Customer Reviews for

Epic Fail

Average Rating 4.5
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious, lol

I read this book in two days, it would of been less if I wasn't so busy. It was hilarious. I actually laughed in class out loud and publicly embarrassed my self, but it was totally worth it. It was cute and really quick and light. Perfect for anytime of the day, and adm...
I read this book in two days, it would of been less if I wasn't so busy. It was hilarious. I actually laughed in class out loud and publicly embarrassed my self, but it was totally worth it. It was cute and really quick and light. Perfect for anytime of the day, and admittedly night. Teen girls, unless you're a guy who wants to know how girls think? I'm going to read all her books, and keep loling in class.

posted by 4322996 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rating: 3.5 The Low Down: Elise Benton¿s family has moved ac

Rating: 3.5




The Low Down: Elise Benton’s family has moved across the country from Collegiate-Town, Massachusetts to La La Land, California. Elise and her older sister, Juliana, along with the third Benton sister, Layla, will all attend an exclusive private school ca...
Rating: 3.5




The Low Down: Elise Benton’s family has moved across the country from Collegiate-Town, Massachusetts to La La Land, California. Elise and her older sister, Juliana, along with the third Benton sister, Layla, will all attend an exclusive private school called Coral Tree Prep. Youngest sister Kaitlyn is in middle school.




It’s only the first day of school and Juliana, the sweet one, has already attracted the interest of Chase Baldwin. Unfortunately, Elise has attracted the ire of his sister, Chelsea, and the glower of his best friend, Derek. The only thing that can make this more embarrassing is the fact that the new head of school is her blowsy mother who is equal parts Rules Standard Bearer and twittering cheerleader. Luckily, Juliana makes friends with Webster Grant, a cute and funny boy who, apparently, has been named persona non grata by Derek.




Juliana is in love, but when she receives some ugly texts from Chase, she is heartbroken. As for Elise, how is it that the closed-off and terse Derek can be warm and happy sometimes? What of the seething hatred that he has for Webster? And can Elise figure it out before it’s too late - for all of them?




Best Thang ‘Bout It: I didn’t remember that this book was based on Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice when I started reading it. All of the sudden after reading for a few pages - DING! - the light went on. So of course, I settled into the couch and let the book take me away, searching for those similarities that reminded me of my favorite book. There were many, some subtle, but they made me smile. This is not the first book based on P&P, and it certainly (I hope) won’t be the last.




Moving the action to Hollywood/Los Angeles made for a new twist, as well as the Benton family being the one who moved into town and not the traditional route of the main male characters, etc., coming to them.




So...: You can’t squeeze everything into an adaptation, and shouldn’t, especially when the original source material was published 200 years ago. In our time period, you can’t have teens marrying at the end or girls running off with boys, so you have to make adjustments. They were well done for the most part, but I thought having Elise’s cousin, Diana, as the voice of reason (sort of the Charlotte character, for those of you taking notes), was unneeded. She is only in two brief scenes that don’t really add anything to the story. I, for one, certainly appreciate the fact that there was no attempt to shove EVERYTHING into this retelling.




The Bottom Line: Hollywood Setting + Adaptation = Familiar storyline with new twists. YA-a-fying a classic makes for a fun, romantic read with great, relatable characters.




Epic Fail by Claire LaZebnik was published August 2, 2011 by HarperTeen. Ink and Page picked this book up from the library, so no one had a choice about whether it was reviewed.




Genre:Young Adult Contemporary Fiction Romance
Ages: 13 and up
You Might Want to Know: Some profanity

posted by InkandPage on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Hilarious, lol

    I read this book in two days, it would of been less if I wasn't so busy. It was hilarious. I actually laughed in class out loud and publicly embarrassed my self, but it was totally worth it. It was cute and really quick and light. Perfect for anytime of the day, and admittedly night. Teen girls, unless you're a guy who wants to know how girls think? I'm going to read all her books, and keep loling in class.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Must read!

    This book was a very well done modern retake on Pride & Prejudice. I knew exactly how it would end but I could not for the life of me put this book down. It was so cute and absolutely hilarious. Elise, the main character, is very witty and embodies all that is Elizabeth Bennet in the original tale by Jane Austen. Derek is an amazing Mr. Darcy, which is not easy to say because I absolutely adore the actual Mr. Darcy. You know a book is good when you can feel exactly what the characters are feeling and you can make connections with them through that, and this book kept me on my toes the whole time. I literally felt nervous, sad, and angry during different situations in the book. This book is a very good and easy read. I highly recommend it. And if your looking for another good modern remake of Pride & Prejudice I would recommend you read Prom & Prejudice. Do not be deterred by the pink cover or by the title. I myself held off on reading it because it looked so girly and cheesy, but when I had nothing else to read I ended up checking it out and loving it.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good suspense, great love story with likeable characters. worth

    Good suspense, great love story with likeable characters. worth the time

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Soooooooo good!

    This book was so funny! I was laughing aloud in every chapter! The characters were so life-like and unique and the plot had some VERY interesting twists! I recommend it to anyone who likes comedy romance!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Love it

    Amazing books. I love Elise and Derek's relationship

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    :)

    Very cute play on the original book/movie. I found myself comparing the charactors from this book to the original. It's more fun to read if you have read Pride and Prejudice. (No clue how to spell that) I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Love it!

