    I bought this on my e-reader and now purchasing a hard copy to share with my family and friends! Amazing, quick read that fully explains the desire for a loving relationship that God has for US! If you have ever wondered why our loving, omnipotent, and omnipresent God allows bad things to happen, please read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT STOCKING STUFFER

    It's not too early to start thinking about gifts for Christmas and this is definately a great stocking stuffer which I entend to take full advantage of. I read this book on the recommendations of the readers ratings and all I can say is Thank You! Thank You! John Eldredge gave full insite of how we should look at ourselves as a story which does indeed have a happy ending if you've made the most important decision of your life...accepting Christ as Lord and Savior. I enjoyed this book tremendously. I did notice one error in print.."God made man a little lower than the angels"...not God. I can't rememeber what page that error is on...ayway I hope this correction is made in the next reprint. I would correct it in my copy...but I have a Nook. Other than that...this is definately a MUST READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Great quick read - highly recommend

    This is a great book. You can knock it out on a long plane ride or a weekend afternoon. John Eldridge puts the Story of God's Works in great perspective. References to literary and movie scenes works well in camparing the Story to things we have read and seen in our life. I recommend it to all my friends and family. Download it for like $3 bucks - it is worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    Carlos Franceski, an avid reader and learner

    The author uses stories to tell us of the God's story. What has come before, what is present and what comes afterwards? <p> Stories are told to us every day, in our schools, on TV, in advertising, in our relationships, yet we consciously do not think about how are lives are transformed by subtle and not so subtle stories. How many times have you heard that someone went to see the Titanic 10 or 15 times, or seen the Matrix and The Lord of the Rings 5 times. What is it about these stories that intrigues us, scares us, and invites us back for more? Is it a primordial code that is activated each time we encounter love, danger, evil, and hope told through the lenses of someone else? Or, perhaps, in some small way, we know that we live these types of stories everyday? That deep down we want to be brave like little Frodo, wise like Gandolf, passionately in love like Neo and that we want to win in the end. <p> As Eldredge clearly points out, we can have all of this through out faith in Jesus Christ, who possessed all of these qualities and more. The stories that the author cites and the story of Jesus¿ death tug at our hearts, shows us the dark side of humanity, but also shows us that salvation and victory is for the having, all you have to do is just believe. <p> This book is not your traditional theological treatise that quotes scripture from a fire and brimstone standpoint. To some using stories from movies and literature to tell the story of God may amount to sacrilege. To others it may seem like trivializing God¿s role in our lives. I say to both, nothing could be farther from the truth. Eldredge takes an unconventional and refreshing approach to a subject that we all want to know more about, that is, what part do we really play in the story of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5