    Haven't even finished the book yet, but already I'm in love! The characters and plot are so real, i could just imagine myself being there. It's really funny and sweet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Epic fail

    This is an amazing book has an ending twist and you will fall in love with derek i love the romance between elise and derek

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Wotlrth it!

    This book is like a modern of Pride and Predjudice by Jane Austen. Though there many other parady book of PP, this one is the one that I love the most. Unlike the others, it leaves you wondering what would happen next.

    So if your interested in books with a strong female lead, and amazing bloomin love, this book is right for you.

    BUY IT AND I PROMISE YOU WON'T REGRET IT! ^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved it and I read it within 2-4 hours. It was a great book and would definetally recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Best book ever.

    My favorite book of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Love this book

    I loved this book. BYE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Good buck

    So awsome

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    Love this book

    I loved this book! I think this book did a great job taking a classic like Pride And Prejudice and turn it into a modern book that anyone will love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Anonymous

    I just started reading this and it's hilarious. I don't even know what I'm laughing about, but I really lie Epic Fail so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    I loved it!!!

    I thought " Epic Fail" was an incredible book. The characters were great bit also a little bit confusing. Webster really shocked me and Campbell really was... idk. It was a really easy read and very quick. Ibread it in one weekend. Hope this helped! And this is a great book so... get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Map

    Res4- Main room/Mansion
    Res5- Map
    Res6-36- Bedrooms
    Res37- Forest
    Res38- Lake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    I read this book in about a day. It was too good to not read! It

    I read this book in about a day. It was too good to not read! It was a cute, light read and I enjoyed every second of it! I wish it would have been longer because I loved the characters so much. There is also a follow up chapter to this book  that can be found on the writer's website, I encourage you to read it if you liked the book. I hope it leads the author to write a sequel but I don't see that happening. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    This is without a doubt going to be one of those books I¿ll be t

    This is without a doubt going to be one of those books I’ll be thinking about for the next couple of months! What an unbelievably fabulous read this turned out to be! Even before I started reading Epic Fail I already had my mind made up that this was going to be yet another candy floss YA romance, and although it is definitely YA, and undoubtedly a romance, it is most certainly not a fluffy candy floss read. Unlike some of my most recent reads, this book actually has substance and breaks out of the traditional YA mold. Honestly peeps, this was such a delightful, feel-good read, I zipped through it in a day.

    One of the things I’m starting to despise in YA is the constant absence of parental figures and homes with structure and rules to guide our protagonist(s) on their merry way through life. In Epic Fail, the main focus is squarely on the family dynamics of the Gardiner family. There’s not only one protagonist, but two. Or maybe a whole bunch, depending on how you look at it. I loved, loved, loved the family set-up in this story and how at home I felt with Elise, her three sisters and both her adorably dorky, but strict, parents. This isn’t just a tale about one girl falling in love, but two sisters falling in love at different times during the story. Instead of Elise having a best friend whom she can confide in and share experiences with, she has her sister, Juliana, to whom she’s practically joined at the hip. They both go to Coral Tree Prep where their mother is the new principal and their father the math teacher. Juliana pretty much has the insta love thing going from the first chapter, but Elise, from whose POV we’re getting the story, isn’t as quick to give her heart away. Especially not to Derek, son to two of Hollywood’s biggest stars, who has half the girls in school falling over their feet to get him to notice them.

    I specifically enjoyed this book for the fact that it raises the importance of valuing someone not for their net worth or their good looks or how famous or important their parents are, but simply for who that person is. This is taught to Elise and her siblings by the values their parents instill in them, which are evident from the conversations they have with them. Also, respect is a big issue in this story, and I loved how these kids showed respect for their parents, and also how Elise stood up for one of her classmates when everybody was ganging up on him. Of course, everything isn’t perfect and sunshin-y and happy-go-lucky for all. The book sticks to real-life situations with characters having to learn to reserve judgment, not jumping to hasty conclusions, and discerning between what’s acceptable and what not. Epic Fail also showcases the comparisons between rich and middle class teens, their behavior and attitudes towards adults and each other, and the difficulties faced by Elise’s mother as Coral Tree Prep’s new school principal. Most importantly, it highlights the point that people aren’t always what they appear to be on the surface.

    Often the importance and advantages of familial structures as a means to ground the reader are overlooked in what I love to call candy floss (overtly sweet and sticky) romance and most YA books. My experience is that most authors so easily succumb to writing what works for hundreds of other authors instead of taking the initiative to try something new. At times, Epic Fail tended to be slightly predictable, but that was easy to overlook once I felt part of Elise’s family and made myself comfortable in the Gardiner’s home. Lazebnik created intelligent characters with flaws that make sense. She dared to write a story that shies away from the familiar without destroying the YA mold entirely, and for that I commend her. The dialogue and witty banter often had me rolling on the floor laughing and endeared these characters to me in no time. I loved all six members of the Gardiner household and I had no difficulty relating to their daily routines. The secondary, but not less important, characters were also expertly developed and the story shimmied along at an undemanding pace, effortlessly keeping me entertained. This book is sure as heck worth every cent and one I can’t recommend highly enough! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8